
Changes to regulations 
Limited Black Bear Hunting Season
For the 2010–2011 hunting seasons, New Jersey has taken steps to reinstate a limited black bear hunting 
season by permit only. In July, Department of Environmental Protection Commissioner Bob Martin 
approved the New Jersey Fish and Game Council’s 2010 Comprehensive Black Bear Management 
Policy which includes a bear hunt. The hunt can take place following publication of the final adoption 
notice in the New Jersey Register this fall. The black bear hunt will run concurrently with the Six-day 
Firearm Season for deer. For regulation and hunting details, see page  60.

No Lottery for Deer Permits
There will be no lottery for deer permits this year. Those hunting Special Areas where hunter access 
is controlled should refer to the Special Areas section beginning on page 50.

Bowhunting Safety Zone Reduced
The bowhunter perimeter bill was passed by the Legislature but awaits action by the governor. If 
signed into law, this bill will reduce the safety zone for bowhunting. The minimum distance from 
an occupied building where a bowhunter may have a nocked arrow would be reduced from 450 feet 
to 150 feet. If this bill becomes law it will not alter the firearm hunting 450-foot safety zone require-
ments. For more details on safety zones, see pages 26 and 89. 

Highlights of Regulation Changes
2010–2011 Hunting and Trapping

To Report Wildlife Violators 
Contact a New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife  
Regional Law Enforcement Office.

First, check county list to reach the correct office:

•	 �Northern Region — (908) 735- 8240
(�Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Morris, Passaic,  
Somerset, Sussex, Union and Warren counties)

•	 �Central Region — (609) 259-2120 
(Burlington, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth and Ocean counties)

•	 �Southern Region — (856) 629-0555 
(Atlantic, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester and Salem counties)

•	 �Marine Region — (609) 748-2050 
(coastal and bay areas)
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Your purchase of 
hunting equipment 

supports  
Wildlife Restoration

This DIGEST is  
available in 

enlarged  
format

for the visually 
impaired.

Write to:
New Jersey Division of Fish 
and Wildlife  
Large Format Hunting Digest
Mail Code 501-03 
P.O. Box 420 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420
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Affordable Sportsman’s Package—ALL for only $25,995
 5 Acres with NEW rustic cabin
 New ATV 
 Your choice of a rifle or chain saw

Complete Fisherman’s Package—ALL for only $49,995 

 3½ Acres on Central NY’s most popular river
 NEW hemlock lodge
 Canoe & fishing rods

New York State’s  
Best LAND BARGAINS!
Over 100 properties available  
with easy financing. Call today 
for a FREE land catalog. Call Christmas & Associates 

at 800-229-7843  
or visit www.landandcamps.com 

to learn more.

CHRISTMAS & ASSOCIATES
800-229-7843
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Licenses, Permits & Stamps
License Information

Deer Permits are valid for the 2010–2011 
hunting season. New Jersey sporting licenses are 
valid for the calendar year.

All persons hunting or trapping must be properly 
licensed. It is unlawful for any person age 10 or older 
to hunt without a hunting license. It is unlawful for 
any person age 12 or older to trap without a trapping 
license. See page 1 for license and permit fees. See 
page 9 for youth license information. All hunters 
and trappers must openly display their license and 
any applicable deer, turkey or bear permit in the 
middle of the back on their outer clothing and 
must show their license to any law enforcement 
officer or any person requesting to see it.

Licenses, permits and stamps may be pur-
chased using Fish and Wildlife’s Internet sales 
site (WildlifeLicense.com/NJ/), from approved 
license agents listed on page 18, or by calling 
(888) 773-8450. 

Do NOT heat laminate the durable license or 
permit. High temperature will destroy these 
waterproof, heat-sensitive documents.

