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Introduction 

The New Jersey Medical Aid in Dying for the Terminally Ill Act permits an attending physician 
to write a prescription for medication that enables a qualified terminally ill patient to end his or 
her own life. The Act was approved April 12, 2019 and went into effect August 1, 2019.  

The Act defines “terminally ill” as “the terminal stage of an irreversibly fatal illness, disease, or 
condition with a prognosis, based upon reasonable medical certainty, of a life expectancy of six 
months or less. The Act defines an “attending physician” as a “physician who has primary 
responsibility for the care of a qualified terminally ill patient and treatment of the patient’s 
terminal illness, disease, or condition.” 

The Act requires a qualified terminally ill patient to be a capable adult resident of New Jersey 
who has been diagnosed as being terminally ill by both his or her attending physician and a 
consulting physician. A qualified patient can obtain a prescription for medication to end his or 
her own life only if he or she has made a voluntary and informed decision. Prior to being 
prescribed medication to end his or her own life, the qualified patient must voluntarily and 
capably make two oral requests and one written request for the medication. The oral requests 
must be separated by at least 15 days. The written request must be signed and dated by the 
patient and witnessed by at least two people who attest that the patient is capable and acting 
voluntarily. One of the witnesses has to be a person who is not: related to the patient; entitled to 
any portion of the patient’s estate; an owner, operator, employer, or resident of a health care 
facility at which the patient is receiving medical treatment; or the patient’s attending physician. 

At the time of the initial oral request, the attending physician has to recommend that the patient 
take part in consultations on treatment opportunities. At the time of the second oral request, the 
attending physician must offer the patient the opportunity to rescind the request. At least 15 days 
must elapse between the initial oral request and the writing of the prescription and 48 hours must 
elapse between a patient signing the written request and the writing of the prescription. A 
consulting physician must confirm the diagnosis and that the patient is capable and acting 
voluntarily. If indicated, the patient may be referred to a psychiatrist, psychologist, or clinical 
social worker to determine whether the patient is capable.  

The attending physician is required to dispense medications directly to the patient or to contact a 
pharmacist and transmit the prescription to the pharmacist. A pharmacist may only dispense 
medications directly to the patient, the attending physician, or an identified agent of the patient. 
Medications cannot be dispensed to the patient by mail or other form of courier. 
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The Commissioner of Health requires the physician and pharmacist who dispensed the 
medication to file a copy of the dispensing record with the department no later than 30 days after 
dispensing the medication. The attending physician and consulting physician are required to 
submit documentation with the Department no later than 30 days after the qualified terminally ill 
patient’s death. The Office of the Chief State Medical Examiner (OCSME) will document each 
event and create a report on an annual basis.   

The required forms can be found at: 

https://www.nj.gov/health/advancedirective/maid/  

 

As of the release date of this report, paperwork was received for 5 cases over the course of 2020, 
that have not been reported as deceased in New Jersey.   

https://www.nj.gov/health/advancedirective/maid/
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Participation Summary and Trends 

From January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020, thirty-three (33) Medical Aid in Dying cases were 
filed with the Office of the Chief State Medical Examiner (OCSME).  

 

 2020 MAiD Cases 
 Number of Cases Percentage of Total Cases 
Gender   
Male 21 64% 
Female 12 36% 
Race   
White 31 94% 
Black - - 
Hispanic - - 
Asian - - 
Native 
Hawaiian/Pacific 
Islander 

- - 
 
 

American Indian - - 
Other single race 2 6% 
Two or more 
races 

- - 
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 2020 MAiD Cases 
 Number of Cases Percentage of Total Cases 
Age   
35-44 years 2 6% 
45-54 years - - 
55-64 years 10 30% 
65-74 years 4 12% 
75-84 years 10 30% 
85+ years 7 22% 

Of the thirty-three MAiD cases, the age of patients reported was between 36 and 90. The mean 
age was 72 years and the median age was 63 years. 

 

 2020 MAiD Cases 
 Number of Cases Percentage of Total Cases 
Marital Status   
Married 19 58% 
Widowed 8 24% 
Single 2 6% 
Divorced 4 12% 
Unknown - - 
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 2020 MAiD Cases 
 Number of Cases Percentage of Total Cases 
Education   
Unknown - - 
8th Grade or Less - - 
9th to 12th Grade, No Diploma 1 3% 
High school/ GED 5 15.5% 
Some college credit but no 
degree 

4 12% 

Associate degree 1 3% 
Bachelor’s degree 6 18% 
Master’s degree 11 33% 
Doctorate or Professional 
degree 

5 15.5% 

 

It is recommended that when the patient takes the prescribed medication, they leave a copy of the 
required paperwork in plain view.  

