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ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION 

COMPLIANCE AND ENFORCEMENT  

Solid Waste Rules 

Solid Waste Utility Regulations 

 

Proposed amendments:  N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4 and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18 

Proposed new rules:   N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10 (recodify 5.10 at 5.11) 

     N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24 

 

Authorized by:   Bradley M. Campbell, Commissioner, 

Department of Environmental Protection. 

 

Authority:    N.J.S.A. 13:1D-1 et seq.; 13:1B-3 

13:1E-1 et seq.;  13:1E-9, 13:1D-125 et seq.; 26:2C-1 et seq.;  

47:1A-1 et seq.; 58:10-23.11; 58:10A-1 et seq. 

 

Calendar Reference:  See summary below for explanation of exception to calendar requirement. 

 

DEP Docket No:  ________________ 

 

Proposal Number:  ___________________ 

 

A Public Hearing will be held beginning 10:00 a.m. on March 24, 2005 at the Rutgers University ECO 

Center located in Florence Township, Burlington County, New Jersey. 

 

Submit written comments by (no later than 60 days after publication) to: 

Leslie W. Ledogar, Esq. 
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Attention: DEP Docket Number _______________ 

Office of Legal Affairs 

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection 

401 East State Street 

P.O. Box 402 

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0402 

 

The Department of Environmental Protection (Department) requests that commenters submit 

comments on disk or CD as well as on paper.  Submittal of a disk or CD is not a requirement.  The 

Department prefers Microsoft Word 6.0 or above.  Macintosh™ formats should not be used.  Each 

comment should be identified by the applicable N.J.A.C. citation with the commenter’s name and affiliation 

following the comment.  

 

This rule proposal document can be viewed or downloaded from the Department's web page at 

www.state.nj.us/dep. 

 

The agency proposal follows: 

 

Summary 

 

As the Department has provided a 60-day comment period on this notice of proposal, this 

notice is excepted from the rulemaking calendar requirement pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5. 

 

The Department is proposing to amend the Solid Waste Rules, N.J.A.C. 7:26 and the Solid 

Waste Utility Regulations, N.J.A.C. 7:26H, to identify violations of the Solid Waste Rules and the Solid 

Waste Utility Regulations as either minor or non-minor for the purpose of providing grace periods in 
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accordance with P.L. 1995, c. 296 (N.J.S.A. 13:1D-125 et seq.), commonly known as the Grace 

Period Law.  The proposed amended rules set forth how the Department will respond to any violation 

identified as minor. 

 

On December 22, 1995, the Legislature enacted the Grace Period Law, N.J.S.A. 13:1D-125 

et seq., which requires the establishment of procedures to ensure the consistent application of grace 

(compliance) periods for minor violations of certain environmental statutes.  Pursuant to that law, the 

Department is required to designate, through rulemaking, certain types of violations of rules contained in 

sixteen environmental statutes as minor or non-minor violations.  Under the Grace Period Law, any 

person responsible for a minor violation is afforded a period of time by the Department to correct the 

violation.  This period of time is known as a grace period.  If the minor violation is corrected as 

required, then the Department will not assess a penalty.  In those cases where a violation is not 

corrected within the grace period, the Department may pursue enforcement action in accordance with 

its statutory authority including, but not limited to, the assessment of penalties as may be appropriate 

within the exercise of the Department’s traditional, judicially recognized enforcement discretion. 

 

The law does not affect the Department’s enforcement authority, including the exercise of 

enforcement discretion to treat a violation as minor.  In those situations where a violation is labeled as 

minor in these amendments and new rules, but in fact the specific violation as it occurred does not fulfill 

all the statutory requirements for a minor violation (N.J.S.A. 13:1D-129(b)), the Department reserves 

its discretion to treat the violation as non-minor. 

 

In designating, through rulemaking, types or categories of violations as minor, the Department 

must apply the criteria set forth in the law at N.J.S.A. 13:1D-129(b). These criteria are as follows: 

 

(1)  The violation is not the result of the purposeful, knowing, reckless or criminally negligent 

conduct of the person responsible for the violation;  
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(2)  The violation poses minimal risk to the public health, safety and natural resources;  

 

(3)  The violation does not materially and substantially undermine or impair the goals of the 

regulatory program;  

 

(4)  The activity or condition constituting the violation has existed for less than 12 months 

prior to the date of discovery by the Department;  

 

(5)  In the case of a permit violation, the person responsible for the violation has not been 

identified in a previous enforcement action by the Department or a local government agency responsible 

for a violation of the same requirement of the same permit within the preceding 12 month period;  

 

(6) In the case of a violation that does not involve a permit, the person responsible for the 

violation has not been identified in a previous enforcement action by the Department or a local 

government agency as responsible for the same or a substantially similar violation at the same facility 

within the preceding 12 month period;  

 

(7)  In the case of any violation, the person responsible for the violation has not been 

identified by the Department or a local government agency as responsible for the same or substantially 

similar violation at any time that reasonably indicates a pattern of illegal conduct and not isolated 

incidents on the part of the person responsible; and 

 

(8) The activity or condition constituting the violation is capable of being corrected and 

compliance achieved within the period of time prescribed by the Department. 

 

The Grace Period Law also requires the Department to establish the length of the grace period, 
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which may be no fewer than 30 days or more than 90 days (unless extended), based upon the nature 

and extent of the minor violation, and a reasonable estimate of the time necessary to achieve 

compliance.  The Department may establish a special class of minor violations that, for public health and 

safety reasons, must be corrected within a period of fewer than 30 days. 

 

Of the criteria provided by the Grace Period Law, only criteria (2), (3) and (8), as listed above, 

may pertain to all violations of a particular regulatory requirement.  Therefore, the Department 

determined that violations that pose minimal risk to public health, safety, and the environment, do not 

undermine or impair the goals of the program, and can be corrected within a time period of up to 30 

days, would be designated as minor.   

 

The additional statutory criteria, (1), (4), (5), (6) and (7), regarding respectively, the intent of 

the violator, the duration of the violation, and whether it is a repeat offense, are fact-specific for each 

violation and must be considered on a case-by-case basis.  Thus, each violation listed at N.J.A.C. 7:26-

5.4 and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18 that is identified as minor will be eligible for a grace period only if it meets 

the additional criteria as discussed below.   

 

In order to obtain assistance in the development of these regulations, the Department initiated an 

informal process to discuss and receive input from interested parties.  As part of this process, it 

developed a discussion document setting forth a proposed list of minor and non-minor violations for the 

Solid Waste Program and conducted a series of workshops to provide an opportunity for interested 

parties to discuss the proposed list, provide comments and raise issues.  The Department conducted 

workshops on December 3, 1996 and on April 24, 1997 to discuss the application of the Grace Period 

Law to the Solid Waste Program.  The Department thereafter prepared a draft discussion document 

that included a draft of the proposed changes to N.J.A.C. 7:26-5, Civil administrative penalties, and to 

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18, Penalties for violation of rules adopted pursuant to the Act, and held another 

workshop on September 13, 2004 concerning the draft discussion document.  These proposed 
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amendments and new rules, which identify minor and non-minor violations of the Solid Waste Rules and 

the Solid Waste Utility Regulations and provide the terms and conditions by which a grace period shall 

be afforded, reflect the Department’s consideration of the input obtained at the workshops. 

 

The Solid Waste Rules establish standards and requirements for the management of solid waste 

within the State of New Jersey.  Activities addressed by these rules include registration, operation, 

maintenance and closure of solid waste facilities, registration, operation and maintenance of solid waste 

transport vehicles; permit and others fees charged by the Department, civil administrative penalty 

assessments and other enforcement actions.  

 

The Solid Waste Utility Regulations establish standards and requirements for utilities that collect 

and/or dispose of solid waste.  Activities addressed by these rules include transactional findings, solid 

waste tariffs, solid waste collection effective competition monitoring, uniform bid specifications for 

municipal waste collection, host community benefits, civil administrative penalty assessments and other 

enforcement actions. 

The Department is proposing similar amendments to both the Solid Waste rules and the Solid 

Waste Utility Regulations in accordance with the Grace Period Law.  

 

N.J.A.C. 7:26-1.4 sets forth the definitions for terms used in the Solid Waste Rules and 

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-1.4 sets forth the definitions for terms used in the Solid Waste Utility Rules.  The 

Department proposes adding a definition of “grace period” to each of these sections.   A grace period is 

the period of time afforded under the Grace Period Law for a person to correct a minor violation in 

order to avoid imposition of a penalty that would otherwise be applicable for such violation.  

 

 N.J.A.C. 7:26-5 and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5 establish civil administrative penalty assessment 

procedures and civil administrative penalties for solid waste and recycling violations of the Solid Waste 

Management Act, N.J.S.A. 13:1E-1 et seq. and the Solid Waste Collection Regulatory Reform Act, 



 

 7  

 

N.J.S.A. 48:13A-1 et seq., respectively, or any rule promulgated, or any administrative order, permit, 

license or other operating authority issued pursuant to these Acts.  These subchapters also establish 

procedures for requesting adjudicatory hearings, subsequent to the assessment of civil administrative 

penalties or the issuance of administrative orders.  

 

  Penalties for violations of the Solid Waste Rules and the Recycling Rules are set forth in tables 

at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g). Penalties for violations of the Solid Waste Utility Rules are set forth in tables at 

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18(f).  The tables in each of these respective rules set forth the citation, a summary 

describing the violation and the corresponding base penalty. The proposed amendments add two 

additional columns to the penalty tables, entitled “Type of Violation” and “Grace Period.”  The “Type of 

Violation” column includes one of two different designations, depending on whether the violation is 

minor (M) or non-minor (NM).  A violation of the specific provision identified in the penalty matrix as 

minor would be subject to a grace period, provided that the violation meets the criteria of N.J.S.A. 

13:1D-129b(1), (4) or (5), which are set forth in proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10 of the Solid Waste 

Rules and new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24 of the Solid Waste Utility Rules.  The length of the grace period, if 

any, is indicated in the second proposed column, identified as “Grace Period.”  The number in this 

column indicates the number of days, if any, the Department will allow a regulated entity to correct the 

violation.  

 

In applying the statutory criteria, the Department determined that violations that are purely 

administrative, including the maintenance of records (provided the records can be produced within the 

grace period), are minor.  Violations that may result in discharges, releases, or odors and, therefore, be 

potentially detrimental to the environment, are considered non-minor.  A grace period is not appropriate 

for any violation that is non-minor. 

 

Proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(a) and (b) of the Solid Waste Rules and proposed new 

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(a) and (b) of the Solid Waste Utility Rules identify whether a violation could be 
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considered a minor or non-minor violation.  Proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(c) and proposed new 

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(c) identify the general criteria for a violation to be considered a minor violation.  

The statutory criteria of N.J.S.A. 13:1D-129, the Grace Period Law, were discussed earlier in the 

Summary.  Proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)1 and proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(d)1 

require the Department or local government agency to issue a notice of violation to the person 

responsible for the violation.  The notice must identify the violation, the statutory or other provision 

violated, and the length of the grace period.  The notice is necessary in order that the person responsible 

may take advantage of the grace period. 

 

If the person responsible demonstrates that he or she has corrected the violation within the 

applicable grace period, then proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)2 and proposed new N.J.A.C. 

7:262H-5.24(d)2 provide that no penalty will be assessed for the violation.  Moreover, the violation will 

not be considered in the calculation of the “severity penalty component” pursuant to N.J.A.C. 7:26-

5.4(f) and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18(e), which increase the applicable penalty based upon the number of 

previous offenses the responsible person has committed. 

 

The Department proposes new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(b)3 and new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(b)3  in 

order that it can verify that the person responsible for a minor violation has taken appropriate measures 

to achieve compliance within the grace period.  The responsible person must submit, in writing and 

certified in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.4(e)3 and N.J.A.C. 7:26A-3.2(b)1, information detailing 

the corrective action taken or compliance achieved.  The Department may perform an investigation to 

determine that the information submitted is accurate and that compliance has been achieved.  Under 

proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)4 and proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(d)4, if a person 

responsible for a minor violation seeks additional time beyond the specified grace period to achieve 

compliance, the Department or local government agency issuing the notice of violation may extend the 

grace period for up to an additional 90 days.  In order to obtain an extension, the person responsible for 

the violation must submit a written request for an extension to the Department or local government 
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agency one week prior to the expiration of the initial grace period, and explain why additional time is 

needed.  The request must be certified in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.4(e)3 and N.J.A.C. 7:26A-

3.2(b)1 for the Solid Waste Rules.  The Department may, at its discretion, issue a written extension to 

the grace period specified in the notice of violation.  No more than 90 additional days may be granted, 

in accordance with N.J.S.A. 13:1d-127(b).  

 

As set forth at proposed N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)4 and at proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-

5.24(d)4, in exercising its discretion to approve a request for an extension, the Department will consider 

whether the violator has taken reasonable measures to achieve compliance in a timely manner, whether 

the delay has been caused by circumstances beyond the control of the violator, whether the delay will 

pose a risk to the public health, safety and natural resources, and whether the delay will materially or 

substantially undermine or impair the goals of the regulatory program.  A person responsible for a 

violation may submit no more than one extension request for a violation specified in a notice of violation. 

(See proposed N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)6 and proposed N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.24(d)6.) 

 

If the person responsible for the violation fails to demonstrate to the Department or a local 

government agency that compliance has been achieved within the period of time specified in the notice 

of violation or any approved extension of the grace period, then under proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-

5.10(d)5 and N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.24(d)5, the Department or a local government agency can impose a 

penalty retroactive to the date the notice of violation was first issued.   

 

Additional amendments to the Solid Waste rules include updates of the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26-
5.4.  Specifically, an additional section will be inserted after N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g) 4 to include 
regulations adopted on November 15, 2004, specifically N.J.A.C. 7:26-2D, Requirements on Rail 
Carriers that Transfer Containerized or Noncontainerized Solid Waste to or from Rail Cars.  This will 
then cause the recodification of subsequent sections, i.e., 7:26-5.4(g)5 through 8 will become 7:26-
5.4(g)6 through 9.  The Department proposes subdividing the penalty table currently codified at 
N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g)9 into six new tables to be codified at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g)9 through 14.  The 
new tables incorporate penalties for violations of the Used Oil Regulations, N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6, the 
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Universal Waste Regulations, N.J.A.C. 7:26A-7, and the Federal Code of Regulations, 40 CFR 273 as 
incorporated by reference, since the penalty tables were last amended.  Base penalties for violating 
N.J.A.C. 7:26-3.6(g) and (h), compliance with the applicable intermodal facility requirements, are 
proposed at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g)6, since minimum penalties were not previously established.  A base 
penalty for violating N.J.A.C. 7:26-6.12(b), compliance with the applicable district solid waste 
management plan, is proposed at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g)8, since the previous citation, N.J.A.C. 7:26-
6.5, was deleted from the regulations in a prior amendment.  In addition to adding penalties as just 
described, several base penalties of non-minor violations were reduced to be consistent with other 
similar violation penalties within the Solid Waste Management Act.  For example, 7:26-2.11(b)7 Failure 
to maintain an adequate water supply and adequate fire-fighting equipment and 7:26-2B.8(s) Failure of 
the owner or operator to have a 24-hour surveillance system which continuously monitors and controls 
entry to the facility or an artificial or natural barrier which completely surrounds the facility, initially had a 
penalty of $5,000.  There were similar requirements in the Hazardous Waste regulations, which at the 
time also had a base penalty of $5,000.  We reduced the penalty to the bottom range of the matrix cell 
for Moderate conduct and Minor damage, which is $3,000. 

When using the penalty matrix under N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5 a violation that has been classified as 
minor seriousness and minor conduct would receive a $1,750 penalty.  Applying positive discretionary 
factors requires the Department to use the bottom range of the matrix cell or $1,000.  Thus, for the 
majority of minor violations a base penalty of $1,000 is being proposed.    

 

In the Solid Waste Rules, N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5 establishes civil administrative penalties for 

violations where the Department determines that the penalty amount under N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4 would be 

too low or for violations not listed in N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4, regardless of whether the violation itself is 

minor or non-minor.  N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.6 establishes civil administrative penalties for submitting 

inaccurate or false information in any application, registration, record or other document that is required 

to be maintained or submitted pursuant to the SWMA. N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.7 establishes civil 

administrative penalties for failure to allow lawful entry and inspection.   N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.8 establishes 

civil administrative penalties for failure to pay a fee when due.   N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.9 enables the 

Department to include as a civil administrative penalty the economic benefit (in dollars), which the 

violator has realized as a result of not complying with the SWMA or it’s implementing rules. 

 

The Department is proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5 through 5.9 to specify that violations 

under the sections are non-minor; accordingly, the violations will not be subject to a grace period.   A 
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violation of any of the provisions of these sections prevents the Department from determining 

compliance with the SWMA and would materially or substantially undermine or impair the goals of the 

solid waste program, making the violations ineligible for a grace period under N.J.S.A. 13:1D-129(b)3. 

