License Information

2011 REGULATIONS

This is not the full law. Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife for further details.
All persons are reminded that the statutes, code and regulations are the legal authorities.
Regulations in red are new this year. Purple text indicates an important note.

Licenses

A valid New Jersey fishing license is required for residents at least
16 years and less than 70 years of age (plus all non-residents 16 years
and older) to fish the fresh waters of New Jersey, including privately
owned waters.

 Resident anglers age 70 and over do not require a fishing license. A
driver’s license or other acceptable proof of age containing date of
birth and physical description will serve as the actual fishing license.

e License must be visibly displayed on outer clothing.

o License and trout stamp are both valid from date of purchase
through Dec. 31.

e A person must reside in New Jersey for at least six months to obtain
a resident fishing license.

 Farmers and immediate family members who live on the farm do
not need a license to fish on their own farm, but must obey all fish-
ing regulations.

e Anyone convicted of a second fish or wildlife violation in this or
another state within a period of five years will have his or her New
Jersey sporting licenses revoked for a minimum of two years.

Trout Stamps

A valid fishing license and trout stamp are both required to fish for or
possess trout and salmon for all anglers (residents and non-residents) 16
and over, and residents under the age of 70. No trout stamp is required
for residents age 70 years and over.

Purchasing a License

Licenses may be purchased by phone at (888) 773-8450, online
at wwwwildlifelicense.com/nj/ or at license agents such as sport-
ing goods stores plus bait and tackle shops. Visit our Web site at
NJFishandWildlife.com for details, or call (609) 292-2965. The Trenton
Fish and Wildlife office is no longer open to the public for license or
permit sales.

2011 License Information & Fees

u
# Licenses and fishing-related permits are valid from
™ date of purchase to Dec. 31 of each year.
: Licenses
2| Resident Fishing (Ages 16—64YrS.) ......c.oovvricrsmsorsorsrries $22.50
'i”, Senior Resident Fishing (Ages 65—69 yrs.; 70 & over—Free).......$12.50
= Resident Trout Stamp (Ages 16—69 yrs.) ..... ..$10.50
Non-resident Fishing (Age 16 yrs. and older)........c.ccccocvveevecrvrreennnee. $34
Non-resident Trout StamMP ......c.cooevviveirieieseeeeeee s $20
Non-resident 2-Day Vacation Fishing.............ccooeoeveeerveeceecereeeeneeenenns $9
Non-resident 7-Day Vacation Fishing...........ccccooovvvvviveiiieersiennnes $19.50
All-Around Sportsman (includes resident fishing,
firearm hunting and bow/arrow hunting licenses).................. $72.25
Permits
Available online or through license agents:
Boat RAMP PEIMIL ..........oeveeeeeeeeee e $15

Available through the Lebanon Field Office (908) 236-2118:

Water Lowering, Fish Stocking, Baitfish
Collecting, Fish Tagging...

Turtle & Frog ColleCting........covevevecieieeeecceeeee e
Scientific CollECting ........oveveeeeeeeeeeeee e
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Buy your license or permit online at

Replacement — Lost License or Stamp

Alicense, permit or stamp can be replaced at any license agent or online at
Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site, wwwawildlifelicense.com /nj/
also linked through our regular Web site at NJFishandWildlife.com or
by phone at (888) 773-8450.

Special Licenses

Servicemen and Servicewomen
A person who is on active duty in the armed services of the United
States is entitled to fish with a resident license.

National Guard Members

Eligible National Guard personnel are entitled to free licenses, per-
mits, and stamps. Further information can be obtained by writing to:
NJ Department of Military/Veteran Affairs, 101 Eggerts Crossing Rd,,
Lawrenceville, NJ 08648. Or call (609) 530-6866 for Ist Sgt. Turrian.

Disabled Veterans Licenses, Stamps and Permits
Free hunting and fishing licenses, stamps and permits are available for
resident disabled veterans.

For the purposes of this program, a disabled veteran is a New Jersey
resident who has been honorably discharged or released under honorable
circumstances from active service from any branch of the U.S. Armed
Forces who has a service-connected disability of any degree.

New applicant disabled veterans may obtain their hunting and fish-
ing licenses and stamps at the following Fish and Wildlife field offices:
* Pequest Trout Hatchery/Natural Resource Ed. Ctr, Oxford,

Warren Co,, (908) 637-4125
o Central Region Office, Upper Freehold Twp., Monmouth Co,,
(609) 2592132
« Southern Region Office, Sicklerville, Camden Co,, (856) 629-0090
Once disabled veteran status is established with Fish and Wildlife,
veterans may obtain a license, stamp or permit at any license agent or
online at www.wildlifelicense.com /nj/.

