Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online 
news releases
RELEASE: 12/5/01

CONTACT: Loretta O'Donnell or Amy Collings
(609) 984-1795 or 609-292-2994


Bob Shinn, who has served eight years as Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) commissioner and is the longest-serving DEP commissioner, today received the New Jersey Business and Industry Association's (NJBIA) Paul L. Troast "statesman" Award for Distinguished Public Service.

The Troast Award is presented annually by the NJBIA to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the State of New Jersey and its business community. The award was presented by NJBIA President Joseph Gonzalez, Jr. at the association's annual Public Policy Forum. About 200 people attended the forum, held this year at the Sheraton Hotel in Woodbridge.

"I'm honored to receive this recognition and thank the NJBIA for working with us to implement cost-effective programs that help industries go beyond regulatory requirements for cleaner air and water in New Jersey," Shinn said.

Gonzalez said that the NJBIA selected Shinn for this year's award to honor his "innovative streamlining and clarifying of New Jersey's environmental regulations, his establishment of the Silver Track Program, and his air, land and water quality initiatives."

Shinn's accomplishments at DEP include: creation and implementation of a Geographic Information System (GIS)-based electronic permitting system called New Jersey Environmental Management System (NJEMS); creation of the New Jersey Greenhouse Gas Sustainability Action Plan; development of a National Environmental Performance Partnership System (NEPPS) Agreement with EPA; creation of the Office of Alternative Dispute Resolution and the Office of Innovative Technology and Market Development, development of New Jersey's Silver and Gold track programs, and implementation of the nation's first facility-wide permit program.

Shinn has assumed a national and regional leadership role in several organizations working to solve the nation's air pollution problem. He is vice chair and a member of the Board of Directors of the Center for Clean Air Policy, a Washington-based think tank on climate change and air quality issues. He is past chair of the Ozone Transport Commission and chairs the Environmental Research Institute of States (ERIS), which works with all 50 states on technology, certification and training. ERIS also works closely with the Department of Defense, the Department of Energy and the U.S. Army, Navy and Air Force on remediating contaminated sites. He is a member of the Executive Committee of the Ozone Transport Assessment Group and past chair of the Environmental Council of States (ECOS), a national organization of environmental commissioners.

A resident of Hainesport, Burlington County, Shinn was sworn into office as the 11th commissioner of DEP on Feb. 7, 1994. Shinn has held the post longer than any commissioner in the 31-year history of the DEP. Prior to serving as commissioner, Shinn served as a state assemblyman, representing the Eighth District from 1985 to 1994. He devoted much of his efforts to open space, Pinelands and farmland preservation, and water supply and solid waste management issues. Prior to his election to the Assembly, he served as a Burlington County Freeholder from 1977 to 1985.

Paul L. Troast, for whom the award is named, was chairman of the NJBIA from 1963-1972. As chairman of the New Jersey Turnpike Authority, he directed the construction of the turnpike ahead of schedule and on budget. He was dubbed "Mr. New Jersey" by former Governor Richard J. Hughes.



Related Links

News Releases: DEP News Home | Archives
Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2018

Last Updated: December 10, 2001