  

 

In the Solid Waste Utility Rules, N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.19 establishes civil administrative penalties 

for violations where the Department determines that the penalty amount under N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18 

would be too low or for violations not listed in N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18, regardless of whether the 

violation itself is minor or non-minor.  N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.20 establishes civil administrative penalties for 

submitting inaccurate or false information in any application, registration, record or other document that 

is required to be maintained or submitted pursuant to the SWMA.  N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.21 establishes 

civil administrative penalties for failure to allow lawful entry and inspection.   N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.22 

establishes civil administrative penalties for improper use of solid waste transport vehicles 

The Department is proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.19 through 5.22 to specify that 

violations under the sections are non-minor; accordingly, the violations will not be subject to a grace 

period.   A violation of any of the provisions of these sections prevents the Department from determining 

compliance with the SWMA and would materially or substantially undermine or impair the goals of the 

solid waste program, making the violations ineligible for a grace period under N.J.S.A. 13:1D-129(b)3. 

  

 

Social Impact 

 

The proposed amendments to N.J.A.C. 7:26-5 and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18, and the proposed 

new rules at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10 and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24, will provide a positive social impact by 



 

 12  

 

helping encourage a greater sense of cooperation between the Department and the regulated 

community.  By removing the threat of penalties for certain types of violations where compliance is 

achieved within the time specified, the proposed rules will encourage the regulated community to take 

positive action toward achieving compliance. 

 

Economic Impact 

 

The proposed grace period rules will have little economic impact on the regulated community, 

inasmuch as the rules formalize the Department’s existing policy with regard to allowing an opportunity 

for correction of minor violations.  To the extent that the proposed amended rules formally classify 

violations as minor for which the Department has not previously provided a grace period, the regulated 

community will realize an economic benefit.  The person responsible for the violation will no longer be 

subject to immediate penalty, but instead will have between 30 and 120 days (if the initial grace period 

is extended) to achieve compliance, without being assessed a penalty. 

 

 

Environmental Impact 

 

The rules have had and will continue to have a positive environmental impact by providing for 

the regulation of the management and disposal of solid waste and assuring that solid waste facilities are 

properly closed and maintained in post closure.  The penalty provisions of the rule will continue to 

provide a deterrent to those who would violate the regulatory requirements.   

 

The proposed grace period provisions would allow a violator an opportunity to correct certain 

violations within the time provided and thereby avoid a penalty. The Department therefore anticipates 

that the proposed amendments and new rule will encourage the regulated community to correct certain 

types of violations in a timely manner.  Prompt correction will reduce the potential risk these minor 
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violations may have created and will, therefore, result in an additional positive environmental impact. 

 

Federal Standards Statement 

 

Executive Order 27(1994) and N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq. (P.L. 1995, c. 65) require State 

agencies that adopt, readopt or amend State regulations that exceed any Federal standards or 

requirements to include in the rulemaking document a Federal Standards Analysis.  The Solid Waste 

Rules and the Solid Waste Utility Rules are proposed under the authority of N.J.S.A. 13:1D-1 et 

seq.,13:1E-1 et seq., 13:1B-3, 13:1E-9, 13:1D-125 et seq., 47:1A-1 et seq., 58:10-23.11 and 

58:10A-1 et seq.  New Jersey has been regulating solid and hazardous waste since 1970.  The United 

States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) has regulated solid and hazardous waste 

management since 1978.  The two programs operate, for the most part, in conjunction and 

coordination.   

 

Except for the provisions noted below, the proposed readoption, amendments and new rules 

are not proposed under the authority of or in order to implement, comply with or participate in any 

program established under Federal law.  Accordingly, no comparison with Federal law is required 

under P.L. 1995, c.65, and Executive Order 27 (1994) for these provisions.  

 

Jobs Impact 

 
The proposed amendments and new rules will not result in either the generation or loss of jobs 

within the State.  No facility will incur any costs unless it commits a violation that results in a penalty 

assessment. 

 

Agriculture Industry Impact 

 

In accordance with P.L. 1998, c. 48, an act amending the Right to Farm Act, the Department 
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has reviewed this proposal and has determined that it will have little or no impact upon the Agriculture 

Industry.  If there is any effect at all upon members of the agricultural industry, it is anticipated that such 

effect will be to afford those members the same opportunity as others to correct certain types of 

violations in a manner as provided by the rule and thereby avoid a possible penalty assessment. 

 

Regulatory Flexibility Statement 

 

In accordance with the New Jersey Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq., 

small businesses are defined as those that are independently owned and operated, not dominant in their 

field and which employ fewer than 100 full time employees.  The proposed amendments and new rule 

impose no reporting or recordkeeping requirements.  Small businesses will incur the penalties 

established under these rules only if they are determined to be in violation of N.J.A.C. 7:26.  The 

information submission requirements and deadline for requesting an adjudicatory hearing to contest a 

penalty apply to all noticed for violations.  Requesters will incur the administrative costs of preparing and 

submitting the request, and may employ legal representation.  Lower penalties may be assessed for 

certain violations, thereby reducing the financial impact on small businesses due to penalties.  Lesser 

requirements or exceptions, or grace periods, are not provided based upon business size, thereby 

ensuring a fair, efficient and effective penalty scheme. 

 

Smart Growth Impact 

 

 Executive Order No. 4 (2002) requires State agencies that adopt, amend or repeal any rule 

adopted pursuant to Section 4(a) of the Administrative Procedure Act, to describe the impact of the 

proposed rule on the achievement of smart growth and implementation of the New Jersey State 

Development and Redevelopment Plan (State Plan).  The Department has evaluated this rulemaking to 

determine the nature and extent of the proposed rules' impact on smart growth and the implementation 

of the State Plan.  The proposed amendments and new rules do not involve land use policies or 
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infrastructure development and therefore do not impact the achievement of smart growth or 

implementation of the State Plan. 

 

Since the rules proposed for readoption with amendments will encourage protection of the 

environment, the rules support the conservation and environmental protection goals and policies 

underlying the State Plan. 

 

Full text of the proposed amendments and new rules follows (additions indicated in boldface 

thus; deletions indicated in brackets [thus]): 

 

CHAPTER 26  SOLID WASTE  

Subchapter 1.  General Requirements 

7:26-1.4 Definitions 

 

 The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, have the following meanings, unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

 

* * *  

“Grace period” means the period of time afforded under N.J.S.A. 13:1D-125 et seq., 

commonly known as the Grace Period Law, for a person to correct a minor violation in order 

to avoid imposition of a penalty that would be otherwise applicable for such violation.  

 

* * * 

 

7:26-5.4 Civil administrative penalties for violation of rules adopted pursuant to the Act 

 

 (a) – (f) (No change.) 
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   (g)  The Rule Summary in this subsection, which summarizes certain provisions in N.J.A.C. 

7:26 and N.J.A.C. 7:26A, is provided for informational purposes only.  In the event that there is a 

conflict between the rule summary in this subsection and a provision in N.J.A.C. 7:26 and 7:26A then 

the provision in N.J.A.C. 7:26 and 7:26A shall prevail.  

 

1. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-1, General Provisions, the type of violation 

as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is minor, and the 

civil administrative base penalty [amounts] for each violation, are as set forth in the following table. 

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days) 

7:26-1.7(b) Failure of owner or operator of any 
facility exempted under N.J.A.C. 
7:26-1.7 to comply with all conditions 
set forth in its certificate of authority to 
operate 

$2,000 NM  

 

2. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-2, Disposal, the type of violation as minor 

(M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is minor, and the civil 

administrative base penalty [amounts] for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.   

 
Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2.7(b)1 Failure of permittee to apply for a 
permit renewal at least 90 days prior 
to the expiration date of the existing 
SWF permit 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2.8(b) Failure of permittee to submit a 
statement updating the information 
contained in the initial registration 
statement 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-2.8(c) Failure of permittee to notify the 
Department within 30 days of any 
change of information in the 
registration statement 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-2.8(e) Failure to apply and receive approval 
of a SWF permit prior to engaging in 
the disposal of solid waste in this State 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.8(f) Failing to obtain a SWF permit prior 
to constructing or operating a solid 
waste facility 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-2.8(j) Failure to meet all conditions, 
restrictions, requirements or any other 
provision set forth in SWF permit 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.8(k) Failure to receive Department 
approval prior to modifying, revising 
or otherwise changing a permit 
condition 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.8(l) Failure to receive Department 
approval prior to transferring 
ownership of a SWF permit 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(b)1 Failure of operator to clean areas 
where waste has been deposited or 
stored within each 24 hour period, for 
sanitary landfills all areas where waste 
has been deposited shall be covered 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(b)2 Failure to ensure any waste stored 
overnight at any facility is effectively 
treated to prevent odors associated 
with putrefaction 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(b)3 Failure to maintain facility property 
surrounding the disposal area free of 
litter, debris, unprocessed waste, 
processed residues and effluents 

[$3,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2.11(b)4 Failure to implement dust control 
methods 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(b)5 Failure to ensure no odors of 
sufficient strength and duration to 
be injurious to human health or 
unreasonably interfere with the 
enjoyment of life or property are 
detected off-site. 

$4,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(b)6 Failure to maintain all facility systems 
in a manner that facilitates proper 
operation and minimizes system 
downtime 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(b)7 Failure to maintain an adequate water 
supply and adequate fire-fighting 
equipment 

[$5,000] 
$3,000 

NM  

7:26-2.11(b)8 Failure to control insects, other 
arthropods and rodents 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(b)9 Failure to comply at all times with the 
conditions of SWF permit 

$2,000 NM  

7:26.2.11(b)10 Failing to ensure waste is not received 
in excess to the system's designed 
capacity 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(b)11 Failure to operate the facility in a 
manner that employs the use of 
equipment and other techniques as 
identified in the facility's SWF permit 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-2.11(b)12 Failure to maintain an approved O and 
M manual at the facility, changes to be 
submitted, at a minimum, on an annual 
basis 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(c)1 Failure to admit only properly 
registered solid waste vehicles for 
loading or unloading of any solid 
waste 

$3,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2.11(c)2 Failure to designate a secure area 
where solid waste may be unloaded 
from vehicles exempt from registration 
under N.J.A.C. 7:26-3.3 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(c)3 Failure to designate a secure area 
where unpermitted waste can be 
deposited 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(c)4 Failure to maintain a record of the 
quantity of each waste type accepted 
for disposal 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-2.11(c)5 Failure to provide a means of cleaning 
vehicle tires of debris 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-2.12(b) Failure of generators of asbestos 
containing waste materials to submit a 
complete written notification of intent 
to demolish, 10 days prior to 
beginning the demolition activity 

$1,000 NM  

7:26-2.12(c) Failure of generators of asbestos 
containing waste material to submit a 
complete written notification of intent 
to renovate, 10 days prior to 
beginning the renovation activity 

$1,000 NM  

7:26 2.13(a)1-6 Failure to maintain a daily record 
of waste received 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.13(a)7 Failure to maintain a daily record of 
asbestos waste and make appropriate 
submittals 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2.13(a)8 Failure to [maintain additional required 
reports in the daily record] install or 
operate scales or keep records  

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-2.13(c)1 Failure of facility operator to verify the 
O and D form 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2.13(e) Failure to timely submit complete 
monthly summaries of waste to the 
Department and the District Solid 
Waste Coordinator. 

[$3,000] 
$2,000 

NM  



 

 20  

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26:2.14(j) Failure of SWFPPA permittee to 
prepare and submit a complete annual 
progress report 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26:2.14(k) Failure of SWFPPA permittee to 
conduct a complete facility wide 
benchmark audit not less than once 
every five years 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 90 

 
 

3. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-2A, Additional Specific Disposal Regulations 

for Sanitary Landfills, the type of violation as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable 

grace period if the violation is minor, and the civil administrative base penalty [amounts] for each 

violation, are as set forth in the following table. 

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2A.8(b)1 Failure to confine working face to the 
smallest practical area. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)2 Failure to compact waste to yield 
smallest volume. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-2A.8(b)3 Failure to compact waste in shallow 
layers; or compacting waste over 
leachate collection pipes per N.J.A.C. 
7:26-2A.7(d)3xiv. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)4 Failure to ensure lift height of daily cell 
does not exceed 12 feet. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)5 Failure to ensure slope is no steeper 
than 3:1. Failure of balefill operations 
to comply with working face 
requirements. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2A.8(b)6 Failure to obtain department approval 
of separate areas for storage of 
demolition waste or recyclable 
materials. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-2A.8(b)7 Failure to cover exposed surfaces of 
solid waste at close of each operating 
day with daily cover. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)8 Failure to progressively apply daily 
cover 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)9 Failure to apply intermediate cover (a 
minimum of 12 inches of earth) to 
surfaces exposed more than 24 hours. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)10 Failure to maintain grade, thickness 
and integrity of intermediate and final 
cover. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)11 Failure to grade areas with 
intermediate cover to facilitate 
drainage. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)12 Failure to use appropriate daily and 
intermediate cover materials; not 
maintaining sufficient quantity of cover 
at site; not maintaining standby supply 
of cover within boundaries. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)13 Failure to construct final cover in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-
2A.7(i) and to apply it to all surfaces. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)20 Failure to maintain sufficient types and 
quantities of equipment to adequately 
meet the requirements of N.J.A.C. 
7:26-2A.8(b)7 through (10). 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)21 Failure to maintain steel wheel type 
compactors of at least 45,000 
pounds. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-2A.8(b)22 Failure to equip landfill equipment with 
safety devices. 

$5,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2A.8(b)23 Failure, in the case of breakdown of 
equipment, to repair or obtain 
replacement within 24 hours; or to 
include a maintenance contract in O & 
M plan. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)24 Failure to limit access for disposal to 
operating hours only. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)25 Failure to secure landfill with a six-foot 
high chain link fence. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)27 Failure to maintain all weather road to 
working face. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)28 Failure to control litter. $3,000 NM  
7:26-2A.8(b)29 Failure to control dust by spraying 

water or equivalent. 
$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)30 Failure to eliminate emissions which 
result in odors detectable in areas of 
human use or occupancy beyond 
boundary line; or to control the odors 
by use of daily cover; or to 
immediately cover odorous waste with 
minimum six inches of cover. 

$4,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)31 Failure to control the off-site tracking 
of mud and soil. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-2A.8(b)32 Failure to minimize the propagation 
and harborage of insects, rodents, and 
birds. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(b)33 Failure to protect all monitoring 
devices and environmental systems 
from damage. 

$5,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2A.8(b)37 Failure to have supervisor on site in 
order to ensure proper operation, 
evaluate monitoring data and 
inspection reports, determine 
performance of landfill, implement all 
operational decisions and ensure 
compliance with N.J.S.A. 13:1E-1 et 
seq., this chapter and the SWF 
Permit. 

$5,000 NM  

[7:26-
2A.8(b)38-41] 

[Failure to ensure that landfill 
personnel complete a program of on-
the-job training, all personnel 
complete training program within six 
months after date of employment, all 
personnel take part in annual update 
of initial training program, keep 
records of training received by 
personnel until closure.] 

[$2,000]   

7:26-2A.8(b)38 Failure to ensure that landfill 
personnel complete a program of 
on-the-job training. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26-2A.8(b)39 Failure to ensure that landfill 
personnel complete initial training 
program within six months after 
the date of their employment. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26-2A.8(b)40 Failure to ensure that landfill 
personnel take part in annual 
update of initial training program. 

$500 M 30 

7:26-2A.8(b)41 Failure to keep records of training 
received by personnel until 
closure. 

$500 M 30 

7:26-2A.8(c) Failure to maintain environmental 
control systems in functioning manner, 
or to inspect them. 

$5,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2A.8(d-e) Failure to perform inspections 
required by  N.J.A.C. 7:26-2A.8(c) 
on a weekly basis and after storm 
events, and comply with 
recordkeeping requirements. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(f) Failure of operator to make repairs in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-
2A.8(b)28 and O&M manual, if 
deterioration or malfunction occurs. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(g) Failure to maintain and inspect sanitary 
landfill according to requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(h) Failure to monitor in accordance with 
parameters and schedules. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(i) Failure to submit an annual 
topographic survey prepared 
according to N.J.A.C. 7:26-2A.8(i)1 
through 4 by May 1 of each year. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-2A.8(j)1 Failure to obtain written approval of 
the Department prior to 
disruption/excavation. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(j)3 Failure to keep area of excavation 
consistent with amount of equipment, 
and to keep excavation to smallest 
practical area. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(j)4 Failure to control dust, odors, fires, 
rodents, insects, blowing litter. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(k)6 Failure to repair any disruption of 
finished grade or covered surface 
upon completion of firefighting 
activities. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2A.8(l) Failure to comply with asbestos waste 
disposal requirements. 

$3,000 NM  

 

4. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-2B, Additional Specific Disposal Regulations For 

Thermal Destruction Facilities, Transfer Stations, Materials Recovery Facilities, Co-Composting and Mixed 
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Solid Waste Composting Facilities, the type of violation as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the 

applicable grace period if the violation is minor, and the civil base administrative penalty [amounts] for 

each violation, are as set forth in the following table. 

