
The Department of Environmental Protection’s Division of Fish and Wildlife 

informs anglers that rules for the recreational harvest of summer flounder 

(fluke), winter flounder, weakfish, black sea bass and coastal sharks have changed. 

• The summer flounder recreational season is now May 29–Sept. 6. The recre-

ational minimum size and possession limit remains at 18 inches and six fish. 

• In an effort to rebuild the southern New England–Mid-Atlantic winter 

flounder stocks, the recreational bag limit has decreased from ten to two fish.

• Due to the extremely low abundance of the coastwide weakfish stock, the 

recreational possession limit is now one fish, down from six fish in 2009. The 

weakfish season of Jan. 1–Dec. 31 and the minimum size of 13 inches remains. 

• Also, the black sea bass recreational season has changed in 2010 and is now 

May 22–Sept. 12. Note: The black sea bass season may change during 2010. 

Visit our Web site at NJFishandWildlife.com or call the 24-hour marine 

fish “listen-only” line at (609) 292-2083 for the latest regulation updates.

• At the time of publication, recreational measures for black drum had not 

been adopted but are expected to become effective during 2010. For the latest 

information on black drum visit our Web site at NJFishandWildlife.com or 

call the 24-hour marine fish “listen-only” line at (609) 292-2083.

• Lastly, in order to address the various conditions of the coastal shark 

resources, there are numerous changes to the size, season and possession 

limits for the recreational shark fishery (see pages 12 and 15).

These changes were implemented for New Jersey to remain in compliance 

with the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s management plans for 

summer flounder, winter flounder, black sea bass, weakfish and coastal sharks. 

The new rules are aimed at providing adequate protection to these fish stocks 

while allowing New Jersey’s saltwater recreational anglers to participate to 

the fullest extent possible in these various fisheries.

New Jersey recreational marine regulations apply to all fish species when 

they are possessed in state waters or landed in New Jersey regardless of where 

they are caught.

Resource Information
Anyone who takes fisheries resources may be required to provide information 

on the species, number, weight or other information pertinent to management 

of resources.

Methods of Recreational Fishing
No person shall take, catch, kill or attempt to take, catch or kill any fish within 

the marine waters of the state by any means except in the manner commonly 

known as angling with hand line or rod and line unless specifically provided 

for by statute or regulation.

Wanton Waste Prohibited
Fish of any species which are purposely killed shall become part of the angler’s 

daily possession limit and shall not be returned to the water from which they 

were taken. This does not apply to fish which are released alive and subsequently 

die, but does apply even to species without size/possession limits.

Spear Fishing
Spear fishing may be conducted by means of a spear, harpoon or other missile 

while completely submerged in the marine waters of the state for any species, 

except lobster.

Persons who fish with a spear for species with size limits are reminded that it 

is their responsibility to ensure the fish meets the minimum size limits before 

being killed or injured.

Prohibited Species
It is illegal to take, possess, land, purchase, or sell any of the following species:

•

  Atlantic sturgeon 

•

  basking shark 

•

  big eye sand tiger shark 

•

  sand tiger shark 

•

  shortnose sturgeon 

•

  whale shark 

•

  white shark

• See Sharks (page 12) for the full list of prohibited shark species

Sea Turtles & Marine Mammals
It is illegal to intentionally molest, kill or possess sea turtles or marine mammals, 

or to possess any part thereof.

Finfish
Filleting
The filleting at sea of all fish with a size limit is prohibited. No parts of any fish 

caught on a previous fishing trip shall be in possession. Party boats may fillet fish 

at sea if they obtain a Special Fillet Permit. Applications may be obtained from 

Fish and Wildlife’s Bureau of Marine Fisheries. See Summer Flounder, page 12.

Black Sea Bass  
The minimum size limit for black sea bass is 12.5 inches measured along the 

midline from the snout to the end of the central portion of the tail, not to 

include the tail filaments. (See illustration above.) The possession limit is 25 fish 

with an open season of May 22–Sept. 12. The black sea bass season may change 

during 2010. Visit our Web site at NJFishandWildlife.com or call the 24-hour 

marine fish “listen-only” line at (609) 292-2083 for the latest regulation updates.

Bluefish
The possession limit for bluefish is 15 fish. 

Black Drum
The minimum size limit for black drum is 16 inches in total length and the 

daily possession limit is three fish. There is no closed season for black drum. 

Proposed changes for black drum include a minimum size limit of 32 inches 

(total length) with a daily possession limit of two fish. The “no closed season” 

for black drum would continue. Visit our Web site at NJFishandWildlife.com 

or call the 24-hour marine fish “listen-only” line at (609) 292-2083 for the latest 

regulation updates.

Red Drum
The red drum possession and size limits are one fish no less than 18 inches and 

not greater than 27 inches.

Striped Bass (includes Hybrid Striped Bass)
The possession limit for striped bass/hybrid striped bass is two fish with a 

minimum size limit of 28 inches for each fish. Anglers participating in the 

Striped Bass Bonus Program (see next page) may possess an additional striped 

bass at least 28 inches in length. > 

This is not the full law. Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife for further details. 
All persons are reminded that the statutes, code and regulations are the legal authorities.  

