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New Jersey Department of Children and Families Policy Manual 
 

Manual: CP&P Child Protection & Permanency Effective 
Date: Volume: IV Out-of-Home Placement 

Chapter: A General Placement Considerations  
9-29-2015 Subchapter: 4 Placement Activities 

Issuance: 300 Children and Youth Bill of Rights  

 
Purpose: 
 

This issuance establishes the policy and procedures for the New Jersey 
Department of Children and Families (DCF), Division of Child Protection and 
Permanency (CP&P), to ensure that the Children and Youth Bill of Rights is 
disseminated to youth age 12 and above who are in out-of-home placement. 

Authority: 

 Public Law 113-183 

Policy: 
 

A) Dissemination of Form 5-44, Children and Youth Bill of Rights  

 The Children and Youth Bill of Rights shall be distributed to youth age 12 and 
above within the first three (3) days of an initial out of home placement, and no 
later than the first Minimum Visitation Requirement (MVR) visit for each 
subsequent placement.  

 For children who turn 12 years old while in placement, the Children and Youth 
Bill of Rights must be given and explained to the youth no later than 30 days after 
his or her birthday.  

 For youth over age 12 already in an out-of-home placement setting on 
September 29, 2015, the Children and Youth Bill of Rights must be given and 
explained to the youth as soon as possible, but no later than October 1, 2016. 

Procedures: 
 

A) Explanation of the Children and Youth Bill of Rights  

The assigned Worker reads the Children and Youth Bill of Rights form to the 
youth, and ensures the youth understands his or her rights. Workers may need to 
explain bullet point(s) the youth may want clarified.  

B)  Acknowledgement of Understanding: Children and Youth Bill of Rights  
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 Once the youth has a full and comfortable understanding of his or her rights, the 
 Worker and youth sign the Acknowledgement of Receipt of Understanding on 
 pages 4 and 5. Workers then give the signed Bill of Rights document (pages 1 
 through 4) to the child/youth.  Workers retain page 5 of the original. 

 See CPP-X-A-1-5.44 for a full distribution list of this form. 

Forms and Attachments: 
 

 CP&P-X-A-1-5.44, Children and Youth Bill of Rights 

Related Information: 
 

 CP&P-III-C-3-100, Minimum Visitation Requirements (MVR) 
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