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2B.7(b) Failure of solid waste composting and 
co-composting facility to comply with 
quarterly report requirements. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-2B.7(d) Failure of solid waste composting and 
co-composting facility to comply with 
training requirements; Access to 
facility prohibited when facility is 
closed. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2B.7(e) 
Failure of solid waste composting and 
co-composting facility to monitor 
temperature of composting materials 
to ensure pathogen reduction criteria 
are met. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2B.7(f) Failure of solid waste composting and 
co-composting facility to comply with 
incoming waste processing timeframes 
and requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2B.7(g) Failure of solid waste composting and 
co-composting facility to ensure 
incoming, unprocessed waste is not 
mixed with finished compost. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2B.7(h) Failure of solid waste composting and 
co-composting facility to comply with 
15 month finished compost storage 
requirement. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26-2B.7(i) Failure of solid waste composting and 
co-composting facility to comply with 
recordkeeping requirements. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2B.7(j-n) Failure of solid waste composting and 
co-composting facility to comply with 
monitoring and sampling requirements. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2B.7(o) Failure of solid waste composting and 
co-composting facility to comply with 
labeling requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2B.7(p) Failure of solid waste composting and 
co-composting facility to comply with 
USEPA 40 CFR 503 general 
requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2B.8(d) Failure of the owner or operator to 
conduct inspections as indicated in the 
approved final O&M manual in order 
to identify and remedy any problems 
and comply with recordkeeping 
requirements. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2B.8(f) Failure of the owner or operator to 
implement waste receiving area 
control procedures that provide for 
the inspection of the incoming waste 
stream for the purpose of removing 
nonprocessible or potentially explosive 
materials prior to the initiation of 
processing. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2B.8(g) Failure, should the facility experience 
equipment or system malfunction to 
the extent that the waste received 
cannot be handled or processed in the 
normal manner, of the operator to 
notify the Department of the existence 
of such a situation and circumstances 
contributing to the situation within the 
same working day of its occurrence. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2B.8(i) Failure to store unprocessed incoming 
waste, facility process waste residues 
and effluents, and recovered materials 
in bunkers, pits, bins, or similar 
containment vessels and to keep at all 
times at levels that prevent spillage or 
overflow. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2B.8(j) Failure to keep waste delivery tipping 
hall doors closed during non-
processing or non-receiving hours. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2B.8(k) Failure to schedule the delivery of 
waste to the facility and the removal of 
residues and recovered products from 
the site so as to eliminate traffic 
backups and allow for fluid vehicular 
movement on site. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2B.8(l) Failure to ensure that samples and 
measurements taken for the purpose 
of monitoring facility process and 
treatment operations are 
representative of the process or 
operation and are performed with the 
conditions of the facility's SWF 
permit. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-2B.8(m-r) Failure of the operator to comply with 
waste determination, waste analysis 
and required recordkeeping. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-2B.8(s) Failure of the owner or operator to 
have a 24-hour surveillance system 
which continuously monitors and 
controls entry to the facility or an 
artificial or natural barrier which 
completely surrounds the facility. 

[$5,000] 
$3,000 

NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2B.8(t) Failure of a facility to maintain 
required personnel, supervisor, boiler 
operator, licensed engineer to assure 
the proper and orderly operation of all 
system components, along with the 
ability to handle all routine facility 
maintenance requirements. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-2B.8(u) Failure to ensure that all personnel 
complete an initial program of 
classroom instruction and on-the-job 
training, training program directed by a 
person thoroughly familiar with the 
technology, ensure that facility 
personnel respond to any malfunction 
or emergency situation, complete the 
initial training program within six 
months, planned annual review of the 
initial training, records document the 
type and amount of training received, 
kept until closure, former employees 
records kept for at least one year. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

 

 

5. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-2D,  Requirements On Rail Carriers That 

Transfer Contianerized Or Noncontaierized Solid Waste To Or From Rail, the type of violation as 

minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is minor, and the civil 

base administrative penalty [amounts] for each violation, are as set forth in the following table. 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2D.1(c)2i Failure to ensure putrescible waste 
does not remain for more than 72 
hours, nonputrescible waste does 
not remain for more than 10 days, 
and nonputrescible ID 72 waste in 
sealed containers waste does not 
remain for more than 180 days. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(c)2ii Failure to contain solid waste 
received, stored or transferred at 
any facility in sealed containers 
that do not leak any liquids or solid 
materials and are not opened for 
any purpose at the facility, except 
that an ID 72 liquid solid waste 
container may be opened briefly 
for the purpose of sampling the 
liquid provided the container is 
immediately resealed. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(c)2iv Failure to ensure that all solid 
waste containers staged or stored 
at the facility are secured at all 
times in a manner that prevents 
unauthorized access to the 
containers and their contents. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(c)2v Failure to maintain an adequate 
water supply and adequate fire-
fighting equipment. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(c)2vi Failure to ensure no queuing or 
staging of solid waste vehicles 
occurs on public roadway. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(c)2vii Failure to ensure queuing and 
staging of solid waste vehicles is 
conducted to prevent traffic 
backups and related hazards on 
access roads servicing facility. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(c)2ix Failure to admit only properly 
registered solid waste vehicles. 

$3,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2D.1(c)2xii Failure to designate emergency 
coordinator who is available at all 
times to handle emergency 
situations. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-
2D.1(c)2xiii 

Failure to maintain a daily record 
of waste received and submit 
quarterly reports. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)2 Failure of facility to have tipping 
floors or ramps provide proper 
containment and channeling of 
wastewater to sanitary sewer 
connections or holding tanks and 
be constructed of sufficient 
strength to withstand heavy 
vehicle usage. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)4 Failure of operator to clean areas 
where waste has been deposited or 
stored within each 24 hour period. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)5 Failure to ensure any waste stored 
overnight at any facility is 
effectively treated to prevent 
odors associated with putrefaction. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)6 Failure to maintain facility 
property surrounding the disposal 
area free of litter, debris, 
unprocessed waste, processed 
residues and effluents. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26-2D.1(d)7 Failure to implement dust control 
methods in order to prevent 
migration outside the enclosed 
building and off-site. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)9 Failure to maintain an adequate 
water supply and adequate fire-
fighting equipment. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)10 Failure to control insects, other 
arthropods and rodents. 

$3,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2D.1(d)11 Failure to operate certified scales 
for the reporting requirements of 
N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.13 for waste 
transported by trucks. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26-2D.1(d)13 Failure to ensure no queuing or 
staging of solid waste vehicles 
occurs on public roadway. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)14 Failure to ensure queuing and 
staging of solid waste vehicles is 
conducted to prevent traffic 
backups and related hazards on 
access roads servicing facility. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)16 Failure to admit only properly 
registered solid waste vehicles. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)17 Failure to designate a secure area 
where solid waste may be 
unloaded from vehicles exempt 
from registration under N.J.A.C. 
7:26-3.3. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)18 Failure to establish a separate 
secure area for the drop-off and/or 
transfer of asbestos and asbestos-
containing waste material 
(ACWM) or to comply with 
additional requirements for the 
handling of asbestos and ACWM. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)21 Failure to ensure that 
nonputrescible solid waste does 
not remain at the rail facility for 
more than 10 days, except that 
ID72 liquid solid waste may be 
stored for up to 180 days in sealed 
containers.  Putrescible solid waste 
shall not remain at any rail facility 
for greater than 72 hours. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-2D.1(d)22 Failure to implement effective 
security procedures to control 
entry and exit at all times. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-2D.1(d)25 Failure to designate emergency 
coordinator who is available at all 
times to handle emergency 
situations. 

$3,000 NM  

 

[5.] 6. The violations of  N.J.A.C. 7:26-3, Transportation, the type of violation as 

minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is minor, and the civil 

administrative base penalty [amounts] for each violation are as set forth in the following table. 

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3.2(a) Failure to obtain an approved 
registration statement from the 
Department prior or to engaging in the 
transportation of solid waste. 

$8,000 NM  

7:26-3.2(a)2 Failure to ensure that any device used 
for the transportation of solid waste is 
registered with the Department. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3.2(a)4 Failure of registrant to ensure 
registered vehicles, cabs, containers, 
etc. are not used, controlled or 
possessed by any other person. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3.2(c) Failure to comply with any conditions 
or limitations which may be specified 
on the approved registration. 

$5,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3.2(d) Failure of a registrant to submit a 
transporter registration renewal 
updating information contained in the 
previous registration statement. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-3.2(e) Failure of registrant to notify the 
Department within 30 days of any 
change in the registration statement. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-3.4(b) Failure to deposit all collected solid 
waste at an approved facility. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3.4(c) Failure to ensure solid does not remain 
or is stored in any solid waste vehicle 
in excess of 24 hours, unless an 
emergency. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3.4(d) Failure to ensure design of solid waste 
vehicle is such that it will not cause 
spillage onto roadways. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3.4(e) Failure to ensure solid waste vehicle is 
not loaded beyond its design 
capacities or in such a manner that will 
cause spillage onto roadways. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3.4(f) Failure to keep all solid waste vehicles 
in good working condition and to 
provide a means of continuous service 
in the event an emergency arises. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3.4(g) Failure to protect property of 
customer. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3.4(h) Failure to properly mark each solid 
waste vehicle or to carry current DEP 
registration certificate. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-3.4(i) Failure to use tarpaulins as needed. $2,000 NM  
7:26-3.4(j) Failure to access or exit a solid waste 

facility pursuant to the district 
management plan or SWF permit. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3.4(m) Failure of transporter to haul solid 
waste in accordance with the Solid 
Waste Management Plan 
developed by the county or district 
of waste origin pursuant to 
N.J.A.C. 7:26-6 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-3.5(a)1 Failure to design all solid waste 
vehicles used for the transportation of 
sewage sludge to preclude any spillage 
or leakage onto roadways. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3.5(a)2 Failure to ensure sewage sludge and 
other fecal material is not intermixed 
with other wastes of a chemical or 
industrial nature. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3.5(b) Failure to design all solid waste 
vehicles used for the transportation of 
bulky waste to preclude any spillage. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3.5(c) Failure to ensure radioactive material 
and lethal chemicals are not 
transported in or through this State 
without prior approval from authorities 
having jurisdiction, and from the 
Department. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3.5(d)1 Failure to design all solid waste 
vehicles used for the transportation of 
asbestos waste so as to preclude any 
spillage leakage or emissions 
therefrom. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-3.5(d)2 Failure to package asbestos for 
transportation in accordance with 40 
CFR 61.152 and N.J.A.C. 7:26-
2.12. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3.5(d)3 Failure to transport asbestos in a 
manner that prevents the rupture of 
containers in loading, transporting and 
unloading operations. 

$5,000 NM  



 

 35  

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3.5(d)4 Failure to transport collected asbestos 
and/or asbestos containing 
material directly from the point of 
generation to the solid waste landfill 
permitted to receive such wastes. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3.5(d)6 Failure to ensure no visible air 
emissions are generated during 
loading, transporting, or unloading 
operations. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3.5(h)2 Failure of transporter to complete and 
sign O and D form prior to [disposal.] 
prior to transporting the solid 
waste. 

[$2000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-3.6(g)1 Failure to ensure that 
nonputrescible solid waste does 
not remain at the intermodal 
facility for up to 10 days, except 
that ID72 liquid solid waste may 
be stored for up to 180 days in 
sealed containers.  Putrescible 
solid waste shall not remain at any 
intermodal facility for greater than 
72 hours. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3.6(g)2 Failure to contain solid waste 
received, stored or transferred at 
any facility in sealed containers, 
registered as solid waste 
containers with the Department in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-3, 
that do not leak any liquids or solid 
materials and are not opened for 
any purpose at the facility, except 
that an ID 72 liquid solid waste 
container may be opened briefly 
for the purpose of sampling the 
liquid provided the container is 
immediately resealed 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3.6(g)3 Failure to ensure no odors of 
sufficient strength and duration to 
be injurious to human health or 
unreasonably interfere with the 
enjoyment of life or property are 
detected at the facility or off-site, 
in the vicinity of the facility. 

$4,000 NM  

7:26-3.6(g)4 Failure to ensure access to any 
intermodal container facility is 
restricted to facility operators, 
solid waste vehicle operators and 
authorized visitors only. Effective 
security procedures shall be 
implemented to control entry and 
exit at all times. All solid waste 
containers staged or stored at the 
facility shall be secured at all 
times in a manner that prevents 
unauthorized access to the 
containers and their contents. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3.6(g)7 Failure to ensure routine 
housekeeping and maintenance 
procedures are implemented at the 
facility to prevent the 
accumulation of dust, debris and to 
maintain general cleanliness 
throughout the facility and in the 
working environment. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26-3.6(g)9 Failure to designate an on-site 
emergency coordinator who will be 
available during all hours of 
operation for the purpose of 
handling emergency situations, 
such as, but not limited to, spills, 
discharges or releases of solid 
wastes at the facility. 

$3,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3.6(g)10 Failure to ensure all containerized 
solid waste accepted at the 
intermodal container facility, 
unless exempted under N.J.A.C. 
7:26-6.3, from New Jersey sources 
are disposed of in accordance with 
applicable District Solid Waste 
Management Plans. Any out-of-
State solid waste accepted at an 
intermodal container facility shall 
be disposed of consistent with the 
provisions set forth in the 
approved District Solid Waste 
Management Plan for the district 
in which the facility is located, or, 
where applicable, at permitted out-
of-State disposal facilities 
authorized by the receiving state. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-3.6(g)11 Failure to develop and maintain at 
the site an operations and 
maintenance (O&M) manual that 
shall describe all operating 
conditions and procedures of the 
facility. The O&M manual shall be 
made available to all facility 
personnel. The O&M manual shall 
be prepared in accordance with 
N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.10(b)9. 

$3,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3.6(h)1 Failure to maintain daily records 
on forms supplied by the 
Department, in accordance with 
N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.13. These reports 
shall note the name of the 
registered transporter, 
transporter's DEP registration 
number, vehicle plate number, 
waste type, waste quantity, solid 
waste container DEP registration 
number, source, destination facility 
name and State registration 
number and quantity, by vehicle, of 
all solid waste received, 
transferred and shipped at the 
facility. The records shall specify 
the source and date of every 
shipment of waste received and 
the destination and date of every 
shipment of waste out of the 
facility. Quantities of solid waste 
shall be listed in tons and cubic 
yards. Quantities of liquid solid 
wastes shall be listed in gallons. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3.6(h)2 Failure to compile the daily 
records into standard quarterly 
reports, which shall be submitted 
to the Department within 20 days 
of the end of each calendar 
quarter. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26-3.7(a) Failure to ensure waste materials to be 
collected and transported show no 
evidence of smoking, smoldering or 
burning. 

$5,000 NM  

 

[6.] 7. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-3A, Regulated Medical Waste, the type of 
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violation as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is 

minor, and the civil administrative base penalty [amounts] for each violation, are as set forth in the 

following table.  The lesser penalty amount applies to persons registered in generator categories 1 

through 3 (<300 lbs./year). The larger penalty amount applies to persons registered in generator 

categories 4 and 5 (>300 lbs/year). 

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3A.8(a) Failure of a generator of RMW to 
register with the Department. 

$1,500/$
5,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.8(a)1 Failure of a generator of RMW to 
register in the proper category. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26-3A.8(b)1 Failure of a commercial transporter 
of RMW to register with the 
Department. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3A.8(b)2 Failure of a non-commercial 
transporter of RMW to register with 
the Department. 

$2,500 NM  

7:26-3A.8(c) Failure of commercial intermediate 
handlers and owner/operators of 
destination facilities to register with 
the Department. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3A.8(c)3 Failure of a non-commercial 
collection facility or an intermediate 
handler treating their own waste to 
register with the Department. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.8(d)1 Failure of commercial collection 
facility to register with the 
Department. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3A.8(d)5,6 Failure of a non-commercial 
collection facility to register with the 
Department. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3A.9 Failure of transporters', intermediate 
handlers' and destination facilities' 
supervisory personnel to attend an 
education and training session and 
disseminate information to 
employees. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-3A.10(a) Failure of generators of RMW to 
segregate for off-site transport prior 
to placement in containers. 

$1,000/$
3,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.10(d) Failure to handle a package of RMW 
mixed with other waste as RMW. 

$1,000/$
3,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.11 Failure of a generator to ensure that 
RMW is properly packaged before 
transporting or offering for transport 
off site. 

$1,000/$
3,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.12(a) Failure to comply with RMW storage 
requirements. 

$1,000/$
3,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.12(b) Failure to comply with RMW storage 
periods. 

$500/ 
$1,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.12(c) Failure to secure sharps containers. $1,000/$
3,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.13(a) Failure to comply with container 
decontamination and reuse 
requirements. 

$1,000/$
3,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.14(a) Failure to comply with labeling 
requirements. 

$500/ 
$1,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.15(a) Failure to comply with marking 
requirements. 

$500/ 
$1,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.16(a) Failure to determine if waste is 
RMW. 