Alllicenses, stamps and permits for which the veteran is eligible will

be free of charge. This does not give preferential treatment in any lottery.

Disabled Veteran Applicants:

1. Documentation of current benefits for a service-connected disability
and proof of honorable discharge (such as a copy of your DD-214,
VA card or monthly check stub) must be presented to obtain a free
disabled veteran license.

2. Applicant must provide a hunter education course (archery, shotgun
or rifle) certificate applicable to the license for which he or she is
applying or a previously issued resident archery or firearm license
or rifle permit. Resident licenses from other states issued to hunters
prior to establishing residency in New Jersey will be accepted if the
license indicates the sporting arm for which it was valid. Non-resident
licenses from other states are not acceptable.

3. To obtain the free disabled veteran deer/turkey permits one must
first have a free disabled veteran hunting license.

For the Blind

Residents afflicted with total blindness may obtain a free license
from Fish and Wildlife’s Trenton office. Call (609) 292-9530 for an
application.

January 2011
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Summary of Fishing Regulations

2011 REGULATIONS

Summary of General Fishing Regulations Water Supply Reservoirs Open To Fishing By Permit Only

Permits must be obtained from the specific reservoir owner listed below.

The season, size and creel limits for
freshwater species apply to all waters of
the state, including tidal waters.

o Fish may be taken only in the manner known
asangling with handline or with rod and line,
or as otherwise allowed by law.

e When fishing from the shoreline, no more
than three fishing rods, handlines or combina-
tion thereof may be used (except Delaware
River, see page 26).

o Onlyonedaily creel of any fish species may be
in possession. Additional fish may be caught
once the creel is reached if immediately
returned to the water unharmed.

o Separate stringers or buckets must be used
for each angler’s catch.

 Boats may contain only the combined daily
creel limit for each legal angler on board.

o A fishing license does not authorize trespass
on private property. Permission first must be
obtained from the landowner.

It Is Unlawful To:

e Fish within 100 feet (or as posted) of any
fish ladder entrance or exit from March 1
through June 30.

e Spear fish in fresh waters. See exception for
Delaware River, page 26.

 Possessa fishing device with more than nine
hooks in total, or more than three treble hooks,
except for the Delaware River; see page 26.

e Useset lines.

o Use cast nets in freshwater lakes or trout
stocked waters. See Baitfish Regulations, page 28
for other exclusions.

o Foul hook any species other than yellow perch
and white perch. This does not apply to fish
taken through the ice.

o Snagany species of fish in Swartswood Lake
and its tributaries, including Neldon Brook,
plus Monksville Reservoir and its tributaries,
including the Wanaque River.

Bow and Arrow Fishing

Any species of fish, except brook, brown, lake
or rainbow trout, landlocked Atlantic salmon,
largemouth or smallmouth bass, striped bass
or any of its hybrids, pickerel, northern pike,
walleye, muskellunge or any of its hybrids, may
be taken at any time by use of a bow and arrow
with line attached by the holder of a valid fishing
license. See regulations for the Delaware River
and Greenwood Lake, pages 26-27. Crossbows
are NOT permitted for fishing.

Emergency Closures
Itisillegal to fish or attempt to catch or kill fish

January 2011

A valid fishing license is also required.

Waterbody County :IYSI:: :gf
) Echo Lake
[Z3e) ) .
2 assaic
§ qi; Clinton
R :
©3 (OEIs Itk 2 Morris Shoreline
£5 Reservoir
z 9
o Canistear
z
= Reservoir Sussex
Shoreline only
Point View Reservoir  Passaic S7ata. i‘]st‘é“
7p.m.
Oradell Reservoir
Woodcliff Lake Bergen  Shoreline only

Lake Tappan Reservoir
Lake Deforest

by any manner or meansin any waters for which
the Director of the Division of Fish and Wildlife,
upon approval by the Fish and Game Council,
issuesan emergency closure notice. Such notifica-
tion is effective and /or rescinded immediately
upon public notification. Emergency closures
shall be based upon imminent threat to the well-
being of the fishery resources, and /or its users,
and may include any exceptions to the total
ban of fishing that the Director deems practical.

