License Information

2009 REGULATIONS

This is not the full law. Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife for further details.
All persons are reminded that the statutes, code and regulations are the legal authorities.

Licenses

« Foranglers 16 and over, a license is required
to fish the fresh waters of New Jersey, includ-
ing privately owned waters.

o Resident anglers age 70 and over do not
require a license. A driver's license or other
acceptable proof of age containing date of
birth and physical description will serve as
the actual license.

* License must be visibly displayed on outer
clothing.

« License and trout stamp are both valid from
date of purchase through Dec. 31.

A person must reside in New Jersey for six
months to obtain a resident license.

e Farmers and immediate family members
who live on the farm do not need a license to
fish on their own farm, but must obey all
fishing regulations.

 Anyone convicted of a second fish or wildlife
violation in this or another state within a
period of five years will have his or her New
Jersey licenses revoked for a minimum of
two years.

Trout Stamps

For anglers 16 and over, and residents under
the age of 70, a valid fishing license and trout
stamp are both required to fish for or possess
trout. No trout stamp is required for residents
70 years and over.

Purchasing a License

Licenses may be purchased through the mail,
online at www.WildlifeLicense.com/NJ/ or

at license agents such as sporting goods stores
plus bait and tackle shops. Visit our Web site at
www.NJFishandWildlife.com for details, or call
(609) 292-2965.

Replacement — Lost License
or Stamp

A license, permit or stamp can be replaced at
any license agent or online at Fish and Wildlife’s

National Guard Members

Eligible National Guard personnel are entitled
to free licenses, permits, and stamps. Further
information can be obtained by writing to: NJ
Department of Military/Veteran Affairs, 101
Eggerts Crossing Rd.,, Lawrenceville, NJ 08648,
Or call (609) 530-6866 for 1st Sgt. Turrian

Disabled Veterans Licenses, Stamps
and Permits

Free hunting and fishing licenses, stamps and
permits are available for resident disabled
veterans.

For the purposes of this program, a disabled
veteran is a New Jersey resident who has been
honorably discharged or released under honor-
able circumstances from active service from
any branch of the U.S. Armed Forces who hasa
service-connected disability of any degree.

New applicant disabled veterans may obtain
their hunting and fishing licenses and stamps at

the following Fish and Wildlife field offices:

 Pequest Trout Hatchery /Natural Resource
Ed. Ctr, Oxford, Warren Co,, (908) 6374125

o Central Region Office, Upper Freehold Twp,
Monmouth Co, (609) 259-2132

¢ Southern Region Office, Sicklerville,
Camden Co, (856) 629-0090.

Once disabled veteran status is established with
Fish and Wildlife, veterans may obtain a license,
stamp or permit at any license agent or online at
www.WildlifeLicense.com/NJ/.

Alllicenses, stamps and permits for which the
veteran is eligible will be free of charge. This
does not give preferential treatment in any
lottery.

Licenses

Senior Resident Fishing

2009 License Information & Fees
(Licenses and fishing-related permits are valid from
date of purchase to Dec. 31 of each year.)

Resident Fishing (Ages 16—64 yrs.) ................ $22.50

Disabled Veteran Applicants:

1. Documentation of current benefits for a
service-connected disability and proof of
honorable discharge (such as a copy of your
DD-214, VA card or monthly check stub)
must be presented to obtain a free disabled
veteran license.

2. Applicant must provide a hunter education
course (archery, shotgun or rifle) certificate
applicable to the license for which he or she
is applying or a previously issued resident
archery or firearm license or rifle permit.
Resident licenses from other states issued
to hunters prior to establishing residency in
New Jersey will be accepted if the license
indicates the sporting arm for which it was
valid. Non-resident licenses from other states
are not acceptable.

3. To obtain the free disabled veteran deer/
turkey permits one must first have a free dis-
abled veteran hunting license.

For the Blind

Residents afflicted with total blindness may
obtain a free license from Fish and Wildlife’s
Trenton office. Call (609) 292-2965 for an
application.

Summary of General Fishing
Regulations

The season, size and creel limits for
freshwater species apply to all waters of
the state, including tidal waters.

o Fish may be taken only in the manner known
as angling with handline or with rod and line,
or as otherwise allowed by law.