Red text in regulations indicates a change for this year. 
Green text denotes proposed regulation changes anticipated to be in effect later in 2010. Purple text indicates an important note.

Black Sea Bass

Striped Bass
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It is illegal to take, catch or kill any striped bass from or in any marine waters 

of this state, by means of a net of any description, or by any methods other 

than angling with a hook and line or by spear fishing.

It is illegal to possess any striped bass which is less than the legal minimum 

size of 28 inches. A person shall not fillet, or remove the head or tail, or parts 

thereof, of any striped bass at sea.

Harvest and possession of striped bass from federal waters (outside three 

miles) is prohibited.

Sale of striped bass in New Jersey is prohibited. 

Striped Bass Closed Seasons
No person may take, attempt to take, or have in possession any striped bass 

from the following closed waters:

Jan. 1–Feb. 28: All waters closed except the Atlantic Ocean from zero to 

three miles offshore. All inlets and bays are delineated from ocean waters by 

a Colregs Demarcation line.

April 1–May 31: Delaware River and Bay and their tributaries closed from 

the upstream side of the Calhoun St. bridge downstream to and including the 

Salem River and its tributaries. 

Note: Non-offset circle hooks are required to reduce striped bass bycatch 

mortality while fishing with natural bait during the striped bass springtime 

spawning area closure within the Delaware River and its tributaries. This 

restriction does not apply to hook sizes smaller than size 2.

Striped Bass Bonus Program 
The Striped Bass Bonus Program will continue this year, where anglers possessing 

a bonus permit may keep a third striper at 28 inches or greater.

The current allocation from the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission 

is 321,750 pounds to be distributed between individual anglers and party/

charter boats. Should New Jersey exceed this quota, any overage would be 

subtracted from the following year’s quota.

Application Process: Striped Bass Bonus Program permits are only available 

online. Go to WildlifeLicense.com/nj/, complete the application and immedi-

ately print one Bonus Permit (application fee, $2). The permit is non-transferable 

and valid for the current calendar year. Only one permit can be used per day. 

Harvest reporting also must be online.

The party/charter boat segment of the program remains the same, with the 

applications available only by contacting Fish and Wildlife at (609) 748-2020. 

The party/charter boat bonus program is not online. 

Striped Bass Bonus Permit Harvest Reporting: All information on the Bonus 

Permit must be completed immediately after harvest and prior to transporta-

tion. After reporting harvest information at WildlifeLicense.com/nj/, anglers 

are then eligible to receive another bonus permit for the $2 application fee. 

Note: Harvest information must be reported online. 

Striped Bass Fishing Log  : All participants receive a log with their Bonus 

Permit and are encouraged to report all striped bass fishing activity for 

the calendar year. Anglers now have the option to enter their striped 

bass fishing log online instead of mailing their paper fishing log. Go to 

NJFishandWildlife.com/bonusbas_log.htm.

Sharks
The minimum size limit for any species of shark, except small coastal group 

and dogfish (see Note at right) is 54 inches fork length.

Atlantic Coastal Shark Changes: In response to the October 2008 adoption of 

the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s (ASMFC) Interstate Fishery 

Management Plan for Atlantic Coastal Sharks, New Jersey must implement 

new recreational and commercial management measures for Atlantic coastal 

sharks regarding prohibited species, size, season and possession limits plus 

commercial quotas. The ASMFC compliance requirements to be implemented 

in 2010 were developed to complement existing federal shark regulations (see 

2010 Federal Recreational Regulations table, page 18). However, the following 

additional proposed measures are required:

• In state waters, there is no minimum size limit for small coastal sharks* in 

the recreational fishery, but federal regulations include a 54-inch minimum 

size limit for blacknose and finetooth small coastal sharks.

• All sharks within the large coastal group* will have a closed season within 

state waters from May 15 through July 15 to protect spawning female sharks 

during the pupping season. 

* See page 18 footnote for species list defining small coastal, large coastal and 

pelagic sharks.

All sharks harvested by recreational fishermen must have heads, tails and fins 

attached naturally to the carcass until landed. Anglers may still gut and bleed 

the carcass as long as the tail is not removed. Filleting sharks at sea is prohibited.

Recreational anglers should access the following National Oceanic and 

Atmospheric Administration Web site, http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/

sharks/2008/Rec_shark_ID_placard_09_04_2008.pdf to view the publication 

Sharks That Can Be Legally Retained By Recreational Anglers In The Atlantic 

Ocean, Caribbean Sea And Gulf Of Mexico, an excellent pictorial guide to 

identifying sharks that are legal to harvest.

These are the shark species that are prohibited from possession: Atlantic 

angel, basking, bigeye sixgill, bigeye thresher, bigeye tiger, bignose, Caribbean 

reef, Caribbean sharpnose, dusky, Galapagos, longfin mako, narrowtooth, night, 

sandbar, sandtiger, sevengill, silky, sixgill, smalltail, whale and white sharks.

Note: To differentiate sharks from dogfish—the smooth dogfish has flat, tiny 

teeth; the spiny dogfish has strong, dorsal spines, shorter than, and in front of, 

the dorsal fins. Neither are present in sharks.

