If you know of a reason that would prevent you from taking the test on your scheduled date and time, you must notify CSC in writing within 5 days after you receive your notice. From the time you receive your notice to the time of the test, if a condition or situation arises that will prevent you from taking the test at the scheduled time, you must notify CSC in writing within 5 days after the condition or situation arises.
The following reasons are appropriate for granting make-up examinations for most titles:
- Administrative error by the CSC or the hiring agency
- Serious illness, supported by a note from your doctor
- Serious illness or death in your immediate family (spouse, child, legal ward, grandchild, foster child, parent, legal guardian, grandparent, brother, sister, father-in-law, mother-in-law, or other relative who lives with you)
- Previously planned vacation outside of New Jersey , New York , Delaware , or Pennsylvania , supported by copies of reservations, tickets, and other documents
- Temporary or emergency military assignments
- Natural disasters