Ice Fishing

No more than five devices may be used for tak-

ing fish when ice is present. The devices that

may be used are:

1. Icesupported tip-ups or lines with one single
pointed hook attached, or one burr of three
hooks that measure not more than ¥-inch
from point to shaft;

2. An artificial jigging lure with not more than
one burr of three hooks that measure not
more than ¥2-inch from point to point;

3. An artificial jigging lure with not more than
three single hooks measuring not more than
Va-inch from point to shaft;

4. Anartificial jigging lure with a combination of
the hook limitations described in 2and 3above.

Natural bait may be used on the hooks of the
artificial jigging lures. All devices that are not
hand-held must bear the name and address of
the user and cannot be left unattended.
Carpand suckers may be taken with net under
the ice. Suckers may be taken through the ice

For more information contact New Jersey

Division of Fish and Wildlife at (609)292-2965

Fee Permit Source
Permits available in person only
at these locations:

Newark Watershed Conserv. & Dev. Corp
223 Echo Lake Road
Newfoundland, NJ 07435
(973) 697-2850

40 Clinton Street, 4th Floor
Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 622-4521

Passaic Valley Water Commission
1525 Main Avenue, Clifton, NJ 07015
(973) 340-4309
Send stamped, self-addressed envelope.
A daily permit will be mailed.
Permit allows two people to fish.

Yes

No

United Water Company
200 Old Hook Road
Harrington Park, NJ 07640
(201) 767-9300 x3208

Yes

by means of hooks, no more than three, directly
attached toarigid handle between December 1
and March 1.

See separate regulations for trout-stocked
waters and Greenwood Lake.

Sale of Fish

It is illegal to sell any freshwater fish species
except under commercial permits as pre-
scribed in the Fish and Game Code. Artificially-
propagated trout, if properly tagged, may be sold
for food purposes.

Stocking Fish

A permit is required to stock fish or fish eggs
into any waters of the state, public or private,
at any time. An application may be obtained
by contacting the Lebanon Field Office at
(908) 236-2118. It is ILLEGAL to stock carp or
koi into any such waters.

Tagging Fish

No person may tag or mark and then release
a fish without first obtaining a fish stocking
permit or by special permit issued by Fish and
Wildlife. Contact the Lebanon Field Office at
(908) 236-2118 for application information.

Waste of Fish

Fish of any species which are purposely killed
become part of the angler’s daily limit and
must be removed from the waters from which
they were taken, then either used or otherwise
disposed of properly. ===
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Fishing Regulations

SIZE, SEASON AND CREEL LIMITS

Certain waters are closed to fishing for all species from March 21 to April 9, 2011 at 8 a.m. because of trout stocking.
Refer to pages 16-17 for complete lists and exceptions. For Delaware River and Greenwood Lake, see regulations on pages 26-27.

SEASON

LOCATION

DAILY

MINIMUM SIZE LIMIT

LARGEMOUTH & SMALLMOUTH BASS

ey

= “

Largemouth Bass

R

Smallmouth Bass

Sta_tewide 12 inches 5 combined
(exceptions below)
Jan.1-April 14
April 15-June 15 Lunker Bass Lakes:
Catch & Release only Assunpink, Parvin, Delaware 15 inches 3 combined
@all waters) lakes, Splitrock Reservoir
June 16-Dec.31
Conservation Regulations: 15 inches 2 combined
Ryker Lake
Year-Round Lake Audrey Catch & Release only 0

NORTHERN PIKE, TIGER MUSKY, MUSKELLUNGE

for

Mercer Lake,
Mountain Lake,

Muskellunge

Open year round

March 20—May 20 are
Catch & Release only

Echo Lake Reservoir,

Monksville Reservoir

Northern Pike:

Statewide 24 inches 2

Statewide Tiger Musky &

(exceptions below) gl
36 inches

1 combined

Trophy Musky Waters: Tiger Musky &

Mountain & Echo Lake Muskellunge:
reservoirs 40 inches

CHAIN PICKEREL AND REDFIN PICKEREL

Chain Pickerel

WALLEYE

Jan.1-Feb. 28

Walleye May 1-Dec.31

STRIPED BASS (freshwater only)

Open year round

March 1-April 30
Catch & Release only

Statewide

Statewide

15 inches 5 combined

18 inches 3

Striped bass regulations are subject to change. Consult our Web site NJFishandWildlife.com and the news media for updates.