Summer Flounder (Fluke)
The possession and minimum size limit for summer flounder is six fish at 18 inches 

with an open season from May 29–Sept. 6.

Anglers may fillet one legal-sized summer flounder from their daily posses-

sion limit catch for use as bait. This carcass, commonly known as the rack, 

shall be kept intact so it can be measured for compliance with the minimum 

size limit. No parts of any summer flounder caught on a previous fishing trip 

shall be in possession; only fish just caught on this outing. 

Tautog (Blackfish)
The minimum size limit for tautog is 14 inches. There is a four fish possession 

limit from Jan. 1–April 30, a zero fish possession limit from May 1–July 15 (the 

season is closed), a one fish possession limit from July 16 through Nov. 15 and 

a six fish possession limit from Nov. 16–Dec. 31.

Weakfish (Gray & Spotted Seatrout)
The current possession and minimum size limit for weakfish is one fish at 

least 13 inches in length. 

Shark

Fork Length

Red text in regulations indicates a change for this year. 
Green text denotes proposed regulation changes anticipated to be in effect later in 2010. 

Purple text indicates an important note.
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Winter Flounder
The minimum possession and size limit for winter flounder is two fish at 12 inches. For winter flounder 

the open season is March 23 –May 21.

Additional Marine Fishing Regulations
See pages 15 –18 for the regulation charts and fish ID pages.

National Saltwater Angler Registry Program
The federal government’s National Saltwater Angler Registry Program requires most New Jersey saltwater 

anglers to register prior to fishing in 2010.

You must register if you…

• Fish for or catch anadromous species (striped bass, shad, river herring) in state tidal waters

• Fish in Federal waters (more than 3 miles from shore) 

You do not have to register if you…

• Are under 16 years of age

• Only fish on federally licensed party or charter boats

• Hold a Highly Migratory Species Angling Permit

• See our Web site for additional exemptions: NJFishandWildlife.com/registryinfo.htm

Register online at www.countmyfish.noaa.gov or call toll free (888) 674-7411. Registration is free in 2010. 

Note: registering with the Federal Registry Program does NOT exempt anglers from obtaining any state 

marine fishing license required when fishing those state’s waters. 

Delaware Fishing License Requirement
A Delaware fishing license is now required for anglers aged 16 and over fishing the Delaware River and 

Delaware Bay between the upstream tip of Artificial Island and the Delaware-Pennsylvania state line. In that 

section of the river, the Delaware state boundary extends to the New Jersey shoreline. When fishing from 

shore in New Jersey along that section of the river, a Delaware fishing license is not required. Delaware fishing 

license information can be found at http://www.fw.delaware.gov/Fisheries/Pages/NewFishingLicense.aspx 

New York License Requirement
A New York license is now required for all anglers 16 and over fishing all waters of the Atlantic Ocean 

within 3 miles of the coast and all other tidal waters within the state, including the Hudson River up to 

the Gov. M. Wilson Tappan Zee Bridge. Visit www.dec.ny.gov/permits/50950.html.

 Bait Fish
 No license is required for the taking of baitfish for personal use with the following gear:

1. Dip nets 24 inches diameter or less for the taking of herring for live bait.

2. Bait seines 50 feet long or less.

3. Cast nets 20 feet in diameter or less.

4. Lift or umbrella nets four feet square or less.

5. Not more than five killipots.

6. Not more than two miniature fykes or pots for the taking of eels for bait.

Fish taken in this manner may not be sold or used for barter unless a commercial bait net license is in 

possession.

No person shall take more than 35 alewife or blueback herring in aggregate per day by hook and line or 

with the above listed gear.

No person shall take or attempt to take fish by any means from the Deal Lake flume, Lake Takanasse 

spillway or Wreck Pond spillway on any Monday, Wednesday or Friday during the months of April and May.

Motor Boat Registration  
and Title Requirements
NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC)

Registration
Most boats must be registered to operate on New 
Jersey waterways. 
• All titled boats must be registered also. 
•  Any boat (including jet skis and non-titled 

watercraft), mechanically propelled (incl. 
electric motors), regardless of length, must 
be registered. 

•  Boats greater than 12 feet in length, 
regardless of propulsion means, must be 
titled and registered at an MVC office.

Boats and marine equipment which need not be 
registered:
•  Those not based in New Jersey or operating 

here less than 180 consecutive days that 
are operating under a federally approved 
numbering system from another state

• Ship’s lifeboats
•  Non-motorized vessels used exclusively on 

small lakes and ponds on private property
•  Racing vessels with New Jersey State Marine 

Police permit
•  Non-motorized inflatable device, surfboard, 

racing shell, dinghy, canoe or kayak
•  Non-motorized vessel less than 12 feet in 

length

Title
For use on New Jersey waterways, all boats 
more than 12 feet in length must be titled, with 
the exception of ship’s lifeboat, canoe, kayak, 
inflatable, surfboard, rowing scull, racing shell, 
tender/dinghy used for direct transportation 
between a vessel and shore for no other 
purposes. 

Boat Operator License (MVC)
An operator license is required to operate power 
vessels on fresh, non-tidal waters such as lakes, 
creeks and rivers. (Minimum age 16 years; with 
certain exceptions.) 