Child Support Certifications 
The “Child Support Program Improvement Act” 
requires Fish and Wildlife to collect and maintain 
Social Security numbers and a child support 
obligation certification from license applicants 
and to make the collection of this informa-
tion part of the license application. To comply, 
Fish and Wildlife, working with the Division 
of Law in the Office of the Attorney General, 
created the Supplemental License Application 

available on the Fish and Wildlife Web site at 
NJFishandWildlife.com/child_support_info.htm 
or at license agents. 

The online child support application allows an 
individual to be certified from the privacy of their 
home. Once completed—either over the Internet or 
at a license agent—the certification remains valid 
for the calendar year in which the certification 
was completed.

Farmer License Exemption 
A farmer and the immediate members of the family 
who also reside on the farm may hunt, trap and fish 
on the farm without being licensed or possessing 
a valid rifle permit. For details, see Farmer Hunting 
and Permit Information, page 27.

All farmers should have a Conservation 
Identification number (CID). Apply now for a 
free CID either at a license agent (see page 18) or 
online at WildlifeLicense.com/NJ/. No purchase 
required. All hunters will need a CID when Fish 
and Wildlife transitions to an automated deer 
checking system in the near future.

Hunter and Trapper  
Education Requirements
New Jersey requires everyone applying to hunt 
with a shotgun, rifle or bow must show a previous 
resident license of the appropriate type from this 
or any state, or a course completion card from the 
appropriate hunter education course.

The New Jersey Hunter Education Program 
is offered as a home study, video-based course. 

Students may obtain course materials at most 
license agents and Fish and Wildlife field offices or 
download from our Web site. After completing an 
extensive homework assignment, the student will 
choose from a list of testing facilities and dates to 
complete their hunter education course. For more 
Hunter Education Program details, including 
course material availability, facility locations, dates 
and course registration, go to Fish and Wildlife’s 
Web site at NJFishandWildlife.com/hunted.htm 
or call (877) 2HUNTNJ.

Trapper education courses are offered four times 
throughout the state in the months of September 
and October. To enroll in a trapper education 
course, go to the Fish and Wildlife Web site or call 
(877) 2HUNTNJ to register. 

Lost Licenses 
A license, permit or stamp can be replaced at 
any license agent, at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet 
license sales site, WildlifeLicense.com/NJ/, or by 
calling (888) 773-8450. Licenses and permits which 
contain transportation tags can be duplicated at 
license agents or on the Internet sales site only 
twice. All subsequent duplicates of these license 
and permit types must be handled in person at 
Fish and Wildlife regional offices or the Pequest 
Natural Resource Education Center. The Trenton 
office is no longer open to the public for license and 
permit sales. A $2 fee is charged for each duplicate 
license/permit.

For the purposes of this program, legislation defines disabled 
veterans as “…any resident of New Jersey who has been hon-
orably discharged or released under honorable circumstances 
from active service from any branch of the Armed Forces of 
the United States and who has been declared by the United 
States Department of Veteran Affairs, or its successor, to 
have a service-connected disability of any degree…”

New applicant disabled veterans may obtain their hunting and 
fishing licenses and stamps at the following Fish and Wildlife 
field offices: 

•	 Pequest Trout Hatchery/Natural Resource Ed. Ctr, Oxford, 
Warren Co., (908) 637-4125; 

•	 Central Region Office, Upper Freehold Twp., Monmouth 
Co., (609) 259-2132;

•	 Southern Region Office, Sicklerville, Camden Co., 
(856) 629-0090.

All licenses, stamps and permits for which the veteran is 
eligible will be free of charge. This does not give preferential 
treatment in any lottery. 

Disabled Veteran Applicants:
1.	 Documentation of current benefits for a service-connect-

ed disability and proof of honorable discharge (such as 
a copy of your DD-214, VA card or monthly check stub) 
must be presented to obtain a free disabled veteran 
license. 

2.	 Applicant must provide a hunter education (archery, shot-
gun or rifle) course certificate applicable to the license 
for which he or she is applying or a previously issued res-
ident archery or firearm license or rifle permit. Resident 
licenses from other states issued to hunters prior to 
establishing residency in New Jersey will be accepted 
if the license indicates the sporting arm for which it was 
valid. Non-resident licenses from other states are not 
acceptable.

