

State of New Jersey

MAIL CODE 501-03

CHRIS CHRISTIE

Governor

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION
NATURAL & HISTORIC RESOURCES
DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE
P.O. Box 420
Tropton NI 08625 0420

BOB MARTIN Commissioner

KIM GUADAGNO Lt. Governor Trenton, NJ 08625-0420
Tel. (609) 292-2965 fax. (609) 984-1414
Visit our website <u>www.njfishandwildlife.com</u>

December 23, 2015

Dear New Jersey Summer Flounder Permit Holder: New Jersey Summer Flounder Dealer:

As required by N.J.A.C. 7:25-18.12(i)2xii, the Department must notify all New Jersey Summer Flounder Permit holders of the annual season allocations. This letter shall serve as notice regarding the 2016 New Jersey commercial summer flounder quota, seasons, and trip limits.

The preliminary 2016 summer flounder coast wide commercial quota is 8,120,000 pounds, a 2,620,000 pound reduction from 2015. This results in a New Jersey commercial quota of 1,358,069 pounds, 16.7 percent of the coast wide commercial allocation.

This quota does not represent any overages that may have occurred by the end of the 2015 season. If the NMFS adopts a coast wide commercial quota different than 8,120,000 pounds or if the 2015 New Jersey summer flounder season incurs any overages, the seasonal quotas listed below will be adjusted. After allocating ten percent, but not more than 200,000 pounds of the quota for by-catch landings as required by N.J.A.C. 7:25-18.12(i)2, the directed fishery quota for 2016 is 1,222,262 pounds. This quota is allocated for six seasons as follows:

Directed Season	Directed (pounds)	By-Catch (pounds)
January 3-February 29	342,233	38,026
March 6-April 30	134,449	14,939
May 1-June 30	128,338	14,260
July 3-August 31	128,338	14,260
September 4-October 31	354,456	39,384
November 6-December 31	134,448	14,938

The daily trip limits and maximum weekly (Sunday to Saturday) landing days for the directed fishery for each season are listed below. **Note: Seasons 1, 2, 5, and 6 trip limits have changed for 2016.**

Jan-Feb

1,000 pound trip limit with a maximum of two landings per 2 week period OR 2,000 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per 2 week period. Each two week period shall begin on Sunday and end on the second Saturday with the first two week period beginning on the first Sunday of January.

Mar-Apr	500 pound trip limit with a maximum of two landings per week OR 1,000 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per week.
May-June	250 pound trip limit with a maximum of seven landings per week OR 500 pound trip limit with a maximum of four landings per week.
July-Aug	250 pound trip limit with a maximum of seven landings per week OR 500 pound trip limit with a maximum of four landings per week.
Sept-Oct	250 pound trip limit with a maximum of six landings per week OR 500 pound trip limit with a maximum of three landings per week OR 1,500 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per week.
Nov-Dec	500 pound trip limit with a maximum of three landings per week OR 1,500 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per week.

When the directed fishery is closed, no vessel shall land or possess any summer flounder in excess of the by-catch trip limit. By-catch landings of summer flounder may not exceed ten percent (10%) by weight, of all species landed and sold with a maximum daily trip limit of 100 pounds from May 1 through October 31 and 200 pounds from November 1 through April 30.

All New Jersey Summer Flounder Dealers must provide daily reports during the period January 1 through February 28 and weekly (Sunday to Saturday) reports during the period March 1 through December 31 to the Division of Fish and Wildlife listing the amount of summer flounder landed on a daily basis by vessel and size category. Reports must be filed electronically through the Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) no later than 10:00 AM on the following day for daily reports and 12:01 PM on Monday following the week's end for weekly reports. If no landings occurred, a report to that effect is required. If a dealer is reporting electronically through SAFIS, a faxed report is not required.

In addition, any vessel participating in the directed summer flounder fishery must call the Marine Enforcement Office at 609-748-2050 at least two (2) hours prior to offloading and that any such offloading may occur only between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. from November 1 through April 30 and between 6:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. from May 1 through October 31.

Commercial seasons, quotas, opening, and closing information is available on the Division of Fish and Wildlife website at http://www.njfishandwildlife.com/comquotas.htm.

If you have any questions, please call the Bureau of Marine Fisheries at 609-748-2020 or 609-292-7794.

Sincerely,

Brandon Muffley, Administrator Marine Fisheries Administration

Browndon Muffley