$1,000/ 
$3,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.16(d) Failure to use properly registered 
transporters. 

$1,000/ 
$3,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.16(e) Failure to dispose of RMW at an 
authorized facility. 

$5,000/ 
$10,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.16(h) Failure to comply with home self-
care RMW requirements. 

$500/ 
$1,000 

NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3A.16(i) Failure to get approval from the 
department prior to using an 
alternative or innovative technology 
for the treatment or destruction of 
RMW. 

$1,000/$
5,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.19 Failure of a generator to comply with 
tracking form requirements. 

$500/ 
$2,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.21 Failure to comply with generator 
recordkeeping requirements. 

$500/ 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-3A.22 Failure of generator to comply with 
exception reporting requirements. 

$500/ 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-3A.25 Failure of generator with on-site 
incinerator to comply with 
recordkeeping requirements. 

$1,000/$
3,000 

M 30 

7:26-3A.26 Failure of owner/operator of on-site 
incinerator to comply with reporting 
requirements. 

$1,000/$
3,000 

M 30 

7:26-3A.27(i) Failure of a transporter/collection 
facility to dispose of RMW stored in 
the vehicle within fourteen calendar 
days, or before it becomes 
putrescent. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.28 Failure of a transporter to comply 
with RMW acceptance requirements. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-3A.30(a)1 Failure of vehicle to have fully 
enclosed, leak resistant cargo 
carrying body. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.30(a)2 Failure to ensure RMW does not 
become putrescent and is not 
subjected to mechanical stress or 
compaction during loading and 
unloading or during transit. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.30(a)3 Failure to maintain cargo carrying 
body in good sanitary condition. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.30(a)4 Failure to securely lock unattended 
cargo carrying body. 

$5,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3A.30(b) Failure to comply with vehicle 
identification requirements. 

$1,000 NM  

7:26-3A.30(c) Failure to manage RMW/solid waste 
mixture as RMW. 

$5,000 NM  

[7:26-3A.31] [Failure of transporter to comply with 
tracking form requirements.] 

[$2,000]   

7:26-3A.31(a) Failure of transporter to 
accepting RMW from a 
generator to ensure it is 
accompanied by a tracking form 
signed by the generator in 
accordance with the provisions of 
N.J.A.C. 7:26-3A.19. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.31(b) Failure of transporter to sign and 
date tracking form and provide 
copy to generator. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.31(c) Failure of transporter to ensure 
tracking form accompanies 
RMW while in transit. 

$500 M 30 

7:26-3A.31(d) Failure of transporter to comply 
with tracking form requirements 
when delivering RMW to another 
transporter (including a transfer 
facility) or to an intermediate 
handling facility or destination 
facility. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26-3A.31(e) Failure of transporter to comply 
with tracking form requirements 
when transporting RMW across 
an international border or when 
delivering RMW to a transporter 
or treatment, destruction, or 
destination facility located in a 
foreign country. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3A.32(a) Failure to deliver entire quantity of 
RMW to intermediate hauler, 
destination facility or next 
transporter. 

$1,000 M  

7:26-3A.32(b) Failure to contact generator for 
directions and make changes 
accordingly, if RMW cannot be 
delivered as intended. 

$1,000 M  

7:26-3A.33(a) Failure to comply with requirements 
for consolidating waste to a new 
tracking form. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

[7:26-3A.34] [Failure of transporter to comply with 
recordkeeping requirements.] 

[$3,000]   

7:26-3A.34(a) Failure of transporter to maintain 
signed copy of tracking form for 
three years. 

$500 M 30 

7:26-3A.34(b) Failure of transporter to comply 
with recordkeeping requirements 
when consolidating RMW. 

$500 M 30 

7:26-3A.34(c) Failure of transporter to maintain 
copy of RMW transporter report 
for three years. 

$500 M 30 

7:26-3A.35 Failure of transporter to comply with 
reporting requirements. 

[$3,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-3A.37(a) Failure of transporter to have an 
approved RMW spill management 
plan. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.37(b) Failure of transporter to have a 
RMW spill containment and cleanup 
kit at all sites and in all vehicles used 
for the storage, handling, collection, 
treatment and collection of RMW. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.38(b)6 Failure of RMW incinerator to 
ensure waste stored overnight is 
effectively treated. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3A.38(b)7 Failure to maintain facility property 
surrounding the disposal area free of 
litter, debris, unprocessed waste, 
processed residues and effluents. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.38(b)8 Failure to ensure no odors are 
detected off-site. 

$4,000 NM  

7:26-3A.38(b)9 Failure to maintain all facility systems 
in a manner that facilitates proper 
operation and minimizes system 
downtime. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-
3A.38(b)10 

Failure to maintain adequate water 
supply and fire fighting equipment, 
failure to post emergency numbers 
(fire, police, ambulance, hospital). 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-
3A.38(b)11 

Failure to effectively control insects, 
arthropods, rodents. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-
3A.38(b)12 

Failure to maintain orderly operation 
and sanitary conditions. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-
3A.38(b)14 

Failure to maintain O&M Manual at 
the facility. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-
3A.38(b)17 

Failure of facility to accept RMW 
only from properly registered 
transporters. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(i)1 Failure to ensure stored waste does 
not exceed 300,000 pounds or 
amount as specified in authorization. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(i)2 Failure to ensure collection facility 
receives no more than 150,000 
pounds of waste per day, or as 
otherwise indicated in authorization. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(i)4 Failure to accept only RMW waste 
managed in accordance with 
N.J.A.C. 7:26-3A. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(i)5 Failure to ensure only registered 
vehicles transport to and from facility. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3A.39(i)6 Failure to ensure all waste at all times 
remains fully contained, and does not 
leak. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(i)9 Failure to ensure no odors are 
detected off-site. Odor causing 
waste to be disposed of immediately. 

$4,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(i)10 Failure to implement and maintain 
effective security procedures. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(i)13 Failure to implement routine 
housekeeping and maintenance 
procedures. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-3A.39(i)16 Failure to ensure truck queuing is 
minimized, on-site traffic controls 
implemented. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(i)17 Failure to ensure RMW is not 
staged, placed or stored beyond 
confines of facility or vehicle. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(j)2 Failure to maintain O&M Manual at 
the facility. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(j)3 Failure to comply with training 
program requirements. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26-3A.39(j)6 Failure to maintain fire protection 
systems in operable condition, fire 
procedures posted. 

[$5,000] 
$3,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.39(j)7 Failure to ensure that noise levels do 
not exceed standards set forth in 
N.J.A.C. 7:29. 

$4,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(j)8 Failure to maintain on site operating 
records, O&M manual. 

[$3,000] 
$2,000 

NM  

7:26-3A.39(j)9 Failure to maintain safety appliances 
in proper operating order, comply 
with O&M inspection schedules, 
maintain inspection records. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3A.39(k) Failure to comply with recordkeeping 
and reporting requirements. 

$3,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3A.40(c)3 Failure of intermediate handlers and 
destination facilities to ensure only 
approved treatment and destruction 
processes authorized by NJDEP and 
DOH are utilized. 

$2,000 NM  

[7:26-3A.41] [Failure to comply with tracking form 
requirements.] 

[$2,000]   

7:26-3A.41(a) Failure of destination facility 
receiving RMW to sign and date 
tracking form, note discrepancies, 
provide copies to generator and 
transporter, and retain copy. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.41(b) Failure of intermediate handler 
receiving RMW to sign and date 
tracking form, note discrepancies, 
entering required information on 
new tracking form, keeping log, 
provide copies to generator and 
transporter, and retain copy. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.41(c) Failure of destination facility or 
intermediate handler receiving 
RMW from a rail transporter to 
comply with shipping form 
requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.41(d) Failure of destination facility or 
intermediate handler to maintain 
shipping or tracking form for 
three years. 

$500 M 30 

7:26-3A.41(f) Failure of transporter to provide 
signed copies of the tracking form 
to the generator when the 
destination facility or 
intermediate facility is an out-of-
State facility and will not comply 
with the tracking from 
requirements of N.J.A.C. 7:26-
3a.41. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26-3A.42 Failure to comply with tracking form 
discrepancy requirements. 

$500 M 30 

7:26-3A.43 Failure to comply with recordkeeping 
requirements. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26-3A.44 Failure of collection facilities, 
intermediate handlers and/or 
destination facilities to comply with 
additional reporting requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.46 Failure of rail transporter to comply 
with tracking form requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.47(a) Failure to ensure alternative of 
innovative technology processes and 
any modifications are approved by 
the NJDEP and DOH prior to any 
marketing, sale or use in New Jersey. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26-3A.48(a,b) Failure of an out-of-State 
organization using the U.S. Postal 
Service or other parcel service and 
disposing of regulated medical waste 
from New Jersey to comply with 
certification requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26-3A.48(c) Failure of a RMW generator to 
ensure that RMW waste is not sent 
to any out-of-State facility which 
does not have a certificate on file 
with the Department. 

$5,000 NM  

 

[7.] 8. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-6, [Interdistrict and Intradistrict Solid Waste 

Flow] Compliance with district solid waste management plan, the type of violation as minor 

(M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is minor, and the civil 

administrative  base penalty [amounts] for each violation are as set forth in the following table. 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

[7:26-6.5] [Failure to comply with the district 
waste flow plan.] 

[$10,000]   

7:26-
6.12(b) 

Failure to comply with the 
applicable district solid waste 
management plan. 

$3,000 NM  

 

[8.] 9. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-3, Approval of Recycling [Rules] Centers 

for Class B, Class C and Class D Recyclable Materials, the type of violation as minor (M) or 

non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is minor, and the civil administrative 

base penalty [amounts] for each violation, are as set forth in the following table. 

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-3.1(a) Failure of approved recycling center 
to comply with all approval conditions. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-3.5(f) Failure of recycling center to post a 
legible sign at the recycling center 
entrance indicating its approval and 
listing items detailed in 3.2(a)13i and 
ii. 

$500 M 30 

7:26A-3.6 Failure to submit renewal application 
for a general approval to the 
Department at least three months prior 
to the current approval expiration and 
to comply with all submittal 
requirements. 

$1,000 M 30 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-3.7(j) Failure, within 45 days after expiration 
of the time period authorized by the 
limited approval to operate a recycling 
facility, to file a final report with the 
Department. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26A-3.7(k) Failure of persons operating a limited 
approved recycling center to ensure 
that no illegal dumping occurs. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-3.8(a) Failure to limit processing methods for 
tires to slicing, shredding, chipping, 
crumbing or other methods approved 
by the Department, prohibition to 
incinerating, landfilling, abandoning or 
otherwise illegally disposing of tires. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26A-3.8(b) Failure by the owner or operator of 
the tire recycling center to ensure that 
no mosquito colony formation 
develops. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-3.8(c) Failure of a tire, tree stump, tree part 
or wood waste recycling center to 
have an approved fire control plan. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26A-3.9(a) Failure of recycling center to ensure 
the temporary storage of Class B 
recyclable material does not exceed 
the amount indicated in the general or 
limited approval to operate. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-3.9(b) Failure of recycling center to ensure 
that unprocessed Class B recyclable 
material is not stored in excess of one 
year from the date of receipt. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-3.10 Failure of recycling center to comply 
with modification requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-3.15(a) Failure to ensure a general or limited 
approval to operate a recycling center 
is not transferred without prior 
approval of the Department. 

$5,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-3.15(c) Failure to provide one copy of written 
request to transfer approval to the 
recycling coordinator and one copy to 
the applicable municipal planning 
board. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26A-3.17(a) Failure of recycling center to comply 
with recordkeeping and annual 
reporting requirements. 

[$3,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

 

10. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-4, Operational Standards and General 

Rules for Recycling Centers which Receive, Store, Process or Transfer Class A, Class B, 

Class C and Class D Recyclable Materials. Right of Entry and Inspection, the type of 

violation as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is 

minor, and the civil administrative base penalty for each violation are as set forth in the 

following table. 

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-4.1(a)1i Failure of recycling center to ensure 
that recyclable material is separated at 
the point of generation from other 
waste material. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26A-4.1(a)1ii Failure of recycling center to ensure 
only Class A, Class B or Class C 
materials are received, stored, 
processed or transferred at the center. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26A-4.1(a)1iii Failure of recycling center to comply 
with commingling requirements. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-4.1(a)2 Failure of recycling center to ensure 
residue is not stored on-site in excess 
of six months. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.1(a)4 Failure of recycling center to store 
residue separately from recyclable 
material and in a manner which 
prevents run-off, leakage or seepage 
from the residue storage area into, on 
or around the soil of the residue 
storage area. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.1(a)5 Failure of recycling center to ensure 
hazardous wastes are not stored, 
processed or transferred at any 
recycling center. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26A-4.1(a)6 Failure of recycling center to ensure 
electronic components which contain 
polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) and 
which are attached to or detached 
from appliances or other scrap metal, 
are not shredded, sheared or baled. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26A-4.1(a)8 Failure to operate a recycling center in 
such a manner that the recycling center 
property is maintained free of litter and 
debris and such that tracking of mud 
into nearby streets is prevented. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26A-4.1(a)10 Failure of recycling center operator to 
ensure that traffic associated with the 
operation of the center does not result 
in a degradation of a level of service of 
any major intersection or public 
roadway within a half-mile radius. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.1(a)11 Failure of recycling center operator to 
ensure recycling center operations are 
separated from sensitive land uses by 
an effective visual screen buffer. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-4.1(a)12 Failure of recycling center operator to 
ensure unauthorized access to center 
is controlled. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.1(a)13 Failure of recycling center operator to 
ensure areas of vehicular usage are 
suitably compacted and, where 
necessary, paved. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26A-4.1(a)14 Failure of recycling center operator to 
have adequate water supply, 
firefighting equipment, and local fire 
department phone numbers phone 
numbers posted. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26A-4.4(a) Failure by the owner or operator of a 
recycling center to provide a recycling 
tonnage report by February 1 of each 
year. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26A-4.4(b) Failure by a transporter of recyclable 
materials to provide a recycling 
tonnage report by February 1 of each 
year. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26A-4.4(c) Failure of exempt person to submit 
required tonnage reports by February 
1 of each year. 

[$1,000] 
$500 

M 30 

7:26A-4.5(a)2 Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to ensure center has sufficient 
capacity to handle incoming volumes. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(a)3 Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to have properly trained 
individual supervising operation, 
access to facility prohibited when 
center is closed. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(a)4 Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to ensure yard trimmings are 
only received during times when 
operator is present. 

$2,000 NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-4.5(a)5 Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to ensure all trimmings 
received are removed from bags, 
boxes. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(a)6 Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to [initiate processing of] 
accept incoming materials 
containing grass, only in areas of the 
site that are at least 1,000 feet 
from any areas of human 
occupancy and to process such 
material within the working day. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26A-4.5(a)7i Failure of Class C compost operators 
to attend, within one year of start up, 
approved composting courses. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 90 

7:26A-4.5(a)7ii Failure of Class C compost operator 
to maintain improved active 
composting surface to prevent 
ponding or runoff. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(a)7iii Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to moisten, without excess 
runoff, dry yard trimmings prior to 
windrow formation. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26A-4.5(a)7iv Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to position windrows 
perpendicular to ground surface 
contours to prevent ponding. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(a)7v Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to install windsock. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26A-4.5(a)7vi Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to comply with windrow 
composting requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(a)7vii Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to comply with material 
staging and processing buffer distance 
requirements. 

[$2,000] 
$1,000 

M 30 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-4.5(a)7viii Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to comply with finished 
compost testing requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(a)7xii Failure of Class C yard trimming 
operator to comply with additional 
recordkeeping requirements. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(b)1 Failure of Class C material operator to 
ensure center has sufficient capacity to 
handle incoming volumes. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(b)2 Failure of Class C material operator to 
comply with composting structure 
requirements, no ponding, leachate 
control. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(b)3 Failure of Class C material operator to 
[main] maintain fully enclosed 
operation. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(b)5 Failure of Class C material operator to 
comply with O & M manual 
requirements. 

$3,000 NM  

[7:26A-4.5(b)7, 
8] 

[Failure of Class C material operator 
to comply with employee training 
requirements.] 

[$2,000]   

7:26A-4.5(b)7 Failure of Class C material 
operator to comply with employee 
training requirements 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26A-4.5(b)8 Failure of Class C material 
operator to develop a recycling 
center-specific training manual and 
make available to each employee. 

$500 M 30 

7:26A-4.5(b)9 Failure of Class C material operator to 
have properly trained individual 
supervising operation. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(b)11 Failure of Class C material operator to 
comply with incoming organics 
processing timeframes and 
requirements. 

$2,000 NM  



 

 55  

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-4.5(b)12 Failure of Class C material operator to 
ensure incoming, unprocessed material 
is not mixed with finished compost. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(b)13, 
14 

Failure of Class C material operator to 
meet [PFRB] Process to Further 
Reduce Pathogens  criteria and 
requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(b)16 Failure of Class C material operator to 
comply with 15 month finished 
compost storage requirement. 