Permits

Available online or through license agents:
Boat Ramp Permit...........cooooecovvvveeerveeccerreenn. $15

LICENSE & FEES m

Internet license sales site, www.WildlifeLicense.
com/NJ/ or through our regular Web site at
www.NJFishandWildlife.com. The Trenton
Fish and Wildlife office is no longer open to the

(Ages 65—69 yrs.; 70 & over—Free).......... $12.50
Resident Trout Stamp (Ages 16—69 yrs.) ........ $10.50
Non-resident Fishing (Age 16 yrs. and older)........ $34

Available through the
Lebanon Field Office (908) 236-2118:

Water Lowering, Fish Stocking, Baitfish

. Collecting, Fish Tagging.........ocovvveeveveeeircriicennne 2
public for license or permit sales. Non-resident Trout StamP .......c.ceeeeeercscvrrceren $20 Tt g E ol gi g 22
Non-resident 2-Day Vacation Fishing..........oooooo..... $9 UTLIE & FTO8 LOTECUNG oo

Special Licenses Non-resident 7-Day Vacation Fishing.............. $1950 Scientific Collecting .........ccvovvveveeeeeererecieene, $22
Servicemen and Servicewomen AII-Around Sportlsman N .
A hoi ve dutv in th J (includes resident fishing, firearm hunting

person who s on active duty in the armed ser- and bow/arrow hunting licenses) .............. $72.25

vices of the United States is entitled to fish with
a resident license.
14 | New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest Buy your license or permit online at January 2009
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o When fishing from the shoreline, no more
than three fishing rods, handlines or combi-
nation thereof may be used.

 Only one daily creel of any fish species may
be in possession. Additional fish may be
caught once the creel is reached if immedi-
ately returned to the water unharmed.

* Separate stringers or buckets must be used
for each angler’s catch.

 Boats may contain only the combined daily
creel limit for each legal angler on board.

« A fishing license does not authorize trespass
on private property. Permission first must be
obtained from the landowner.

It Is Unlawful To:

o Fish within 100 feet (or as posted) of any
fish ladder entrance or exit from March 1
through June 30.

o Spear fish in fresh waters. See exception for
Delaware River, page 24.

* Possess a fishing device with more than nine
hooks in total, or more than three treble hooks,
except for the Delaware River; see page 24.

e Useset lines.

o Use cast nets in freshwater lakes or trout
stocked waters. See Baitfish Regulations,
page 26 for other exclusions.

« Foul hook any species other than yellow
perch and white perch. This does not apply
to fish taken through the ice.

* Snag any species of fish in Swartswood Lake
and its tributaries, including Neldon Brook,
plus Monksville Reservoir and its tributaries,
including the Wanaque River.

Bow and Arrow Fishing

Any species of fish, except brook, brown, lake
or rainbow trout, landlocked Atlantic salmon,
largemouth or smallmouth bass, striped bass

or any of its hybrids, pickerel, northern pike,
walleye, muskellunge or any of its hybrids, may
be taken at any time by use of a bow and arrow
with line attached by the holder of a valid fish-
ing license. See regulations for the Delaware
River and Greenwood Lake, page 24-25.

Emergency Closures

It is illegal to fish or attempt to catch or kill
fish by any manner or means in any waters
for which the Director of the Division of Fish
and Wildlife, upon approval by the Fish and
Game Council, issues an emergency closure
notice. Such notification is effective and /or
rescinded immediately upon public notifica-
tion. Emergency closures shall be based upon

January 2009

Summary of Fishing Regulations

2009 REGULATIONS

Water Supply Reservoirs Open To Fishing By Permit Only

Permits must be obtained from the specific reservoir owner listed below.

A valid fishing license is also required.

Type of
Waterbody County Fishing
o Echo Lake
3 S Passaic
=
c O
8 % Clinton Reservoir
oo Boat &
a9 i
p 'GFZ Oak Ridge Moris Shoreline
S5 Reservoir
OIS
z= Canistear S
R . ussex
eservoir
Shoreline only
Point View Reservoir Passaic Sat. & Sun
7am.to7p.m.
Oradell Reservoir
Woodcliff Lake Bergen ~ Shoreline only

Lake Tappan Reservoir

imminent threat to the well-being of the fishery
resources, and /or its users, and may include any
exceptions to the total ban of fishing that the
Director deems practical.