For More Information:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 
(888) 486-3339 toll free in NJ or 
(609) 292-6500 from out-of-state 
www.nj.gov/mvc/

Boat Safety Certificate (NJSP)
A boat safety certificate (from an approved 
boat safety course; see NJSP Web site, below) 
is required to operate a personal watercraft or 
power vessel, including electric motors, in NJ 
waters (tidal and non-tidal).

New Jersey State Police (NJSP) 
(609) 882-2000 
www.njsp.org/maritime
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Bidwell Creeks and the Cape May Canal; Atlantic Co.: Hammock Cove 

(Dry Bay); Ocean Co.: on east shore of Barnegat Bay, that area of Sedge 

Islands Wildlife Management Area enclosed by a line drawn from the 

northern bank of Fishing Creek on Island Beach State Park to the northern 

tip of the Sedge Islands (Hensler Island), then south from point to point 

along the western side of the Sedge Islands WMA and terminating on the 

most southwestern point of Island Beach State Park.

14. Fish and Wildlife will issue a non-commercial crab dredge license for the 

harvest of not more that one bushel of crabs per day    during the crab dredge 

season. Crabs so taken may not be sold or offered for barter. There is a fee 

of $15 for this non-commercial crab dredge license. See page 19 for details 

on purchasing a non-commercial crab dredge license.

Notice: All non-collapsible Chesapeake-style crab pots (see illustration on 

page 19) must be constructed to include a biodegradable panel designed to 

create an opening to allow crabs and other organisms to escape if the pot 

is lost or abandoned. All non-collapsible Chesapeake-style crab pots set in 

any manmade lagoon or any water body less than 150 feet wide must also 

include a turtle excluder device inside all pot entrance funnels.

 Horseshoe Crabs
The harvest of horseshoe crabs is prohibited. Possession of horseshoe crabs 

is also prohibited except for those individuals holding a scientific collecting 

permit for research and education and those fishermen that can provide suitable 

documentation that the horseshoe crabs in their possession were harvested 

outside the State of New Jersey.

 Mollusks
1. All persons must be licensed to harvest any shellfish. See page 19. Shellfish 

means any species of benthic mollusks (except conch) including hard and 

soft clams, oysters, surf clams, bay scallops and mussels.

2. It is illegal to harvest shellfish from condemned waters, even for bait purposes. 

It is also illegal to harvest shellfish including surf clams from beaches adja-

cent to water classified as condemned. Shellfish water classification charts 

are available from license agents or any state shellfish office. See page 19 for 

shellfish license information. Charts are updated annually.

3. Shellfish harvesting is prohibited before sunrise, after sunset and on 

Sunday, except in the seasonally-approved areas of the Navesink and 

Shrewsbury rivers.

4. Harvesting shellfish on public grounds is restricted to the use of hand 

implements. 

5. It is illegal to harvest shellfish from leased grounds. These grounds are 

delineated by stakes or buoys set by the lease holder. Charts of the leases 

may be examined at Fish and Wildlife’s Nacote Creek or Delaware Bay 

shellfish offices during regular business hours. Invasion onto leased grounds 

is punishable by penalties up to $3,000 and loss of all equipment.

 Recreational Shellfish License
1. No holder of any recreational shellfish license 

may take more than a total of 150 shellfish (in 

aggregate) per day. See page 19.

2. A non-resident recreational shellfish license 

is valid only during the months of June, July, 

August and September. 

3. Anyone engaged in any shellfish harvesting 

activity with someone holding a commercial 

shellfish license must also possess their own 

commercial shellfish license.

4. It is illegal to dredge shellfish. Hand implements are the only legal harvest 

methods. >

 Crustaceans
American Lobster
The legal possession size of whole lobsters, measured 

from the rear of the eye socket along a line parallel 

to the center line of the body shell to the rear of 

the body shell, shall be not less than 3 

3

⁄8 inches nor 

greater than 5

1

⁄4 inches. Lobster parts may not be 

possessed at sea or landed.

The possession limit is six lobsters per person. 

No person shall possess any lobster with eggs 

attached or from which eggs have been removed 

or any female lobster with a v-notched tail, as 

illustrated above.

The use of spears, gigs, gaffs or other penetrating devices as a method of 

capture for lobsters is prohibited. A recreational lobster pot permit and fish 

pot license is required to use pots or traps to capture lobsters. For details call  

(609) 748-2020.

Lobsters taken recreationally may not be sold or offered for sale.

Crabs
1. Crabs may be taken recreationally with hand lines, manually operated 

collapsible traps or scoop nets without a license. A non-commercial crab pot 

license is required for the use of not more 

than two non-collapsible Chesapeake-

style crab pots (see illustration on page 

19) or two trot lines to harvest crabs. See 

page 19 for the non-commercial crab pot 

license information. 

2. It is illegal to harvest or possess more than 

one bushel of crabs per day per person or 

offer for sale any crabs without having 

in your possession a valid commercial 

crabbing license.

3. Minimum size for crabs that may be harvested (measured from point to 

point of shell) are as follows:

a) Peeler or shedder crab: 3 inches

b) Soft crab:  3

1

⁄2 inches

c) Hard crab:  4

1

⁄2 inches (possession)

4. All female crabs with eggs attached and all undersized crabs shall be 

returned to the water immediately.