$1,000 M 30 

[7:26A-
4.5(b)18-21] 

[Failure of Class C material operator 
to comply with monitoring and 
sampling requirements.] 

[$3,000]   

7:26A-4.5(b)20 Failure of Class C material 
operator to conduct required 
QA/QC sampling and record 
results of such sampling. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(b)21 Failure of Class C material 
operator to have analysis of 
finished compost product 
conducted by laboratory certified 
in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:18. 

$2,000 NM  

[7:26A-
4.5(b)22,23] 

[Failure of Class C material operator 
to comply with additional 
recordkeeping requirements.] 

[$2,000]   

7:26A-4.5(b)22 Failure of Class C material 
operator to maintain required 
records. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26A-4.5(b)23 Failure of Class C material 
operator to submit quarterly report 
to the Department within 30 days 
after the end of each quarter. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26A-4.5(c)1 Failure of Class C operator to comply 
with labeling requirements. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26A-4.5(c)2 Failure of Class C operator to comply 
with compost utilization requirements. 

$2,000 NM  
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11. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-5, Requirements for Processing 

Discarded Appliances that Contain Refrigerant Fluid, the type of violation as minor (M) or 

non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is minor, and the civil 

administrative base penalty for each violation are as set forth in the following table. 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-5.1(a) Failure to ensure no shearing, 
shredding, baling or other actions 
which could cause release of 
refrigerant fluid to take place, occurs 
prior to recovery of such fluid. 

$5000 NM  

7:26A-5.1(b) Failure to recover refrigerant fluid in a 
manner such that no venting of 
refrigerant fluid occurs. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26A-5.1(c) Failure to deliver recovered refrigerant 
fluid to a facility which has agreed to 
reprocess the fluid or, if such 
arrangements cannot be made, failure 
to store or dispose of the recovered 
fluid in accordance with applicable 
rules and regulations. 

$5,000 NM  

 

12. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6, Standards for the Management of 

Used Oil, the type of violation as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if 

the violation is minor, and the civil administrative base penalty for each violation are as set 

forth in the following table. 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-6.1(a)2i(1) Failure to manage used oil mixed 
with a listed hazardous waste as a 
hazardous waste in accordance with 
N.J.A.C. 7:26G. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-
6.1(a)2ii(1) 

Failure to manage used oil mixed 
with a characteristic hazardous 
waste or a listed hazardous waste 
that is listed solely because it 
exhibits one or more hazardous 
waste characteristics as a hazardous 
waste in accordance with N.J.A.C. 
7:26G. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.1(a)4ii Failure by used oil generator to 
comply with management 
requirements for diesel fuel mixed 
with used diesel crankcase oil. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.1(a)9 Failure by a marketer or burner to 
comply with requirements of 40 
C.F.R. 761.20(e) for used oil 
containing quantifiable levels of 
PCBs. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.2(a) Failure to meet one or more of the 
specifications  for a used oil fuel 
identified in Table 1 of N.J.A.C. 
7:26A-6.2(a) prior to burning for 
energy recovery. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.2(b) Failure to obtain a Permit to 
Construct, Install or Alter Control 
Apparatus or Equipment and 
Certificate to Operate Control 
Apparatus prior to burning on-
specification used oil fuel. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.3(a) Failure to comply with requirements 
for managing used oil in a surface 
impoundment or waste pile. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.3(b) Failure to comply with prohibition 
against using used oil as a dust 

$5,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

suppressant. 
7:26A-6.3(c) Burning off-specification used oil in 

a device other than an industrial 
furnace, industrial or utility boiler or 
hazardous waste incinerator, or 
failing to obtain a "Permit to 
Construct, Install or Alter Control 
Apparatus or Equipment and 
Certificate to Operate Control 
Apparatus" prior to burning off-
specification used oil in one of these 
devices. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.3(d) Failure to comply with the 
prohibition against burning on-
specification used oil fuel in either a 
residential or Category I 
institutional device, furnace or 
boiler. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.3(e) Failure to comply with the 
prohibition against burning on-
specification used oil in an oil-fired 
space heater that fails to meet the 
requirements of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-
6.4(e). 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.3(f) Failure to comply with the 
prohibition against burning  off-
specification used oil in a space 
heater. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.4(d)1 Failure of used oil generator storing 
used oil to comply with applicable 
Spill Prevention, Control and 
Countermeasures regulations, 
Clean Air Act regulations or 
Underground Storage Tank 
regulations. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.4(d)2 Failure of used oil generator to ensure 
used oil is stored only in tanks, 

[$3,000] 
$1,000  

M 30 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

containers, or [unit] units subject to 
regulation at 7:26G-8 or 9. 

7:26A-6.4(d)3 Failure of used oil generator to ensure 
containers or aboveground tanks 
used to store used oil storage units 
are in good condition and not leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.4(d)4 Failure of used oil generator to comply 
with used oil labeling/marking 
requirements. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.4(d)5 Failure of used oil generator to 
comply with or initiate response to 
releases. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.4(e)1 Failure of used oil generator to burn 
only self-generated or household do-
it-yourselfer used oil in a space 
heater. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.4(e)2 Used oil generator burned used oil 
in a oil space heater that exceeded 
the maximum capacity of 0.5 million 
BTU per hour. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.4(e)3 Failure of used oil generator to vent 
combustion gases from a space 
heater to ambient air. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.4(e)4 Failure of used oil generator, 
burning used oil in a space heater, 
to obtain a  "Permit to Construct, 
Install or Alter Control Apparatus 
or Equipment and Certificate to 
Operate Control Apparatus". 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.4(f) Failure of used oil generator to comply 
with used oil off-site shipment 
requirements. 

[$2,000] 
$3,000  

NM  

7:26A-6.4(g) Failure to comply with do-it-
yourselfer and motor oils retailer 
requirements. 

$500  M 30 

7:26A-6.5(a) Failure of an owner or operator of a 
State of New Jersey permitted 

$500  M 30 



 

 60  

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

reinspection center, or a retail 
service station that has used oil 
collection tanks on the premises, to 
accept do-it-yourselfer used oil in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26A-
6.5(a). 

7:26A-6.5(b)2 Failure of  do-it-yourselfer used oil 
collection center to comply with the 
generator standards at N.J.A.C. 
7:26A-6.4. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.5(c)2i Failure of used oil collection center 
to comply with the generator 
standards at N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.4. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.5(c)2ii Failure of used oil collection center 
to register or be recognized by 
county or municipality as a used oil 
collection center. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.5(c)2iii Failure of used oil collection center 
to comply with sign posting 
requirements. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.5(d)2 Failure of used oil aggregation point 
to comply with generator standards 
at N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.4. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.6(a)4 Failure of used oil transporter to 
comply with the Federal Motor 
Carrier Safety and Federal 
Hazardous Materials 
Transportation regulations, or to 
comply with the provisions of this 
subchapter as indicated in (a)4i 
through v when performing the 
listed activities.  

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.6(b) Used oil transporter conducted non-
incidental processing of used oil. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.6(c) Failure of used oil transporter and/or 
transfer facility to [have] comply with 
the notification and/or EPA identification 

[$2,000] 
$5,000  

NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

[number] requirements. 

7:26A-6.6(d)1 Failure of used oil transporter to comply 
with [deliveries] delivery requirements. 

[$2,000] 
$3,000  

NM  

7:26A-6.6(d)2 Failure of used oil transporter to 
comply with 49 CFR 171 through 
180 requirements. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.6(d)3 Failure of used oil transporter to 
comply with used oil transportation 
discharge requirements. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.6(e)1 Failure of used oil transporter to 
determine if total halogen content is 
equal to, less than or greater than 
1000 p.p.m. for used oil being 
transported or stored. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.6(e)5 Failure of used oil transporter to 
retain records of analyses or other 
information, used to ensure used oil 
is not a hazardous waste, for 3 
years. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.6(f)1 Failure of used oil transporter 
and/or transfer facility, storing used 
oil, to comply with applicable Spill 
Prevention, Control and 
Countermeasures regulations, 
Clean Air Act regulations or 
Underground Storage Tank 
regulations. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.6(f)3 Failure of used oil transfer facility to 
ensure used oil is stored only in tanks, 
containers, or [unit] units subject to 
regulation at 7:26G-8 or 9 

[$3,000] 
$1,000  

M 30 

7:26A-6.6(f)4 Failure of used oil transfer facility to 
ensure used oil [storage units] 
containers or aboveground tanks are 
in good condition and not leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.6(f)5 Failure of used oil transfer facility to $3,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

comply with [“]secondary containment 
[for containers”] requirements for 
containers . 

7:26A-6.6(f)6 Failure of used oil transfer facility to 
comply with [“]secondary containment 
requirements for existing aboveground 
tanks[” requirements]. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.6(f)7 Failure of used oil transfer facility to 
comply with [“]secondary containment 
requirements for new aboveground 
tanks[” requirements]. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.6(f)8 Failure of used oil transfer facility to 
comply with used oil labeling 
requirements. 

[$3,000] 
$1,000  

M 30 

7:26A-6.6(f)9 Failure by used oil transfer facility 
to comply with used oil facility 
discharge requirements. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.6(g) Failure of used oil [transfer 
facility/]transporter to comply with 
tracking requirements. 

[$2,000] 
$3,000  

NM  

7:26A-6.7(b) Failure of used oil processor[/re-finer] 
or re-refining facility to comply with 
notification and/or EPA identification 
requirements.  

[$2,000] 
$5,000  

NM  

[7:26A-6.7(c)1] [Failure of used oil processor/refiner to 
comply with preparedness and 
prevention requirements.] 

[$5,000]   

7:26A-6.7(c)1i Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to maintain or 
operate facility to minimize 
possibilities of fire, explosion or any 
unplanned sudden or non-sudden 
releases of used oil. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(c)1ii Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to equip facility with 
emergency equipment. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(c)1iii Failure of used oil processor or re- $1,000  M 30 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

refining facility to test and maintain 
emergency equipment. 

7:26A-6.7(c)1iv Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to maintain access 
to communications or alarm system. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.7(c)1v Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to maintain 
sufficient aisle space for the 
unobstructed movement of 
personnel or equipment in an 
emergency. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.7(c)1vi Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to make required 
arrangements with police or fire 
departments, emergency response 
contractors, equipment suppliers, or 
local hospitals, or to document any 
such authority’s refusal of such 
arrangements. 

$1,000  M 30 

[7:26A-6.7(c)2i-v] [Failure of used oil processor/re-refiner 
to comply with contingency plan 
requirements] 

[$5,000]   

7:26A-6.7(c)2i(1) Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to have a 
contingency plan designed to 
minimize hazards to human health 
and the environment.  

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(c)2i(2) Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to carry out 
provisions of the contingency plan 
immediately if there is a fire, 
explosion or release of used oil. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(c)2ii(1) Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility contingency plan to 
describe actions to be taken in 
response to fires, explosions, or any 
unplanned sudden or non-sudden 

$1,000  M 30 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

release. 

7:26A-6.7(c)2ii(2) Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to amend its SPCC 
(40 C.F.R. 112 or Part 1510 of 
chapter V) or DPCC (N.J.A.C. 7.1E) 
plan,  to incorporate used oil 
management provisions. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.7(c)2ii(3) Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility contingency plan to 
describe arrangements agreed to by 
local police or fire departments, 
hospitals, contractors, or State or 
local emergency response teams. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.7(c)2ii(4) Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility contingency plan to 
list names, addresses or phone 
numbers of persons qualified to act 
as emergency coordinator. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.7(c)2ii(5) Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility contingency plan to 
list emergency equipment, updated 
as required, with its location, 
description, or capabilities specified. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.7(c)2ii(6) Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility contingency plan to 
include evacuation procedure for 
personnel including signals, 
evacuation routes or alternate 
evacuation routes 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.7(c)2iii Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility contingency plan to 
be maintained at facility with a copy 
sent to local police or fire 
departments, hospitals or State or 
local emergency response teams. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.7(c)2iv Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to review or amend 

$1,000  M 30 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

contingency plan as necessary. 

7:26A-6.7(c)2v Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to make emergency 
coordinator thoroughly familiar with 
plan or available at all times. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-
6.7(c)2vi(1) 

Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility emergency 
coordinator to activate alarms or 
communications systems, or to 
notify appropriate State or local 
agencies. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-
6.7(c)2vi(9) 

Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to submit incident 
report to Department within 15 days 
after an incident. 

$500  M 30 

7:26A-6.7(d)1 Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to determine if total 
halogen content is equal to, less 
than or greater than 1000 p.p.m. for 
used oil being transported or stored. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(d)4 Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to ship used oil that 
fails the rebuttable presumption,  for 
mixing as a hazardous waste, using 
a New Jersey licensed hazardous 
waste transporter. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(e)1 Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility, storing used oil, to 
comply with applicable Spill 
Prevention, Control and 
Countermeasures regulations, 
Clean Air Act regulations or 
Underground Storage Tank 
regulations. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(e)2 Failure of used oil processor [/re-
refiner] or re-refining facility to 
ensure used oil is stored only in tanks, 

[$3,000] 
$1,000  

M 30 
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

containers, or units subject to 
regulation at 7:26G-8 or 9. 

7:26A-6.7(e)3 Failure of used oil processor [/re-
refiner] or re-refining facility to 
ensure [used oil storage units] 
containers or aboveground tanks, 
used to store or process used oil, are 
in good condition and not leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(e)4 Failure of used oil processor [/re-
refiner] or re-refining facility to 
comply with [“]secondary containment 
requirements for containers[” 
requirements] used to store or 
process used oil. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(e)5 Failure of used oil processor [/re-
refiner] or re-refining facility to 
comply with the  [“]secondary 
containment requirements for existing 
aboveground tanks[”] used to store or 
process used oil. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(e)6 Failure of used oil processor [/re-
refiner] or re-refining facility to 
comply with the  [“]secondary 
containment requirements for new 
aboveground tanks [” requirements] 
used to store or process used oil. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(e)7 Failure of used oil processor [/re-
refiner] or re-refining facility to 
comply with used oil labeling 
requirements. 

[$3,000 ] 
$1,000  

M 30 

7:26A-6.7(e)8 Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to comply with or 
initiate response to releases. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(e)9i(1) Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility at closure, who 
stored or processed used oil tanks,  
to remove or decontaminate all used 

$10,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

oil residues in tanks, contaminated 
containment system components, 
contaminated soils, and structures 
and equipment contaminated with 
used oil, and manage them 
appropriately. 

7:26A-6.7(e)9i(2) Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility that cannot remove 
all contamination from tank systems 
at closure to follow closure 
requirements for landfills. 

$10,000  NM  

7:26A-
6.7(e)9ii(1) 

Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility at closure, who 
stored used oil in containers, to 
remove from the site all containers 
holding used oil or residues of used 
oil. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-
6.7(e)9ii(2) 

Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility at closure, who 
stored used oil in containers, to 
remove or decontaminate all used 
oil residues, contaminated 
containment system components, 
contaminated soils, and structures 
and equipment contaminated with 
used oil, and manage them 
appropriately. 

$10,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(f) Failure of used oil processor or re-
refining facility to [comply with] 
develop or follow a written waste 
analysis plan in accordance with 
requirements at N.J.A.C. 7:26A-
6.7(f). 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(g) Failure of used oil processor[/re-refiner] 
or re-refining facility to comply with 
used oil tracking [requirements] 
standards and records . 

[$2,000 ] 
$3,000  

NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-6.7(h) Failure of used oil processor[/re-refiner] 
or re-refining facility to comply with 
operating record and reporting 
standards. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.7(i) Failure by used oil processor[/re-
refiner] or re-refining facility to [use] 
ensure used oil transporter [with] has 
an EPA identification number. 

[$3,000 ] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26A-6.7(j) Failure by used oil processor or re-
refining facility to manage process 
residues in accordance with 
N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.1(a)5. 

$3,000  NM  

[7:26A-6.8(b)] [Failure of used oil burner facility to 
comply with burning restrictions.] 

[$3,000]   

7:26A-6.8(b)1 Used oil burner burned off-
specification used oil in a device 
other than an industrial furnace, 
industrial or utility boiler or 
hazardous waste incinerator or 
burned off-specification used oil in 
these devices without a "Permit to 
Construct, Install or Alter Control 
Apparatus or Equipment and 
Certificate to Operate Control 
Apparatus". 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.8(b)2i Failure by used oil burner to comply 
with prohibition against aggregating 
off specification used oil with other 
fuels to produce an on-specification 
used oil fuel. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.8(c) Failure of used oil burner [facility] to 
comply with notification and/or EPA 
identification requirements. 

[$2,000] 
$3,000  

NM  

7:26A-6.8(d)1 Failure of used oil burner to 
determine if total halogen content is 
equal to, less than or greater than 

$5,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

1000 p.p.m. for used oil being 
transported or stored. 

7:26A-6.8(d)4 Failure by used oil burner to retain 
records of analyses, or other 
information used to ensure used oil 
is not a hazardous waste, for 3 
years. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.8(e)1 Failure of used oil burner storing 
used oil to comply with applicable 
Spill Prevention, Control and 
Countermeasures regulations, 
Clean Air Act regulations or 
Underground Storage Tank 
regulations. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-6.8(e)2 Failure of used oil burner to ensure used 
oil is stored only in tanks, containers, or 
[unit] units subject to regulation at 
7:26G-8 or 9. 