March 1-Dec.31

Striped Bass
HYBRID STRIPED BASS (freshwater only)

Statewide

28 inches 2

Striped bass regulations are subject to change. Consult our Web site NJFishandWildlife.com and the news media for updates.

Hybrid Striped Bass

22| New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest
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NJFishandWildlife.com

Open year round Statewide (exceptions below) 16 inches 2
Raritan River
March 1-Dec.31 (downstream of 28 inches 2
Duke Island Park dam)
Buy your license or permit online at January 2011



I Fishing Regulations

SIZE, SEASON AND CREEL LIMITS

Regulations in red are new this year.
Purple text indicates an important note.

SEASON LOCATION MINIMUM SIZE ?_:‘n:ﬁ.:.'

Open year round Statewide No minimum size 3

=
American Shad

CHANNEL CATFISH

Open year round Statewide 12 inches 5

Channel Catfish
CRAPPIE (BLACK AND WHITE)

) . 10
Open year round Statewide 8 inches combined
Banded Sunfish* Blackbanded Sunfish*
Closed Statewide Protected 0

o -

Bluespotted Sunfish* Mud Sunfish

OTHER SPECIES

m Statewide (exceptions below) No minimum size 25 combined
v

Sunfish: 7 inches 10 combined

Rock Bass, White Bass, White Perch, Conservation Regulation

Yellow Perch, Sunfish (see above for sunfish Ryker Lake Yellow Perch:
exceptions), Bullheads, White Catfish, Open year round N e OW ere N
Suckers, Carp, Bowfin © (OUAIA S

' -—e * ’ 3% Conservation Regulation Sunfish: 7 inches 10 combined

Rainbow Lake (Salem Co.)

10

FRESHWATER BAITFISH (See page 28 for complete description of gear types and restrictions)

Alewife (anadromous and land-locked forms),

Blueback Herring, Golden Shiner, Banded Open year round L 35 combined,
Killifish, Mummichog, Spotfin Killfish, Exceptions No minimum of which no
Rainwater Killifish, American Brook Lamprey, Baitfish may not be Statewide Exception more than ten
Fathead Minnow, Bluntnose Minnow, Tadpole taken in trout stocked American Eel: may be alewife
Madtom, Margined Madtom, oy —  finelhes or blue-back

All Shiners, Daces, Minnows, Gizzard Shad
and American Eel

March 21 to June 15 herring

* lllustrations by Ted Walke, PA Fish and Boat Commission

January 2011 For more information contact New Jersey New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest | 23
Division of Fish and Wildlife at (609)292-2965 2011 Freshwater Fishing Issue



Fishing Regulations

BOUNDARY WATERS

This is not the full law. Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife for further details.
All persons are reminded that the statutes, code and regulations are the legal authorities.
Regulations in red are new this year. Purple text indicates an important note.

Nicholas A. Tonelli

* New Jersey and Pennsylvania fishing licenses are both recognized * Spears (not mechanically propelled) and bow and arrows may be used

when fishing the Delaware River from a boat or either shoreline. This
applies to the main stem of the river only.

Anglers may launch a boat from either shore and on return, may have
in possession any fish which may be legally taken according to the
regulations of the state where the landing is made.

No more than two rods, each with one line, or two hand lines—or one
of each—may be used. No more than three single hooks or three
treble hooks per line.

To protect spawning striped bass, from the Calhoun Street bridge near
Trenton downstream to the Commodore Barry Bridge at Bridgeport,
non-offset circle hooks must be used when using bait with a #2 sized

to take shad, eel, carp, sucker, herring and bullhead except within
825 feet of an eel weir. A valid fishing license is required.

¢ Baitfish may be taken and possessed for personal use and are not to

be bartered or sold.

* A Delaware fishing license is now required for anglers aged 16 and

over fishing the Delaware Bay and Delaware River between the
upstream tip of Artificial Island and the Delaware-Pennsylvania state
line. In that section of the river, the Delaware state boundary extends
to the New Jersey shoreline. However, when fishing from shore in
New Jersey along that section of the river, a Delaware fishing license
is not required. Delaware fishing license information can be found at

hook or larger, from April 1 to May 30. http://www.fw.delaware.gov/Fisheries/Pages/NewFishingLicense.aspx.

