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December 31, 2013 
 
To: Foreign Fire & Casualty Insurers 
 
Re: Annual Statement Filings 
 
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:23-1, every insurer transacting business in this State shall 
file with this Department on or before March 1 annually, a statement showing its 
financial condition as of and for the preceding year ending December 31.  .  
Effective with the filing of the 2004 annual statement, New Jersey will accept the 
filing of the annual statement electronically with the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners.  No hard copy statement needs to be filed in New Jersey.  
However, a foreign company with more than 90% of its direct written premiums in New 
Jersey should follow the instructions for a domestic carrier. 
 
New Jersey State Business Page  
 
The workers' compensation portion of the homeowners multiple peril premium must be 
reported on the New Jersey State Business Page, line 16 (workers' compensation), not 
on line 4 (homeowners multiple peril).  This requirement pertains to any annual 
statement exhibit, schedule or supplement that distinguishes lines of business. 
 
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:3-28.9(a), for the purposes of completing the New Jersey 
State Business Page, the insurer shall include losses in excess of $75,000 in the 
total amount of losses for private passenger automobile and commercial automobile 
personal injury protection payments (lines 19.1 and 19.3).  Insurers shall also 
provide a footnote on the State Business Page that indicates the amount of losses 
reported, excluding losses from payments of private passenger automobile and 
commercial automobile personal injury protection payments in excess of $75,000. 
 
Pursuant to the provisions of the FAIR Act (P.L. 1990, Chapter 8), certain lines of 
business are subject to a tax and/or assessment. 
 
In order to properly define only those lines of business subject to such assessment, 
further descriptions of certain insurance coverages currently presented on the 
"Exhibit of Premiums and Losses," New Jersey State Business Page of the Annual 
Statement, are required of insurers. 
 
Your cooperation in this matter will help to ensure that your company is subject to 
the correct tax assessment base. 
 
 Line 34: Aggregate write-ins for other lines of business 
 
Line 34 Write-Ins are often required for certain specific purposes.  So that this 
information can be used correctly for the specific purpose intended, it is necessary 
for companies to include in the description the line of business from which the Line 
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34 Write-In was taken.  For example, a write-in line for Excess Workers' 
Compensation Insurance which, were it not broken out, would have been included in 
Other Liability, would be shown as follows: 
 

3304.  Excess Workers' Compensation Insurance (Line 17.1) 
 
Thus, any Line 34 Write-In shall provide both a detailed description of the line of 
business as well as the line of business from which it was taken. 
 

Other lines - Guaranty Fund Assessments 
 
For purposes of the New Jersey Property Liability Insurance Guaranty Association, 
the following lines shall be separately identified in the "Exhibit of Premiums and 
Losses" under the section pertaining to "Details of Write-ins Aggregated at Item 33 
For Other Lines of Business."  If the lines listed below are not separately listed, 
they shall be subject to the assessment. 
 
The lines to list separately, starting at line 3304 on the State Business Page, are 
as follows: 
 

1. Mechanical Breakdown ("warranty" instruments only) 
2. Political Risk 
3. Residual Value 
4. Collateral Protection - Consumer Lending, Personal Property, Auto 

Floorplan Inventory and Tractor and Equipment Floorplan 
5. Hospital Deductible 
6. Nuclear 
7. Miscellaneous Surety 
8. Private Passenger Death and Dismemberment 

 
This list of lines is not necessarily all-inclusive.  The criteria for including a 
line in the assessment base depends on whether the line is covered by the Property-
Liability Insurance Guaranty Association per N.J.S.A. 17:30A-2b.  Since policies 
written for these lines may be unique coverages, the actual policy forms, if not 
already evaluated, shall be subject to review, initially by NJPLIGA, before actual 
determination of inclusion or exclusion from the assessment is finalized by the 
Department.  An insurer's requirement to file any new policy form will be determined 
by the Department at a date subsequent to receipt of the current Annual Statements. 
 
SCHEDULE F 
 
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:3-28.9(b), for the purposes of completing Schedule F of the 
annual statement, insurers shall consider the assumption and reimbursement by the 
New Jersey Unsatisfied Claim and Judgment Fund (NJUCJF) of private passenger 
automobile and commercial automobile personal injury protection payments in excess 
of $75,000 as a reinsurance transaction (the NAIC has assigned the NJUCJF the pool 
number of AA-9991160).  Insurers shall consider assessments paid to the NJUCJF 
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:6-63, based on the insurer's premiums for private passenger 
automobile liability insurance (including PIP) and commercial automobile liability 
insurance (including PIP) as ceded premium, prorated for the appropriate line of 
business on which the assessment was based. 
 
Until December 31, 1994, New Jersey required that all licensed companies recalculate 
their unauthorized reinsurance liability on a New Jersey basis.  Effective January 
1, 1995 only those companies that are not domiciled in a state accredited with the 
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NIC or a state having accredited reinsurer statutes substantially similar to those 
of New Jersey are required to recalculate their unauthorized reinsurance liability 
on a New Jersey basis. 
 
Premium Taxes 
 
A premium tax is imposed by N.J.S.A. 54:18A-1 et seq. on all direct premiums written 
on New Jersey business.   
 
Premiums shall be reported annually on or before March 1 on forms supplied by the 
Division of Taxation.  With the singular exception of fire insurance premium taxes 
that are payable to the Firemen's Relief Association on local fire districts all 
taxes are to be submitted to the Director of the Division of Taxation and made 
payable to the State Treasurer of New Jersey. 
 
The Firemen's Relief Association has identified all fire districts with an 
association code number.  Therefore, effective January 1, 1998, insurers are no 
longer permitted to allocate fire insurance premium taxes to a 999 code for local 
fire districts not activated.  All taxes must be allocated to a valid local fire 
district code.  A current listing of the codes may be obtained from: 
 

New Jersey Firemen's Relief Association 
Attn: Barbara Coppola 
50 Evergreen Place 
East Orange, NJ 07108 

 
(973) 677-9295 

 
 Examination Report 
 
Unless previously filed, a copy of the report of any examination of the insurer 
during the year covered by the statement should be filed.   
 
 Pre-acquisition Notification 
 
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:27A-4.1 et seq. when an insurance company is acquired by 
another corporation, a pre-acquisition notification must be sent to the Commissioner 
enough in advance to comply with the thirty day waiting period.  The notice should 
contain the information required by the NAIC model holding company law for a Form E 
filing. 
 
 
 
                              
 
Kenneth Kobylowski 
Commissioner 
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