Ice Fishing

No more than five devices may be used for
taking fish when ice is present. The devices that
may be used are:

1. Ice supported tip-ups or lines with one single
pointed hook attached, or one burr of three
hooks that measure not more than 1/2-inch
from point to shaft

2. An artificial jigging lure with not more than
one burr of three hooks that measure not
more than 1/2-inch from point to point;

3. An artificial jigging lure with not more than
three single hooks measuring not more than
1/2-inch from point to shaft;

4. An artificial jigging lure with a combination of
the hook limitations described in 2 and 3 above.

Natural bait may be used on the hooks of the
artificial jigging lures. All devices that are not
hand-held must bear the name and address of
the user and cannot be left unattended.

Carp and suckers may be taken with net under
the ice. Suckers may be taken through the ice
by means of hooks, no more than three, directly
attached to a rigid handle between December 1
and March 1.

For more information contact New Jersey

Division of Fish and Wildlife at (609)292-2965

Fee Permit Source

Permits available in person only
at these locations:

Newark Watershed Conserv. & Dev. Corp
223 Echo Lake Road
Newfoundland, NJ 07435
(973) 697-2850

40 Clinton Street, 4th Floor
Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 622-4521

Yes

Passaic Valley Water Commission
1525 Main Avenue, Clifton, NJ 07015
(973) 340-4309

Send stamped, self-addressed envelope.
A daily permit will be mailed.
Permit allows two people to fish.

No

United Water Company
200 Old Hook Road
Harrington Park, NJ 07640
(201) 767-9300 x3208

Yes

See separate regulations for trout-stocked
waters and Greenwood Lake.

Sale of Fish

Itisillegal to sell any freshwater fish species
except under commercial permits as prescribed
in the Fish and Game Code. Artificially-
propagated trout, if properly tagged, may be
sold for food purposes.

Stocking Fish

A permit is required to stock fish or fish eggs
into any waters of the state, public or private,
at any time. An application may be obtained
by contacting the Lebanon Field Office at
(908) 236-2118. It is ILLEGAL to stock carp or
koi into any such waters.

Tagging Fish

No person may tag or mark and then release

a fish without first obtaining a fish stocking
permit or by special permit issued by Fish and
Wildlife. Contact the Lebanon Field Office at
(908) 2362118 for application information.

Waste of Fish

Fish of any species which are purposely killed
become part of the angler’s daily limit and must
be removed from the waters from which they
were taken, then either used or otherwise
disposed of properly. ===«

New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest | 15
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Fishing Regulations

SIZE, SEASON AND CREEL LIMITS

Certain waters are closed to fishing for all species from March 23 to April 11, 2009 at 8 a.m. because of trout stocking.
Refer to pages 16-18 for complete lists and exceptions. For Delaware River and Greenwood Lake, see regulations on pages 24-25.

DAILY
SEASON LOCATION MINIMUM SIZE LIMIT
LARGEMOUTH & SMALLMOUTH BASS
% A5 - .
' Statewide 12 inches 5 combined
(exceptions below)
Jan. 1-April 14
April 15-June 15 Lunker Bass Lakes:
Catch & Release only Assunpink, Parvin, Delaware 15 inches 3 combined
(all waters) lakes, Splitrock Reservoir
June 16-Dec.31
Conservation Regulations: 15 inches 2 combined
Ryker Lake

Smallmouth Bass

NORTHERN PIKE, TIGER MUSKY, MUSKELLUNGE

Northern Pike:

Statewide ) 2
Open year round 24 inches
March 20-May 20 are _ Tiger Musky &
Northern Pike Catch & Release only for Sta_teW|de I\I/?uskelrunkge:
Echo Lake Reservaoir, (exceptions below) 36linenes
Mercer Lake, 1 combined
Mountain Lake, Tiger Musky &
Monksville Reservoir Trophy Musky Waters: I\/?uskellunkge-
Mountain & Echo Lake reservoirs inch ’
Muskellunge 40 inches
CHAIN PICKEREL AND REDFIN PICKEREL
Open year round Statewide 15 inches 5 combined
Chain Pickerel
WALLEYE
Jan.1-Feb 29
kel [ =il 5l Statewide 18 inches 3

Catch & Release only
May 1-Dec.31

Walleye
STRIPED BASS (freshwater only)

Striped bass regulations are subject to change. Consult our Web site www.NJFishandWildlife.com and the news media for updates.

o March 1-Dec.31 Statewide 28 inches 2

-

s
Striped Bass

HYBRID STRIPED BASS (@reshwater only)

Striped bass regulations are subject to change. Consult our Web site www.NJFishandWildlife.com and the news media for updates.

