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State of New Jersey
DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES
Division of Child Protection and Permanency
Residential Placement Agreement and/or Acknowledgement Between

The State of New Jersey Division of Child Protection and Permanency
and

Parent(s), Legal Guardian, or Legal Custodian

I/We, 


parent(s), legal guardian, or legal custodian

acknowledge the placement of my/our child 



name of child

in a residential treatment center, group care facility, out-of-home treatment program, or emergency care facility by the New Jersey Division of Child Protection and Permanency (CP&P).  
The placement of my/our child is authorized by (check, as applicable):


[   ] my/our VOLUNTARY CONSENT to place the child


OR 

[   ] a COURT ORDER
I understand that placing my child in residential placement is a temporary plan, and that Federal and State laws do not permit a child to remain in out-of-home placement longer than 15 months without further action being taken toward making a permanent plan.  Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 30:4C-15, if a child is in placement for 15 of the most recent 22 months, CP&P must file a petition in court to terminate the parental rights of the child's parents, legal guardian or legal custodian, or document an exception to that requirement.

In consenting to, or acknowledging the placement of my child, I understand that:

•
I retain my parental rights and legal responsibilities for my child.

•
I am responsible for reimbursing CP&P for the costs of my child’s placement, based on my ability to pay.  I should expect to be called on to appear in court for a hearing, where it will be determined how much child support I must pay to CP&P, and the method by which I will make payments.  (See the attached Addendum for details.)

•
My child’s placement is temporary.  I will work with CP&P to make plans for my child’s return home, or, if this is not possible, for another permanent home.

•
The written plan for my child will be available to me.

•
I have the right to terminate this agreement and to ask for my child’s return home at any time.

If a Child Placement Review Act court order requires that my child remains in placement, or court ordered conditions for return home have not been met, CP&P may not return my child home.  The Child Placement Review Board and court will conduct a special review of my request to decide whether my child may return home.  The special review process may take up to 30 days.

If CP&P is granted custody of my child through a court order, CP&P may not return my child home.

If no court orders exist to prevent my child’s return home, or if court ordered conditions for return have been met, CP&P must respond to my request by returning my child within five (5) days, or petition for a court order to keep my child in out-of-home placement.

•
I will be informed when any court order is issued to prevent CP&P from returning my child to me.  I have the right to participate in any court hearings or Child Placement Review Board reviews held regarding my child.

•
New Jersey law requires the court periodically to review the circumstances of my child’s placement out-of-home and to decide whether or not my child should remain in placement.  I, my CP&P Worker, or other interested parties, may be asked to give information, in writing or in person, to the court or the Child Placement Review Board, which is an arm of the court.  The court or the review board will evaluate the plans for my child’s future and will determine whether I, the Division, and other interested parties are meeting our responsibilities regarding the case plan.  I understand that I have a right to attend the review board review and to request a hearing before the judge regarding my child’s placement.

•
As a protection for children placed out of home by CP&P, New Jersey law, N.J.S.A. 30:4C-3.7, requires CP&P to photograph each child it places out of home no later than two months from the date of placement.  The law also requires that some children placed out of home must be fingerprinted as well.  CP&P will comply with this law, and shall keep my child’s photograph, and fingerprints, if taken, confidential.

•
CP&P has the right to terminate this agreement at such time that my child’s treatment is completed, in accordance with the placement plan, and must notify me at least 15 days before terminating the agreement.

•
I have the right and responsibility to visit my child regularly while he or she is in placement as long as the visits are appropriate for the treatment plan for my child.  Such visiting will be according to a plan arranged by CP&P, the residential facility, and me.  I am responsible for notifying CP&P or the residential facility when I cannot keep a scheduled visit.

•
I agree to arrange for my child’s care during vacations in cooperation with the residential facility and CP&P.

•
I will maintain contact with the CP&P Worker and tell the Worker in person, by telephone or in writing, of any change in my legal name or marital status, living arrangement, address, telephone number, source of income, employer, medical insurance, health or plans for my child.

•
During my child’s placement, CP&P is responsible for maintaining contact with my child, monitoring my child’s progress, and being actively involved in the treatment process and discharge planning for my child.

•
The Worker will meet with me regularly during my child’s placement and keep me informed of my child’s progress.

•
The Worker, his/her supervisor and an impartial person will meet with me periodically to review and evaluate the placement plan for my child.

•
During my child’s placement, I agree to meet with the staff of the residential or group care facility and cooperate with the treatment plan.

•
When the residential or group care facility cannot consent to medical care, the Division of Child Protection and Permanency will consent to any medical, psychological, psychiatric, dental or specialized treatment which may be needed by my child on a routine or emergency basis.  Whenever possible, CP&P will contact me prior to consenting to any specialized or emergency treatment, except as otherwise limited by applicable law.

