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EXAMINATIONS BY PSI SERVICES LLC 

 
This Candidate Information Bulletin provides you with 

information pertaining to obtaining certification as an Assisted 

Living Administrator (CALA) or Medication Aide (CMA) in the 

State of New Jersey.   

The New Jersey Department of Health has contracted with PSI 

Services LLC (PSI) to conduct the examination testing.  PSI 

provides examinations through a network of computer 

examination sites in New Jersey. 

For Information on official regulations and guidelines; 

CALA/CMA certification, please contact:  

  

New Jersey Department of Health 

PO Box 358 

Trenton, NJ 08625-0358 

(866) 561-5914 ** Fax: (609) 633-9087 
http://web.doh.state.nj.us/apps2/healthfacilities/fsSearch.aspx 

Email: ltc@doh.state.nj.us 

 

ELIGIBILITY FOR CALA 

 

In order to be eligible for certification as an assisted living 

administrator, you must: 

 Be at least 21 years of age; and 

 Possess a High School diploma or equivalent; and 

 Have successfully completed an assisted living training 

program approved by the NJDHSS before registering for 

the examination. 

 

ELIGIBILITY FOR CMA 

 

In order to be eligible for certification as a medication aide, 

you must: 

 Be currently certified in New Jersey as a nurse aide, 

homemaker/home health aide, or personal care assistant  

AND 

 Have successfully completed a medication aide training 

program approved by the NJDOH before registering for 

the examination. 

 

To become eligible to test for ALA or CMA, you must provide 

a copy of a valid certificate of completion.  This certificate 

must contain the school name, school code, course completion 

date, and be signed by the Instructor along with the 

registration form found at the end of this Candidate 

Information Bulletin.  Please include the examination fee. 

 

Please mail or fax to: 

PSI Regional Processing Office 

IBIS Plaza South 

3525 Quakerbridge Road, Suite 1000 

Hamilton Township, NJ  08619 

877-774-4243  

FAX 609-588-5461 

 

Once you have met the eligibility requirements, PSI will send 

you an eligibility notice.  

 

If this is a first-time registration, you must mail or fax these 

documents to PSI and allow 2 weeks for processing your 

initial application. 

 

An applicant for an assisted living administrator certification 

shall take the standardized examination within (24) twenty 

four months of successful completion of a New Jersey 

Department of Health-approved assisted living administrator 

training course.  If you do NOT pass the examination within 

twenty four (24) months of completion of your training 

program, you will be required to retrain. 

 

An applicant for medication aide certification shall take the 

standardized examination within (6) six months of successful 

completion of a New Jersey Department of Health-approved 

medication administration training course. If you do NOT pass 

the examination within six (6) months of completion of your 

training program, you will be required to retrain. 

 

The NJDHSS does NOT reciprocate with any other states‟ 

medication aide program. 

 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND 

INVESTIGATION (CBI)   

 

The laws of the State of New Jersey require that all new nurse 

aide candidates, new personal care assistant candidates, and 

nurse aides (N. J. A. C. 8:431 et seq.) applying for 

recertification or reciprocity, and homemaker/home health 

aides (N. J. S. A. 45:11-24.3 et seq.) undergo a criminal 

background investigation (CBI) by the New Jersey State Police 

and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Since the medication 

aide certification is valid ONLY when you have a current 

certification as a nurse aide, personal care assistant or 

homemaker/home health aide, you are not required to submit 

fingerprints as part of the certification and recertification 

process for medication aide. However, you MUST comply with 

the requirements for your nurse aide, personal care assistant, 

or homemaker/home health aide/certifications. 

 

 

WRITTEN EXAMINATION SCHEDULING 

PROCEDURES 

 

All questions and requests for information about examinations 

should be directed to PSI. 