Species Open Seasons
Jan. 1-April 15
June 18-Dec.31
April 16-June 17

Minimum Length Daily Limit

12 inch 5 bined
Bass, Largemouth & Smallmouth inehes combine
Catch and release only
Pennsylvania: 8 inches

Catch and release only

Eel, American® Open year round (but 6-8 inches for baitfish) 50
New Jersey: 6 inches

Herring, Alewife and Blueback Open year round No minimum 10 combined
Muskellunge & Hybrids Open year round 40 inches 1
Pickerel, Chain Open year round 12 inches 5
Pike, Northern Open year round 24 inches 2
Shad, American Open year round No minimum 8
Shad, Hickory Closed — —
T :
Striped Bass & Hybrids**. March 1-30 28 inches 2

(downstream of Calhoun St. Bridge) June 1-Dec.31
Sturgeon, Atlantic and Shortnose Closed — —
Trout April 16-Oct. 15 No minimum 5
Walleye Open year round 18 inches 8
All Other Freshwater Species Open year round No minimum No limit

Baitfish™ Open year round No minimum 50

¢ Alisting of fishing access locations along the Delaware River is avail-
able at Fish and Wildlife's Web site, NJFishandWildlife.com, under
Freshwater Fishing.

* ) : . )
Pennsylvania also enforces an 8-inch minimum on American Eel. Eel
used as bait must be at least 6 inches and no greater than 8 inches in
length. Daily limit of 50.

**Pennsylvania allows anglers to harvest a daily limit of two striped

bass measuring 20 to 26 inches for a two month period from April 1,
2011 through May 31, 2011, from the Calhoun St. Bridge in Trenton
downstream to the Pennsylvania state line. New Jersey still has a * Information for the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area is
closed season. Anglers fishing the Delaware River from the New available online at www.nps.gov/dewa.
Jersey shoreline, or retumning to New Jersey by boat and/or car in
April and May must abide by New Jersey's striped bass regulations.
Possession of striped bass in New Jersey is illegal during this time
period.

e Delaware River Basin Commission recreation maps are available
for $25. An order form is available online at www.state.nj.us/drbc/
recreation.htm.

26| New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest
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Buy your license or permit online at
NJFishandWildlife.com
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Gréenwood Lake

e New York and New Jersey fishing licenses are both recognized

anywhere on the lake or along the shoreline.
® Fishing is permitted 24 hours a day.
* In compliance with New York regulations, onl

fish may be transported to, or used on, the portion of Greenwood Lake

Fishing Regulations

BOUNDARY WATERS

Luke H. Gordon

* Bow and arrow fishing for all carp, sucker, herring, catfish and eel is

permitted. A valid fishing license is required.
* No more than five tip-ups and two hand-held devices may be used

y certified virus-free bait-

owned by the State of New York. Anglers are urged to use only certi-
fied virus-free baitfish when fishing any portion of Greenwood Lake.

Species

Bass, Largemouth & Smallmouth

Catfish, Channel
Crappie, Black & White
Muskellunge & Hybrids

Perch, Yellow
Pickerel, Chain
Sunfish

Walleye

All Other Species

Open Seasons
Jan. 1-June 15
June 16-Dec. 1
Dec. 1-Dec. 31
Open year round
Open year round
Open year round
Open year round
Open year round
Open year round
Jan. 1-Feb. 28
March 1-April 30
May 1-Dec. 31

Open year round

Minimum Length

No minimum

when ice fishing. All devices that are not hand held must be plainly
marked with the name and address of the angler.

Daily Limit

Catch and release only

12 inches 5 combined

Catch and release only

12 inches 5
8 inches 10 combined
36 inches 1
No minimum 50
15 inches 5
50 combined
18 inches 8

Catch and release only

18 inches 3

No minimum No limit

FRESHWATER FISHERIES FORUMS

1st Forum:

Feb. 26, 2011; 10 a.m.
Batsto Village Visitor's Center
in Wharton State Forest

2nd Forum:
Dec. 3,2011; 10 a.m.
Hackettstown Hatchery, Warren County

The forum at Hackettstown will include a
tour of the fish production facilities.

For more information or to pre-register
(helpful, but not required) please call
(908) 236-2118 or send an e-mail to
njfwfish@earthlink.net. E-mails should
include name, address, phone number and
number of people attending.

Come and share your views and
recommendations for the future of
freshwater fisheries in New Jersey and
learn about current research, management
and fish culture activities!