Open year round Statewide (exceptions below) 16 inches 2

Raritan River
March 1-Dec.31 (downstream of 28 inches 2
Duke Island Park dam)

Hybrid Striped Bass

22| New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest Buy your license or permit online at January 2009
2009 Freshwater Fishing Issue www.NJFishandWildlife.com



I Fishing Regulations

SIZE, SEASON AND CREEL LIMITS

SEASON LOCATION MINIMUM SIZE 'I)_f‘n:l'l'.l‘.'

Open year round Statewide No minimum size 6

American Shad

CHANNEL CATFISH

Open year round Statewide 12 inches 5

Channel Catfish
CRAPPIE (BLACK AND WHITE)

Open year round Statewide 8 inches 10 combined

Crappie
BANDED, BLACK-BANDED, BLUE SPOTTED AND MUD SUNFISH

Banded Sunfish* Black-Banded Sunfish*

o -2

Blue Spotted Sunfish* Mud Sunfish

Closed Statewide Protected 0

OTHER SPECIES

m Statewide (exceptions below) No minimum size 25 combined
Frr

Sunfish: 7 inches 10 combined

Rock Bass, White Bass, White Perch, ! !
Yellow Perch, Sunfish (see above for sunfish ConserF\{/alilonLREgubtlon
exceptions), Bullheads, White Catfish, Open year round yker Lake Yellow Perch:

Suckers, Carp, Bowfin No minimum size

o Conservation Regulation N S )
% _.r*zh Rainbow Lake (Salem Co.) Sunfish: 7 inches 10 combined

FRESHWATER BAITFISH (See page 26 for complete description of gear types and restrictions)

10

Alewife (anadromous and land-locked forms), Open year round
Blueback Herring, Golden Shiner, Banded . No minimum
Killifish, Mummichog, Spotfin Killifish, Rainwater . Exceptlons .
Killifish, American Brook Lamprey, Fathead Ba'tﬁ.Sh may not be Statewide Excgptlon 35 combined
Minnow, Bluntnose Minnow, Stonecat, Tadpole  taken in trout stocked American Eel:
Madtom, Margined Madtom, All Shiners, Daces, waters from 6 inches
Minnows, Gizzard Shad and American Eel March 22 to June 15
* lllustrations by Ted Walke, PA Fish and Boat Commission
January 2009 For more information contact New Jersey New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest | 23
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Fishing Regulations

DELAWARE RIVER

This is not the full law. Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife for further details. All persons are reminded that the statutes,
code and regulations are the legal authorities. Red text indicates a regulation change.

Delaware River

¢ New Jersey and Pennsylvania fishing licenses are both recognized
when fishing the Delaware River from a boat or either shoreline. This
applies to the main stem of the river only.

¢ Anglers may launch a boat from either shore and on return, may have in
possession any fish which may be legally taken according to the regula-
tions of the state where the landing is made.

* No more than two rods, each with one line, or two hand lines—or one
of each—may be used. No more than three single hooks or three
treble hooks per line.

® To protect spawning striped bass, from the Calhoun Street bridge near
Trenton downstream to the Commodore Barry Bridge at Bridgeport,
non-offset circle hooks must be used when using bait with a #2 sized
hook or larger, from April 1 to May 30.

Species Open Seasons

Nicholas A. Tonelli

Spears (not mechanically propelled) and bow and arrows may be used
to take shad, eel, carp, sucker, herring and bullhead except within
825 feet of an eel weir. A valid fishing license is required.

Baitfish may be taken and possessed for personal use and are not to
be bartered or sold.

A Delaware fishing license is now required for anglers aged 16 and
over fishing the Delaware Bay and Delaware River between the
upstream tip of Artificial Island and the Delaware-Pennsylvania state
line. In that section of the river, the Delaware state boundry extends to
the New Jersey shoreline. However, when fishing from shore in New
Jersey along that section of the river, a Delaware fishing license is not
required. Delaware fishing license information can be found at
http://www.fw.delaware.gov/Fisheries/Pages/NewFishingLicense.aspx.