 

PSI Services LLC 

3210 E Tropicana 

Las Vegas, NV  89121 

 (800) 733-9267    Fax (702) 932-2666 

www.psiexams.com 

 

http://www.psiexams.com/
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The Examination Registration Form is found at the end of this 

Candidate Information Bulletin.  You must pay PSI at the time 

you register.  Be sure the registration form is complete, 

accurate, signed, and that you include the correct fee.  You 

must provide a copy of a valid certificate of completion with 

the registration form.  The registration form is valid for 1 

examination.   

 

For CALA 

 If you do NOT pass the examination within twenty 

four (24) months of completion of your training 

program, you will be required to retrain   

 If you fail the examination two (2) times, you must 

retake an assisted living training program approved by 

the NJDOH, schedule a new reservation for the exam, 

and submit a new fee. 

 

For CMA 

 If you do NOT pass the examination within six (6) 

months of completion of your training program, you 

will be required to retrain   

 If you fail the examination three (3) times, you must 

retake a medication aide training program approved 

by the NJDHSS, schedule a new reservation for the 

exam, and submit a new fee. 

 

Examination Fee --  $53 

 

NOTE:  FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE OR TRANSFERABLE 

 

SCHEDULING AN APPOINTMENT TO TAKE THE EXAMINATION 
 
Once you have received your eligibility notice, you are 

responsible for contacting PSI to schedule an appointment to 

take the examination.  PSI will make every effort to schedule 

the examination site and time that is most convenient for you. 

You may schedule for an examination via the Internet 24 hours 

a day at www.psiexams.com. Or, using a touch-tone phone, 

call PSI 24 hours a day at (800) 733-9267.  To schedule with a 

PSI registrar, call Monday through Friday, between 7:30 am 

and 10:00 pm and Saturday and Sunday, between 9:00 am and 

5:30 pm, Eastern Time.  If space is available in the 

examination site of your choice, you may schedule an 

examination 1 day prior to the examination date of your 

choice, up to 7:00 p.m. ET.  Please be prepared to offer 

alternate examination appointment choices. 

 

CANCELLING AN EXAMINATION 
 
You may cancel and reschedule an examination appointment 

without forfeiting your fee if your cancellation notice is 

received 2 days prior to the scheduled examination date.  

For example, for a Monday appointment, the cancellation 

notice would need to be received on the previous Saturday. 

You may call PSI at (800) 733-9267.  Please note that you may 

also use the automated system, using a touch-tone phone, 24 

hours a day in order to cancel and reschedule your 

appointment.  

  

Note:  A voice mail message is not an acceptable form of 

cancellation.  Please use the PSI Website, automated 

telephone system, or call PSI and speak to a Customer 

Service Representative.  

 

MISSED APPOINTMENT OR LATE CANCELLATION 
 
If you miss your appointment, you will not be able to take the 

examination as scheduled, further you will forfeit your 

examination fee, if you: 

 

 Do not cancel your appointment 2 days before the 

scheduled examination date; 

 Do not appear for your examination appointment; 

 Arrive after examination start time; 

 Do not present proper identification when you arrive for 

the examination. 

 

SCHEDULING A RE-TAKE EXAMINATION 
 
Due to processing procedures and reporting of your scores, it is 

not possible to schedule a retake examination on the same day 

in which you tested unsuccessfully.  For example: if a 

candidate tests unsuccessfully on Wednesday they may contact 

PSI on Thursday, and depending on seating availability, may 

retest as soon as Friday. 

 

To schedule a retake: 

 

 ON-LINE REGISTRATION (www.psiexams.com) 

Upon completing the on-line registration, send it to us via 

the Internet.  You will be given available dates for 

scheduling your re-examination.  Examination fee must be 

paid by a valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American 

Express or Discover). 

 

 MAIL (PSI licensure:certification, 3210 E Tropicana, Las 

Vegas, NV  89121) 

Send the completed registration form to the above 

address.  Allow 2 weeks for processing before scheduling 

the examination date.  Examination fee may be paid by a 

credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or 

Discover), money order, company check or cashier‟s 

check.  Make your money order or check payable to PSI 

and show your social security number on it.  CASH AND 

PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED.  