3.	 To obtain the free disabled veteran deer/turkey permits 
one must first have a free disabled veteran hunting 
license.

Disabled Veteran Licenses, Stamps and Permits
Free hunting and fishing licenses, stamps and permits are available for resident disabled veterans.

Regulations in red are new this year.
Purple text indicates an important note.
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Licenses, Permits & Stamps
Regulations

National Guard Licenses 
Eligible National Guard personnel are entitled 
to free licenses, permits and stamps. Further 
information can be obtained by visiting 
www.nj.gov/military/fishing_application.html or 
writing to: NJ Department of Military and Veteran 
Affairs, 101 Eggerts Crossing Rd., Lawrenceville, NJ 
08648, Attn: 1st Sgt. Turrian, or call (609) 530-6866. 

Non-resident Licenses 
Non-residents must show either a resident license 
from their state or proof of successfully complet-
ing an appropriate hunter education course in 
order to obtain a license to hunt or trap in New 
Jersey. Non-immigrant aliens who temporar-
ily import firearms to the United States must 
first obtain an application for the permit from 
the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms 
(ATF). For importation of firearms, use both 
forms ATF F 5330.3A and .3B. The approval may 
take up to 12 weeks. Contact ATF’s Explosives 
Imports Branch at (202) 927-8320 or download a 
form from their Web site at http://www.atf.gov/
forms/download/atf-f-5330-3a.pdf.

Non-resident Servicemen Licenses 
Any person on active duty in the armed services, 

regardless of their current residency, may buy a 
New Jersey resident hunting license. Present a previ-
ous resident license (from this or any other state) of 
the appropriate type or show proof to the license 
agent of successful completion of the appropriate 
hunter education course along with proof of your 
current active duty status in the armed services.

One-day License 
A one-day license may be issued for hunting on 
a licensed commercial shooting preserve. This 
license may be obtained at the shooting preserve 
and is valid only on the day issued for the species 
covered by the preserve’s license. Hunter education 
requirements still apply.

Resident Licenses 
A resident license may be purchased if one has 
resided in the state for at least six months imme-
diately prior to application.

Revocation of Licenses 
Anyone convicted of a second fish and game 
violation within a period of five years will have 
their New Jersey hunting and fishing privileges 
revoked for two years. Certain violations carry 
greater periods of revocation, ranging from three 

(continued on page 10)

years to lifetime revocation. Two convictions of any 
wildlife management area regulation will result in 
a five-year revocation of all sporting privileges. Two 
convictions of the following will result in lifetime 
revocation: safety zone violation, causing damage 
to real or personal property and negligent use of a 
firearm or bow. Fish and Wildlife may revoke any 
permit or other authorization issued for violation 
or due cause.

Youth Licenses, Resident and  
Non-Resident 
See Take a Kid Hunting pages 21–23. Properly 
licensed youth hunters ages 10–13 may hunt only 
when under the direct supervision of a properly 
licensed adult age 21 or older. Youths 15 years of age 
and under are able to hunt, fish and trap for free 
provided they have passed a hunter or trapper edu-
cation course. Youth hunters who pre-registered 
and successfully complete a hunter education 
course will receive their youth license at the course. 
A Youth Firearm or Youth Bow and Arrow License 
is valid from the time of issuance until end of the 
year when the youth turns 16. 
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THE BRIGHTER, LONGER-RUNNING A2 LED AVIATOR.® A powerful, white LED 
encircled by long-running, lower-intensity LEDs in your choice of red (invisible to 
game, good for stalking), blue (for blood tracking), 
green, or white. Track. Locate. Dress. Celebrate.