Minimum Length Daily Limit

Jan. 1-April 17

Bass, Largemouth & Smallmouth

a *
Eel, American

Open year round

12 inches 5 combined

June 13-Dec.31
April 18-June 12

Catch and release only Catch and release only

Pennsylvania: 8 inches
(but 6-8 inches for baitfish) 50

New Jersey: 6 inches

Herring, Alewife and Blueback
Muskellunge & Hybrids
Pickerel, Chain
Pike, Northern
Shad, American
Shad, Hickory

Striped Bass & Hybrids
(upstream of Calhoun St. Bridge)

Striped Bass & Hybrids
(downstream of Calhoun St. Bridge)

Sturgeon, Atlantic and Shortnose
Trout
Walleye
All Other Freshwater Species

Baitfish™

¢ Alisting of fishing access locations along the Delaware River is avail-

Open year round No minimum 35 combined
Open year round 40 inches 1
Open year round 12 inches 5
Open year round 24 inches 2
Open year round No minimum 6
Closed — —
March 1-Dec. 31 28 inches 2
March 1-30
June 1-Dec.31 28 inches 2
Closed — —
April 18-0ct. 15 No minimum B
Open year round 18 inches 3
Open year round No minimum No limit
Open year round No minimum 50

able at Fish and Wildlife's Web site www.NJFishandWildlife.com, under

Freshwater Fishing.

® The newly updated Delaware River Basin Commission recreation
maps are available for $25. An order form is available online at
www.state.nj.us/drbc/recreation.htm.

® Pennsylvania also enforces an 8-inch minimum on American Eel. Eel used

as bait must be at least 6 inches and no greater than 8 inches in length.

Regulations for American eel are different for Pennsylvania and
New Jersey. In Pennsylvania, American eel must be 6 to 8 inches
in length when harvested as baitfish; otherwise, the minimum size
for Pennsylvania is 8 inches, with a limit of 50 for both uses. In New

* Information for the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area is
available online at www.nps.gov/dewa/.

Jersey, American eel must be at least 6 inches in length, with a limit of
50. American eels brought to shore must conform to the regulations of

the state (NJ or PA) in which they are landed.

24 January 2009
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Fishing Regulations

GREENWOOD LAKE

B—— L B

' G-re-enwood Lake

¢ New York and New Jersey fishing licenses are both recognized
anywhere on the lake or along the shoreline.

Luke H. Gordon

* Bow and arrow fishing for all carp, sucker, herring, catfish and eel is
permitted. A valid fishing license is required.

* Fishing is permitted 24 hours a day.

* In compliance with New York regulations, only certified virus-free baitfish
may be transported to, or used on, the portion of Greenwood Lake
owned by the State of New York. Anglers are urged to use only certified
virus-free baitfish when fishing any portion of Greenwood Lake.

* No more than five tip-ups and two hand-held devices may be used
when ice fishing. All devices that are not hand held must be plainly
marked with the name and address of the angler.

Species Open Seasons
Jan 1-April 14, 2009
June 16-Dec.31, 2009*

Minimum Length Daily Limit

12 inches 5 combined
Bass, Largemouth & Smallmouth
Catch and release only

April 15—-June 15, 2009* Catch and release only

Catfish, Channel Open year round 12 inches 5
Crappie, Black & White Open year round 8 inches 10 combined
Muskellunge & Hybrids Open year round 36 inches 1

Perch, Yellow Open year round No minimum 50
Pickerel, Chain Open year round 15 inches 5
Sunfish Open year round No minimum 50 combined
Walleye "\Jg; 11 —Eeetz.%i 18 inches 3
March 1- April 30 Catch and release only
All Other Species Open year round No minimum No limit

Additional information is available at the New York DEC's Division of Fish,
Wildlife and Marine Resources Web site at www.dec.ny.gov.

* In New York, the catch and release season for bass is extended:
Dec. 1, 2008 to June 15, 2009.

FRESHWATER FISHERIES FORUMS

1st Forum:
Feb. 28, 2009; 10 a.m.

Batsto Village Visitor's Center in Wharton
State Forest

2nd Forum:
Dec. 5, 2009; 10 a.m.
Hackettstown Hatchery, Warren County

The forum at Hackettstown will include a
tour of the fish production facilities.

For more information or to pre-register
(helpful, but not required) please call
(908) 236-2118 or send an e-mail to
njfwfish@earthlink.net. E-mails should
include name, address, phone number and
number of people attending.

Come and share your views and
recommendations for the future of
freshwater fisheries in New Jersey and
learn about current research, management
and fish culture activities!

Presented by NJ Department of
Environmental Protection’s Division
of Fish and Wildlife

January 2009
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Baitfish

2009 REGULATIONS

This is not the full law. Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife for further details.