- In 70% of cases, the OCSME was notified of the death via mailing-in of required forms.  

- In 12% of cases, the OCSME was notified of the death via a phone call 

-  In 18% of cases, the OCSME was notified of the death via email. 

In 2019, heart disease was the leading cause of death in the general population in New Jersey, 
accounting for 24.7% of all deaths, followed closely by cancer at 20.7%.*  However, for those 
participating in the Medical Aid in Dying program in New Jersey, cancer is the leading 
underlying illness. All recorded cases of neuro-degenerative disease consisted of Amyotrophic 
Lateral Sclerosis (ALS).  

 

 2020 MAiD Cases 
 Number of Cases Percentage of Total Cases 
Underlying Illness   
Cancer 24 73% 
Neuro-degenerative disease 5 15% 
Pulmonary disease 2 6% 
Cardiovascular disease 1 3% 
Cerebrovascular disease 1 3% 

 

 

*At time of this report, 2020 statewide total data was not finalized 
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The New Jersey Medical Aid in Dying for the Terminally Ill Act does not make 
recommendations for any specific medications that should be prescribed for a patient, but it does 
state the patient must be able to self-administer the medication. If medication is dispensed and 
for whatever reason the patient decides not to self-administer the medication, it must be disposed 
of by lawful means, including but not limited to, disposing of the medication in a way consistent 
with State and Federal guidelines concerning disposal of prescription medications, or by 
surrendering the medication to a prescription medication drop-off receptacle.  

 

 2020 MAiD Cases 
Medication Prescribed  
Ondansetron, Metoclopramide, Digoxin, Diazepam, 
Amitriptyline, & Morphine Sulfate 

11 

Ondansetron, Metoclopramide, Digoxin, Morphine, 
Diazepam, Amitriptyline 

6 

Ondansetron, Metoclopramide, Digoxin, Morphine, 
Diazepam, Propranolol 

1 

Ondansetron, Reglan, Digoxin, Morphine Sulfate, 
Diazepam, Amitriptyline 

1 

Morphine sulfate powder, Amitriptyline powder, 
Diazepam powder, Digoxin powder, Ondansetron HCL, 
Metoclopramide 

 
1 

Morphine, Diazepam, Amitriptyline, Digoxin, 
Phenobarbital 

1 

Digoxin, Morphine, Valium, Amitriptyline, Phenobarbital 4 
Diazepam Powder, Digoxin Powder, Morphine Powder, & 
Propranolol Powder 

2 

Unknown 6 
• The medications listed were taken directly from the Medication Dispensing Records submitted.   
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 2020 MAiD Cases 2019 Statewide Reported Deaths* 

 Number of 
Cases 

Percentage of 
Total Cases Total Cases Percentage of 

Total Cases 
Disposition     
Buried 7 21% 30,412 41% 
Cremated 22 67% 36,064 49% 
Donation 3 9% - - 
Entombment 1 3% 5,340 7% 
Other - - - - 
Removal from 
State 

- - 2,483 3% 

County of 
Residence 

    

Atlantic 2 6% 2,812 4% 
Bergen 3 9% 7,388 10% 
Burlington 1 3% 4,106 5.5% 
Camden 3 9% 4,914 7% 
Cape May 1 3% 1,290 2% 
Cumberland - - 1,611 2% 
Essex 2 6% 5,926 8% 
Gloucester - - 2,758 4% 
Hudson 1 3% 3,723 5% 
Hunterdon 4 12.5% 917 1% 
Mercer 2 6% 2,939 4% 
Middlesex 2 6% 5,993 8% 
Monmouth 2 6% 5,602 7.5% 
Morris 5 15.5% 3,908 5% 
Ocean 1 3% 7,350 10% 
Passaic 1 3% 3,775 5% 
Salem - - 746 1% 
Somerset 2 6% 2,505 3% 
Sussex - - 1,298 2% 
Union - - 3,970 5% 
Warren 1 3% 1,016 1% 
Unknown  - - 4 - 
Place of Death     
Home 30 91% - - 
Other’s Home 2 6% - - 
Nursing Home 1 3% - - 

*At time of this report, 2019 statewide total data was provisional and 2020 statewide total data was not available 
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