A2Lad.indd   1 7/2/10   2:39 PM



Regulations in red are new this year.
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(continued from page 9)

Permits for Hunters and Trappers
Lottery Permit Application Process
A lottery is conducted to allocate turkey, beaver, 
otter and black bear hunting or trapping permits; 
application is required for these lottery permits. 
There will be no lottery for deer permits this year. 
See Special Areas, page 50 for specific deer permit 
requirements on those properties. To receive cer-
tain permits you must first apply for the lottery. The 
application period is listed below with each permit 
type. Apply at license agents or via the Internet. Be 
sure to have your Conservation ID (CID) number 
on hand. A non-refundable $2 application fee is 
charged for each lottery application. 

Hunters or trappers will have three choices in 
each lottery. If you will accept a permit only for 
one particular zone (and/or period), complete only 
a first choice selection. There is no obligation to 
select a second or third choice; these are optional. 
When an applicant’s first choice cannot be filled, 
the computer will check for the second choice 
listed. If this selection is also sold out, the computer 
will check for your third choice. Each lottery is 
completely random and awards only ONE permit 
— not three. Your chance of winning a permit in the 
lottery depends on the number of applicants and 
the number of permits allocated (permit quota.) 

Application via the Internet—
Before You Start
•	Know your Conservation ID (CID) number or 

Social Security Number and date of birth (DOB). 
•	Know your desired permit zone and, if applicable, 

time period or season. Note: After a period of 
inactivity, the Internet transaction will time out, 
requiring you to start over from the beginning.

•	Have your payment ready. Internet transactions 
may be paid either by electronic check (e-check) 
or major credit card. For e-check transactions, 
have ready your bank routing number and your 
check book before you begin.

•	During every transaction, there are several oppor-
tunities to review your information for accuracy. 
A complete review at each step will allow you 
to make corrections now, if necessary. Once a 
purchase transaction is complete there will be 
NO refunds or exchanges. Permit applicants will 
have the opportunity to edit their application at 
any time during the permit application period; 
see Changing Your Lottery Application, below. 
Applicants are responsible to make application 
carefully. When the process is complete, print 
the confirmation page or note the transaction 
number for your records.

Application at License Agent 
Locations—Know Before You Go
•	Know your Conservation ID (CID) number or 

Social Security Number and date of birth (DOB.) 
•	Know your desired permit zone and, if applicable 

time period or season. The store proprietor or 
clerk is not responsible to know the zone/area 

of your hunting/trapping property. Be sure to 
review the map and zone descriptions at home 
before you arrive at the license agent. Not sure 
of your area? Study a county map, then using 
a pencil or highlighter, follow the zone or area 
description shown either on Fish and Wildlife’s 
Web site, in this hunting Digest or in the turkey 
permit supplement to trace the zone boundary.

•	To speed your transaction, write down your infor-
mation (CID#, DOB, lottery type, first, second 
and third choices) and hand it to the license agent.

•	NOTE for applying at license agents: Agents 
using a VeriFone® machine (a special keypad) can 
print a transaction receipt, but might do so only 
at your request. Therefore, you should ask for a 
receipt of the transaction. This receipt will list 
your choices and the transaction number. Agents 
using Web-based (computer) systems may or may 
not be able to print a receipt. ASK FIRST! When 
an agent cannot print a receipt, it’s important 
to have the clerk orally verify your application 
choices and to provide your transaction number. 
Keep this transaction number; it can be helpful 
should a problem occur with your application.

•	Each agent decides what types of payment to 
accept. Learn this in advance, then have the cor-
rect payment ready when you arrive.

Changing Your Lottery Application
Regardless of where or how you applied for a lottery, 
applicants may review their information at any time 
from any computer with Internet access. Check 
your application status or edit your application if 
you discover a correction is necessary. With your 
CID and DOB, visit WildlifeLicense.com/NJ/ 
to access your profile and follow the prompts. 
Applications may be edited only during the actual 
application period. Once the application period is 
closed, it is impossible to change your application. 
License agents and Fish and Wildlife offices DO 
NOT have the ability to change your application 
once submitted. Only you can make changes, so 
take care during the application process.