All persons are reminded that the statutes, code and regulations are the legal authorities.

Red text indicates a regulation change.

See separate regulations for Delaware River (p. 24).
For marine waters, see Marine Issue of New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest.

Baitfish Regulations

BAITFISH SPECIES

Baitfish species: alewife (anadromous and landlocked Forms), blueback herring, golden shiner, banded
killifish, mummichog, spotfin killifish, rainwater killifish, American brook lamprey, fathead minnow, blunt-
nose minnow, stonecat, tadpole madtom, margined madtom, all shiners, daces, minnows, chubs and the
American eel.

In the Delaware River between New Jersey and Pennsylvania, alewife and blueback herring (anadromous
and landlocked forms) are regulated as food fish with a one-day possession limit of 35 in aggregate.

(See separate regulations for boundary waters, p. 24-25.)

Season Location Minimum size Daily limit
Open year round
. No minimum size
Exception Statewide . 35 per day
Season closed March 22— June 15 Creglhwaias) Exception species combined

on trout stocked waters and American Eel: 6 inches

special regulation trout areas

Notes: Any person with a valid fishing license (or of the state in numbers greater than 35 per day, in
those under 16 and those 70 years or older) may lakes over 250 acres, under a special permit issued
take baitfish in fresh waters. Possession limit is one by Fish and Wildlife at its discretion.

day's limit, regardless of the intent to use these tact (908) 236-2118 f lication inf i
fish. Baitfish may be taken from the fresh waters Contac or appication information.

Gear Gear Description
Not over 50 feet long in ponds and lakes over 100 acres; in all other waters not over
oy 30 feet in length, or half the width of the stream at point of use, whichever is less.
eine

Exception: In trout-stocked waters and special regulation trout areas a seine may not
be more than 10 feet in length and 4 feet in depth.

Minnow Trap Not larger than 24 inches in length with a funnel mouth no greater than 2 inches in diameter.

Umbrella Net ~ No greater than 3.5 feet square.
Dip Net Not more than 24 inches in diameter; may be used only for alewife or blueback herring.
Cast Net No greater than 8 feet in diameter; may be used only in streams that are not trout-

stocked or special regulation trout areas (may not be used in lakes).

Maximum of nine single hooks or three hooks with three burrs per contrivance on all

hockndibine waters except the Delaware River where only three single hooks are permitted.

Turtle And Frog Regulations

Species Season Location Minimum Size Daily Limit
January 1-April 30
Snapping Turtle Statewide No minimum 3 per day
June 16—December 31
Bull Frog and January 1-March 31 . L 15 per day,
Sl July 1—December 31 Statewide No minimum combined

MEANS OF TAKE

Any person with a valid fishing license or those
entitled to fish without a license may take snapping
turtles, bull frogs, and green frogs by means of
spears, hooks, dip nets (not more than 24 inches
in diameter), traps or by hand. Snapping turtles
may not be taken with a gun or bow and arrow.

Snapping turtles, bull frogs, and green frogs may
be taken in numbers greater than the daily limit
under a special permit issued by Fish and Wildlife
at its discretion. Contact (908) 236-2118 for appli-
cation information.

26| New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest
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OPERATOR REQUIREMENTS =

Buy your license or permit online at
www.NJFishandWildlife.com

Motor Boat Title and Boating
Operator Requirements

Registration

Most boats must be registered to operate on

New Jersey waterways. All titled boats must be

registered also. Any boat (including jet skis and

non-titled watercraft), mechanically propelled

(motorized), regardless of length, must be

registered. Boats greater than 12 feet in length,

regardless of propulsion means, must be titled

and registered at an MVC office.

Boats and marine equipment which

need not be registered:

e Those not based in New Jersey or operating
here less than 180 consecutive days

o Ship’s lifeboats

e Non-motorized vessels used exclusively on
small lakes and ponds on private property

e Racing vessels with New Jersey State Marine
Police permit

o Non-motorized inflatable device, surfboard,
racing shell, dinghy, canoe or kayak

o Non-motorized vessel less than 12 feet in length

Title

For use on New Jersey waterways, all boats
more than 12 feet in length must be titled, with
the exception of ship’s lifeboat, canoe, kayak,
inflatable, surfboard, rowing scull, racing shell,
tender/dinghy used for direct transportation
between a vessel and shore for no other purposes.
For more information, visit the MVC Web site
at www.nj.gov and click on the Motor Vehicle
Commission link, or stop by an MVC office or
call (609) 292-6500.