 

 FAX (609-588-5461) 

Fax completed registration form to PSI. Allow 4 business 

days for processing before contacting PSI to schedule the 

examination.  Examination fee must be paid by a valid 

credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or 

Discover). 

 

 PHONE (800-733-9267) 

Contact PSI by telephone.  You will be given available 

dates for scheduling your re-examination.  Examination fee 

must be paid by a valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard, 

American Express or Discover). 

http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.psiexams.com/
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SPECIAL EXAMINATION ARRANGEMENTS 
 
All examination sites are equipped to provide access in 

accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 

1990, and every reasonable accommodation will be made in 

meeting a candidate‟s needs.  Applicants with disabilities or 

those who would otherwise have difficulty taking the 

examination must fill out the form at the end of this 

Candidate Information Bulletin and fax to PSI (702) 932-2666. 

Note for the Medication Aid examination per NJSA 8:36-

9.2(a)3i an oral examination shall not substitute for the 

written component of this examination.  

 

EXAMINATION SITE CLOSING FOR AN EMERGENCY 
 
In the event that severe weather or another emergency forces 

the closure of an examination site on a scheduled examination 

date, your examination will be rescheduled.  PSI personnel will 

attempt to contact you in this situation.  However, you may 

check the status of your examination schedule by calling (800) 

733-9267.  Every effort will be made to reschedule your 

examination at a convenient time as soon as possible.  You 

may also check our website at www.psiexams.com.  You will 

not need to pay a new exam fee if the exam site is closed due 

to an emergency 

 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER CONFIDENTIALITY 
 

PSI will use your social security number only as an 

identification number in maintaining your records and 

reporting your examination scores to the state.   
 

EXAMINATION SITE LOCATIONS 

 

The following directions are generated from the most current 

mapping services available. However, new road construction 

and highway modifications may result in some discrepancies.  

If you are not familiar with the specific area of the testing 

site, please consult a reliable map prior to your test date. 

 

BRICK 

260 CHAMBERS BRIDGE ROAD, UNIT #1A 

BRICK, NJ  08723 
 

TAKE ON I-95 S TOWARD NEW JERSEY TURNPIKE SOUTH/NEWARK (US-

46).  TAKE EXIT #11/GARDEN STATE PARKWAY (US-9)/WOODBRIDGE 

ONTO GARDEN STATE PKY S TOWARD GARDEN STATE PARKWAY 

SOUTH/RT-440.  CONTINUE ON DRISCOLL BRG.  CONTINUE ON GARDEN 

STATE PKY S.  TAKE EXIT #91/LAKEWOOD/BRICK TWP. ONTO LANES 

MILL RD(CR-549) TOWARD LAKEWOOD/BRICK TWP. CONTINUE ON 

CHAMBERS BRIDGE RD(CR-549). 

 

CHERRY HILL 

950 N. KINGS HWY, SUITE 301 

CHERRY HILL, NJ  08034 

FROM THE NEW JERSEY TPKE S, TAKE EXIT #4/PHILADELPHIA/CAMDEN 

ONTO RT-73 N TOWARD CAMDEN/PHILADELPHIA.  TAKE RAMP ONTO I-

295 S TOWARD DEL MEM BR.  TAKE EXIT #34B/CHERRY HILL/CAMDEN 

ONTO MARLTON PIKE(RT-70 W).   TURN RIGHT ON KINGS HWY N (RT-

41).  NOTE BUILDING 950 IS BEHIND BUILDINGS #900 AND #1030. 

 

HAMILTON SQUARE AREA 

IBIS PLAZA SOUTH 

3525 QUAKERBRIDGE ROAD, SUITE 1000 

HAMILTON TOWNSHIP, NJ  08619 
 

FROM I-95 S, TAKE EXIT #9/NEW BRUNSWICK (US-1)/EAST BRUNSWICK 

ONTO RT-18 N TOWARD NEW BRUNSWICK (US-

1)/PRINCETON/TRENTON/TOWER CENTER BLVD.  TAKE RAMP ONTO 

US-1 TOWARD TRENTON.  TAKE RAMP ONTO CR-533 S TOWARD 

PROVINCE LINE RD/QUAKER BRIDGE RD/QUAKER BRIDGE RD. 

