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New Jersey Department of Health 
State WIC Program VENDOR SELECTION CRITERIA 

Store Name         

Address          

City         State         Zip Code         
Vendors must meet the vendor selection criteria listed below and comply with the                                                                                                  

vendor agreement, statutes, regulations, policies and procedures governing the program including any changes made                                                                                                           
during the vendor authorization period to remain program eligible. 

 
1. A vendor must maintain prices competitive with 

comparable WIC food vendors. 
2. A vendor must maintain a minimum stock inventory for 

all categories of WIC foods. 
3. A vendor must be open at least six days per week, eight 

hours per day. 
4. A vendor must have a history of good business integrity. 
5. A vendor must not be currently disqualified, sanctioned 

or under investigation by the Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP) or the State WIC Program. 

6. A vendor must be SNAP authorized prior to and during 
the WIC authorization period. 

7. A vendor must be a permanent, fixed, full-service retail 
grocery establishment located in New Jersey. 

8. A vendor must maintain a satisfactory sanitary code 
inspection report valid within the last two years. 

9. A current WIC vendor must have complied with all 
required corrective actions resulting from monitoring by 
the State WIC Program or Local Agency. 

10. A vendor must have provided proper justification or 
repayment of any overcharges of WIC checks. 

11. A vendor shall plainly mark prices, by a stamp, tag, label, 
or sign either affixed to the WIC authorized food items or 
located at the point where the WIC items are offered for 
sale. 

12. A vendor’s owners and officers must not have a criminal 
conviction, indictment, charge or civil judgment issued 
against them within the past six years. 
 
 

 

 
13. A vendor must submit the WIC vendor application 

packet by the deadline established by the State 
Agency. 

14. A vendor or vendor applicant that does not provide 
requested documentation to the State Agency within 
the designated timeframe shall result in denial of the 
vendor’s application. 

15. A vendor must not derive more than 50 percent of 
their total annual food sales from WIC food sales.  

16. A vendor’s retail space must be a minimum of 1000 
square feet. 

17. A Vendor authorized for more than 6 months must 
meet at least one of the following criterion:  

• More than 75 participants served on average 
during the last six-month period.  

• More than 20% of participants served within 
a 1 mile radius of the store location.  

• Has less than 4 other authorized WIC 
vendors within a 1 mile radius of the store 
location.  

18. A Vendor is prohibited from advertising the 
availability of prohibited incentive items.  

19. A Vendor must respond to all SA programmatic 
requests within the timeframe established by the 
State Agency.  

Note: Exceptions to the criteria may be granted if the State Agency determines there is inadequate participant access in               
accordance with the State Agency’s policies.   

Name (Print)         Title         

Signature Date         

  
USDA Nondiscrimination Statement: In accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and policies, 
the USDA, its Agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in or administering USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race, 
color, national origin, sex, disability, age, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA.  
Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, 
etc.), should contact the Agency (State or local) where they applied for benefits. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact 
USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339. Additionally, program information may be made available in languages other than English.  
To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, (AD-3027) found online at: 
http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html, and at any USDA office, or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information 
requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992. Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by:  
(1) mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights 1400 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, D.C. 20250-9410;  
(2) fax: (202) 690-7442; or  
(3) email: program.intake@usda.gov.  
 
This institution is an equal opportunity provider. 
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