Governor Chris Christie Provides Update on Mandatory Evacuations in Shore Communities Ahead of Hurricane Irene

  • Friday, August 26, 2011
  • Tags: Other
Trenton, NJ – To ensure the safety of New Jersey residents in the areas expected to be most impacted by Hurricane Irene, Governor Chris Christie announced that mandatory evacuations have been ordered in the following areas:

· Absecon (east of Rt 9)
· Atlantic City
· Brigantine
· Corbin City
· Galloway Township (east Rt 9)
· Linwood (east of Rt 9)
· Longport
· Margate
· Northfield (east of Rt 9)
· Port Republic (east of Rt 9)
· Somers Point (east Rt 9)
· Ventnor
· West Atlantic City in Egg Harbor Township (east of Rt 9)

· All municipalities

· All of Long Beach Island
· Berkeley

· Keansburg
· Spring Lake
· Sea Bright
· Monmouth Beach
· Asbury Park (limited areas – coastal)
· Wall Township (limited areas – low lying/coastal)
· Town of Highlands
· Manasquan (limited areas – low lying/coastal; beginning Saturday, August 27th at 6:00am)
· Union Beach (beginning Saturday, August 27th at 11:00am)

At a press briefing this afternoon, Governor Christie again stressed the importance of residents’ preparedness and urged New Jerseyans in affected areas to heed evacuation orders ahead of the hurricane’s arrival.

Residents are urged to check for further information about safety precautions, evacuation routes and best practices by visiting or by calling 211.
Press Contact:
Michael Drewniak
Kevin Roberts

Stay Connectedwith Social Media

Stay Connectedwith Email Alerts

Share With Your Friends