Presented by NJ Department of
Environmental Protection’s Division
of Fish and Wildlife

New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest | 27
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For more information contact New Jersey
Division of Fish and Wildlife at (609)292-2965
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Baitfish

2011 REGULATIONS

This is not the full law. Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife for further details.
All persons are reminded that the statutes, code and regulations are the legal authorities.
Regulations in red are new this year.
Purple text indicates an important note.

See separate regulations for Delaware River (page 26).
For marine waters, see Marine Issue of New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest.

Baitfish Regulations
BAITFISH SPECIES

Baitfish species: alewife (anadromous and landlocked Forms), blueback herring, golden shiner, banded
killifish, mummichog, spotfin killifish, rainwater killifish, American brook lamprey, fathead minnow,
bluntnose minnow, tadpole madtom, margined madtom, all shiners, daces, minnows, chubs and the
American eel.

In the Delaware River between New Jersey and Pennsylvania, alewife and blueback herring (anadromous
and landlocked forms) are regulated as food fish with a one-day possession limit of 10 in aggregate.

(See separate regulations for boundary waters, pages 26-27.)

Season Location Minimum size Daily limit
Open year round No minimum size 35 per day species
Exception Statewide Exception combined, of which
Season closed March 21-June 15 (frashwaters) American eel: 6 no more thap ten may
on trout stocked waters and inches : be alewife or

special regulation trout areas

Notes: Any person with a valid fishing license (or
those under 16 and residents 70 years or older)
may take baitfish in fresh waters. Possession limit

blueback herring

waters of the state in numbers greater than 35
per day, in lakes over 250 acres, under a special
permit issued by Fish and Wildlife at its discretion.

is one day's limit, regardless of the intent to use

Contact (908) 236-2118 f lication information.
these fish. Baitfish may be taken from the fresh onac or applcation information

Gear Gear Description
Not over 50 feet long in ponds and lakes over 100 acres; in all other waters not over
o 30 feet in length, or half the width of the stream at point of use, whichever is less.
eine
Exception: In trout-stocked waters and special regulation trout areas a seine may not
be more than 10 feet in length and 4 feet in depth.
. Not larger than 24 inches in length with a funnel mouth no greater than 2 inches in
Minnow Trap )
diameter.
Umbrella Net  No greater than 3.5 feet square.
Dip Net Not more than 24 inches in diameter; may be used only for alewife or blueback herring.
Cast Net No greater than 8 feet in diameter; may be used only in streams that are not trout-

stocked or special regulation trout areas (may not be used in lakes).

Maximum of nine single hooks or three hooks with three burrs per contrivance on all

jlockindlbine waters except the Delaware River where only three single hooks are permitted.
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Turtle and Frog Regulations
Species Season
January 1-April 30
June 16—December 31

January 1-March 31

Snapping Turtle

Bull Frog and

Green Frog July 1-December 31

Any person with a valid fishing license or those
entitled to fish without a license may take snap-
ping turtles, bull frogs, and green frogs by means
of spears, hooks, dip nets (not more than 24 inch-
es in diameter), traps or by hand. Snapping turtles
may not be taken with a gun or bow and arrow.

28| New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest
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Location Minimum Size Daily Limit

Statewide No minimum 3 per day

Statewide No minimum 2 per CE
combined

Snapping turtles, bull frogs, and green frogs
may be taken in numbers greater than the daily
limit under a commercial harvest permit issued
by Fish and Wildlife at its discretion. Contact
(908) 236-2118 for application information.

Buy your license or permit online at
NJFishandWildlife.com

Motor Boat Registration
and Title Requirements
NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC)

Registration

Most boats must be registered to operate on

New Jersey waterways.

o All titled boats must be registered also.

e Any hoat (including jet skis and non-titled
watercraft), mechanically propelled (incl.
electric motors), regardless of length,
must be registered.

e Boats greater than 12 feet in length,
regardless of propulsion means, must be
titled and registered at an MVC office.

Boats and marine equipment which need not

be registered:

® Those not based in New Jersey or operating
here less than 180 consecutive days that
are operating under a federally approved
numbering system from another state

e Ship’s lifeboats

o Non-motorized vessels used exclusively on
small lakes and ponds on private property

e Racing vessels with New Jersey State
Marine Police permit

e Non-motorized inflatable device, surfhoard,
racing shell, dinghy, canoe or kayak

o Non-motorized vessel less than 12 feet in
length

Title

For use on New Jersey waterways, all boats
more than 12 feet in length must be titled,
with the exception of ship’s lifeboat, canoe,
kayak, inflatable, surfboard, rowing scull,
racing shell, tender/dinghy used for direct
transportation between a vessel and shore for
no other purposes.