 

NEW PROVIDENCE  

MURRAY HILL OFFICE CENTER 

571 CENTRAL AVENUE, SUITE 105 

NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ 07094 
 

FROM: ROUTE 78 WESTBOUND. TAKE EXIT 43 ONTO DIAMOND HILL 

ROAD. AT THE SECOND STOPLIGHT, TURN RIGHT ONTO MOUNTAIN 

AVENUE. TURN LEFT AT THIRD LIGHT, SOUTH STREET. TURN LEFT AT 

THE NEXT TRAFFIC LIGHT ONTO CENTRAL AVENUE. THE MURRAY HILL 

OFFICE CENTER, 571 CENTRAL AVENUE, WILL BE ON YOUR RIGHT. 

 

FROM: ROUTE 78 EASTBOUND. TAKE EXIT 44 TO TRAFFIC LIGHT. TURN 

LEFT ONTO GLENSIDE AVENUE PROCEED TO THE NEXT LEFT TURN 

UNDER ROUTE 78 TOWARD NEW PROVIDENCE, AS THE ROAD BECOMES 

SOUTH STREET. CONTINUE TO THE SECOND LIGHT AND TURN LEFT 

ONTO CENTRAL AVE.. THE MURRAY HILL OFFICE CENTER, 571 CENTRAL 

AVENUE, WILL BE ON YOUR RIGHT. 

 

FROM: NEW JERSEY TURNPIKE. TAKE EXIT 14, STAY TO THE LEFT 

THROUGH THE TOLL. FOLLOW SIGNS FOR ROUTE 78 - EXPRESS 

WESTBOUND. FOLLOW SAME AS ABOVE FOR ROUTE 78 WESTBOUND.  

 

FROM: GARDEN STATE PARKWAY SOUTH. TAKE EXIT 142 AND FOLLOW 

THE SIGNS FOR ROUTE 78 WEST. FOLLOW SAME AS ABOVE FOR ROUTE 

78 WESTBOUND.  

FROM: GARDEN STATE PARKWAY NORTH. TAKE EXIT 142B AND FOLLOW 

THE SIGNS FOR ROUTE 78 WEST. FOLLOW SAME AS ABOVE FOR ROUTE 

78 WESTBOUND.  

 

NORTH BRUNSWICK 

THE SHOPPES AT NORTH BRUNSWICK 

980 SHOPPES BLVD, 2ND FLOOR 

NORTH BRUNSWICK, NJ  08902 

TAKE THE NEW JERSEY TURNPIKE LEFT EXIT ONTO I-95 S TOWARD 

TURNPIKE SOUTH.  TAKE EXIT #9/NEW BRUNSWICK (US-1)/EAST 

BRUNSWICK ONTO RT-18 N TOWARD NEW BRUNSWICK.  TAKE RAMP 

ONTO US-1 TOWARD TRENTON.  TAKE RAMP TOWARD RT-130/171 N.  

STAY RIGHT TOWARD 171.  TURN LEFT AT TRAFFIC LIGHT AND STAY IN 

THE MIDDLE LANE.  AFTER 2ND TRAFFIC LIGHT, TURN RIGHT INTO THE 

SHOPPING CENTER.  THE SITE IS LOCATED IN THE REMAX BLDG,  NEAR 

TALBOTS. 

http://www.psiexams.com/
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NORTHFIELD AREA (LINWOOD) 

CENTRAL PARK EAST 

222 NEW ROAD, SUITE 301 

LINWOOD, NJ  08221 
 

NORTHFIELD/MARGATE ONTO TILTON RD(CR-563). IN JUST UNDER 2 

MILES MAKE A RIGHT ONTO NEW RD (US-9). DRIVE 1.5 MILES SOUTH, 

TILL YOU WILL SEE THE SIGN ON THE LEFT FOR # 222 (CENTRAL PARK 

EAST) , JUST PAST CENTRAL AVE. (IF YOU REACH THE GULF STATION 

YOU HAVE TRAVELED A LITTLE BIT TO FAR). TURN LEFT INTO THE 

PROFESSIONAL PARK AT THE FLOWER BED WITH THE 222 SIGN IN IT. 

