State of New Jersey Department of Environmental ProtectionGovernor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
NJ State Forestry Services Logo

DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online



 
 
 

Explore FREC: Visit | Book a Program | Buy Seedlings | Events | Tree Books | Directions | Volunteer | Contact

 
Contact

Forest Resource Education Center
495 Don Conner Blvd Jackson, New Jersey 08527

Office (732) 928-2360 Fax (732) 928-8472 forestrycenter@gmail.com

 

FREC History

FREC in Snow
The Jackson property first opened in 1982 as the NJ Tree Nursery which grows seedlings for reforestation across New Jersey.

 

Interpretive CenterIn 1995, the FREC offered their first interpretive program, "Seeds to Trees" which engages students in the work and care it takes to grow a seed into a tree and is still offered today along with a number of other interpretive programs.

In 2003, a interpretive center was completed. The exhibit area of the interpretive center features sections on forest succession, wildlife, tree seeds, forestry tools, forest fire, and pruning.

Mandy DiMartino, Communications Manager
(732) 928-0936 mandy.dimartino@dep.nj.gov

Rick Dutko, Facilities Manager
(732) 928-0987 rick.dutko@dep.nj.gov

Bob Meierjurgen, Forester
(732) 928-2360 robert.meierjurgen@dep.nj.gov

Lynn Zapata , Administrative Assistant 
(732) 928-2360 lynn.zapata@dep.nj.gov

Christina Yuncza, Communications
(732) 928-2360 christina.yuncza@dep.nj.gov

McDuffy Barrow, Naturalist
(732) 928-2360 mcduffy.barrow@dep.nj.gov

Roger Smith, Naturalist
(732) 928-2360 roger.smith@dep.nj.gov

Ginette Day, Naturalist
(732) 928-2360 ginette.day@dep.nj.gov

Candace Lillie, Naturalist
(732) 928-2360 candace.lillie@dep.nj.gov

 

 

 

 

 

Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2014
Last Updated: January 5, 2015