5. Recreational trot lines shall not exceed 150 feet in length with a maximum 

of 25 baits.

6. All pots and trot lines shall be marked with the identification number 

of the owner.

7. All crab pots must be tended at least once every 72 hours.

8. No floating line may be used on any crab pot or crab pot buoy.

9. No crab pot shall be placed in any area that would obstruct or impede 

navigation or in any creek less than 50 feet wide.

10. Only the owner, his agent or a law enforcement officer may raise or remove 

contents of a legally set fishing device.

11. Crabs taken with a bait seine may be retained for personal use only if the 

fisherman possesses a bait net license, and may not be bartered or sold 

unless the fisherman possesses a commercial crab license.

12. No crabs may be harvested from the Newark Bay Complex. For more 

information, see Health Advisory on page 22.

13. Crab Pot/Trot Line seasons:  

Delaware Bay and tributaries: April 6–Dec. 4 

All other waters: March 15–Nov. 30

The following waters are closed to the use of crab pots and trot lines: 

Cumberland Co.: Cohansey River and creeks named Back, Cedar, 

Nantuxent, Fortescue, Oranoken and Dividing; Cape May Co.: West and 

Measure crabs point to point.

Lobster

V notch

1½""

14 | New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest  May 2010
  2010 Marine Issue NJFishandWildlife.com 

Mollusks & Crustaceans

�����������������



2010 New Jersey Recreational Fishing Seasons, 
Minimum Size and Possession Limits (Regulations in red are new this year.)

Species Open Season Minimum  
Length

Harvest &  
Possession Limit 

(per person unless noted)

American Eel No Closed Season 6" 50
Black Druma No Closed Season 16" 3

Black Sea Bassa May 22–Sept. 12 12.5"* 25
Bluefish No Closed Season None 15
Cobia No Closed Season 37" 2
Cod No Closed Season 21" No Limit
Haddock No Closed Season 21" No Limit
King Mackerel No Closed Season 23" 3
Pollock No Closed Season 19" No Limit
Red Drum No Closed Season 18" 1 not greater than 27"
River Herring No Closed Season None 35

Scup (Porgy)
Jan. 1–Feb. 28
July 1–Dec. 31

9" 50

Shad No Closed Season None 6

Sharkb,c

Large coastal group†
Jan. 1–May 14

July 16–Dec. 31
54" fork 
length 

One Shark (of any species, 
except prohibited species) per 

vessel per trip; plus one Atlantic 
sharpnose shark per person per 
trip (no minimum size); plus one 
bonnethead shark per person per 

trip (no minimum size).

Small coastal group† No closed season None

Pelagic group† No closed season 54" fork 
length

Smooth Dogfish No Closed Season None No Limit
Spanish Mackerel No Closed Season 14" 10
Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass

Delaware River & tributaries** 
(Calhoun St. bridge to Salem 
River & tributaries)

March 1–March 31  
and  

June 1–Dec. 31

28" 2
Delaware River & tributaries** 
(upstream of Calhoun St. bridge) March 1–Dec. 31

Atlantic Oceand

(0–3 nautical miles from shore )
No Closed Season

Rivers, bay and estuaries March 1–Dec. 31
3–200 nautical miles 
(federal waters) Prohibited  – 0

Summer Flounder May 29–Sept. 6 18" 6

Tautog

Jan. 1–April 30 14" 4
May 1–July 15 – 0

July 16–Nov. 15 14" 1
Nov. 16–Dec. 31 14" 6

Weakfish No Closed Season 13" 1
Winter Flounder March 23–May 21 12" 2
Note: No species of fish with a minimum size limit listed above may be filleted or cleaned at sea (except 
striped bass if fillet is at least 28" long). Party boats licensed to carry 15 or more passengers may apply 
for a permit to fillet the above species, except striped bass, at sea. See Summer Flounder, page 12.
Blue Crab

peeler or shedder No Closed Seasone 3"
1 bushelsoft No Closed Seasone 3½"

hard No Closed Seasone 4½"
Lobster (carapace length) No Closed Season 33/8" 6
Hard Clam (license required) No Closed Season 1½" 150 clams
  a Regulation changes possible during 2010.
 b Not including dogfish; see description on page 12 under Sharks.
 c See page 11 for a list of Prohibited Species.
 d Atlantic Ocean greater than three miles from shore: harvest and possession prohibited.
 e Unless using non-collapsible, Chesapeake-style crab pots. See sections on crab pots, pages 14 and 19.
 * Excluding tail filaments. (See illustration, page 11.)
 ** See Closed Seasons (page 12) for specifics of springtime non-offset circle hook requirements.
 † See page 18 for Federal Recreational Regulations.

5. The minimum size of hard clams that may be 

harvested is 1

1

⁄2 inches in length. Clams less 

than 1

1

⁄2 inches in length must immediately be 

returned to the bottom from which they were 

taken. Specific seasons, regulations and size limits 

exist for oyster beds in Great Bay, Delaware 

Bay, plus the Mullica, Great Egg Harbor and 

Tuckahoe rivers. Check with the nearest shellfish 

office (Nacote Creek or Delaware Bay) for these 

detailed regulations.

