SCHOOL ETHICS COMMISSION MEETING PUBLIC SESSION MINUTES

JANUARY 3, 2018

Kathryn Whalen, Director, Offices of School Ethics and Compliance, called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.

Notice of the meeting was provided to the State House Press Corps and the Secretary of State and filed as required by the Open Public Meetings Act. In attendance were School Ethics Commission (Commission) members Michael Carucci, Michael Collins, Mark Finkelstein, Dan Kaplan, Dennis Roberts, and Richard Tomko. Chairperson Robert Bender was absent.

In addition, staff member Jeannine Pizzigoni, along with Deputy Attorney General Donna Arons, were in attendance.

Director Whalen advised that Chairperson Robert Bender was unable to attend the Special Meeting on January 3, 2018, and that the other members of the Commission needed to appoint an Acting Chairperson for today's meeting.

Appointment of Acting Chairperson for Special Meeting

Motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Michael Collins, to appoint Mark Finkelstein to serve as the Acting Chairperson for the Commission's Special Meeting on January 3, 2018. Vote: 6 - Yes 0 - No

Acting Chairperson Mark Finkelstein assumed control of the Commission's Special Meeting.

10:34 a.m. Motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Richard Tomko, to adjourn to Executive Session to discuss confidential matters and to obtain legal advice regarding the following complaints and matters involving possible litigation: A36-17. Vote: 6 - Yes 0 - No

10:40 a.m. Open Session

Advisory Opinions

A36-17 Motion was made by Dan Kaplan, and seconded by Dennis Roberts, to adopt this Advisory Opinion with edits. Vote: 6 - Yes = 0 - No

A36-17 A second motion was also made by Dan Kaplan, and seconded by Dennis Roberts, to make this Advisory Opinion public. Vote: 6 - Yes = 0 - No

Commissioner Collins thanked the Commission's staff for their collective efforts to finalize a draft decision during the holiday. The other members of the Commission echoed Commissioner Collins's sentiments.

10:41 a.m. Motion was made by Richard Tomko, and seconded by Michael Collins, to adjourn. Vote: 6 - Yes = 0 - No

Submitted and approved by:
Kathryn A. Whalen, Director