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ENTERING INTO A MARRIAGE OR CIVIL UNION IN NEW JERSEY

ESTABLECIENDO UN MATRIMONIO O UNIÓN CIVIL EN NEW JERSEY

If you are entering into a Marriage or Civil Union in New Jersey, you will find information in this brochure which will be helpful to you.  Read it carefully; if you have any questions, please contact your local Registrar of Vital Statistics.  A list of local Registrars is available at: www.nj.gov/health/vital/order-vital/local-vital-records/.
Si desea establecer un Matrimonio o Unión Civil en New Jersey, usted encontrará información en este folleto que le será útil.  Lea cuidadosamente; y si tiene alguna pregunta, por favor comunicarse con la oficina local de Registros Civiles.  Una lista de las oficinas locales de Registros Civiles está disponible en: www.nj.gov/health/vital/order-vital/local-vital-records/.

Where should you apply for a marriage or civil union license?

¿Dónde puedo solicitar una licencia de Matrimonio o Unión Civil?

The marriage or civil union license must be obtained from the registrar in the New Jersey municipality in which either applicant resides, if one or both is resident of New Jersey.  (For these purposes, soldiers are residents of the posts at which they are stationed.)  A license issued under the preceding circumstances is good for use anywhere in the State of New Jersey.

El solicitud para la licencia de matrimonio o unión civil debe ser obtenida en la municipipalidad de New Jersey en qual reside qualquiera de los solicitantes, si uno o ambos son residentes de New Jersey.  (Para estos fines el personal militar se considera residentes de la estación donde están reclutados.).  Una licencia emitada bajo estas circunstancias es valida en qualquier parte del Estado de New Jersey.

If both parties are not residents of New Jersey, the license must be obtained from the Registrar of the municipality where the ceremony is to be preformed and is only good for use in the municipality.

Si ninguno de los aplicantes es residente de New Jersey, debe presentar la solicitud en la municipalidad donde se realizará la ceremonia matrimonial.  Esta licencia será valida sólo en esta municipalidad.

A New Jersey marriage or civil union license may never be used outside of the State of New Jersey and a license issued in another state may never be used within the State of New Jersey.

Una Licencia de matrimonio o unión civil de New Jersey no puede ser utilizada fuera del mismo estado y una licencia emitida por otro estado no puede ser utilizado en el Estado de New Jersey.

Be sure to contact the Registrar well in advance of the ceremony to find out on what days and during what hours the Registrar will be in the office.  The marriage or civil union license fee is $28.00.

Asegúrese de contactar el oficial de registros civiles con anticipación antes de la ceremonia, para obtener información dobre los días y las horas en las que el oficial de registros civiles estará disponible.  La tarifa por la solicitud para la licencia de matrimonio o unión civil es $28.00.

Who can perform a marriage or civil union ceremony?

¿Quién puede efectuar matrimonios o uniones civiles en New Jersey?

Each judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, each judge of a Federal District Court, United States magistrate, judge of Municipal Court, judge of Superior Court, Judge of Tax Court, the former County Court, the former County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court, or the former County District Court who has resigned in good standing, surrogate of any county, county clerk and any Mayor or the Deputy Mayor when authorized by the Mayor, or Chairman of any township committee or village president of this State and every minister of every religion, are hereby authorized to solemnize marriages or civil unions between such persons may lawfully enter into the matrimonial relation or civil union; and every religious society, institution or organization in this State may join together in marriage or civil union such persons according to the rules and customs of the society, institution or organization.  (Title 37:1-13).

Jueces de las siguientes ramas judiciales: Corte de Apelaciones del Tercer Distrito de los Estados Unidos, de la Corte del Distrito Federal, Corte Superior, o, Corte de Rentas Internas, Jueces Retirados de la Corte Superior o de la Corte de Impuestos; Magistrados de los Estados Unidos, Jueces anteriores de la corte de Juveniles y Relaciones Domésticas del Condado, o Corte del Condado quienes han renunciado en buena posición, El Subrogar de cualquier condado, secretario municipal, alcalde o substituto autorizado del alcalde, o Presidente de comité del área/pueblo de New Jersey y ministros de toda religión, son autorizados a solemnizar matrimonios y uniones civiles entre tales personas elegibles legalmente para establecer un matrimonio o unión civil; y toda sociedad religiosa, institución y organización en el Estado puede unir en matrimonio o unión civil dichas personas de acuerdo de acuerdo a las normas y costumbres de la sociedad, institución y organización. (Artículo 37:1-3)

When should you apply for a marriage or civil union license?

¿Cuándo debo presentar la solicitud para la licencia matrimonial or unión civil?

A local Registrar will not issue a marriage or civil union license sooner than 72 hours after the application for a license has been made, unless ordered to do so via a Superior Court order.  If the ceremony is scheduled for a Saturday or Sunday, the application should be made no later than the preceding Tuesday.  If the application is made on a Wednesday or Thursday, the 72 hours will end on Saturday or Sunday, but the Registrar will probably not be available on those days or any public holiday.  If both parties are unavailable to complete the application at the same time, either applicant may complete his/her part of the application and start the waiting period.  The other applicant must return with the same witness (who must be at least 18 years old) to complete his/her part of the application.