Application Status Check
Hunters and trappers may check their application 
status at any time. Go to the licensing Web site 
(WildlifeLicense.com/NJ/) to access your profile 
using your CID and DOB, then follow the prompts. 
The license system displays if the lottery has been 
run and if you won a permit. When the system 
shows ‘pending,’ the lottery has not been completed. 
During the application period the system displays 
your application as ‘pending.’

Notification of Lottery Results 
(Did you win a permit?)
Once the lottery is complete, applicants will be 
notified of their results. When hunters or trappers 
first apply, the system may have asked your choice 
for either e-mail or postcard lottery results notifica-
tion. For those who choose e-mail, be sure to review 
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your junk or spam e-mail filters so the lottery results 
notification is accepted by your computer. When 
applying at a license agent, applicants may or may not 
be asked to choose a notification mode. Some license 
issuing machines must use the default method of 
mailing a postcard notification. Applicants who 
don’t receive notification by the date posted in this 
Digest can check their application status online. 

Claiming Your Permit
Lottery permit winners may claim their permit(s) 
by going to any license agent or via the Internet. 
See the corresponding lottery permit “pick up” 
dates listed in this Digest for beaver/otter, black 
bear and fall turkey permits. Recall that at the time 
of application, you paid only the non-refundable 
$2 application fee; the actual permit fee must 
still be paid. At license agents, be sure to bring 
your CID; tell the agent you’re there to pick up 
your Fish and Wildlife-awarded lottery permit. 
Permits claimed via the Internet are subject to 
an additional convenience fee and will take 7–10 
business days to arrive.

Purchasing Non-lottery and 
Unclaimed Lottery Permits
Leftover (unclaimed) lottery permits and non-
lottery permits are available at license agents 
and via the Internet. Internet permit purchases 
CANNOT be printed from home. Plan ahead, as 
it may take 7–10 business days for your permit(s) 
to arrive. During every transaction there are 
several opportunities to review your information 
for accuracy. A complete review at each step will 
allow you to make corrections now, if necessary.  
Note: Once a purchase transaction is complete 
there will be NO refunds or exchanges. When 
purchasing permits at a license agent, speed your 
transaction by presenting to the agent a written 
note with your CID# and DOB, plus the season 
and zone of your permit choices.

Beaver and Otter Permits
•	Beaver and otter trapping are allowed by special 

permit only. 
•	Additional information—including the 

zone map and descriptions—becomes avail-
able Sept. 13 on Fish and Wildlife’s Web site, 
NJFishandWildlife.com.

•	Application period: Oct. 1–31.
•	Leftover permits, if available, will be sold at all 

license agents and at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet 
license sales site. Award notifications will go out 
during the week of Nov. 15, the same time success-
ful applicants may begin to claim their awards. 
Beaver and Otter Permits awarded in the lottery 
must be claimed prior to 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, 
Dec. 12. Awarded permits that are not claimed 
prior to 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, Dec 12 will be 
returned to the quota and become available for 
sale over the counter. Leftover and unclaimed 
permits will become available for sale beginning 
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at 10 a.m. on TUESDAY, Dec. 14, 2010. Permits 
will be available at all license agents and via the 
Internet. For leftover and unclaimed permit avail-
ability, see our Web site late in the afternoon of 
Monday, December 13, 2010. .

•	For trapping season information including regu-
lations, season dates and bag limits see Trapping 
Regulations, page 70. 

Black Bear Hunting Permits 
A total of 10,000 black bear hunting permits, 
allocated by black bear hunting areas, will be 
available to properly licensed hunters who have 
successfully completed at mandatory black bear 
hunting seminar. A random lottery will be con-
ducted if the demand exceeds the supply in any 
black bear hunting area. 

