



New Jersey Department of Community Affairs Division of Codes and Standards Landlord-Tenant Information Service



ORDER FORM TRUTH-IN-RENTING BOOKLET

Revised June 2011

The Truth-in-Renting Act (N.J.S.A. 46:8-43 et seq.) requires the Department of Community Affairs to prepare and publish a statement of the rights and responsibilities of residential tenants and landlords. The Act also requires residential landlords of dwellings with more than two units (or more than three units if the landlord occupies one of the units) to distribute the Truth-in-Renting Statement now in Booklet format to each of their tenants at or prior to the tenant's occupancy. Violators of the Act shall be liable for a penalty of up to \$100.00 for each violation.

The Truth-in-Renting Booklet is a summary of existing laws, regulations, and court cases. It is neither exhaustive nor detailed and is intended only to serve as a guide to landlords and tenants. The booklet is available in English and Spanish at a cost \$2.00 per booklet. You may download or print the Truth in Renting publication from our website free of charge, by logging on to: http://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/codes/publications/pdf_lti/t_i_r.pdf

Please make checks or money orders payable to: <u>Treasurer, State of New Jersey</u>. Please do not send cash.

Enclosed is \$ Enclosed is \$		copies of the Truth-in-Renting Booklet, in English. copies of the Truth-in-Renting Booklet, in Spanish.
Mail to:		
NAME:		
ADDRESS		
	(a s	treet address is required for orders over 10 booklets)
NAME OF BUILDING:		
CITY AND STATE:		ZIP CODE
TELEPHONE NUMBER: (Telephone num	nbers and e-mail a	E-MAIL ADDRESS ddresses will only be used to contact customers regarding the processing of orders)

Mail this form, with Payment to:

N.J. Department of Community Affairs Division of Codes and Standards Landlord-Tenant Information Service P.O. Box 805 Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0805

ALLOW 4 TO 6 WEEKS FOR DELIVERY FOR ORDER QUESTIONS, CALL 609-984-5831