Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online 
news releases

October 17, 2007

Contact: Elaine Makatura (609) 292-2994
Lawrence Hajna (609) 984-1795


(07/44) TRENTON - Department of Environmental Protection Commissioner Lisa P. Jackson today recognized the efforts of individuals, organizations, businesses and government entities that have taken steps to boost recycling in their communities during the past year.

“These award recipients are making a difference by keeping New Jersey on the path to a greener future through recycling,” Commissioner Jackson said. “There are many good reasons to recycle. It conserves natural resources, reduces waste, curbs greenhouse gas emissions, and strengthens the economy.”

Annual Recycling Leadership awards were presented on her behalf during the 27th New Jersey Recycling Symposium and Awards Luncheon in Eatontown. DEP and the Association of New Jersey Recyclers co-sponsor the event each year.

Commissioner Jackson explained that the annual recycling awards celebration provides an opportunity to recognize the vision and leadership of those who work toward innovative ways to expand recycling.

During the event, winners of the annual recycling poetry contest for children in fourth through sixth grades were honored. The sentiments expressed by the winners demonstrate the younger generation’s commitment to recycling and should serve to remind their parents of the need to recycle every day, Commissioner Jackson said.


CATEGORY: Volunteer Citizen
WINNER: Claire Harrison
Claire, 12, is student at the Lawton C. Johnson Summit Middle School and is the youngest member of the Summit Recycling Task Force, which is striving to attain the state’s 50-percent municipal solid waste recycling goal. She educated herself and others to concerns with the use of polystyrene products. She convinced the Summit School District and its food service provider to stop using polystyrene products.

CATEGORY: Retail merchant
WINNER: Burlington Coat Factory, Burlington Township and Edgewater Park facilities
Burlington Coat Factory took significant steps to improve recycling at its corporate headquarters/warehouse in Burlington Township and its office/warehouse facility in Edgewater Park by adding commingled recycling. The company also placed notices over trash containers and in prominent office locations advising employees to recycle. Recycling containers for paper were placed at all desks and copy locations. Containers and signs for commingled bottles and cans were set up as well.

CATEGORY: Government
WINNER: Lafayette Township
Lafayette Township has developed an impressive recycling program for residents, businesses and its school that resulted in a 65 percent municipal solid waste recycling rate for 2005, one of the highest in the state. The township’s recycling program consists of a curbside recycling program with once a month pickup (twice monthly for the township’s school.) Last year, the township developed an annual newsletter, which contains solid waste information, recycling articles, and Clean Communities news.

CATEGORY: Business
WINNER: Johnson Farms
The 2,000-acre nursery and sod farm in Deerfield, Cumberland County has taken aggressive steps to recycle plastic, starting with plastic film. Last year, Johnson Farms initiated a program to recycle plastic nursery pots and plastic netting used in the production of sod.

CATEGORY: Business
WINNER: Novartis Pharmaceuticals
Novartis operates a research and development facility in East Hanover, Morris County. During demolition and construction of its East Village project in East Hanover, the company recycled or reused more than 10,000 tons of waste materials, including over 53,000 square feet of ceiling tiles.

CATEGORY: Institution
WINNER: East Brunswick Students Against Violating the Environment (SAVE)
During the past two years, the SAVE club at the Hammarskjold Middle School in East Brunswick has recycled more than 6,000 batteries as its environmental service project. Every two months, an East Brunswick Recycling Center employee collects the batteries.

CATEGORY: Institution
WINNER: Sussex-Wantage Regional School District
Located in rural Sussex County, the K-8 school district continues to improve its program to recycle mixed paper, cardboard, plastic, glass bottles, and tin and aluminum cans. Recycling numbers have increased from 6,460 pounds of commingled and 37,440 pounds of mixed paper in 2005, to 10,800 pounds of commingled and 42,060 pounds of mixed paper in 2006.

CATEGORY: Educator/Educational program
WINNER: Hudson County Improvement Authority
The Hudson County Improvement Authority works consistently to educate residents and businesses on the benefits of recycling. Through the county’s Environmental Education Partnership Program, the authority’s recycling division has offered audience participation presentations to area schools and has developed poster contests, newsletters and other interactive ways for children to learn about environmental issues.


GRADE FOUR: Victoria Tang, Edward J. Patten Elementary School, Perth Amboy; Colleen Seitter, Henrietta Hawes School, Ridgewood; Evan Wolz, Littleton Elementary School, Parsippany; Simran Ohri, Henrietta Hawes School, Ridgewood.

GRADE FIVE: Julia C. Brady, St. Joan of Arc School, Marlton; Paul Iannelli, Land O’ Pines School, Howell; Monica Timmins, St. Joan of Arc School, Marlton; Alyssa Coakley, St. James School, Red Bank.

GRADE SIX: Rachel Lawton, Fisher Middle School, Ewing; Melissa Trager, Sammy Simon, Ross Nadel, Justin Marko and P.J. Portera, Demarest Middle School, Demarest; Tanysha Anand, Huber Street School, Secaucus; Amy Magyar, St. Joseph School, Carteret.



News Releases: DEP News Home | Archives
Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2018

Last Updated: October 17, 2007