topbrandingbar
corner.gif
Government Information Departments and Agencies NJ Business Portal MY New Jersey NJ people NJ Home Page
dhsshome.gif


Promoting Tobacco Control Laws

 
Tobacco Age of Sale Enforcement Program
New Jersey Tobacco Control Laws
Federal Tobacco Control Laws

Tobacco Age of Sale Enforement (TASE) Program

The Tobacco Age of Sale Enforcement Program enforces New Jersey’s tobacco control laws, which prohibit the sale of tobacco to persons under the age of 19.

The Tobacco Age of Sale Enforcement Program:

  • Enforces the law through random, unannounced compliance check inspections that are conducted by Department staff or Local Health Officers accompanied by underage youth.

  • Educates retail merchants on the law and makes available merchant education packets, store signs, and flyers in 11 languages. Materials are available through TASE or local health departments.

Since its creation, the TASE Program has dramatically increased merchant compliance with tobacco control laws.

Currently, more than 88 percent of merchants comply with the law and refuse to sell tobacco to underage youth.

In 1994, only 16 percent of merchants sampled complied with the age-of-sale law in effect at the time, while 84 percent of merchants sold tobacco to underage youths.

Two laws enacted in 1996 strengthened New Jersey’s tobacco age-of-sale enforcement effort and lead to the creation of the TASE Program. One law gave the Commissioner of Health clear authority to enforce tobacco control laws, and to delegate that responsibility to local health departments. The second law provided a funding mechanism for enforcement activities.

New Jersey Tobacco Control Laws

New Jersey Smoke-free Air Act
http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/2004/Bills/PL05/383_.PDF
Public Law 2005, Chapter 383

Minimum Age for Sale and Purchase of Tobacco Raised from 18 to 19
http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/2004/Bills/PL05/384_.PDF
Public Law 2005, Chapter 384

Civil Penalties for Illegal Sale of Tobacco Products to Minors
http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/2000/Bills/PL00/87_.PDF
Public Law 2000, Chapter 87

Penalties for Illegal Sale of Tobacco Products to Minors
http://nj.gov/health/as/laws.htm#320sum
Public Law 1995, Chapter 304

Law Authorizing Commissioner to Enforce Existing Law Prohibiting Sale of Tobacco to Minors
http://nj.gov/health/as/laws.htm#320sum
Public Law 1995, Chapter 320

Federal Tobacco Control Law

Summary: Federal Law Regarding Sale of Tobacco To Minors
http://nj.gov/health/as/laws.htm#synar
Synar Amendment, 1992
Section 1926 of the federal Public Health Service Act

 

 
State Privacy Notice legal statement DHSS Feedback Page New Jersey Home

 
department: njdhss home | index by topic | programs/services
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2004
Department of Health and Senior Services
P. O. Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360

Last Updated: