
 

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 
LICENSED SITE REMEDIATION PROFESSIONAL 

LICENSURE APPLICATION 
 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQs)  
 
Persons interested in applying to become a Licensed Site Remediation Professional 
(LSRP) may obtain the State of New Jersey Licensed Site Remediation Professional 
Licensure Application Form and the State of New Jersey Licensed Site Remediation 
Professional Licensure Application Form Instructions from the Site Remediation 
Professional Licensing Board website at www.nj.gov/lsrpboard. 
 
The Application Form Instructions should be read in their entirety prior to completing the 
Application Form.  Most questions will be answered by the Application Form 
Instructions.  Additional questions that applicants may have are addressed below.   
 
If you have specific questions that are not addressed in the Application Form 
Instructions or this document, please direct them to the Site Remediation Professional 
Licensing Board Secretary Karen Hershey at 609-984-3424 or 
Karen.Hershey@dep.state.nj.us. 
 
 
FAQ: What are the steps to becoming an LSRP? 
 
To become an LSRP, an individual must submit an application that demonstrates that 
he or she meets all of the eligibility requirements.  An individual whose application is 
approved by the Board must then take and obtain a passing score on the LSRP 
examination.  The Board is currently administering the LSRP examination once per 
year.  The next LSRP examination will be held on March 19, 2014.   
 
FAQ:  What are the fees for the application and examination? 
 
The application fee is currently $400.  No application will be reviewed unless 
accompanied by the application fee.  The application fee also covers the LSRP 
examination.  To be issued a license an individual that obtains a passing score on the 
examination must first pay the annual license fee of $900. 
 
FAQ: What are the eligibility requirements? 
 
Each applicant for a license shall demonstrate to the Board that he or she: 
 

 1.  Holds a bachelor’s degree or higher in natural, chemical or physical science 

or an engineering degree in a discipline related to site remediation, from an 

accredited institution of higher education;  
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2.  Has at least eight years of full-time professional experience in the field of site 
remediation, of which at least five years shall have occurred in New Jersey and at 
least three years shall have occurred in New Jersey immediately prior to submission 
of the application; 

 
3.  Has a minimum of 5,000 hours of relevant professional experience within New 

Jersey over the five years immediately prior to submission of the application that is 
of a professional grade and character that indicates the applicant is competent to 
issue a response action outcome;  

 
4.  Has completed the minimum environmental health and safety education and 

training, provided pursuant to 29 C.F.R. Section 1910.120, no more than one year 
prior to submission of the application;  

 
5.  Has completed a Department-approved course on the State's rules and 

regulations concerning the technical requirements for site remediation no more than 
three years prior to submission of the application;   

 
6.  Has not been convicted of, or plead guilty to, an environmental crime, any 

similar or related criminal offense under federal or state law, or any crime involving 
fraud, theft by deception, forgery or any similar or related offense under federal or 
state law; and 

 
7.  Has not had a professional license revoked by any state licensing board or 

any other professional licensing agency within the previous 10 years. 
 
FAQ: What is “full-time professional experience”? 
 

“Full-time professional experience” means experience in which an applicant is required 
to apply scientific or engineering principles to contaminated site remediation where the 
resulting conclusions form the basis for reports, studies or other documents connected 
with the remediation of a contaminated site. The Board may consider the applicant's 
work activities, field of practice, duration of employment, and work products prepared in 
determining the credit to be allowed for professional experience. The Board may allow 
applicants with relevant advanced degrees up to two years of credit for professional 
experience, of which one year of credit may be awarded for applicants who have earned 
a master's degree in a relevant field of study and up to two years of credit may be 
awarded for applicants who have earned a doctorate degree in a relevant field of study.  
 
FAQ: What is “relevant professional experience”? 
 
