Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
State of New Jersey-Department of Environmental Protection-Compliance and Enforcement
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online 
 




""
Reciprocal Licenses

RECIPROCAL COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR LICENSES

To apply for a Commercial Reciprocal Pesticide Applicator License, complete and return all of the items listed below:

1. Application for "Commercial Pesticide Applicator Exam"

2. A copy of your current Pesticide Applicator license from your state of primary certification, showing all categories and the expiration date of the license. A reciprocal license from another state is not acceptable.

3. Your completed Answer Sheet for the Applicator Reciprocal Exam. The Pesticide Applicator Reciprocal Exam is based on the New Jersey Pesticide Control Regulations. The NJ Certification Exam is an official document and must be completed solely by the applicant.

About 2 weeks after we receive the above items, you will receive a letter from us indicating whether you passed or failed the exam. If you pass the exam, you will receive your license invoice in about 3-4 weeks. The invoice will then have to be signed and returned with the $80.00 Commercial Applicator License fee. If you fail the exam and want to reapply, send another completed package to us.

State law requires that all "Pesticide Applicator Businesses" doing business in New Jersey, be licensed with this Program. Pesticide Applicator Business information can be found on the Pesticide Applicator Business page or by calling 609-984-6507.

Note: Your primary out-of-state license must remain valid to keep your NJ reciprocal license. Call 609-984-6614 for more information on Reciprocity in NJ.

*** A COMPLETE RECIPROCAL COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR PACKAGE INCLUDES ***

1. Completed Exam Application Form (VPA-030). (Check Reciprocal box and leave exam date and site section blank)
2. A copy of your current and valid Pesticide Applicator license showing all categories and the license expiration date from your state of primary certification.
3. Your completed Reciprocal Exam Answer Sheet

Send all applications to:


NJDEP
Pesticide Control Program - MC 401-04E
Attn: Reciprocal Application
PO Box 420
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420


RECERTIFICATION OF RECIPROCAL COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATORS

Your reciprocal certification is valid for a minimum of five years. Your recertification period ends on October 31st, five years after the date you received your initial certification in New Jersey. For example, if you received reciprocity on May 15, 2005, your recertification period will end on October 31, 2010. The year was calculated by adding five years to October 31, 2005.

There are three ways to recertify:

1. The easiest way is to maintain your certification in the state where you originally received your certification. Then, during the fifth year of your New Jersey recertification period, send or fax (609-984-6555) us a copy of your most current license from that state, with a cover letter requesting recertification in New Jersey. We will then recertify you in New Jersey for another five years.

2. Take the New Jersey certification exam during the fifth year of your recertification period.

3. Complete the New Jersey continuing education requirements. This is done by accumulating units of recertification credit over the five year period by attending NJ Pesticide Control Program (PCP) approved courses, seminars and meetings. A certified applicator must accumulate 8 units of Core credit and 16 units of Category credit (for each category of certification) in the five years. Each unit of credit equals 30 minutes of instruction time.

The PCP offers one recertification course. Check out our Recertification page for information on this and other courses.

You will receive an update of your recertification status at least once a year with your license renewal. This Recertification Update Form will tell you the expiration date for each area you are certified in, how many units you have accumulated, and how many you will need to remain certified. Your specific information can be found on the Online Reports portal: Commercial Pesticide Applicator - Specific Information.

If you have any questions please email Joanne.Taroco@dep.nj.gov or call (609) 984-6614.


RECIPROCAL COMMERCIAL DEALER LICENSE


To apply for a Reciprocal Commercial Pesticide Dealer License, complete and return all of the items listed below:

1. Application for "Commercial Pesticide Dealer Exam"

2. A copy of your current Pesticide Dealer license from your state of primary certification, showing the expiration date of the license. A reciprocal license from another state is not acceptable.

3. Your completed Answer Sheet for the Dealer Reciprocal Exam. The Reciprocal Pesticide Dealer Exam is based on the New Jersey Pesticide Control Regulations. The NJ Certification Exam is an official document and must be completed solely by the applicant.

About 2 weeks after we receive the above items, you will receive a letter from us indicating whether you passed or failed the exam. If you pass the exam, you will receive your license invoice in about 3-4 weeks. The invoice will then have to be signed and returned with the $75.00 Commercial Pesticide Dealer License fee. If you fail the exam you must reapply and send another completed package to us.

State law requires that all "Pesticide Dealer Businesses" doing business in New Jersey, be licensed with this Program. Pesticide Dealer Business information can be found on the Pesticide Dealer Business page or by calling 609-984-6507.

Note: Your primary out-of-state license must remain valid to keep your NJ reciprocal license. Call 609-984-6614 for more information on Reciprocity in NJ.

*** A COMPLETE RECIPROCAL COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE DEALER PACKAGE INCLUDES ***

1. Completed Exam Application Form (VPA-030). (Check Reciprocal box and leave exam date and site section blank)
2. A copy of your current and valid Pesticide Dealer license showing the license expiration date from your state of primary certification.
3. Your completed Reciprocal Exam Answer Sheet

Send all applications to:


NJDEP
Pesticide Control Program - MC 401-04E
Attn: Reciprocal Application
PO Box 420
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420

 

 
DIVISIONS AND PROGRAMS

Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2014

Last Updated: October 27, 2014