Contact Information:
Ernest C. Cerino, Jr.
Office of the Mercer County Clerk

TRENTON, N.J. – Mercer County Clerk Paula Sollami Covello reminds residents that next year’s Presidential Primary day for New Jersey will be moved back to the month of June, due to a recent legislative mandate. The bipartisan measure, signed into law on Monday, the 26th of September, eliminates the separate and costly presidential primary election held in February of presidential election years.  The 2012 presidential primary will be held, instead, at the same time as the regular primary election on the first Tuesday in June.

For the Mercer County Clerk’s Office, taxpayer savings will result as the costs for extra ballot printing and postage, processing, legal advertising, technology support and other election costs, will no longer be needed. The February 2008 Presidential primary, known as “Super Tuesday,” cost the Mercer County Clerk’s Office in printing and postage approximately $145,000 and does not include the costs incurred by Mercer’s other elections offices or municipal clerk’s offices.  Statewide, county and local governments expect a total cost savings of approximately $12 million.

“New Jersey was among 24 other states that held their primary elections in February during the 2008 presidential election year,” said Sollami Covello. “Going back to a single June primary election in 2012 makes financial and electoral sense without harming anyone’s right to participate in the presidential selection process,” Sollami Covello said further. New Jersey will now join California, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, and South Dakota in holding their primary elections or caucuses on June 5, 2012.

The measure was supported by the Constitutional Officers Association of New Jersey (COANJ) where Sollami Covello served as the immediate past Section Chief for County Clerks. The New Jersey Association of Election Officials, the New Jersey League of Municipalities, and the New Jersey Association of Counties also supported the measure. The bill passed the General Assembly 78-0 and the State Senate by 39-0.