Motor Boat and Jet Ski
Operator License

A motorboat/jet ski operator license is required
to operate these on fresh, non-tidal waters such
as lakes, creeks and rivers for those 16 years or
older. Visit the Motor Vehicle Commission Web
site or call to verify if you must take a boating
safety course.

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Boat Operators License

(888) 486-3339 toll free in NJ or

(609) 292-6500 from out-of-state
www.nj.gov/mve/

Boating safety courses

(800) 336-2628

BoatUS Foundation
www.BoatUS.com/courseline

For New Jersey State Police, boating laws
clarification, call (609) 882-2000, or visit their
Marine Services Bureau online at:
www.nj.gov/Ips/njsp/maritime/index.html

January 2009



Fishing License Lines

2009 REGULATIONS

A fishing license is required to fish the fresh waters of the state. Locations listed below mark the change from salt water
(license not required) to fresh water. A fishing license is required at and upstream of these locations.

ATLANTIC COUNTY

Absecon Creek—Dam at Lower Atlantic City Reservoir

Great Egg Harbor River—Power lines at confluence of
Gravelly Run

Middle River—None—all saline water

Mullica River—Line between Seventh Ave.,
Sweetwater, and ramp at Crowleys Landing

Nacote Creek—Port Republic dam

Patcong Creek—Bargaintown Lake dam

South River—Power lines immediately below Rt. 50

Tuckahoe River—First northerly tributary downstream
of Rt. 49 bridge (McNeals Branch)

BERGEN COUNTY

Hackensack River—Cedar Lane Bridge between
Hackensack and Teaneck

Hudson River—None—all saline water

Passaic River—Required whole length

BURLINGTON COUNTY

Assiscunk Creek—Required whole length

Bass River State—Fir Bridge on Stage Rd. in Bass
River State Forest

Batsto River—Required whole length

Blacks Creek—Required whole length

Crosswicks Creek—Required whole length

Delaware River—Required whole length

Mullica River—Line between Seventh Ave.,
Sweetwater, and ramp at Crowleys Landing

Pennsauken Creek—Required whole length

Pompeston Creek—Required whole length

Rancocas Creek—Required whole length

Swedes Run—Required whole length

Wading River—Charcoal Landing, Chips Folly Campground

CAMDEN COUNTY
License required on Delaware River and all other waters

CAPE MAY COUNTY

Bidwells Creek—None-all saline water

Cedar Swamp Creek—None—all saline water

Dennis Creek—None—all saline water

East Creek—100 ft. below East Creek Lake dam, Eldora

Tuckahoe River—First northerly tributary downstream
of lower Rt. 49 bridge (McNeals Br.)

West Creek—100 feet below West Creek Lake dam
(Pickle Factory Pond)

CUMBERLAND GOUNTY

Andrews Creek—None-all saline water

Back Creek—None-all saline water

Cedar Creek—100 ft. downstream of Cedar Lake dam

Cohansey River—Rt. 49 bridge at Bridgeton

Dividing Creek—Rt. 555 bridge

Fishing Creek—None—all saline water

Fortescue Cr./Branch of Oranoken Cr.—None-all
saline water

Manumuskin Creek—Required whole length

Maurice River—Mouth of Manumuskin Creek near Port
Elizabeth

Menantico Creek—Required whole length

Mill Creek—Tributary of Cohansey—Rt. 553 bridge, Fairton

Muskee Creek—S. side of bridge on Weathersby Rd.

Nantuxent Creek (Pages Run)—Rt. 553 north of
Frames Corner

Oranoken Creek—Whitecar Mill, North of Beaver dam

Oyster Creek—None-all saline water
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Riggins Ditch—Rt. 47 bridge

Sow and Pigs Branch Nantuxent—None—all saline water

Stow Creek—Buckhorn Rd. bridge, Jericho

Straight Creek—None—all saline water

West Creek—100 ft. below West Creek Lake dam
(Pickle Factory Pond)

ESSEX COUNTY

Passaic River—Erie Railroad bridge between Newark
(at Verona Ave.) and Kearny

Peddie Ditch—None-all saline water

GLOUCESTER COUNTY

Big Timber Creek—Required whole length

Delaware River—Commaodore Barry bridge at Bridgeport
Mantua Creek—Required whole length