•       I am responsible for the medical support of my child.  If my child is eligible for Medicaid, I give permission to the Medicaid Program to use any private medical insurance that I have which covers my child to pay for his/her medical needs before Medicaid is used.

SIGNATURES

Before signing this document, I have the right to be given a copy of it to review.  I also have the right to seek the advice of an attorney, at my own personal expense, about whether I should sign it.

After reviewing the full contents of this document with a CP&P representative, I understand that by signing it I thereby give my consent to the Division of Child Protection and Permanency to place my child in a residential placement, OR I fully acknowledge that CP&P has been authorized by court order to place my child in a residential setting.  
PARENT(S) SIGNATURE/CONSENT

MOTHER:  Print Name

Maiden Name


DOB  

Social Security Number



               Address






Telephone No.: Home
   

       Work
         
Cell


Signature


Date



FATHER:  Print Name





DOB

Social Security Number



        Address






Telephone No.: Home
   

       Work
        
 Cell


Signature



Date




LEGAL GUARDIAN/LEGAL CUSTODIAN SIGNATURE/CONSENT

I, 


, having guardianship 

                                                    name of legal guardian/legal custodian

or legal custody of

_

                                                                                                                 name of child

request and consent to the placement of

_ 

                                                        name of child

in a residential placement by the Division of Child Protection and Permanency.

Signature



 Date 



Legal Status (check one):  (    ) Legal Guardianship  (    ) Legal Custody   

RELATIONSHIP TO CHILD (family/other/explain): 



Legal Guardianship or Legal Custody of the child was awarded on 


      

                                                                                    

                     date     

by 
of 


                                   name of the court
                           county/state/country

Legal Guardian's/Legal Custodian's Address:  
____________________







_     

Telephone No.: Home
   

       Work
         
Cell

_
CP&P WORKER
Print Name 


Title
_

CP&P Office: 




_
Address: 










_

Telephone Number/Extension:


_

Signature



 Date 
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Addendum:

PARENT(S) RESPONSIBILITY TO PAY CHILD SUPPORT TO CP&P
WHEN PLACING A CHILD

OVERVIEW

When a child is placed in residential placement by a parent’s voluntary consent or by court order, CP&P looks toward the child's "legally responsible person(s)" -- birth parents or adoptive parents, or the child's spouse, in accordance with N.J.S.A. 30:4C-2(r) -- to pay toward the costs of that placement, based on their ability to pay.  An individual's "ability to pay" is based on guidelines which appear in New Jersey Court Rule 5:6A and Appendix IX of the New Jersey Court Rules.

New Jersey law further states that a legally responsible person may be held liable (responsible) for up to the full cost of the child's maintenance (meals, lodging, clothing, and medical/dental care.  N.J.S.A. 30:4C-29.1 et seq.) while the child is in placement.  

FACTS YOU SHOULD KNOW

When placing your child through CP&P, you should be aware of the following facts about child support:

•
If you are living apart from your child's other parent, or if your child (under age 18) is married and has a spouse, CP&P expects you to identify and help us to locate these "legally responsible persons," so that he, she or they, also, can contribute toward supporting the child in placement.

•
CP&P does not handle child support claiming, but instead refers cases to Child Support Units (CSU) in county welfare agencies for claim processing on its behalf.  Based on these procedures, CP&P will forward your name to the CSU in the welfare agency of your county of residence, which will then determine whether to file a child support claim.

•
Upon placing a child through CP&P, you should expect to be summoned to the court for a support hearing.  A CSU attorney will represent CP&P at the proceeding.  You are entitled to bring your own attorney.  

•
The court evaluates ability to pay based on the combined gross income (income before taxes) of both parents, compared to the total number of dependent children of both parents.  The guidelines used by the court appear in New Jersey Court Rule 5:6A and Appendix IX of the New Jersey Court Rules.

•
If you are employed, the court may issue an order instructing that part of your earned income (work pay) be garnished (withheld from your pay check), and forwarded to CP&P as child support.  If you are self-employed, a child support order may be issued, based on your earnings.  If you are collecting Unemployment Insurance Benefits, child support may be withheld from your benefit.

•
If you have or are entitled to medical insurance from your employer, the court may order that it be applied toward any health-related expenses incurred by your child while in placement, or the court may order you to make specified cash payments toward your child's medical, dental, or mental health needs.

•
If a support order already exists against you or another legally responsible person, CSU will file a claim for CP&P to become the payee of the child's portion of that support while the child is in placement through CP&P.

•
The Probation Department of your county, an arm of the court, will be responsible for enforcing the child support order.
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                 Supervisor Review/Approval Signature				 Date		





Casework Supervisor Review/Approval Signature				 Date		








