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December 31, 2015 
 
 

To: Domestic Fire & Casualty Insurers 
 
 
Re: Annual Statement Filings 
 
 
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:23-1, every insurer transacting business in 
this State shall file with this Department on or before March 1 
annually, a statement showing its financial condition as of and for the 
preceding year ending December 31.  The annual statement must be in the 
NAIC-approved format and properly bound.  All appropriate supplemental 
exhibits and schedules must be submitted by the NAIC due dates. Each 
company is responsible for reading Bulletin No. 00-08 and the chart of 
New Jersey prescribed differences from SSAP and making sure that its 
annual statement reflects the deviations required by the differences of 
New Jersey Statutes and Rules from the NAIC Accounting Practices and 
Procedures Manual.  The late filing penalty imposed by N.J.S.A. 17:23-2 
shall be strictly enforced.  Carefully read the annual statement 
checklist.  Some instructions included on the checklist are not 
duplicated in this letter. 
 
The statement shall be subscribed and sworn to by the president and 
secretary or, in their absence, two of the principal officers.  The 
absence of the signature of the president or the secretary shall be 
fully explained.  Manual signatures shall be required to execute the 
jurat (page 1) of the statement.  Facsimile or planograph signatures 
will not be accepted. 
 
Three complete copies of the annual statement and all supplemental 
exhibits and schedules shall be filed with this Department.  
 
STATE BUSINESS  
 
The workers' compensation portion of the homeowners multiple peril 
premium must be reported on the state business page, line 16 (workers' 
compensation), not on line 4 (homeowners multiple peril).  This 
requirement pertains to any annual statement exhibit, schedule or 
supplement that distinguishes lines of business. 
 
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:3-28.9(a), for the purposes of completing the 
New Jersey State Business Page, the insurer shall include losses in 
excess of $75,000 in the total amount of losses for private passenger 
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automobile and commercial automobile personal injury protection 
payments (lines 19.1 and 19.3).  Insurers shall also provide a footnote 
on the State Business Page that indicates the amount of losses 
reported, excluding losses from payments of private passenger 
automobile and commercial automobile personal injury protection 
payments in excess of $75,000. 
 
Pursuant to the provisions of the FAIR Act (P.L. 1990, Chapter 8), 
certain lines of business are subject to a tax and/or assessment. 
 
In order for the Department of Banking and Insurance to accurately 
calculate this assessment, consistency between the data filed with the 
NAIC and with New Jersey is absolutely necessary. It is imperative that 
a New Jersey State Business Page be filed with the NAIC; in addition, 
the New Jersey State Business Page filed with the NAIC and that filed 
with the State of New Jersey must be one and the same and must reflect 
all New Jersey reporting requirements. 
 
In order to properly define only those lines of business subject to 
such assessment, further descriptions of certain insurance coverages 
currently presented on the "Exhibit of Premiums and Losses," of the 
Annual Statement, are required of insurers. 
 
Your cooperation in this matter will help to ensure that your company 
is subject to the correct tax assessment base. 
 
 Line 34: Aggregate write-ins for other lines of business 
 
Line 34 Write-Ins are often required for certain specific purposes.  So 
that this information can be used correctly for the specific purpose 
intended, it is necessary for companies to include in the description 
the line of business from which the Line 33 Write-In was taken.  For 
example, a write-in line for Excess Workers' Compensation Insurance 
which, were it not broken out, would have been included in Other 
Liability, would be shown as follows: 
 

3301.  Excess Workers' Compensation Insurance (Line 17.1) 
 
Thus, any Line 33 Write-In shall provide both a detailed description of 
the line of business as well as the line of business from which it was 
taken. 
 

Other lines - Guaranty Fund Assessments 
 
For purposes of the New Jersey Property Liability Insurance Guaranty 
Association, the following lines shall be separately identified in the 
"Exhibit of Premiums and Losses" under the section pertaining to 
"Details of Write-ins Aggregated at Item 34 For Other Lines of 
Business."  If the lines listed below are not separately listed, they 
shall be subject to the assessment. 
 
The lines to list separately, starting at line 3401 on the State 
Business Page, are as follows: 
 

1. Mechanical Breakdown ("warranty" instruments only) 
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2. Political Risk 
3. Residual Value 
4. Collateral Protection - Consumer Lending, Personal 

Property, Auto Floorplan Inventory and Tractor and 
Equipment Floorplan 

5. Hospital Deductible 
6. Nuclear 
7. Miscellaneous Surety 
8. Private Passenger Death and Dismemberment 

 
This list of lines is not necessarily all-inclusive.  The criteria for 
including a line in the assessment base depends on whether the line is 
covered by the Property-Liability Insurance Guaranty Association per 
N.J.S.A. 17:30A-2b.  Since policies written for these lines may be 
unique coverages, the actual policy forms, if not already evaluated, 
shall be subject to review, initially by NJPLIGA, before actual 
determination of inclusion or exclusion from the assessment is 
finalized by the Department.  An insurer's requirement to file any new 
policy form will be determined by the Department at a date subsequent 
to receipt of the current Annual Statements. 
 