Application can be made at any license agent or 
online on our Internet sales site. Hunters are limited 
to one black bear hunting permit. Application fee: 
$2. Application period: Oct 1 – 30. 

Any leftover permits will be sold on a first-come, 
first-served basis beginning at 10 a.m. on MONDAY, 
Nov. 22, 2010. Permits will be available for sale at 
all license agents and online on our Internet sales 
site. Leftover permit availability will be posted on 
our Web site by Thursday, Nov. 18, 2010. 

2010 Black Bear Hunting Permit Quota

Black Bear  
Management Zone # of Permits

1 2,000
2 3,000
3 3,000
4 2,000

Coyote, Red and Gray Fox Hunting Permits
•	A $2 permit is required to hunt coyote, red or 

gray fox during the special permit season from 
Jan. 1–March. 15, 2011. 

•	Permits will be available at any license agent or 
via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site 
beginning Dec. 15, 2010. A 2011 hunting license 
must be purchased prior to, or in conjunction 
with, the purchase of a 2011 Coyote/Fox Permit.

•	For season details, see coyote and fox hunting 
regulations, page 63.

Deer Hunting Permits
Permits are required to hunt during the Permit 

Bow, Permit Muzzleloader and Permit Shotgun 
deer seasons. There will be no lottery for deer per-
mits this year. See Special Areas, page 50, for specific 
deer permit requirements on those properties.

Permits may be purchased either at a license agent 
or at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site 

WildlifeLicense.com/NJ/. For details, see Deer 
Season Permits, page 14.

Deer Management Assistance 
Program (DMAP) Permits
DMAP allows landowners, administrative agen-
cies, municipalities, organizations and managers 
to improve localized deer management success by 
allocating additional hunting permits for problem 
properties located within deer management zones 
that have restricted bag limits. See also page 27 
under Permits for Farmers, for more informa-
tion and contact numbers. Visit our Web site at 
NJFishandWildlife.com/dmap.htm for details.

Farmer Permits
See Farmer Hunting and Permit Information, 
page 27. 

Falconry Permits
Hunting with raptors (birds of prey) is allowed only 
with both a falconry permit and a hunting license. 
For hunting regulations see Falconry, page 24.

Rifle Permits
A valid rifle permit is required, and must be in 
possession, while hunting coyote, deer, fox, squir-
rel and woodchuck with a muzzleloading rifle; 
raccoon and opossum hunting with a .22 caliber 
rifle; and for dispatching trapped animals, other 
than muskrat, with a .22 caliber rifle. Initial rifle 
permit applicants must be at least 10 years old 
and have successfully completed a rifle Hunter 
Education Course. 
•	Rifle permits may be purchased at license agents 

or at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site. 
Rifle permits for 10- to 17-year-olds will be valid 
only for muzzleloaders. No persons under age 18 
may hunt with centerfire or rimfire rifles.

•	Rifle permits are valid from July 1–June 30.

Turkey Hunting Permits, General
•	Turkey hunting is by permit only. For turkey 

season details, see page 67.
•	Spring and fall permit applications are now 

handled on two separate applications; only one 
application may be made for each season.

•	Complete instructions for the 2011 Spring 
Gobbler season will be detailed in the 2011 
Wild Turkey Hunting Season Permit Supplement, 
available in late January at license agents, Fish 
and Wildlife offices, and on our Web site at 
NJFishandWildlife.com.

Turkey Permits, 2010 Fall Season
•	Fall turkey hunting is by permit only. 
•	The 2010 Fall Turkey Permit Lottery Application 

period is Aug. 1–Aug. 31. 
•	Award notification and permit pickup will 

begin Sept. 13.
(continued on page 12)

OUTDOORSINSURANCE.COM, INC.
OUTDOORS INSURANCE

Call a Sportsman 
About Insurance

• General Liability
• Director’s & Officer’s Liability
• Excess/Umbrella Liability
• Property (Building & Contents)
  (3-D Targets - Equipment)