[$3,000] 
$1,000  

M 30 

7:26A-6.8(e)3 Failure of used oil burner [facility] to 
ensure used oil [storage units] 
containers or aboveground tanks are 
in good condition and not leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.8(e)4 Failure of used oil burner [facility], 
storing used oil in containers, to 
comply with the  [“]secondary 
containment [for containers”] 
requirements. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.8(e)5 Failure of used oil burner  [facility], 
storing used oil in existing 
aboveground tank(s), to comply with 
the  [“]secondary containment [for 
existing aboveground tanks”] 
requirements. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.8(e)6 Failure of used oil burner [facility], 
storing used oil in new aboveground 
tank(s), to comply with [“]secondary 
containment [for new aboveground 

$3,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

tanks”] requirements. 

7:26A-6.8(e)7 Failure of used oil burner [facility] to 
comply with used oil-labeling 
requirements. 

[$3,000] 
$1,000  

M 30 

7:26A-6.8(e)8 Failure of used oil burner to comply 
with or initiate response to releases. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.8(f) Failure of used oil burner [facility] to 
comply with [tracking requirements] 
operating record and recordkeeping 
standards . 

[$2,000 ] 
$3,000  

NM  

7:26A-6.8(g) Failure of a used oil burner [facility] to 
comply with first-time notice 
[requirements] and recordkeeping 
standards . 

[$2,000 ] 
$3,000  

NM  

7:26A-6.8(h) Failure of used oil burner to manage 
residues from storage or burning in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26A-
6.1(a)5. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.9(a)3 Failure of used oil fuel marketer to 
comply with the standards for used 
oil generators, transporters/transfer 
facilities, processors/re -refiners or 
burners. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.9(b) Failure of a used oil fuel marketer to 
[ensure shipments of] ship off-
specification used oil [is sent] only to 
[used oil burner facilities that have EPA 
identification numbers and burns the 
used oil in a device as identified in 
N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.8(b)1] an 
authorized burner facility. 

[$4,000] 
$5,000  

NM  

[7:26A-6.9(c)] [Failure of used oil fuel marketer to 
comply with on-specification used oil 
fuel requirements.] 

[$2,000]   

7:26A-6.9(c)1 Failure of a used oil generator, 
transporter, processor/re-refiner or 

$5,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

burner to determine if used oil 
meets the fuel specification at 
N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.2 or failure to 
provide a copy of analyses or other 
information to facility receiving 
shipment of used oil. 

7:26A-6.9(c)2 Failure of first person claiming used 
oil fuel meets fuel specification at 
N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.2 to retain copies 
of analyses or other information 
used to make determination for 3 
years. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.9(d)1 Failure of used oil fuel marketer to 
comply with notification and/or EPA 
identification requirements. 

[$2,000] 
$3,000  

NM  

7:26A-6.9(e)1 Failure of used oil fuel marketer to 
comply with [tracking] invoicing 
requirements for off-specification 
used oil fuel. 

[$2,000] 
$3,000  

NM  

7:26A-6.9(e)2 Failure of used oil fuel marketer to 
comply with tracking requirements 
for shipments of off-specification 
used oil fuel. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.9(e)3 Failure of first person claiming used 
oil fuel meets fuel specification at 
N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.2 to comply with 
tracking requirements for shipments 
of on-specification used oil fuel. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-6.9(f) Failure of used oil marketer to comply 
with [Notice requirements] notice 
standards . 

[$2,000] 
$3,000  

NM  

7:26A-6.10(b)1 Failure to manage used oil that has 
been identified as a hazardous waste 
and cannot be recycled,  as a 
hazardous waste. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-6.10(b)2 Failure to manage used oil that is 
not hazardous waste and cannot be 

$3,000  NM  



 

 72  

 

Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of Violation Grace  
Period 
(days)  

recycled, as a solid waste 

7:26A-6.10(c) Failure to comply with prohibition 
against using used oil as a dust 
suppressant. 

$5,000  NM  

 

13. The violations of 40 CFR 273, Standards for the management of 

Universal Waste, the type of violation as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace 

period if the violation is minor, and the civil base administrative penalty for each violation, are 

as set forth in the following table.  

Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

§273.11 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to comply with 
universal waste prohibitions. 

$3,000  NM  

[§273.13(a)] [Failure of small quantity handler of 
universal waste to comply with waste 
management requirements.] 

[$2,000]   

§273.13(a)1 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place 
universal waste batteries which 
show evidence of leakage, spillage 
or damage in a container that is 
closed, structurally sound, 
compatible with the contents of the 
batteries, and non-leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(a)2 Failure of  Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste conducting 
activities not to breach the casing 
of individual battery cells. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(a)3 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to determine if 

$5,000  NM  
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

removed electrolyte or other solid 
waste is hazardous and to manage 
it in compliance with all 
appropriate regulations. 

§273.13(b)1 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place 
universal waste pesticides in a 
container that is closed, 
structurally sound, compatible with 
the pesticide, and non-leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(b)2 Failure of  Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to overpack 
containers of universal waste 
pesticides which did not meet 40 
C.F.R. §273.13(b)1. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(b)3 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to contain 
universal waste pesticides in a 
tank which meets the requirements 
of 40 C.F.R. §265 Subpart J. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.13(b)4 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place 
universal waste pesticides in a 
transport vehicle or vessel that is 
closed, structurally sound, 
compatible with the pesticide, and 
non-leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(c)1 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place 
universal waste thermostats which 
show evidence of leakage, spillage 
or damage in a container that is 
closed, structurally sound, 
compatible with the contents of the 
thermostat, and non-leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(c)2i Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to remove 

$3,000  NM  
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

mercury-containing ampules in a 
manner designed to prevent 
breakage of the ampules. 

§273.13(c)2ii Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to remove 
mercury-containing ampules only 
over or in a containment device. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(c)2iii Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
a mercury clean-up system is 
readily available to immediately 
transfer any mercury, resulting 
from spills or leaks from broken 
ampules, from the containment 
device to a container that meets 
the requirements of 40 C.F.R. 
§262.34. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(c)2iv Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to immediately 
transfer any mercury resulting 
from spills or leaks from broken 
ampules from the containment 
device to a container that meets 
the requirements of 40 C.F.R. 
§262.34. 

$3000  NM  

§273.13(c)2v Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
the area in which mercury-
containing ampules are removed is 
well ventilated and monitored to 
ensure compliance with applicable 
OSHA permissible exposure levels 
for mercury. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(c)2vi Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
employees removing mercury-
containing ampules are thoroughly 

$3,000  NM  
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

familiar with proper waste mercury 
handling and emergency 
procedures. 

§273.13(c)2vii Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to store 
mercury-containing ampules in 
closed, non-leaking containers that 
are in good condition. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(c)2viii Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to pack 
mercury-containing ampules in 
containers with packing materials 
adequate to prevent breakage 
during storage, handling, and 
transportation. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(c)3 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste, who removes 
mercury-containing ampules from 
thermostats, to determine if any 
waste generated exhibits a 
characteristic of hazardous waste, 
and to manage the waste in 
compliance with all appropriate 
regulations. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.13(d)1 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place 
universal waste lamps which show 
evidence of leakage, spillage or 
damage in a container that is 
closed, structurally sound, 
compatible with the contents of the 
lamp, and non-leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.13(d)2 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to clean up and 
place any lamp that is broken or 
that shows evidence of breakage, 
leakage, or damage that could 

$3,000  NM  
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

cause the release of hazardous 
constituents, into a container that 
is closed, structurally sound,  
compatible with the consumer 
electronic, and non-leaking. 

[§273.14] [Failure of small quantity handler of 
universal waste to comply with 
labeling/marking requirements.] 

[$2,000]   

§273.14(a) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
label or mark universal waste 
batteries or containers of universal 
waste batteries. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.14(b) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
label or mark containers, tanks, 
transport vehicles or vessels of 
recalled universal waste 
pesticides. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.14(c) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
label or mark containers, tanks, 
transport vehicles or vessels of 
unused universal waste pesticides. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.14(d) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
label or mark universal waste 
thermostats or containers of 
universal waste thermostats. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.14(e) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
label or mark universal waste 
lamps or containers of universal 
waste lamps. 

$1,000  M 30 

[§273.15] [Failure of small quantity handler of 
universal waste to comply with 
accumulation time limits.] 

[$2,000]   
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

§273.15(a)-(b) Small Quantity Handler of 
Universal Waste accumulated 
universal waste for greater than 
one year, without proving the 
accumulation was solely for the 
purpose of facilitating proper 
recovery, treatment or disposal. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.15(c) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to demonstrate 
the length of time that the 
universal waste was accumulated. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.16 Failure of [small quantity handler of 
universal waste] Small Quantity 
Handler of Universal Waste to 
[comply with] ensure that all 
[employee training requirements] 
employees are thoroughly familiar 
with proper waste handling and 
emergency procedures. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.17(a) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to immediately 
contain any releases or residues of 
universal waste. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.17(b) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to determine if 
any material resulting from the 
release of universal waste is 
hazardous, and to properly manage 
the waste. 

$5,000  NM  

[§273.18 Failure of small quantity  handler of 
universal waste to comply with off-site 
shipment requirements. 

$2,000   

§273.20 Failure of small quantity handler of 
universal waste to comply with 
exporting requirements. 

$2,000   

§273.32 Failure of large quantity handler of 
universal waste to comply with 

$4,000   
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

notification requirements. 
§273.33 Failure of large quantity handler of 

universal waste to comply with waste 
management requirements. 

$4,000   

§273.34 Failure of large quantity handler of 
universal waste to comply with 
labeling marking requirements. 

$4,000   

§273.35 Failure of large quantity handler of 
universal waste too comply with 
accumulation time limits. 

$4,000   

§273.36 Failure of large quantity handler of 
universal waste to comply with 
employee training requirements. 

$4,000   

§273.38 Failure of large quantity handler of 
universal waste 

$4,000   

§273.39 Failure of large quantity handler of 
universal waste to comply with waste 
tracking requirements. 

$4,000   

§273.40 Failure of large quantity handler of 
universal waste to comply with 
exporting requirements. 

$4,000   

§273.52 Failure of universal waste transporter 
to comply with waste management 
requirements. 

$3,000   

§273.53 Failure of universal waste transporter 
to comply with storage requirements. 

$3,000   

§273.55 Failure of universal waste transporter 
to comply with off-site shipment 
requirements. 

$3,000   

§273.56 Failure of universal waste transporter 
to comply with exporting 
requirements. 

$3,000   

§273.61 Failure of universal waste destination 
facility with off-site shipment 
requirements. 

$4,000   

§273.62 Failure of universal waste destination 
facility to comply with universal waste 

$4,000]   
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

tracking requirements. 
§273.18(a) Small Quantity Handler of 

Universal Waste sent or took 
universal waste to a place other 
than another universal waste 
handler, a destination facility, or a 
foreign destination 

$3,000  NM  

§273.18(b) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste who self-
transports to comply with the 
requirements at 40 C.F.R. §273 
Subpart D and N.J.A.C. 7:26A-7.4. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.18(c) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
package, label, mark, placard or 
complete the proper shipping 
papers for shipments of universal 
waste which are hazardous 
materials. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.18(d) Failure of the originating handler 
to ensure that the receiving 
handler agrees to accept the 
universal waste. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.18(e) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to receive 
back or agree on an alternate 
facility for rejected shipments of 
universal waste. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.18(f) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
reject shipments of universal 
waste 

$5,000  NM  

§273.18(g) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to immediately 
notify the Department if an illegal 
shipment of hazardous waste, that 
was shipped as universal waste, is 

$5,000  NM  
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

received. 
§273.18(h) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 

of universal waste receiving non-
hazardous, non-universal waste to 
manage such waste in accordance 
with N.J.A.C. 7:26. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.20(a) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to comply with 
the requirements of a primary 
exporter when shipping universal 
waste to a foreign destination. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.20(b) Small Quantity Handler of 
Universal Waste exported  
universal waste without consent of 
the receiving country and/or not in 
conformance with EPA 
Acknowledgement of Consent. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.20(c) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste that exported 
universal waste to provide a copy 
of the EPA Acknowledgement of 
Consent to the transporter. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.31 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to comply with 
universal waste prohibitions. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.32(a) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to send a 
written notification to the 
Department and/or receive an 
EPA Identification Number prior 
to meeting or exceeding the 5,000 
kg storage limit. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.32(b) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to include all 
information on the written 
notification to the Department. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.33(a)1 Failure of Large Quantity Handler $3,000  NM  
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

of Universal Waste to place 
universal waste batteries which 
show evidence of leakage, spillage 
or damage in a container that is 
closed, structurally sound, 
compatible with the contents of the 
batteries, and non-leaking. 

§273.33(a)2 Failure of  Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste conducting 
activities not to breach the casing 
of individual battery cells. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(a)3 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to determine if 
removed electrolyte or other solid 
waste is hazardous and to manage 
it in compliance with all 
appropriate regulations. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.33(b)1 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place 
universal waste pesticides in a 
container that is closed, 
structurally sound, compatible with 
the pesticide, and non-leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(b)2 Failure of  Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to overpack 
containers of universal waste 
pesticides which did not meet 
requirements of 40 C.F.R. 
§273.33(b)1. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(b)3 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to contain 
universal waste pesticides in a 
tank which meets the requirements 
of 40 C.F.R. §265 Subpart J. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.33(b)4 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place 
universal waste pesticides in a 

$3,000  NM  
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

transport vehicle or vessel that is 
closed, structurally sound, 
compatible with the pesticide, and 
non-leaking. 

§273.33(c)1 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place 
universal waste thermostats which 
show evidence of leakage, spillage 
or damage in a container that is 
closed, structurally sound, 
compatible with the contents of the 
thermostat, and non-leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(c)2i Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to remove 
mercury-containing ampules in a 
manner designed to prevent 
breakage of the ampules. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(c)2ii Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to remove 
mercury-containing ampules only 
over or in a containment device. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(c)2iii Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
a mercury clean-up system is 
readily available to immediately 
transfer any mercury, resulting 
from spills or leaks from broken 
ampules, from the containment 
device to a container that meets 
the requirements of 40 C.F.R. 
§262.34. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(c)2iv Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to immediately 
transfer any mercury resulting 
from spills or leaks from broken 
ampules from the containment 
device to a container that meets 

$3,000  NM  
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

the requirements of 40 C.F.R. 
§262.34. 

§273.33(c)2v Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
the area in which mercury-
containing ampules are removed is 
well ventilated and monitored to 
ensure compliance with applicable 
OSHA permissible exposure levels 
for mercury. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(c)2vi Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
employees removing mercury-
containing ampules are thoroughly 
familiar with proper waste mercury 
handling and emergency 
procedures. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(c)2vii Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to store 
mercury-containing ampules in 
closed, non-leaking containers that 
are in good condition. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(c)2viii Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to pack 
mercury-containing ampules in 
containers with packing materials 
adequate to prevent breakage 
during storage, handling, and 
transportation. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(c)3 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste, who removes 
mercury-containing ampules from 
thermostats, to determine if any 
waste generated exhibits a 
characteristic of hazardous waste, 
and to manage the waste in 
compliance with all appropriate 

$5,000  NM  
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

regulations. 
§273.33(d)1 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 

of Universal Waste to place 
universal waste lamps in a 
container that is closed, 
structurally sound, compatible with 
the contents of the lamp, and non-
leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.33(d)2 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to clean up and 
place any lamp that is broken or 
that shows evidence of breakage, 
leakage, or damage that could 
cause the release of hazardous 
constituents, in a container that is 
closed, structurally sound,  
compatible with the consumer 
electronic, and non-leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.34(a) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
label or mark universal waste 
batteries or containers of universal 
waste batteries. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.34(b) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
label or mark containers, tanks, 
transport vehicles or vessels of 
recalled universal waste 
pesticides. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.34(c) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
label or mark containers, tanks, 
transport vehicles or vessels of 
unused universal waste pesticides. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.34(d) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
label or mark universal waste 

$1,000  M 30 
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

thermostats or containers of 
universal waste thermostats. 

