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These are the submission requirements for a monetary contribution for a single-family homeowner to satisfy a mitigation obligation under N.J.A.C. 7:7A-15. 

A monetary contribution, according to the Freshwater Wetlands Protection Act shall be equivalent to the lesser of the following costs: (1) purchasing and enhancing or restoring existing degraded freshwater wetlands of equal ecological value to those which are being lost; or (2) purchase of property and the cost of creation of freshwater wetlands of equal ecological valued to those which are being lost.  In order to evaluate these options, it is necessary for the permittee to submit a cost estimate which includes all costs necessary to complete the proposed mitigation and monitoring, plus an appraisal of the property. Upon review of the proposals, the Council determines whether the proposed contribution is appropriate. 

The Mitigation Council recognizes single-family homeowners who have owned property since before the passage of the Freshwater Wetlands Protection Act (July 1, 1987) and has consistently allowed a simpler process and lesser donation for these projects when they qualify for a general permit. Based on past single-family homeowner monetary contributions, the Council accepts contributions from single-family homeowners obtaining general permits based on a rate of $38,000.00 per acre of wetland disturbance ($4,750.00 per 1/8th of an acre of disturbance).  Please note: The single-family homeowner contribution is intended for applicants who are building a single home for their use as a primary residence.
In order to make a monetary contribution, the permittee needs approval from the Department in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:7A-15.5, 15.6, 15.18 and 15.21(d)1
Single Family property owners obtaining a general permit shall provide <O:P>two copies of the following information:
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<SPAN style=”FONT-SIZE: 8pt; FONT-FAMILY: Wingdings; mso-bidi-font-size: 10.0pt”>1.1.  Approval  from the Department of Environmental Protection to mitigate through a monetary contribution in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:7A-15.5, 15.6, and 15.11(c);  



</SPAN></SPAN>2.
<SPAN style=”mso-tab-count: 1”></SPAN>A copy of the permit authorizing the wetland impact;
3. A copy of the approved plans referenced in the permit;
4. A copy of a current property appraisal;
5. A deed or other ownership document indicating how long the property has been owned by the applicant; and
6. A letter from the applicant agreeing to make a monetary contribution to satisfy their obligation to mitigate for wetland losses associated with their permitted activity based on a rate of $38,000.00 per acre of wetland disturbance.  Use the following equation to determine the amount of the monetary contribution:  ($38,000.00) multiplied by (the acreage of permitted wetland disturbance) =the amount of the monetary contribution.

Single Family property owners obtaining an Individual permit shall refer to the “Monetary Contribution Proposal” Checklist for Completeness 
Proposal packages shall be submitted to:


New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Office of Policy Implementation 

Mail Code 401-07B, P.O. Box 420
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0420
Attn: Jill Aspinwall
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