• Hunting Clubs
  (Owned and Leased)
• Sportsman’s Clubs
• Rod & Gun Clubs
• Sporting Clays &
   Wing Shooting
• Archery &
  Bowhunting Clubs
• Guides & Outfitters
• Hunting Preserves
• Pro Shops
• 3-D Ranges
• National & 
  State Organizations

www.outdoorsinsurance.com

P.O. Box 6336 • Wheeling, WV 26003
866-695-9040 or 800-552-9925 (Evening) • Fax: 304-905-0187

Jed Reed
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(continued from page 11)

•	All permits awarded in the lottery will be held 
until 11:59 p.m. on Oct. 3. Unclaimed, awarded 
permits will be placed in the over-the-counter 
sale. Application fee(s) will not be refunded for 
unclaimed permits

•	Leftover permits will go on sale beginning 
Tuesday, Oct. 5, at 10 a.m., first come, first served, 
at license agents and at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet 
sales site WildlifeLicense.com/NJ/.

•	Detailed information on the application proce-
dures, season dates, bag limits and permit quotas 
are available in the 2010 Wild Turkey Hunting 
Season Permit Supplement, which can be found on 
Fish and Wildlife’s Web site or at license agents.

•	For more detailed information including the 
status of available permits, check the Web site 
or call the 24-hour automated Permit Hotline 
at (609) 292-9192.

Permits for Hunters with 
Disabling Conditions

A permit to use alternative methods/equipment 
for taking game during the prescribed seasons 
for certain physically challenged persons may be 
issued. The application period is Jan. 1 to Aug. 31 
of each year. 

Permits to Shoot from a Standing Vehicle
A permit to hunt or shoot from a standing vehicle 
that is parked off the road may be issued to licensed 
hunters who:
1.	 have a permanent or irreversible physical 

disability that limits their ambulatory ability, 
2.	 suffer from cardiovascular disease and are clas-

sified as Class 3 or 4 heart patients according 
to American Heart Association standards, or 

3.	 suffer from chronic lung disease. This permit 
will be issued if the need is certified by a 
licensed physician or chiropractor.

Individuals hunting with a permit to hunt or 
shoot from a motor vehicle must mark the vehicle 
being used for the purpose of hunting either with 
handicapped license plates issued by the Motor 
Vehicle Commission or by displaying a sign pro-
vided by Fish and Wildlife in the rear window of 
the vehicle being used. 
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To learn the latest information on this issue, hunt-
ers may call the Permit Hotline at (609) 292-9192. 
Additional information about permits for hunters 
with disabling conditions is available by writing: 
NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife, Handicapped 
Permits, Mail Code 501-03, P.O. Box 420, Trenton, 
NJ 08625-0420 or downloaded directly from our 
Web site: NJFishandWildlife.com/disinfo.htm.

Bow Use Permit
Previously, a special Bow Use Permit was issued to 
disabled hunters who were not able to use a conven-
tional bow as was described in the Game Code. The 
Special Bow Use Permit is now superfluous with 
the New Jersey Fish and Game Council’s adoption 
of the 2009–2012 Game Code. The amended Code 
expands the definition of “bow” by removing the 
prohibition on all draw locking and draw holding 
devices and by including crossbows in the defini-
tion. Crossbows are now allowed in any bow and 
arrow hunting season and other hunting seasons 
for all species where the use of bow and arrow is 
allowed. Crossbows must have a minimum draw 
weight of 75 pounds and a minimum stock length 
of 25 inches. All crossbow hunters must have in 
possession a valid archery license. (Note that cross-
bows are NOT legal for bowfishing at this time; 
bowfishing is covered by the Freshwater Fish Code.) 

Permits, Other
Captive Wildlife Permits
The possession, ownership and release of wildlife 
is regulated and allowed only for limited purposes. 
Information and applications may be obtained 
online or by calling: 
•	Nongame and exotics permits at (908) 735-5450, 

NJFishandWildlife.com/exotic_apps.htm; 
•	Game birds and mammals: (609) 292-2966, 

NJFishandWildlife.com/captpermits.htm.