“Relevant professional experience” means experience working under the direction of an 
LSRP within an organization whose primary activity is the remediation of contaminated 
sites.  To prove relevant professional experience, the applicant must demonstrate: 

  
  



 

 (a)  He or she has knowledge of and experience with implementing the technical, 
scientific and regulatory aspects of site remediation, including experience 
investigating, designing, implementing and/or managing within each phase of the 
site remediation process:   

 
 1.  Preliminary Assessment 
 
 2.  Site Investigation 
 
 3.  Remedial Investigation 
 
 4.  Remedial Action; 
 

 (b)  He or she has produced, or participated in producing, workplans and/or reports 
for each phase of the site remediation process; and 

 
 (c)  He or she has knowledge of and experience with meeting the Department’s 
administrative requirements, including but not limited to, requirements pertaining to 
submittal of forms, regulatory and mandatory timeframes, applicable fees, 
presumptive remedies, remedial action permits and public notification.   

 
FAQ: How many hours per week must I work to be considered “full-time”? 
 
In order to claim full-time professional experience, the applicant must have worked at 
the firm an average of at least 40 hours/week, with an average of at least 20 
hours/week devoted to the application of scientific or engineering principles to 
contaminated site remediation where the resulting conclusions form the basis for 
reports, studies or other documents connected with the remediation of a contaminated 
site. 
 
FAQ: Do I have to provide time sheets with my application to document my 
hours? 
 
You do not need to provide timesheets, but may estimate yourhours using a reasonable 
methodology.   
 
FAQ:  What are the Department-approved courses on the State's rules and 
regulations concerning the technical requirements for site remediation? 
 

1. Case Study Training Course for LSRPs 

 May 1, 2013 

 October 22, 2013 

 January 22, 2014 
 

2. Site Remediation Basics 

 February 8, 2011- Bordentown, NJ 



 

 
3. Understanding the Site Remediation Program in New Jersey 

 DEP EBC Workshop - June 7, 2011 and June 21, 2011 – Edison, NJ – Two 
Day Course.  Attendance at one or both days is acceptable. 

 
4. Practical Applications of the NJ Site Remediation Program 

 August 10, 2011- New Brunswick, NJ 

 November 30, 2011- New Brunswick, NJ 

 February 7, 2012 – New Brunswick, NJ 
 

5. Training on the Final Rules Package (ARRCS, Tech Regs, UST and ISRA) 

 June 19, 2012 - Rutgers, New Brunswick 

 June 21, 2012 - Rutgers, New Brunswick 

 June 27, 2012- Rutgers’ Eco Complex, Bordentown 

 August 9, 2012 - Cook College, Campus Center - New Brunswick  

 October 18, 2012, Rutgers - New Brunswick 
 
 
FAQ:  How can I find out the status of my application? 

 
The Board will notify an applicant of its decision to approve or deny an application no 
later than 60 days after the Board receives a complete application or additional 
information, if required.    
 
The Board will not commence its review of an application until the application is 
complete.  If you would like to check whether the Board has commenced its review of 
your application, please contact Wayne Howitz at 609-984-1351 or Wayne Howitz 
@dep.state.nj.us. 
 
FAQ:  What is the process to register for the examination? 
 
When the Board approves an application, the Board will notify the applicant that he or 
she is a candidate for the LSRP examination.  The notification will include information 
concerning registration for the next scheduled LSRP examination, currently scheduled 
for March 19, 2014. 
 
The notification will also include an LSRP Examination Candidate Agreement, which will 
include the rules concerning the examination.  No person will be permitted to take the 
examination unless he or she signs a statement certifying that he or she has read the 
LSRP Examination Candidate Agreement and agrees to abide by its terms.   
 
FAQ:  How can I prepare for the examination? 
 
Information about the format and content of the examination can be found in the 
Candidate Bulletin at www.state.nj.us/dep/srp/srra/lsrp/LSRP_Candidate_Bulletin.pdf. 
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FAQ:  What are my options if I do not pass the examination? 
 
If you do not pass the examination you must submit a new application.  The Board will 
post the dates that applications will be accepted on the Board website at 
www.nj.gov/lsrpboard. 
 
FAQ: I have a disability covered under the Americans with Disabilities Act, will I 
be accommodated? 
 
If you indicate that you have a disability on the Licensure Application Form 
accommodations will be made for you at the examination. 