ACTUARIAL OPINION 
 
N.J.A.C. 11:1-21 et seq. requires all property and casualty insurers to 
submit a written opinion by a "qualified actuary" regarding the 
adequacy of loss and loss adjustment expense reserves for all lines of 
business. An independent opinion is preferred.  If both a company and 
an independent opinion have been rendered, please submit both opinions 
to the Department.  New Jersey domestic insurance companies must submit 
an opinion with an original signature. 
 
SCHEDULE F 
 
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:3-28.9(b), for the purposes of completing 
Schedule F of the annual statement, insurers shall consider the 
assumption and reimbursement by the New Jersey Unsatisfied Claim and 
Judgment Fund (NJUCJF) of private passenger automobile and commercial 
automobile personal injury protection payments in excess of $75,000 as 
a reinsurance transaction (the NAIC has assigned the NJUCJF the pool 
number of AA-9991160).  Insurers shall consider assessments paid to the 
NJUCJF pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:6-63, based on the insurer's premiums 
for private passenger automobile liability insurance (including PIP) 
and commercial automobile liability insurance (including PIP) as ceded 
premium, prorated for the appropriate line of business on which the 
assessment was based. 
 
INVESTMENT VALUATION SUBSYSTEM (IVS) 
 
N.J.A.C. 11:19-2 establishes the data submission requirements for all 
domestic insurers under the Financial Examinations Monitoring System.  
The IVS requirements have been updated by Bulletin No.:03-34 to CD-ROM 
or DVD-ROM.   
 
AMENDMENTS 
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Occasionally, a company determines that changes must be made which will 
result in amended Annual Statement data (including the State Business 
Page).  Based on the discussion above, it is imperative that any 
amended Annual Statement page or pages (including the New Jersey State 
Business Page) be filed with the NAIC and New Jersey on a timely basis 
to ensure that the database remains accurate and up-to-date. 
 
QUARTERLY STATEMENT FILINGS 
 
Every domestic insurer transacting business in this State shall file 
with this Department quarterly, on or before May 15, August 15, and 
November 15, three copies of a statement showing its financial 
condition as of and for the preceding quarter.  The quarterly statement 
must be in the NAIC-approved format.  Each company is responsible for 
implementing any changes required by the NAIC.   
 
PREMIUM TAX 
 
A premium tax is imposed by N.J.S.A. 54:18A-1 et seq. on all direct 
premiums written on New Jersey business.   
 
Premiums shall be reported annually on or before March 1 on forms 
supplied by the Division of Taxation.  With the singular exception of 
fire insurance premium taxes that are payable to the Firemen's Relief 
Association on local fire districts all taxes are to be submitted to 
the Director of the Division of Taxation and made payable to the State 
Treasurer of New Jersey. 
 
 
 
The Firemen's Relief Association has identified all fire districts with 
an association code number.  Therefore, effective January 1, 1998, 
insurers are no longer permitted to allocate fire insurance premium 
taxes to a 999 code for local fire districts not activated.  All taxes 
must be allocated to a valid local fire district code.  A current 
listing of the codes may be obtained from: 
 

New Jersey Firemen's Relief Association 
Attn: Barbara Coppola 
50 Evergreen Place 
East Orange, NJ 07108 

 
(973) 677-9295 

 
BIOGRAPHICAL AFFIDAVITS 
 
Within forty-five (45) days of the date of an officer's or director's 
appointment or election, the company shall provide to this Department 
the officer's or director's biographical affidavit duly executed on the 
form available on our web site (URL is 
http://www.state.nj.us/dobi/division_insurance/pdfs/fminsbio.pdf) which 
can be reproduced as needed.  Likewise, the company shall notify this 
Department within forty-five (45) days of the date of an officer's or 
director's death, resignation or termination. 
 

http://www.state.nj.us/dobi/division_insurance/pdfs/fminsbio.pdf
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All such notifications to this Department shall be mailed to the 
attention of Steve Kerner, Assistant Commissioner, Office of Solvency 
Regulations at the address indicated above. 
 
 
 
 
 
                              
 
Richard J. Badolato 
Acting Commissioner 
 
Enclosure 
4-FCD (Rev. '03) 
 


