Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online 
news releases

July 12, 2004

Contact: Karen Hershey
(609) 984-1795


(04/82) TRENTON -- New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) Commissioner Bradley M. Campbell today announced the final adoption of regulations providing the state's highest level of protection for 14 streams and rivers that provide drinking water for residents in Monmouth and Ocean counties.

"These streams and rivers are another major accomplishment we've achieved to protect our drinking water for Monmouth and Ocean counties and statewide," said Commissioner Campbell. "New Jersey is fortunate to have a Governor providing the vision and leadership to recognize that we are stewards of water resources for future generations."

The streams and river segments that provide drinking water to the Manasquan and Brick Reservoirs will now receive "Category One" (C1) designation, which prevents any measurable deterioration in existing water quality, limiting development impacts and discharges to streams. The Manasquan and Brick Reservoirs provide drinking water to over 230,000 residents of the state.

"The importance of this designation to our community cannot be underestimated," said Joseph Scarpelli, Mayor of Brick Township. "The Metedeconk River is the most invaluable natural resource in Brick Township, supplying our residents with the majority of their drinking water, as well as recreational and economic opportunities. I thank Governor McGreevey on behalf of our community for his commitment to the environment and protecting the Metedeconk River."

In addition to the 14 Monmouth and Ocean County waterways adopted today, DEP is increasing water quality protections for 15 waterbodies in Bergen County and Hunterdon County.

Today's adoption of C1 designations for the waterbodies in Ocean, Monmouth, Bergen and Hunterdon counties is just one element of Governor James E. McGreevey's continuing effort to improve the overall quality of life in New Jersey, such as fighting sprawl, preserving open space and protecting our state's drinking water.

Last year, Governor McGreevey adopted rules that designated nine reservoirs totaling 7, 865 acres and six stream segments totaling 82 rivers as C1 waterways. This was the first time ever that any Governor applied C1 protection to drinking water resources.

The C1 designation for the waterbodies located in Monmouth, Ocean, Bergen and Hunterdon Counties will be effective on August 2, 2004.

Below is a list of streams and rivers in Monmouth and Ocean counties that have received C1 protection:

Metedeconk River including,

Clear Stream
Dicks Brook
Hay Stack Brook
Muddy Ford Brook
Titmouse Brook


Manasquan River including,
  Bear Swamp Brook
Long Swamp Brook
Marsh Bog Brook
Mingamahone Brook
Squankum Brook
Timber Swamp Brook
unnamed Manasquan Reservoir tributaries

Below is a list of streams and rivers in Bergen and Hunterdon Counties that have received C1 protection:

Bergen County

Pascack Brook
Hackensack River including,

Cresskill Brook
Tennakill Brook
Lake Tappan
Woodcliff Lake
unnamed Oradell Reservoir tributaries


Hunterdon County

Alexauken Creek
Harihokake Creek
Little Nishisakawick Creek
Lockatong Creek
Lopatcong Creek
Nishisakawick Creek
Pohatcong Creek
Wickecheoke Creek



News Releases: DEP News Home | Archives
Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2018

Last Updated: January 3, 2005