Career & Technical Education: Learning That Works for New Jersey
Marie Barry, Director
Office of Career and Technical Education
P.O. Box 500 Trenton, NJ 08625
Phone: (609) 633-0665 | Fax: (609) 984-5347

building graphicCollege Search Tools and Materials to Assist Educators, Counselors, and Students

College Search Tools and Materials to Assist Educators, Counselors, and Students
Districts may find the following web sites useful in obtaining information and services.  The New Jersey Department of Education does not recommend or endorse any materials.  Web site addresses frequently change and searching titles may result in different addresses.

Name Website Address Type of Resource
ABE to College Transition www.collegetransition.org An online resource for Adult Basic Education providers who wish to implement an effective college transition program in their community.  The project is aimed at GED graduates, Adult Diploma graduates, and adults who have been out of school for some time.
ACT http://www.act.org Information on a widely accepted college entrance exam. ACT provides educational and career planning for students and teachers at every level.
A Girl's World  -
College Planning
http://www.agirlsworld.com/amy/pajama/wmhistory/ College search and careers open to and of interest to women.
American School Search http://www.american-school-search.com/colleges/new-jersey American School Search is a comprehensive online resource designed specifically for prospective college students and their parents
AnyCollege.com www.anycollege.com A college search engine for undergraduate school programs.
Association of American Medical Colleges http://www.aamc.org Information on the MCAT and medical school admissions, careers in medicine, and medical schools.
Campus Program http://www.campusprogram.com/ University and employment resources that guide students from high school to a dream job.
Careers and Colleges.com www.careersandcolleges.com Tools to assist students in their college planning effort.
Career Cruising www.careercruising.com A comprehensive and interactive career guidance guide available on CD-ROM and the internet.  Career Cruising includes career profiles, multimedia interviews with real workers, career search tools, a web-based portfolio, and a comprehensive database of colleges and universities.
Career Key www.careerkey.org/english/ Free resources and assessments to help with career choice, college choice, and choosing academic or career training.  Contains a detailed interest inventory, results, and career information.
CollegesColleges.com http://www.collegescolleges.com/ A directory of Colleges and Universities in the USA, including online colleges.
College Board College Search www.collegeboard.com The College Board's college search engine.
College Board Major and Career Profiles
www.collegeboard.com/csearch/majors_careers/profiles/index.html This site is designed to help high school students gain college and career awareness. 
College Navigator http://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/ You can use the U.S. Department of Education's college search tool, College Navigator, to find colleges and career schools that may fit your needs.  You can search for schools by location, degrees offered, programs/majors, tuition and fees, setting, size, and much more.
College Net http://www.collegenet.com/about/index_html Admissions information on colleges, universities, and graduate schools. Over 1500 customized internet admissions applications.
College Planning Guide www.collegeplanningguide.com A comprehensive guide to how to get into higher education and choose a college.
College View www.collegeview.com/ A portal to start searching for a college that will prepare you for the future.
Fast Web http://fastweb.monster.com/ Free scholarship search.
Federal Financial Aid Form www.fafsaonline.com College financial aid resource and forms.
Financial Aid Information Page www.finaid.org An independent resource for comprehensive college financial aid.
Go College http://www.gocollege.com College and scholarship search.  Free SAT / ACT practice tests and links.
Just Colleges http://www.justcolleges.com/ A complete college portal.  Just Colleges includes a comprehensive directory, financial aid, e-learning, essays, and test preparation information.
Kaplan http://www.kaptest.com Test preparation and college admissions help.
Law School Admissions Council http://www.lsac.org A complete guide to Law School Admissions.
Making College Count http://www.makingcollegecount.com Information on campus visits, choosing colleges, and scholarships.
Mapping Your Future www.mappingyourfuture.org A one stop site for students and parents with information on financial strategies, career options, and career planning.
Peterson's www.petersons.com College search, test preparation, and financial aid resource.
Post High School Planning www.posthighschoolplanning.com A student resource for Post High School planning for whatever the student may be considering for the Post High School years, including resources for everything a student may need to explore self, research educational opportunities, discover scholarships/financial aid, and develop a complete post-high school plan and portfolio.
Princeton Review www.princetonreview.com/ College search and college information.
Sallie Mae College Answer – The Planning for College Destination http://www.collegeanswer.com/index.jsp A comprehensive planning for college website.
Stafford Loan www.staffordloan.com Student loans for higher education.
Student Awards Center www.studentawards.com/ A free scholarship search service (includes bursaries, grants, and financial assistance).
Student Scholarship Search http://www.StudentScholarshipSearch.com A free scholarship search service.
Super College http://www.supercollege.com For students, by students, on secrets, tips, and strategies to help get into and pay for college.