
What information will I be asked to provide to the hotline screener?
Whenever possible, a caller should provide all of the following information: 

Who: The child and parent/caretaker’s name, age and address and the name of the 
alleged abuser and that person’s relationship to the child. 
What: Type and frequency of alleged abuse/neglect, current or previous injuries to the 
child and what caused you to become concerned. 
When: When the alleged abuse/neglect occurred and when you learned of it. 
Where: Where the incident occurred, where the child is now and whether the alleged 
abuser has access to the child. 
How: How urgent the need is for intervention and whether there is a likelihood of 
imminent danger for the child. 

Do callers have immunity from civil or criminal liability?
Any person who, in good faith, makes a report of child abuse or neglect or testifies in a child 
abuse hearing resulting from such a report is immune from any criminal or civil liability as a 
result of such action. All calls to the hotline can remain ANONYMOUS.

Is it against the laws of New Jersey to fail to report suspected abuse/neglect?
Any person who knowingly fails to report suspected abuse or neglect according to the law or 
to comply with the provisions of the law is a disorderly person and subject to a fine of up to 
$1000 or up to six months imprisonment, or both. 

What happens after I make the call? 
When a report indicates that a child may be at risk, an investigator from the Division of Youth 
and Family Services will promptly investigate the allegations of child abuse and neglect 
within 24 hours of receipt of the report.

In New Jersey, anyone with reasonable cause to believe a 
child is being abused should immediately call the Child 
Abuse Hotline. If the child is in immediate danger, call 911 
as well as 1-877 NJ ABUSE. You can call anonymously and 
do not need proof to report an allegation of child abuse. The 
Hotline is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
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Reporting 
Child Abuse

in New Jersey

All reports of child abuse and neglect, including those occurring in institutional settings 
such as child care centers, schools, foster homes and residential treatment centers, must 

be reported to the Child Abuse Hotline.

1-877 NJ ABUSE
(1-877-652-2873)

TTY 1-800-835-5510
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En Nueva Jersey, cualquier persona que tenga una causa 
razonable para sospechar el abuso o maltrato de un 
menor debe llamar inmediatamente a la línea directa 
para el abuso infantil.  Si el menor esta en peligro 
inminente, llame al 911, así como al 1-877-NJ ABUSE.   
Usted puede llamar anónimamente y no es necesario 
tener pruebas para informar de un supuesto caso de 
abuso o el maltrato de un menor.   La línea directa esta 
disponible las 24 horas del día, los 7 días a la semana.

¿Qué información me pedirá la persona que atienda la línea directa?
Siempre que sea posible, la persona que llame debe proporcionar toda la información siguiente: 

Quién: El nombre del menor y el del padre/madre/persona que cuida al menor, edad y dirección y 
el nombre del supuesto autor del maltrato, así como y la relación de esa persona con el menor. 
Qué: El tipo y la frecuencia del supuesto maltrato o descuido, lesiones actuales o anteriores del 
menor y lo que hizo que usted se preocupara. 
Cuándo: Cuándo ocurrió el supuesto maltrato o descuido y cuándo se enteró usted de ello. 
Dónde: Dónde ocurrió el incidente, dónde está el menor ahora y si el supuesto autor del maltrato 
tiene acceso al menor. 
Cómo: Qué tan urgente es la necesidad de intervención y si hay probabilidades de que el menor 
esté en peligro inminente. 

¿Las personas que llaman tienen inmunidad en cuanto a responsabilidad 
civil o criminal?
Cualquier persona que, de buena fe, informa de un caso de maltrato o descuido de un menor o 
testifica en una audiencia de maltrato de menores que surja de dicho informe queda inmune de toda 
responsabilidad criminal y civil que pudiera surgir de ese acto. Todas las llamadas a la línea directa se 
pueden mantener ANÓNIMAS. 

¿El no informar de sospechas de maltrato o descuido es contra las 
leyes de Nueva Jersey?
Toda persona que a sabiendas no informa sus sospechas de maltrato o descuido según la ley y con ello 
no cumple con las disposiciones de la ley altera el orden público y quedará sujeta a una multa de hasta 
$1,000 o hasta seis meses de cárcel o ambos. 

¿Qué sucede después de hacer la llamada?
Cuando un informe indica que un menor podría estar en peligro, un investigador de la División de 
Servicios a Jóvenes y Familias investigará sin demora las acusaciones de maltrato o descuido de 
menores dentro de un período de 24 horas de cuando se recibió el informe.
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Todos los informes de maltrato y descuido de menores, incluidos los que suceden en entornos 
institucionales como centros de cuidado de menores, escuelas, hogares de crianza y centros de 

tratamiento con internado, deben hacerse a la línea directa para el abuso infantil.  