§273.34(e) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
label or mark universal waste 
lamps or containers of universal 
waste lamps. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.35(a)-(b) Large Quantity Handler of 
Universal Waste accumulated 
universal waste for greater than 
one year, without proving the 
accumulation was solely for the 
purpose of facilitating proper 
recovery, treatment or disposal. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.35(c) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to demonstrate 
the length of time that the 
universal waste was accumulated. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.36 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
all employees are thoroughly 
familiar with proper waste handling 
and emergency procedures. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.37(a) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to immediately 
contain any releases or residues of 
universal waste. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.37(b) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to determine if 
any material resulting from the 
release of universal waste is 
hazardous, and to properly manage 
the waste. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.38(a) Large Quantity Handler of 
Universal Waste sent or took 
universal waste to a place other 
than another universal waste 

$3,000  NM  
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

handler, a destination facility, or a 
foreign destination 

§273.38(b) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste who self-
transports to comply with the 
requirements at 40 C.F.R. §273 
Subpart D and N.J.A.C. 7:26A-7.4. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.38(c) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
package, label, mark, placard or 
complete the proper shipping 
papers for shipments of universal 
waste which are hazardous 
materials. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.38(d) Failure of the originating handler 
to ensure that the receiving 
handler agrees to accept the 
universal waste. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.38(e) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to receive 
back or agree on an alternate 
facility for rejected shipments of 
universal waste. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.38(f) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to properly 
reject shipments of universal 
waste 

$5,000  NM  

§273.38(g) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to immediately 
notify the Department if an illegal 
shipment of hazardous waste, that 
was shipped as universal waste, is 
received. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.38(h) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of universal waste receiving non-
hazardous, non-universal waste to 
manage such waste in accordance 

$1,000  M 30 
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

with N.J.A.C. 7:26. 
§273.39(a)1 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 

of Universal Waste to record the 
name and address of the 
originating universal waste handler 
or foreign shipper from whom the 
universal waste was sent. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.39(a)2 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to record the 
quantity of each type of universal 
waste received. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.39(a)3 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to record the 
date of receipt of the shipment of 
universal waste. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.39(b)1 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to  record the 
name and address of the universal 
waste handler, destination facility, 
or foreign destination to whom 
universal waste was sent. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.39(b)2 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to record the 
quantity of each type of universal 
waste sent. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.39(b)3 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to record the 
date the shipment of universal 
waste left the facility. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.39(c) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal waste to retain the 
records for at least three years. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.40(a) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to comply with 
the requirements of a primary 
exporter when shipping universal 
waste to a foreign destination. 

$1,000  M 30 
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

§273.40(b) Large Quantity Handler of 
Universal Waste exported  
universal waste without consent of 
the receiving country and/or not in 
conformance with EPA 
Acknowledgement of Consent. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.40(c) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste that exported 
universal waste to provide a copy 
of the EPA Acknowledgement of 
Consent to the transporter. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.51 Failure of Universal Waste 
Transporter to comply with 
universal waste prohibitions. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.52(a) Failure of Universal Waste 
Transporter to comply with 
USDOT requirements for 
universal waste which meets the 
definition of a hazardous material. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.52(b) Universal Waste Transporter 
described a universal waste with 
the words hazardous waste or 
N.O.S. or included the word waste 
in the shipping description. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.53 Universal Waste Transporter 
stored universal waste at a 
transfer facility for greater than 10 
days without being in compliance 
subpart B or C of 40 C.F.R. §273. 

$3,000  NM  

§273.54(a) Failure of Universal Waste 
Transporter to immediately 
contain any releases or residues of 
universal waste. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.54(b) Failure of Universal Waste 
Transporter to determine if any 
material resulting from the release 
of universal waste is hazardous, 

$5,000  NM  
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

and to properly manage the waste. 
§273.55(a) Universal Waste Transporter sent 

or took universal waste to a place 
other than another universal waste 
handler, a destination facility, or a 
foreign destination 

$5,000  NM  

§273.55(b) Failure of Universal Waste 
Transporter to properly describe, 
on the shipping paper, any 
universal waste that meets the 
definition of a hazardous material. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.56 Universal Waste Transporter 
accepted a shipment of universal 
waste, to be shipped to a foreign 
destination, knowing the shipment 
did not conform to the EPA 
Acknowledgement of Consent. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.56(a) Failure of Universal Waste 
Transporter exporting universal 
waste to ensure that a copy of the 
EPA Acknowledgement of Consent 
accompanied the shipment. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.56(b) Failure of Universal Waste 
Transporter exporting universal 
waste to ensure that the waste was 
delivered to the facility designated 
by the person initiating the 
shipment. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.60(a) Failure of owner or operator of a 
Universal Waste Destination 
Facility to comply with the 
requirements of  40 C.F.R. Parts 
§§124, 264 through 266 and 270, 
as incorporated by reference at 
N.J.A.C. 7:26G, and the 
notification requirement under 
Section 3010 of RCRA. 

$1,000  M 30 
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

§273.60(b) Failure of owner or operator of a 
Universal Waste Destination 
Facility, that recycles a particular 
universal waste without storing 
that universal waste before it is 
recycled, to comply with 40 C.F.R. 
§261.6(c)(2) as incorporated by 
reference at N.J.A.C. 7:26G-5. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.61(a) Owner or operator of a Universal 
Waste Destination Facility sent or 
took universal waste to a place 
other than a universal waste 
handler, another destination 
facility or foreign destination. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.61(b) Failure of owner or operator of a 
Universal Waste Destination 
Facility to properly reject 
shipments of universal waste 

$5,000  NM  

§273.61(c) Failure of owner or operator of a 
Universal Waste Destination 
Facility to immediately notify the 
Department if an illegal shipment 
of hazardous waste, that was 
shipped as universal waste, is 
received. 

$5,000  NM  

§273.62(a)1 Failure of owner of operator of a 
Universal Waste Destination 
Facility to record the name and 
address of the originating 
universal waste handler or foreign 
shipper from whom the universal 
waste was sent. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.62(a)2 Failure of owner of operator of a 
Universal Waste Destination 
Facility to record the quantity of 
each type of universal waste 
received. 

$1,000  M 30 
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Rule 
40 C.F.R. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

§273.62(a)3 Failure of owner or operator of a 
Universal Waste Destination 
Facility to record the date of 
receipt of the shipment of 
universal waste. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.62(b) Failure of owner or operator of a 
Universal Waste Destination 
Facility to keep records for three 
years. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.70 Failure of Universal Waste 
Transporter, managing universal 
waste that was imported from a 
foreign country, to comply with the 
requirements of 40 C.F.R. §273 
Subpart D immediately after waste 
was received in the United States. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.70(b) Failure of Small or Large Quantity 
Handlers of Universal Waste, 
managing universal waste that was 
imported from a foreign country, to 
comply with the requirements of 40 
C.F.R. §273 Subpart B or C after 
waste was received in the United 
States. 

$1,000  M 30 

§273.70(c) Failure of owner or operator of a 
Universal Waste Destination 
Facility, managing universal waste 
that was imported from a foreign 
country, to comply with the 
requirements of 40 C.F.R. §273 
Subpart E after waste is received 
in the United States. 

$1,000  M 30 

 
 

14.  The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-7, Standards for the management of 
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Universal Waste, the type of violation as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace 

period if the violation is minor, and the civil base administrative penalty for each violation, are 

as set forth in the following table.  

 
Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-7.4(b)1 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place a 
consumer electronic that shows 
evidence of leakage, spillage, or 
damage that could cause leakage, 
in a container that is closed, 
structurally sound,  compatible 
with the consumer electronic, and 
non-leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.4(b)2 Small Quantity Handler of 
Universal Waste disassembled a 
consumer electronic in a manner 
that constituted processing or 
treatment. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.4(b)3 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste who generates 
a solid waste, as the result of 
performing activities, to determine 
if the waste is hazardous. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-7.4(c)1 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place any 
universal waste mercury-
containing device that shows 
evidence of leakage, spillage, or 
damage that could cause leakage, 
in a container that is closed, 
structurally sound, compatible with 
the contents of the mercury-
containing device, and non-
leaking. 

$3,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

7:26A-7.4(c)2i Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to remove 
mercury containing ampules in a 
manner designed to prevent 
breakage of the ampules. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.4(c)2ii Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to remove 
mercury-containing ampules only 
over or in a containment device. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.4(c)2iii Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
a mercury clean-up system is 
readily available to immediately 
transfer any mercury, resulting 
from spills or leaks from broken 
ampules, to a container that meets 
the requirements of 40 C.F.R. 
§262.34. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.4(c)2iv Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to immediately 
transfer any mercury, resulting 
from spills or leaks from broken 
ampules, from the containment 
device to a container that meets 
the requirements of 40 C.F.R. 
§262.34. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.4(c)2v Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
any area where mercury-
containing ampules are removed is 
well ventilated and monitored to 
ensure compliance with applicable 
OSHA permissible exposure levels 
for mercury. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.4(c)2vi Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
employees removing mercury-

$3,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

containing ampules are thoroughly 
familiar with proper waste mercury 
handling and emergency 
procedures. 

7:26A-7.4(c)2vii Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to store 
mercury-containing ampules in 
closed, non-leaking containers that 
are in good condition. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-
7.4(c)2viii 

Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to pack 
mercury-containing ampules in a 
container with packing materials 
adequate to prevent breakage 
during storage, handling, and 
transportation. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.4(c)3 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste, who removes 
mercury-containing ampules, to 
determine if any waste generated 
exhibits a characteristic of 
hazardous waste, and to manage 
the waste in compliance with all 
appropriate regulations.. 

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-7.4(d) Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to manage oil-
based finishes, in its original or 
otherwise appropriate and labeled 
packaging.  

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-7.4(d)1 Failure of Small Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place any 
universal waste oil-based finish 
that shows evidence of leakage, 
spillage, or damage that could 
cause leakage, into a container 
that is closed, structurally sound, 
compatible with the contents of the 

$3,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

oil-based finish, and non-leaking. 
7:26A-7.4(d)2 Small Quantity Handler of 

Universal Waste to handled 
universal waste oil-based finishes 
in a manner that constituted 
processing. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(b)1 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place any 
consumer electronic that shows 
evidence of leakage, spillage, or 
damage that could cause leakage, 
in a container that is closed, 
structurally sound, compatible with 
the contents of the consumer 
electronics, and non-leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(b)2 Large Quantity Handler of 
Universal Waste conducted 
disassembling or processing on 
consumer electronics without 
applying for a Class D Approval. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(c)1 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place a 
universal waste mercury-
containing device that shows 
evidence of leakage, spillage, or 
damage that could cause leakage 
into a container that is closed, 
structurally sound, compatible with 
the contents of the mercury-
containing devices, and non-
leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(c)2i Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to remove 
mercury-containing ampules in a 
manner designed to prevent 
breakage of the ampules. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(c)2ii Failure of Large Quantity Handler $3,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

of Universal Waste to remove 
mercury-containing ampules only 
over or in a containment device. 

7:26A-7.5(c)2iii Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
a mercury clean-up system is 
readily available to immediately 
transfer any mercury, resulting 
from spills or leaks from broken 
ampules, from the containment 
device to a container that meets 
the requirements of 40 C.F.R. 
§262.34. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(c)2iv Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to immediately 
transfer any mercury resulting 
from spills or leaks from broken 
ampules from the containment 
device to a container that meets 
the requirements of 40 C.F.R. 
§262.34. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(c)2v Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
the area in which mercury-
containing ampules are removed is 
well ventilated and monitored to 
ensure compliance with applicable 
OSHA permissible exposure levels 
for mercury. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(c)2vi Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to ensure that 
employees removing mercury-
containing ampules are thoroughly 
familiar with proper waste mercury 
handling and emergency 
procedures. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(c)2vii Failure of Large Quantity Handler $3,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

of Universal Waste to store 
mercury-containing ampules in 
closed, non-leaking containers that 
are in good condition. 

7:26A-
7.5(c)2viii 

Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to pack 
mercury-containing ampules in 
containers with packing materials 
adequate to prevent breakage 
during storage, handling, and 
transportation. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(c)3 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste, who removes 
mercury-containing ampules, to 
determine if the waste generated 
exhibits a characteristic of 
hazardous waste, and to manage 
the waste in compliance with all 
appropriate regulations.  

$5,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(d) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to manage 
universal waste finishes in its 
original packaging.  

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-7.5(d)1 Failure of Large Quantity Handler 
of Universal Waste to place any 
universal waste finish that shows 
evidence of leakage, spillage, or 
damage that could cause leakage  
in a container that is closed, 
structurally sound, compatible with 
the contents of the universal waste 
finish, and non-leaking. 

$3,000  NM  

7:26A-7.5(d)2 Large Quantity Handler of 
Universal Waste conducted 
disassembling or processing 
activities on universal waste 
finishes without applying for a 

$3,000  NM  
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Rule 
N.J.A.C. 

Rule Summary Base 
Penalty  

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  
Period 
(days)  

Class D Approval. 
7:26A-7.5(e) Failure of Large Quantity Handler 

of Universal Waste to submit a 
report to the Department 
documenting the types and 
amounts of universal waste which 
were received, stored and shipped 
in the preceding calendar year.  

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-7.7(a) Failure to accumulate universal 
waste consumer electronics 
devices in a closed container that 
is clearly marked with the words 
Universal Waste-Consumer 
Electronics. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-7.7(b) Failure to accumulate universal 
waste mercury-containing devices 
in a closed container that is clearly 
marked with the words Universal 
Waste-Mercury-Containing 
Devices. 

$1,000  M 30 

7:26A-7.7(c) Failure to mark a container, tank, 
transport vehicle or other vessel in 
which oil-based waste finishes are 
contained, with the words 
Universal Waste-Oil-Based Finish. 

$1,000  M 30 

 

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5 Civil administrative penalty determination 

(a) – (i) (No change.)   

(j)  A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace 

period. 

 

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.6  Civil administrative penalty for submitting inaccurate or false information 
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(a) – (d)  (No change.) 

  

(e) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace 

period. 

 

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.7  Civil Administrative penalty for failure to allow lawful entry and inspection     

(a) – (d) (No change.) 

 

(e) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace 

period. 

 

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.8  Civil Administrative Penalty for failure to pay a fee 

(a) – (d)  (No change.) 

 

(e) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace 

period. 

 

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.9  (No change.) 

 

 

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10  (Re-codify as N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.11, no change in text.) 
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N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10  Grace period applicability; procedures 

 
(a) Each violation identified in the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g) by an 

“M” in the Type of Violation column, for which conditions at (c) below are satisfied, is a minor 

violation, and is subject to a grace period, the length of which (in days) is indicated in the 

“Grace Period” column.  

 

(b) Each violation identified in the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g) by an 

“NM” in the Type of Violation column is a non-minor violation and will not be subject to a 

grace period. 

 

(c) The Department or local government agency shall provide a grace period for any 

violation identified as minor under this section, provided  the following conditions are met: 

 

1. The violation is not the result of the purposeful, knowing, reckless or criminally 

negligent conduct of the person responsible for the violation; 

 

2. The activity or condition constituting the violation has existed for less than 

12 months prior to the date of discovery by the Department or local government agency; 

 

3. In the case of a violation that involves a permit, the person responsible for 

the violation has not been identified in a previous enforcement action by the Department or local 
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government agency as responsible for a violation of the same requirement of the same permit 

within the preceding 12-month period; 

 

4.  In the case of a violation that does not involve a permit, the person 

responsible for the violation has not been identified in a previous enforcement action by the 

department or a local government agency as responsible for the same or a substantially similar 

violation at the same facility within the preceding 12-month period; 

 

5. In the case of any violation, the person responsible for the violation has not 

been identified by the Department or a local government agency as responsible for the same or 

substantially similar violations  at any time that reasonably indicate a pattern of illegal conduct 

and not isolated incidents on the part of the person responsible. 

 

(d) For a violation determined to be minor under (c) above, the following provisions 

apply: 

1. The Department or local government agency shall issue a notice of violation 

to the person responsible for the minor violation that: 

 

i. Identifies the condition or activity that constitutes the violation and 

the specific statutory and regulatory provision or other requirement violated; and 

 

ii. Specifies that a penalty may be imposed unless the minor violation is 
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corrected and compliance is achieved within the specified grace period. 

 

2. If the person responsible for the minor violation corrects that violation and 

demonstrates, in accordance with (d)3 below, that compliance has been achieved within the 

specified grace period, the Department or local government agency shall not impose a penalty for 

the violation, and in addition, shall not consider the minor violation for purposes of calculating the 

“severity penalty component” under N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(f). 

 

3. The person responsible for a violation shall submit to the Department or 

local government agency, before the end of the specified grace period, written information, 

certified in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.4(e) or N.J.A.C. 7:26A-3.2(b), and signed by the 

person responsible for the minor violation, detailing the corrective action taken or compliance 

achieved. 

 

4. If the person responsible for the minor violation seeks additional time 

beyond the specified grace period to achieve compliance, the person shall request an extension of 

the specified grace period.  The request shall be made in writing no later than one week before 

the end of the specified grace period and include the anticipated time needed to achieve 

compliance, the specific cause or causes of the delay, and any measures taken or to be taken to 

minimize the time needed to achieve compliance and shall be certified in accordance with N.J.A.C. 

7:26-2.4(e) or N.J.A.C. 7:26A-3.2(b).  The Department may, at its discretion, approve in writing 

an extension, which shall not exceed 90 days, to accommodate for the anticipated delay in 
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achieving compliance.  In exercising its discretion to grant a request for an extension, the 

Department may consider the following:   

i. Whether the violator has taken reasonable measures to achieve 

compliance in a timely manner;  

ii. Whether the delay has been caused by circumstances beyond the 

control of the violator;   

iii.  Whether the delay will pose a risk to the public health, safety and 

natural resources; and  

iv. Whether the delay will materially or substantially undermine or 

impair the goals of the regulatory program.   