Deer Road-kill Permits
Deer accidentally killed by motor vehicles may be 
possessed only for private consumption by obtain-
ing a free permit from the local police department 
or from a Fish and Wildlife regional law enforce-
ment office. The permit authorizes only possession 

of the meat for consumption and is valid only for 
90 days. The possession of all other parts such as 
antlers, under terms of this permit, are expressly 
prohibited. Wrapped venison packages must be 
labeled with the permit number.

Stamps
Stamps (such as federal migratory bird stamps) 
are not transferable to another person and are not 
valid unless signed across the face in ink. Stamps 
need not be affixed to the license. Beginning July 
1, 2009 state waterfowl “stamps” began printing 
either directly on your hunting license or as a 
separate tag, replacing the former paper stamp 
for these privileges. Pheasant and quail “stamps” 
also print directly on your license at the time of 
purchase, replacing the former paper stamp for 
these privileges. Waterfowl stamps may be pur-
chased ONLY for a specific individual; hunters 
can no longer purchase multiple stamps on behalf 
of a fellow hunter

Pheasant and Quail Stamp
Anyone aged 16 and over (except 16 year olds whose 
youth license remains valid through the end of the 
year in which they turn 16) hunting or possessing 
pheasant or quail on the following designated 
wildlife management areas shall have in possession 
a current Pheasant and Quail Stamp (the free youth 
hunting license includes a pheasant and quail stamp): 
•	Assunpink, Berkshire Valley, Black River, 

Clinton, Colliers Mills, Dix, Flatbrook, Glassboro, 
Greenwood Forest, Howardsville, Heislerville, 
Mad Horse, Manahawkin, Manasquan River, 
Medford, Millville (Bevan), Nantuxent, Peaslee, 
Pequest, Port Republic, Stafford Forge, Tuckahoe 
(MacNamara), Walpack, Whittingham and 
Winslow. The Delaware Water Gap National 
Recreation Area is also a designated pheasant and 
quail stamp area. Pheasant and quail stamps are 
valid for the calendar year, January–December.

New Jersey Waterfowl Stamp
Anyone 16 or older who hunts waterfowl must pos-
sess a New Jersey Waterfowl Stamp (now printed 
directly on your license at the time of purchase) in 
addition to the Federal Migratory Bird Stamp. Both 
stamps are valid for the fiscal year, July 1–June 30. 
A Harvest Information Program (HIP) certification 
is also required. For HIP details, see Migratory Bird 
Regulations, page 75. 

Prime Hunting Lands  
for saLe

Call Toll-Free: 1-877-NY-LANDS
(1-877-695-2637)

www.wcclinc.com
Gateway Properties of Upstate New York, Inc. 
P.O. Box 155 · State Rt. 12 · Alder Creek, NY · 13301

Upstate New York Adirondack,  
Southern Tier & Tug Hill Regions 

Large & Small Tracts 1–600 Acres  
6 Wooded Acres for only $124 a month 

ENJOY 10% OFF YOUR FOOD ORDER AFTER 
YOU CHECK YOUR DEER WITH THIS COUPON

ALL YOUR CATERING NEEDS, OUR PLACE OR YOURS!

www.ClarksburgInn.net

465 Stagecoach Road • PO Box 428 • Clarksburg, NJ 08510

Ph: 609-259-2558 
Fx: 609-259-3797
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Field-Proven Performance.
The Mossberg® 4x4 adds up to the best rifl e you can take into the fi eld.  It features 
ergonomic styling, creep-free adjustable trigger, and a free-fl oating button-rifl ed 
barrel with removable muzzlebrake. Available in 9 calibers, you will be hard-pressed 
to fi nd  a more proven gun anywhere.

Safety Tip: Treat every 
fi rearm as if it were loaded.
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