6. It is illegal to harvest shellfish on Sunday except 

in the seasonal waters of the Navesink and 

Shrewsbury rivers between Nov. 1 and April 30.

7. Shells taken in the process of harvesting oysters 

must be culled from 

the live oysters and 

returned immedi-

ately to the area from 

where they were taken.

Commercial Shellfish License
1. Shellfish may be sold only to certified dealers. 

All persons selling shellfish commercially must 

tag each container listing date of harvest, name 

and address of the harvester and the waters from 

which the shellfish were harvested.

2. It is illegal to dredge shellfish on public grounds. 

All harvesting on public grounds is restricted to 

the use of hand implements.

3. Shells taken in the process of harvesting oysters 

must be culled from the live oysters and imme-

diately returned to the area from where they 

were taken.

4. The minimum size of hard clams that may be 

harvested is 1½ inches in length. Clams less than 

1½ inches must immediately be returned to the 

bottom from which they were taken. Specific 

seasons, regulations and size limits exist for oyster 

beds in Great Bay, Delaware Bay, plus the Mullica, 

Great Egg Harbor, and Tuckahoe rivers. Check 

with the nearest shellfish office (Nacote Creek 

or Delaware Bay) for these detailed regulations.

5. It is illegal to harvest shellfish on Sunday except 

in the seasonal waters of the Navesink and 

Shrewsbury rivers between Nov. 1 and April 30 

when it is legal. 
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Red text in regulations indicates a change for this year. 
Green text denotes proposed regulation changes anticipated to be in effect later in 2010. 

Purple text indicates an important note.
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2010 Federal Recreational Regulations for Minimum Size, Possession Limits and Seasons
See New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife Recreational Fishing Seasons Minimum Size and Possession Limits (page 15) for state waters listings of species 
not included in these federal waters regulations (from 3–200nm). For federal regulation questions, please contact the National Marine Fisheries Service at 
(978) 281-9260, or go to www.nmfs.noaa.gov.

Species Season Minimum Size
Possession Limit  

(number per angler per day  
unless otherwise specified)

Notes

Striped Bass Possession prohibited in federal waters (3–200 nm). See pages 11 and 15 for NJ waters.

Dolphin  
(Mahi mahi) Year round None

10, not to exceed 60 per vessel, which ever 
is less — except on a charter or headboat, 

then 10 per paying passenger.

For current federal waters regulations (3–200nm), refer to  
www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ or call (727) 824-5399.

Marlin, White Year round 66" lower jaw  
fork length None

Billfish require Highly Migratory Species (HMS) permit 
when fishing in federal waters (3–200 nm). For permits 
refer to www.hmspermits.gov or call (888) 872-8862. 

During any sanctioned billfish tournaments offering prize 
money, non-offset circle hooks are required for lures 
with natural bait or natural/artificial bait combos. Refer to 
www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ or call (978) 281-9260. 

All non-tournament billfish landings must be 
reported to NMFS within 24 hours, either online at 
www.hmspermits.gov or by calling (800) 894-5528. 

For current regulations refer to www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ 
or call (727) 824-5399.

Marlin, Blue Year round 99" lower jaw  
fork length None

Sailfish Year round 63" lower jaw 
fork length None

Spearfish, 
Longbill None None Prohibited

Golden Tilefish Year round None None For current federal waters regulations (3–200nm), refer to 
www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ or call (978) 281-9260.

Swordfish

January 1, 2010 to 
December 31, 2010 

or until season is 
closed.

47" lower jaw  
fork length

For anglers: 1 per person, no more than 
4 per vessel per trip.

For charter vessels: 1 per paying passenger, 
no more than 6 per vessel per trip.

For headboat vessels: 1 per paying passen-
ger, no more than 15 per vessel per trip.

Swordfish, tuna and sharks require an HMS permit when 
fishing in federal waters (3–200 nm). For permits, refer to 
www.hmspermits.gov or call (888) 872-8862. 

All non-tournament swordfish landings must be 
reported to NMFS within 24 hours either online at 
www.hmspermits.gov or by calling (800) 894-5528. 

Bluefin Note: These regulations for bluefin tuna may 
change during the season. Contact (978) 281-9260 prior 
to fishing.

All recreational bluefin tuna landings must be 
reported to NMFS within 24 hours either online at 
www.hmspermits.gov or by calling (888) 872-8862. 

For current federal waters regulations (3–200nm), refer to 
www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ or call (301) 713-2347 for 
swordfish/sharks or (978) 281-9260 for tunas.

Tuna, Albacore 
(Longfin) Year round None None

Tuna, Bigeye Year round 27" curved  
fork length None

Tuna, Bluefin

January 1, 2010 to 
December 31, 2010 

or until season is 
closed.

27 to <73" curved  
fork length

1 BFT per vessel per trip per day.

May change during season.  
See Bluefin Note at right.