 

5. If the person responsible for the minor violation fails to demonstrate to 

the Department or local government agency that the violation has been corrected and 

compliance achieved within the specified grace period or within the approved extension, if any, 

the Department or local government agency may, in accordance with the provisions of this 

chapter, impose a penalty that is retroactive to the date the enforcement document under (d)1 

was first issued. 

 

6. The person responsible for a minor violation shall not request more than 

one extension of a grace period specified in a notice of violation. 

 

CHAPTER 26H.  SOLID WASTE UTILITY REGULATIONS 
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Subchapter 1.  General Requirements 

7:26H-1.4 Definitions 

 

 The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, have the following meanings, unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

 

* * *  

“Grace period” means the period of time afforded under N.J.S.A. 13:1D-125 et seq., 

commonly known as the Grace Period Law, for a person to correct a minor violation in order 

to avoid imposition of a penalty that would be otherwise applicable for such violation.  

 

* * * 

 

 

Subchapter 5.  Solid Waste Collection Effective Competition Monitoring 

7:26H-5.18. Penalties for violation of rules adopted pursuant to the Act 

(a) - (e) (No change.) 

(f)  The rule summary in this subsection, which summarizes certain provisions in this chapter, 

is provided for informational purposes only.  In the event that there is a conflict between the rule 

summary in this subsection and a provision in this chapter, then the provision in this chapter shall prevail.  

 

1. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26H-1, General Requirements, the type of 

violation as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is 

minor, and the civil administrative base penalty [amounts] for each violation are as set forth in the 
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following table.  

 

Citation 
(N.J.A.C.) 

Summary Base 
Penalty 

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  Period 

7:26H-1.6(a) Failure to obtain a Certificate of Public 
Convenience and Necessity prior to 
engaging in the business of solid waste 
collection or solid waste disposal. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26H-1.6(c) Failure of solid waste utility to have a 
Certificate of Public Convenience and 
Necessity when bidding for a solid 
waste contract. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26H-1.12(c) Failure of the disposal utility to file rate 
revisions, in accordance with 
N.J.A.C. 7:26H-3.10, for services 
which do not increase charges above 
the peak rate. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-1.12(d) Failure of the disposal utility to file rate 
revisions, in accordance with 
N.J.A.C. 7:26H-3.11, for services 
which increase charges above the 
peak rate. 

$2,500 M 30 

7:26H-1.14(a) Failure of solid waste utility to furnish 
safe, adequate, and proper service. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26H-1.14(d) Failure of collection utility to file a 
petition with the Department prior to 
discontinuing service to a customer, 
which petition shall give the reasons 
for such discontinuance. 

$1,000 NM  

7:26H- 1.14(e) Failure of solid waste utility to file a 
report with the Department when 
service to a customer is interrupted 
and it appears that the interruption will 
continue for more than one day or one 
pick up. 

$250.00 M 30 



 

 106  

 

Citation 
(N.J.A.C.) 

Summary Base 
Penalty 

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  Period 

7:26H-1.20(b)1 Failure of solid waste utility to ensure 
all records are maintained at an office 
in the State of New Jersey unless 
otherwise approved by the 
Department. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-1.20(b)3 Failure of solid waste utility to notify 
the Department of the location of the 
office or offices where records 
pertaining to the provision of solid 
waste services are maintained. 

$500.00 M 30 

7:26H-1.20(c) Failure of solid waste utility to retain 
all documents for at least five years all 
documents for at least five years from 
the date that the documents were due 
or created, and at the office of the 
solid waste utility. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-1.21 Failure of solid waste utility to file 
evidence of insurance. 

$5,000 NM  

7:26H-1.24(b) Failure of solid waste utility to have a 
lease on file with the Department for 
the use of all property, equipment and 
facilities which are used to provide 
service and are not owned by the 
utility. 

$2,000 NM  

 

2.  The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26H-3, Transactional Filings, the type of 

violation as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is 

minor, and the civil administrative base penalty [amounts] for each violation are as set forth in the 

following table.  

 

Citation 
(N.J.A.C.) 

Summary Base 
Penalty 

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  Period 
(days)  
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Citation 
(N.J.A.C.) 

Summary Base 
Penalty 

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  Period 
(days)  

7:26H-3.2(a) Failure of solid waste utility to receive 
authorization of the Department prior 
to consummating the sale, transfer, or 
encumbrance of the assets of the solid 
waste utility or any change in majority 
control of such utility. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26H-3.2(c) Failure of the solid waste utility to 
ensure notice of sale appears in 
newspapers at least 30 days before 
sale occurs. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-3.3(a) Failure of solid waste utility to petition 
for authority to transfer capital stock; 
Transfer without authorization. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26H-3.4(a) Failure of solid waste utility to obtain 
Department approval prior to 
consolidating or merging with another 
solid waste utility, merging or 
consolidating with any other person or 
business concern, or dissolution of the 
solid waste utility. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26H-3.5(a) Failure of solid waste utility to petition 
the Department for authority to issue 
stocks, bonds, notes, other evidence 
of indebtedness or to execute 
mortgages and comply with 
requirements thereof. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26H-3.6(a) Failure of solid waste utility to file a 
Notice of Intent and obtain 
Department approval prior to entering 
into a management agreement with any 
person. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26H-3.6(c) Failure of solid waste utility to ensure 
a Notice of Intent to enter into a 
management agreement appears in 
newspapers at least 30 days prior to 
the completion of the transaction. 

$1,000 M 30 
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Citation 
(N.J.A.C.) 

Summary Base 
Penalty 

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  Period 
(days)  

7:26H-3.7(a) Failure of solid waste utility to receive 
approval of the Department prior to 
taking any action which would cause a 
change in the utilitys depreciation 
rates. 

$2,500 NM  

 

3.  The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26H-4, Solid Waste Tariffs, the type of violation 

as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if the violation is minor, and the 

civil administrative base penalty [amounts] for each violation are as set forth in the following table.  

 

Citation 
N.J.A.C. 

Summary Base 
Penalty 

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  Period 
(days)  

7:26H-4.2(a) Failure of solid waste utility to file a 
tariff and maintain a copy for public 
inspection. 

$3,000 NM  

7:26H-4.4(a)1 Failure of utility customer to allow 
unencumbered access to containers. 
All containers and areas from which 
solid waste is to be collected shall be 
kept free from all hazards and 
potential hazards. 

$250.00 NM  

7:26H-4.4(a)2 Failure of solid waste utility to comply 
with collection service provisions of 
the approved tariff. 

$2,000 NM  

7:26H-4.4(a)3 Failure of solid waste utility to assist 
customers in the selection of the rate 
schedule most favorable for their 
individual requirements. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-4.4(a)4 Failure of solid waste utility to identify 
in the tariff, miscellaneous collection 
services, prior to providing any of 
these same services. 

$750.00 M 30 
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Citation 
N.J.A.C. 

Summary Base 
Penalty 

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  Period 
(days)  

7:26H-4.4(a)6 Failure of solid waste utility to ensure 
that loads of solid waste and 
designated source separated 
recyclable materials are not 
commingled; Disposing of leaves in 
any manner that differs from that 
outlined in N.J.S.A. 13:1E-99.21. 

$2,500 NM  

7:26H-4.4(a)7 Failure of solid waste utility to make a 
pick up, not later than the next 
regularly scheduled collection day 
should the collector fail to pick up 
solid waste on a regularly scheduled 
day. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-4.4(a)9 Failure of the collector to provide the 
customer at least 10 days written 
notice of its intention to discontinue 
service. 

$1,000 NM  

7:26H-4.4(b)3 Failure of solid waste utility to include 
all required items, listed separately, on 
all bills for collection. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-4.7(a)1 Failure of the disposal utility to 
operate according to the schedule 
contained in its permits and approved 
tariff; Failure to ensure all hours and 
rates are publicly posted. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-4.7(b)2 Failure of the disposal utility to comply 
with billing and invoicing requirements. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-4.7(b)4 Failure to comply with the facility’s 
applicable rate schedule by assessing 
a late payment charge on an unpaid 
bill when such a charge is not 
provided for in the disposal facility’s 
applicable rate schedule approved by 
the Department. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-4.7(c)1 Failure of the solid waste utility to 
comply with advanced payment 
account requirements. 

$2,500 M 30 
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4.  The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5, Solid Waste Collection Regulatory 

Reform, the type of violation as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the applicable grace period if 

the violation is minor, and the civil administrative base penalty amounts for each violation are as 

set forth in the following table.  

 

Citation 
(N.J.A.C.) 

Summary Base 
Penalty 

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  Period 
(days)  

7:26H-5.4(a) Failure of the solid waste collector to 
charge or receive only those rates or 
charges for solid waste collection 
service which would result from 
effective competition.  No solid waste 
collector shall charge or receive rates 
or charges for solid waste collection 
service which are greater than or less 
than rates or charges what would 
result from effective competition. 

$2,500 NM  

7:26H-5.6(a) Failure of solid waste utility to pay 
annual utility fee. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-5.9(c)1 Failure of solid waste utility to submit 
annual Customer List. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-5.9(c)7 Failure of solid waste utility to maintain 
customer lists in proper format and 
available for inspection. 

$2,500 M 30 

7:26H-
5.12[(a)](b) 

Failure of the collector to notify 
customers at least once each year that 
solid waste collection services in this 
State are available on a competitive 
basis and include with that notice a 
complete copy of a customer bill of 
rights. 

$2,000 M 30 

7:26H-
[5.12(b)5] 
5.12(c)5 

Failure of the solid waste collector to 
handle customer complaints in a 
prompt, courteous, and efficient 
manner. 

$1,000 M 30 
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Citation 
(N.J.A.C.) 

Summary Base 
Penalty 

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  Period 
(days)  

7:26H-
[5.12(b)6] 
5.12(c)6 

Failure of the solid waste collector to 
remove and transport solid waste in an 
environmentally sound manner that 
safeguards the public health and 
preserves the quality of the 
environment. 

$1,000 M  

7:26H-
[5.12(b)7] 
5.12(c)7 

Failure of the solid waste collector to 
notify its customers in writing at least 
10 days prior to any increase or 
decrease in rates. 

[$1,500] 
$1,000 

M 30 

7:26H-
[5.12(b)9] 
5.12(c)9 

Failure of the solid waste collector to 
remove its container or other 
equipment from the customers 
premises within three days of the 
effective date of discontinuance 
regardless of the status of the account. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-
[5.12(b)15] 
5.12(c)15 

Failure of the solid waste collector to 
transmit copies of any notice of 
discontinuance of service to the 
Department at the same time it is 
transmitted to the customer. 

$500.00 M 30 

7:26H-
[5.12(b)16] 
5.12(c)16 

Failure of solid waste utility to ensure 
solid waste services contracts or 
agreements do not include any clause 
which calls for automatic renewal of 
the contract or agreement. 

$1,000 M 30 

7:26H-
[5.12(b)17] 
5.12(c)17 

Failure of collection utility to display 
their name, as it appears on their 
Certificate of Public Convenience and 
Necessity, and any “trading as” name 
on all vehicles and containers. 

$1,000 M 30 

[7:26H-5.12(c)] 
 

[Failure of collector to include in the 
customer bill of rights all the 
information set forth at N.J.A.C. 
7:26h-5.12(c)1 through 17.] 

[$1,000]   
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Citation 
(N.J.A.C.) 

Summary Base 
Penalty 

Type of 
Violation 

Grace  Period 
(days)  

7:26H-5.12(d) Failure of the collector to submit a 
certification to the Department 
certifying that each customer was 
provided with a customer bill of 
rights. 

$500 M 30 

 

5.  The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26H-6, Uniform Bid Specifications for Municipal 

Solid Waste Collection Contracts, the type of violation as minor (M) or non-minor (NM), the 

applicable grace period if the violation is minor, and the civil administrative base penalty 

[amounts] for each violation are as set forth in the following table. 

Citation 
(N.J.A.C.) 

Summary Base 
Penalty 

Type of 
Violation 

Grace Period 

7:26H-6.15(b) Failure of the contractor to promptly 
and properly attend to all complaints 
of residents and all notices, directives 
and orders of the contract 
administrator within 24 hours of the 
receipt of same; to keep a record of 
complaints and the date and time of 
the responses to such complaints, as 
well any action taken; to provide a 
written summary of all complaints and 
responses to the contract 
administrator each month. 

$1,000 M 30 

 

 

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.20      Penalty for submitting inaccurate or false information 

(a) – (d) (No change.) 
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(e) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace 

period. 

 

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.21      Penalty for failure to allow lawful entry and inspection 

(a) – (d)  (No change.) 

 

(e) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace 

period. 

 

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.22      Vehicles used to transport food not to be used to transport solid waste; 

exceptions and penalties 

(a) – (h) (No change.) 

 

(i) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace 

period. 

 

 

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24  Grace period applicability; procedures 

 
(a) Each violation identified in the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18(f) by an 

“M” in the Type of Violation column, for which conditions at (c) below are satisfied, is a minor 

violation, and is subject to a grace period, the length of which (in days) is indicated in the 
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“Grace Period” column.  

 

(b) Each violation identified in the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18(f) by an 

“NM” in the Type of Violation column is a non-minor violation and will not be subject to a 

grace period. 

 

(c) The Department or local government agency shall provide a grace period for any 

violation identified as minor under this section, provided  the following conditions are met: 

 

1. The violation is not the result of the purposeful, knowing, reckless or criminally 

negligent conduct of the person responsible for the violation; 

 

2. The activity or condition constituting the violation has existed for less than 

12 months prior to the date of discovery by the Department or local government agency; 

 

3. In the case of a violation that involves a permit, the person responsible for 

the violation has not been identified in a previous enforcement action by the Department or local 

government agency as responsible for a violation of the same requirement of the same permit 

within the preceding 12 month period; 

 

4.  In the case of a violation that does not involve a permit, the person 

responsible for the violation has not been identified in a previous enforcement action by the 
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department or a local government agency as responsible for the same or a substantially similar 

violation at the same facility within the preceding 12-month period; 

 

5. In the case of any violation, the person responsible for the violation has not 

been identified by the Department or a local government agency as responsible for the same or 

substantially similar violations at any time that reasonably indicate a pattern of illegal conduct 

and not isolated incidents on the part of the person responsible. 

 

(d) For a violation determined to be minor under (c) above, the following provisions 

apply: 

1. The Department or local government agency shall issue a notice of violation 

to the person responsible for the minor violation that: 

 

i. Identifies the condition or activity that constitutes the violation and 

the specific statutory and regulatory provision or other requirement violated; and 

 

ii. Specifies that a penalty may be imposed unless the minor violation is 

corrected and compliance is achieved within the specified grace period. 

 

2. If the person responsible for the minor violation corrects that violation and 

demonstrates, in accordance with (d)3 below, that compliance has been achieved within the 

specified grace period, the Department or local government agency shall not impose a penalty for 
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the violation, and in addition, shall not consider the minor violation for purposes of calculating the 

“severity penalty component” under N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18(e). 

 

3. The person responsible for a violation shall submit to the Department or 

local government agency, before the end of the specified grace period, written information, signed 

by the person responsible for the minor violation, detailing the corrective action taken or 

compliance achieved. 

 

4. If the person responsible for the minor violation seeks additional time 

beyond the specified grace period to achieve compliance, the person shall request an extension of 

the specified grace period.  The request shall be made in writing no later than one week before 

the end of the specified grace period and include the anticipated time needed to achieve 

compliance, the specific cause or causes of the delay, and any measures taken or to be taken to 

minimize the time needed to achieve compliance.  The Department may, at its discretion, approve 

in writing an extension, which shall not exceed 90 days, to accommodate for the anticipated delay 

in achieving compliance.  In exercising its discretion to grant a request for an extension, the 

Department may consider the following:   

i. Whether the violator has taken reasonable measures to achieve 

compliance in a timely manner;  

ii. Whether the delay has been caused by circumstances beyond the 

control of the violator;   

iii.  Whether the delay will pose a risk to the public health, safety and 
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natural resources; and  

iv. Whether the delay will materially or substantially undermine or 

impair the goals of the regulatory program.   

 

5. If the person responsible for the minor violation fails to demonstrate to 

the Department or local government agency that the violation has been corrected and 

compliance achieved within the specified grace period or within the approved extension, if any, 

the Department or local government agency may, in accordance with the provisions of this 

chapter, impose a penalty that is retroactive to the date the enforcement document under (d)1 

was first issued. 

 

6. The person responsible for a minor violation shall not request more than 

one extension of a grace period specified in a notice of violation. 

 

 

Based on consultation with staff, I hereby certify that the above statements, including the Federal 

Standards Statement addressing the requirements of Executive Order No. 27 (1994) and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., permit the public to understand accurately and plainly the 

purposes and expected consequences of this proposal.  I hereby authorize this proposal. 

__________________  ____________________________________ 
Date     Bradley M. Campbell, Commissioner 

Department of Environmental Protection 