Boat Operator License (MVC)

An operator license is required to operate
power vessels on fresh, non-tidal waters such
as lakes, creeks and rivers. (Minimum age 16
years; with certain exceptions.)

For More Information:

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
(888) 486-3339 toll free in NJ or

(609) 292-6500 from out-of-state
www.nj.gov/mvc/

Boat Safety Certificate (NJSP)

A boat safety certificate (from an approved
boat safety course; see NJSP Web site, below)
is required to operate a personal watercraft or
power vessel, including electric motors, in NJ
waters (tidal and non-tidal).

New Jersey State Police (NJSP)
(609) 882-2000
www.njsp.org/maritime
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2011 REGULATIONS

Fishing License Lines

A fishing license is required to fish the fresh waters of the state. Locations listed below mark the change from salt water
(license not required) to fresh water. A fishing license is required at, and upstream of, these locations.

ATLANTIC COUNTY

Absecon Creek—Dam at Lower Atlantic City
Reservoir

Great Egg Harbor River—Power lines at confluence
of Gravelly Run

Middle River—None—all saline water

Mullica River—Line between Seventh Ave.,
Sweetwater, and ramp at Crowleys Landing

Nacote Creek—Port Republic dam

Patcong Creek—Bargaintown Lake dam

South River—Power lines immediately below Rt. 50

Tuckahoe River—First northerly tributary down-
stream of Rt. 49 bridge (McNeals Branch)

BERGEN COUNTY

Hackensack River—Cedar Lane Bridge between
Hackensack and Teaneck

Hudson River—None-all saline water

Passaic River—Required whole length

BURLINGTON COUNTY

Assiscunk Creek—Required whole length

Bass River State—Fir Bridge on Stage Rd. in Bass
River State Forest

Batsto River—Required whole length

Blacks Creek—Required whole length

Crosswicks Creek—Required whole length

Delaware River—Required whole length

Mullica River—Line between Seventh Ave.,
Sweetwater, and ramp at Crowleys Landing

Pennsauken Creek—Required whole length

Pompeston Creek—Required whole length

Rancocas Creek—Required whole length

Swedes Run—Required whole length

Wading River—Charcoal Landing, Chips Folly
Campground

CAMDEN COUNTY
License required on Delaware River and all other
waters

GAPE MAY GOUNTY

Bidwells Creek—None—all saline water

Cedar Swamp Creek—None—all saline water

Dennis Creek—None—all saline water

East Creek—100 ft. below East Creek Lake dam,
Eldora

Tuckahoe River—First northerly tributary down-
stream of lower Rt. 49 bridge (McNeals Br.)

West Creek—100 feet below West Creek Lake dam
(Pickle Factory Pond)

CUMBERLAND COUNTY

Andrews Creek—None-all saline water

Back Creek—None—all saline water

Cedar Creek—100 ft. downstream of Cedar Lake
dam

Cohansey River—Rt. 49 bridge at Bridgeton

Dividing Creek—Rt. 555 bridge

Fishing Creek—None—all saline water

Fortescue Cr./Branch of Oranoken Cr.—None-all
saline water

Manumuskin Creek—Required whole length

Maurice River—Mouth of Manumuskin Creek near
Port Elizabeth

Menantico Creek—Required whole length

Mill Creek—Tributary of Cohansey—Rt. 553 bridge, Fairton

Muskee Creek—S. side of bridge on Weathersby Rd.

Nantuxent Creek (Pages Run)—Rt. 553 north of
Frames Corner

Oranoken Creek—Whitecar Mill, North of Beaver dam
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Oyster Creek—None—all saline water

Riggins Ditch—Rt. 47 bridge

Sow and Pigs Branch Nantuxent—None—all saline
water

Stow Creek—Buckhorn Rd. bridge, Jericho

Straight Creek—None—all saline water

West Creek—100 ft. below West Creek Lake dam
(Pickle Factory Pond)