Oldmans Creek—Rt. 295 bridge

Raccoon Creek—Required whole length

Woodbury Creek—Required whole length

HUDSON COUNTY

Hackensack River—None—all saline water

Hudson River—None-all saline water

Passaic River—Railroad bridge between Newark
(at Verona Ave.) and Kearny

HUNTERDON COUNTY
License required on Delaware River and all other waters

MERCER COUNTY
License required on Delaware River and all other waters

MIDDLESEX COUNTY

Cheesequake Creek—Dam at Cheesequake Lake,
Cheesequake State Park
Lawrence Brook—N.J. Turnpike bridge, East Brunswick
Raritan River—Landing Lane bridge, New Brunswick
South River—Rt. 527 bridge (New Brunswick
0ld Bridge Tpk.)
Woodbridge River—N.J. Turnpike bridge

MONMOUTH COUNTY

Black Creek—Spillway at Ocean Rd.

Branchport Creek—Mouth of Turtle Mill Brook

Deal Lake—Top of dam

Hockhockson (Pine) Brook—Garden State Parkway
northbound bridge

Little Silver Creek—Little Silver Creek Brook

Manasquan River—Bennetts bridge, Manasquan
Wildlife Management Area

Matawan Creek—Lefferts Lake dam

Oceanport Creek—Mouth of Husky Brook

Parkers Creek—Mouth of Parkers Creek Brook

Shark River—Remsen Mills Rd.

Swimming River—Swimming River Rd. bridge

Wreck Pond Creek—Rt. 71 bridge

MORRIS COUNTY
License required on all waters

OCEAN COUNTY

Beaver Dam Creek—Rt. 88 bridge

Cedar Creek—Rt. 9 bridge

Cedar Run—Rt. 9 bridge

Dinner Point Creek—None—all saline water
Double Creek—None—all saline water
Forked River—All branches Rt. 9

Buy your license or permit online at

Gunning River—None—all saline water

Jakes Branch—Above Atlantic City Blvd.

Jeffreys Creek—Ocean Gate Rd. to Ocean Gate

Kettle Creek—Rt. 549 bridge

Lake of the Lilies—Entire lake

Long Swamp Creek—Washington St. bridge, Toms River

Manahawkin Creek—Dams for Manahawkin WMA
impoundments bayside

Metedeconk River—Rt. 70 bridge, Laurelton

Mill Creek—Mouth of Creek at lagoons in Beach Haven
West

Mill Creek—Pine Beach—Ocean Gate Road

Oyster Creek—Rt. 9 bridge

Parkers Run—None—all saline water

Potters Creek—None-all saline water

Stouts Creek—None—all saline water

Stouts Creek S. Br.—Bayside East Parkway

Toms River—Garden State Parkway, northbound bridge

Tuckerton Creek—Dam at Rt. 9 bridge

Waretown Creek—Rt. 9 bridge

West Creek—Rt. 9 bridge

PASSAIC COUNTY
License required on all waters

SALEM COUNTY

Alloway Creek—Rt. 540 bridge at Alloway
Black Ditch—None-all saline water
Delaware River—None—all saline water
Fishing Creek—None—all saline water

Hope Creek—None—all saline water

Mad Horse Creek—None—all saline water
Mill Creek—None—all saline water

Oldmans Creek—Rt. 295 southbound bridge
Salem River—Dupont dam near Cedar Crest Manor
Salem Canal—Dam at Deepwater

Stow Creek—Buckhorn Rd. bridge, Jericho
Straight Ditch—None—all saline water

SOMERSET COUNTY
License required on all waters

SUSSEX COUNTY
License required on Delaware River and all other waters

UNION COUNTY

Elizabeth River—West Grand St., Elizabeth
Great Ditch—None—all saline water

Morses Creek—O0Id Morses Mill Rd.

Oyster Creek—None-all saline water

Peddie Ditch—None-all saline water

Piles Creek—None-all saline water

Rahway River—Lawrence St. (Rt. 514), Rahway

WARREN COUNTY
License required on Delaware River and all other waters

IMPORTANT FOOTNOTES:

1. Absence of a river, creek, brook or other
waterway from this list does not make it
exempt from requiring a license to fish the
fresh waters.

2. Names of waters conform to those given
on the United States Geological Survey 7.5
Minute Topographic Series Maps.
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