MEDIA CONTACT: Julie Willmot
(609) 278-7137

TRENTON, N.J.—  Mercer County has begun the process of distributing federal reimbursement checks to towns that sustained serious damage in a Nor’easter in March 2010. 

The storm battered Mercer County with heavy rain and high winds, causing flooding on roads, downed trees and power outages throughout the County.

Mercer County’s Office of Emergency Management worked closely with each town in the months following the storm, and coordinated visits by Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) representatives.

“This storm was many months ago, but we never stopped working to get every penny we could to reimburse our local governments and County government,” said Mercer County Executive Brian M. Hughes.

Together, Mercer County OEM, FEMA and the towns painstakingly itemized damages to determine qualified costs associated with protective measures and debris removal after Mercer County received a Presidential Disaster Declaration. FEMA reimburses 75 percent of overall costs town.

So far, Mercer County has distributed the following in FEMA reimbursements:

  • Princeton Borough - $32,449.05 and $62,942.26
  • Princeton Township - $22,963.93
  • Hopewell Borough - $22,834.84
  • Hopewell Township - $92,907.28 and $17,747.03
  • Lawrence Township - $15,750.92
  • Hightstown Borough - $12,981.08 and $3,417.38
  • Robbinsville Township - $9,856.82
  • Mercer County - $57808.55 and $2833.92

Mercer County expects to distribute more checks as they arrive for the following towns: Ewing, East Windsor, Pennington, and Hamilton.

In addition, County OEM is presently working to get Mercer County included in the Governor Chris Christie’s request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for the Dec. 26-27, 2010 blizzard. The County roughly estimates overall costs among towns from the blizzard to be $1.2 million.