ESSEX COUNTY

Passaic River—Erie Railroad bridge between Newark
(at Verona Ave.) and Kearny

Peddie Ditch—None-all saline water

GLOUCESTER GOUNTY

Big Timber Creek—Required whole length

Delaware River—Commodore Barry bridge at
Bridgeport

Mantua Creek—Required whole length

Oldmans Creek—Rt. 295 bridge

Raccoon Creek—Required whole length

Woodbury Creek—Required whole length

HUDSON COUNTY

Hackensack River—None—all saline water

Hudson River—None-all saline water

Passaic River—Railroad bridge between Newark
(at Verona Ave.) and Kearny

HUNTERDON COUNTY
License required on Delaware River and all other
waters

MERCER COUNTY
License required on Delaware River and all other
waters

MIDDLESEX COUNTY

Cheesequake Creek—Dam at Cheesequake Lake,
Cheesequake State Park

Lawrence Brook—N.J. Turnpike bridge, East
Brunswick

Raritan River—Landing Lane bridge, New Brunswick

South River—Rt. 527 bridge (New Brunswick
0Old Bridge Tpk.)

Woodbridge River—N.J. Turnpike bridge

MONMOUTH COUNTY

Black Creek—Spillway at Ocean Rd.

Branchport Creek—Mouth of Turtle Mill Brook

Deal Lake—Top of dam

Hockhockson (Pine) Brook—Garden State Parkway
northbound bridge

Little Silver Creek—Little Silver Creek Brook

Manasquan River—Bennetts bridge, Manasquan
Wildlife Management Area

Matawan Creek—Lefferts Lake dam

Oceanport Creek—Mouth of Husky Brook

Parkers Creek—Mouth of Parkers Creek Brook

Shark River—Remsen Mills Rd.

Swimming River—Swimming River Rd. bridge

Wreck Pond Creek—Rt. 71 bridge

MORRIS COUNTY
License required on all waters

OCEAN COUNTY

Beaver Dam Creek—Rt. 88 bridge

Cedar Creek—Rt. 9 bridge

Cedar Run—Rt. 9 bridge

Dinner Point Creek—None—all saline water
Double Creek—None—all saline water
Forked River—All branches Rt. 9

Buy your license or permit online at
NJFishandwildlife.com

Gunning River—None—all saline water

Jakes Branch—Above Atlantic City Blvd.

Jeffreys Creek—Ocean Gate Rd. to Ocean Gate

Kettle Creek—Rt. 549 bridge

Lake of the Lilies—Entire lake

Long Swamp Creek—Washington St. bridge, Toms River

Manahawkin Creek—Dams for Manahawkin WMA
impoundments bayside

Metedeconk River—Rt. 70 bridge, Laurelton

Mill Creek—Mouth of Creek at lagoons in Beach
Haven West

Mill Creek—Pine Beach—Ocean Gate Road

Oyster Creek—Rt. 9 bridge

Parkers Run—None—all saline water

Potters Creek—None—all saline water

Stouts Creek—None-all saline water

Stouts Creek S. Br.—Bayside East Parkway

Toms River—Garden State Parkway, northbound
bridge

Tuckerton Creek—Dam at Rt. 9 bridge

Waretown Creek—Rt. 9 bridge

West Creek—Rt. 9 bridge

PASSAIC COUNTY
License required on all waters

SALEM COUNTY

Alloway Creek—Rt. 540 bridge at Alloway
Black Ditch—None—all saline water
Delaware River—None-all saline water
Fishing Creek—None—all saline water

Hope Creek—None—all saline water

Mad Horse Creek—None—all saline water
Mill Creek—None—all saline water

Oldmans Creek—Rt. 295 southbound bridge
Salem River—Dupont dam near Cedar Crest Manor
Salem Canal—Dam at Deepwater

Stow Creek—Buckhorn Rd. bridge, Jericho
Straight Ditch—None—all saline water

SOMERSET COUNTY
License required on all waters

SUSSEX COUNTY
License required on Delaware River and all other
waters

UNION COUNTY

Elizabeth River—West Grand St., Elizabeth
Great Ditch—None—all saline water

Morses Creek—0Id Morses Mill Rd.

Oyster Creek—None—all saline water

Peddie Ditch—None—all saline water

Piles Creek—None-—all saline water

Rahway River—Lawrence St. (Rt. 514), Rahway

WARREN COUNTY
License required on Delaware River and all other
waters

IMPORTANT FOOTNOTES:

1. Absence of a river, creek, brook or other
waterway from this list does not make it
exempt from requiring a license to fish the
fresh waters.

2. Names of waters conform to those given
on the United States Geological Survey 7.5
Minute Topographic Series Maps.
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