Un oficial local de registros civiles no emitirá una licencia para matrimonio o unión civil antes de 72 horas después de haberse presentado la solicitud para dicha licencia, a menos que se ordene por una orden judicial de la Corte Superior.  Si la ceremonia está prevista para un sábado o domingo, la solicitud debe presentarse a más tardar el siguiente martes.  Si la solicitud es hecha el miércoles o jueves, las 72 horas terminarán el sábado o domingo, pero probablemente el oficial de registros civiles no estará disponible en esos días o cualquier día festivo.  Si ambas partes no están disponibles para completar la solicitud al mismo tiempo, cualquiera de los solicitantes puede iniciar el proceso de espera completando su parte (A ó B) en la solicitud.  El otro solicitante deberá volver a completar su parte en la solicitud con el mismo testigo (quien debe ser mayor de 18 años).

The application must be completed by both parties before the license will be issued.  The application is valid for six months from the date filed.

La solicitud debe ser completada por ambos solicitantes ante de que la licencia sea emitida.  La solicitud es valida por seis meses a partir de la fecha presentada.

Once the license is issued, it is good for 30 days from the date of issuance.  A couple wishing to have both religious and civil ceremonies may be issued a license for both ceremonies on the basis of a single application.  However, a couple wishing two religious ceremonies, and wanting to have a public record of each, may not have two licenses issued at the same time.  They must apply for and use the first license.  They must then return to the Registrar with the signed original certificate and a witness to apply for a remarriage or reaffirmation of civil union license.

Una vez se halla emitido, la licencia esta es valida por 30 días.  Una pareja que desee tener ambas ceremonias religiosa y civil, se le puede emitir una licencia para ambas ceremonias con una sola solicitud.  Sin embargo, una pareja que desee tener dos ceremonias religiosas, y que desee tenerlas en registro, no podrá tener dos licencias a la misma vez.  Deberán solicitar y utilizar la primera licencia y luego volver donde el oficial de registros civiles con el certificado original firmado y un testigo para solicitar una licencia para un re-matrimonio o reafirmación de unión civil.

What should you bring with you when you apply?

¿Qué debo presentar a solicitar la licencia para matrimonios o uniones civiles?

Required documents when applying for a marriage or civil union license:

1.
Proof of identify by presenting your driver’s license, passport or state/federal ID.

2.
Proof of your residency.

3.
Your social security card or social security number.*

4.
A witness, 18 years of age or older.

5.
The $28 application fee. 

Documentos requeridos para solicitar una licencia para Matrimonio: 

1.
Prueba de identidad: licencia de conducir, pasaporte o identificación federal/estatal.

2.
Prueba de domicilio.

3.
Tarjeta de seguro social o número de seguro social.*

4.
Testigo mayor de 18 años.

5.
Tarifa por solicitud $28.


*Social security number is required by law for U.S. citizens and will be kept confidential.


*El número de seguro social es un requisito legal para los ciudadanos americanos y es confidencial. 

Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation. 

Documentos internacionales en otro idioma deben ser acompañados por una traducción en inglés certificada. 

Requested additional documents (these documents are helpful but not required):

1.
A copy of your birth certificate to establish your parents’ names and related birth information.

2.
If you are divorced, have had a previous civil union dissolved, domestic partnership terminated or have had a civil union annulled, please bring the decree(s) or the civil annulment documents. 

3.
If your former spouse/civil union or domestic partner is deceased, please bring the death certificate. 

Documentos adicionales (estos son documentos útiles pero no requeridos):

1.
Copia de su partida de nacimiento para identificar los nombres de sus padres y datos de nacimiento. 

2.
Si esta divorciado, tuvo una anulación de matrimonio/unión civil, finalizo una sociedad doméstica, favor de proveer los decretos de divorcio o documentos de anulación civil.

3.
Si su pareja anterior falleció, favor de proveer el acta de defunción.

Each applicant must supply valid identification that establishes name, age, date of birth and proof of residency.  This may be supplied by one or more documents issued by a government agency, such as a certified copy of a birth certificate, driver’s license, military identification, passport or state/county identification card.

Cada uno de los solicitantes debe proveer identificación válida estableciendo nombre, edad, fecha del nacimiento y prueba de dirección.  Esto puede ser proveído por uno o más documentos emitidos por una agencia gubernamental, tales como copias certificadas de partidas de nacimientos, licencias de conducir, identificación militar, el pasaporte o tarjeta de identificación estatal/de condado.

Where should the marriage or civil union record be filed?

¿Dónde se archiva el registro de Matrimonio o Unión Civil?

The person performing the ceremony must file the license and certificate with the Registrar of the municipality in which the ceremony was preformed.  Since failure to record the certificate may cause considerable inconvenience at a later date when proof of certificate is needed, you should make sure that this has been done.

El individuo que efectúa la ceremonia debe archivar la licencia y el certificado con el oficial de registros civiles de la municipalidad donde se efectuó la ceremonia.  Puesto que la falta de registrar el certificado puede causar considerables inconvenientes más tarde cuando prueba del certificado sea necesaria, asegúrese de que esto se haga.

Certified copies of the marriage or civil union event may be obtained from the local Registrar in the municipality where the ceremony occurred or from the State Office of Vital Statistics and Registry.

Copias certificadas del evento matrimonial o de la unión civil pueden ser obtenidas de la oficina Local de Registros Civiles donde se efectuó el evento o de la Oficina Estatal de Registros Civiles.
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