�73 curved 
fork length 1 trophy giant BFT per vessel per year

Tuna, Skipjack Year round None None

Tuna, Yellowfin Year round 27" curved  
fork length 3 per person per trip

Shark,  
Large Coastal*

Year round >54", 4.5ft, or 1.37m  
fork length

One Shark (of any species, except 
prohibited species) per vessel per trip;  
plus one Atlantic sharpnose shark per 

person per trip (no minimum size);  
plus one bonnethead shark per person 

per trip (no minimum size).

See below for list of shark groups which MAY be kept or 
MUST be released. Swordfish, tuna and sharks require an 
HMS permit when fishing in federal waters (3–200 nm). 
For permits, refer to www.hmspermits.gov or call 
(888) 872-8862. Recreational fishermen (those that do 
not have a limited access commercial shark permit) can 
not sell, barter or trade any Atlantic shark or shark pieces.

Shark,  
Small Coastal*

Shark, Pelagic*

* Shark Species That May Be Kept: Large Coastal Shark—blacktip, bull, lemon, nurse, tiger, spinner, scalloped hammerhead, smooth hammerhead, great 
hammerhead; Small Coastal Shark—Atlantic sharpnose, bonnethead, blacknose, finetooth; Pelagic Shark—Shortfin mako, blue, porbeagle, oceanic whitetip 
and common thresher. Shark Species That MUST Be Released: Atlantic angel, basking, bigeye sand tiger, bigeye sixgill, bigeye thresher, bignose, 
Caribbean reef, Caribbean sharpnose, dusky, Galapagos, longfin mako, narrowtooth, night, sandbar, sand tiger, sevengill, silky, sixgill, smalltail, whale and white.

Regulations concerning highly migratory species (HMS) such as tuna, swordfish, shark and billfish, are subject to change. Refer to www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ 
for a list of complete federal regulations for highly migratory species. For questions/clarification of the federal highly migratory species regulations, contact the 
National Marine Fisheries Service at (301) 713-2347 or go to www.nmfs.noaa.gov.

Red text in regulations indicates a change for this year. 
Green text denotes proposed regulation changes anticipated to be in effect later in 2010. 

Purple text indicates an important note.
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twine not greater than 

3/16
" diameter, or non-stainless steel, uncoated ferrous 

metal not greater than 

3/32" diameter. The door or a side of the pot may serve 

as the biodegradable panel ONLY if it is fastened to the pot with any of the 

material specified above. Crabbers should be aware that ALL non- collapsible, 

Chesapeake-style crab pots MUST be licensed and marked with the gear 

 identification number of the owner. For crab pot license information and 

 regulations, see the regulations on page 14 and license agents below. 

SHELLFISH LICENSE INFORMATION
A clamming license is now called a shellfish license and is required for harvesting 

of all species of benthic mollusks (with the exception of conchs, addressed 

in the commercial marine fisheries regulations), including, but not limited 

to, hard and soft clams, surf clams, oysters, bay scallops and mussels. Other 

specific commercial shellfish licenses exist such as surf clam dredge, Delaware 

Bay oyster dredge boat, and Delaware Bay licenses to harvest in Areas 1, 2 and 3. 

Prior to harvesting any shellfish, be certain to consult the Shellfish Growing 

Water Classification Charts published by DEP’s Bureau of Marine Water 

Monitoring, available at any shellfish license agent, state shellfish offices, online 

at http://www.nj.gov/dep/bmw/waterclass.htm or call the Bureau of Marine 

Water Monitoring at (609) 748-2000. Shellfish licenses are available for purchase 

online at WildlifeLicense.com/NJ/. 

Shellfish License Fees
• Resident recreational shellfish: $10

Harvest limit of 150 shellfish (in aggregate) per day. Sale of catch prohibited.

• Non-resident recreational shellfish: $20

Harvest limit of 150 shellfish (in aggregate) per day. Sale of catch prohibited. 

License valid only during the months of June, July, August and September.

• Juvenile recreational shellfish: $2

For persons under 14 years of age. Subject to same restrictions as resident 

or nonresident adult recreational license holders. 

• Resident commercial shellfish: $50

Unlimited harvest. Shellfish may be sold only to certified dealers.

• Non-resident Commercial Shellfish: $250 

Unlimited harvest. Shellfish may be sold to certified dealers only.

• Senior citizen recreational shellfish license: FREE ($2 application fee) 

NJ residents age 62 years or older. Harvest limit, 150 shellfish (in aggregate) 

per day. Sale of shellfish prohibited.

• Disabled veterans: Fish and Wildlife-certified disabled veterans are 

eligible for free shellfish license at any shellfish license agent location. 

For more information on how to become certified, call (908) 637-4125.

Crab licenses are available at all agent locations:

Recreational Crab Pot/Trot Line Licenses and Non-Commercial Crab Dredge 

Licenses are available for purchase online at: WildlifeLicense.com/nj/ or at 

any Fish and Wildlife-certified license agent including those license agents 

listed at right. For a current list of Fish and Wildlife-certified license agents, 

look in future hunting issues of the New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest or go to 

NJFishandWildlife.com/agentlst.htm.

• Recreational crab pot/trot line license: $2

Harvest limit of one bushel per day. Refer to the shellfish regula-

tions on page 14 for all recreational crabbing regulations. 

• Non-commercial crab dredge license: $15

Harvest limit of one bushel per day during the crab dredge season. Refer 

to the crab regulations on page 14 for all recreational crabbing regulations.

TERRAPIN EXCLUDERS AND BIODEGRADABLE PANELS 
ARE REQUIRED ON CHESAPEAKE-STYLE CRAB POTS
Users of non-collapsible, Chesapeake-style crab pots should be aware that all 

pots set in any body of water less than 150-feet wide at mean low tide or in any 

manmade lagoon MUST include diamondback terrapin excluder devices. In 

addition, all non-collapsible, Chesapeake-style crab pots set in any body of water 

MUST include biodegradable panels.

These crab pot modifications will help reduce the unintentional drowning 

of terrapins and allow for  escapement of these and other species in the event 

that pots are lost or abandoned. Terrapin excluder devices must be no larger 

than 2-inch high by 6-inch wide and securely  fastened inside each funnel 

entrance. Biodegradable panels must measure at least 6½-inch wide by 5-inch 

high and be located in the upper section of the crab pot. The panel must be 

constructed of, or fastened to the pot with wood lath,  cotton, hemp, sisal or jute 

SHELLFISH AND NON-COMMERCIAL  
CRAB POT LICENSE AGENTS (For over-the-counter sales only.)

ATLANTIC COUNTY 
Egg Harbor True Value, 208 N. Philadelphia Ave., Egg Harbor City .. (609) 965-0815
Fish Finder Marina, 3645 Atlantic-Brigantine Blvd., Brigantine ......... (609) 457-5384
Main Street Hardware, 6016 Main St., Mays Landing…………. ...... (609) 625-4941
NJ Div. Fish and Wildlife, 360 Rt. 9 N (milepost 51) ........................ (609) 748-2021
Zeus Sporting Goods, 6679 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Twp...... (609) 646-1668
CAMDEN COUNTY
Towne News, 81 So. Whitehorse Pike, Berlin ................................. (856) 768-9132
CAPE MAY COUNTY 
Avalon Hodge Podge, 2389 Ocean Dr., Avalon ............................... (609) 967-3274
Belleplain Supply, 346 Handsmill Rd., Bellplain ................................ (609) 861-2345
Budd’s Bait & Tackle, 109 Fullingmill Rd., Villas ................................ (609) 886-6935
Capt. Tate’s Tackle Box, 450 No. Route 47, Cape May CH ............. (609) 861-4001
City of Ocean City, 861 Asbury Ave., Ocean City............................ (609) 525-9328
Smuggler’s Cove, 370 83rd St., Stone Harbor ................................ (609) 368-1700
Upper Township, 2100 Tuckahoe Rd., Tuckahoe  ............................ (609) 628-2805
Wal*Mart, 3159 Rt. 9S, Rio Grande ................................................ (609) 465-7760 
CUMBERLAND COUNTY 
Beaver Dam Boat Rentals, 514 Old Beaver Dam Rd., Newport ...... (856) 447-3633
Big Daddy’s Sport Haven, 595 Sherman Ave., Millville .................... (856) 453-9009
Delaware Bay Office, 1672 E. Buckshutem Rd., Millville ................. (856) 785-0730
Shire Products, 389 S. Lincoln Ave., Vineland  ................................ (856) 692-3646
GLOUCESTER COUNTY 
Sportsman’s Outpost, 2517 Fries Mill Rd., Williamstown ................ (856) 881-3244
HUDSON COUNTY
Caso’s Gun-A-Rama, 176 Danforth Ave., Jersey City ..................... (201) 435-5099
MIDDLESEX COUNTY
Auto Parts of Woodbridge, 108 Main St., Woodbridge .................... (732) 634-6264
Sayreville Sportsman Shop, 52 Washington Ave., Sayreville ........... (732) 238-2060
MONMOUTH COUNTY 
Brielle Tackle, 800 Ashley Ave., Brielle ............................................ (732) 528-5720
L & H Woods and Water, 2045 Rt. 35, Wall ..................................... (732) 282-1812
OCEAN COUNTY
American Sportsman, 857 Mill Creek Rd., Manahawkin .................. (609) 597-4104
Bob Kislin’s, 1214 Rt. 37 East, Toms River ...................................... (732) 929-9300
Chumbucket, 381 Rt. 9, West Creek .............................................. (609) 294-2500
Downes Bait & Tackle, 287 Brennan Concourse, Bayville ................ (732) 269-0137
Fish Bonz Bait & Tackle, 103 Lacey Rd., Forked River ..................... (609) 971-2928
Grizz’s Forked River B & T,232 N. Main St., Forked River ................ (609) 693-9298
Lacey Marine, 308 Rt. 9, So., Forked River ..................................... (609) 693-0151
L & H Woods and Water, 403 Rt. 9, Waretown ................................ (609) 242-1812
Pell’s Fish & Sport Shop, 335 Mantoloking Rd., Bricktown .............. (732) 477-2121
Surf City Bait & Tackle, 317 Long Beach Blvd., Surf City ................. (609) 494-2333
Tip’s Hardware, 218 Main St., West Creek ...................................... (609) 296-3192
SOMERSET COUNTY
Efinger Sporting Goods, 513 W. Union Ave., Bound Brook ............. (732) 356-0604
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