Step Four: Application Fees
The appropriate application fee is identified in the Job Announcement. The purpose of the application fee is to pay for the processing of your application. It DOES NOT guarantee admission to the examination or appointment to a position.
Note: In accordance with Public Law 2010 c. 26, Veterans pay a reduced application fee of $15.00 if they have previously established Veteran's Preference with the Department of Military and Veterans Affairs (DMAVA) (as defined by NJSA 11A:5-1 et seq). Those claiming Veteran's Preference but have not yet received approval from DMAVA must pay the full application fee and may request a refund if the claim is approved at least 8 days prior to the issuance of the eligibility list. Please note that this reduced fee does not apply to Public Safety titles.
Separate Fee and Application Required for Each Job Announcement
A separate application is required for each announcement. Each Job Announcement is identified by a Job Announcement symbol that begins with a C, M, or S. Even if the job titles are the same, you must file a separate application for each symbol.
It is very important that you complete each application carefully, and answer all the questions
You must include an application fee for each application that you submit.
- Pay by credit card or e-check when you submit an on-line application and receive an immediate confirmation;
- Pay by check or money order - DO NOT SEND CASH. Make checks or money orders payable to NJCSC.
- Write the symbol and your address on the check or money order and send it with the confirmation page you received when you submitted your on-line application.
- All checks and money orders postmarked more than 5 business days after submission of the corresponding application will be considered late and result in ineligibility from the examination process.
You are exempt from submitting the application fee if you are receiving:
- General Assistance - Please submit a copy of your benefits letter from your local welfare director with your application;
- Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (T.A.N.F. previously AFDC) - Please submit a copy of your award letter which shows your case number with your application;
- Supplemental Security Income (SSI) - Please submit a copy of your latest annual award letter, or a copy of your Medicaid recertification information with your application.
Please note: The documentation you submit with your application must include proof of current eligibility within the past 12 months.
No other form of assistance (veterans, disability, unemployment insurance, or Social Security) will be accepted for the exemption.
If your check is returned for insufficient funds, you will be disqualified from the examination.
Open Competitive Application Processing Section
N.J. Civil Service Commission
P.O. Box 321
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0321
Address for Hand Delivery:
N.J. Civil Service Commission
44 South Clinton Avenue
Trenton, New Jersey 08625
Hours: 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.