USE THE FIRST PARKING LOT ON YOUR RIGHT, AND LOOK FOR THE 

LARGE PSI SIGN NEXT TO OUR FRONT DOOR (SUITE 301). 

  

FROM THE SOUTH, TAKE THE GARDEN STATE PKY NORTH TO EXIT # 29 

SOMERS POINT. THIS WILL PUT YOU ON NEW RD (US-9). AFTER DRIVING 

NORTH FOR A LITTLE MORE THAN 4 MILES YOU WILL FIRST SEE A GULF 

STATION. NUMBER 222 NEW RD (CENTRAL PARK EAST) IS JUST PAST 

THE GULF STATION (0.1 MILES) AND ON THE SAME SIDE. TURN RIGHT 

INTO THE PROFESSIONAL PARK AT THE FLOWER BED WITH THE 222 

SIGN IN IT. USE THE FIRST PARKING LOT ON YOUR RIGHT, AND LOOK 

FOR THE LARGE PSI SIGN NEXT TO OUR FRONT DOOR (SUITE 301). 

  

FROM THE WEST, USE THE BLACK HORSE PIKE (US -40 W/ US-322 W) 

WHEN YOU REACH HARBOR SQUARE MALL (SHORE MALL) KEEP TO THE 

RIGHT. JUST PAST THE MALL YOU WILL SEE A SIGN FOR TILTON ROAD/ 

MARGATE CITY/OCEAN CITY DIRECTING YOU TO MAKE A SLIGHT RIGHT 

ONTO TILTON RD (CR-563). ONCE YOU ARE ON TILTON RD, DRIVE EAST 

APPROXIMATELY 2 MILES TILL YOU REACH NEW RD (US-9), TURN RIGHT 

AND THEN FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS GIVEN FOR COMING FROM THE 

NORTH. 

 

PARAMUS 

1 KALISA WAY, SUITE 107 

PARAMUS, NJ  07652 
 

FROM THE GEORGE WASHINGTON BRIDGE TAKE RT 4 WEST TO 

PARAMUS. EXIT ONTO  RT 17 NORTH. TURN RIGHT ONTO KALISA WAY  

(APPROXIMATELY 4/10 OF A MILE AFTER THE MIDLAND AVE EXIT ON 

17 AND JUST PAST THE ENTRANCE TO THE PARAMUS PARK MALL) 

  

FROM THE GARDEN STATE PARKWAY TAKE RT 17 NORTH AND TURN 

RIGHT ONTO KALISA WAY.  

 

PARSIPPANY 

239 NEW ROAD, SUITE A-203 

PARSIPPANY, NJ  07054 
 

FROM I-280 WEST:  TAKE EXIT #1/NEW RD TOWARDS US-46. MAKE A 

SLIGHT RIGHT ONTO NEW ROAD.  

CONTINUE TO 239 NEW ROAD ON THE RIGHT. PSI IS LOCATED IN 

BUILDING A (FIRST BUILDING ON RIGHT), SUITE 203. 

FROM I-280 EAST:  TAKE EXIT #1/NEW RD. AT STOPLIGHT (AT END OF 

RAMP) TURN LEFT ONTO NEW ROAD.   

CONTINUE TO 239 NEW ROAD ON THE RIGHT. PSI IS LOCATED IN 

BUILDING A (FIRST BUILDING ON RIGHT), SUITE 203. 

 

SECAUCUS  

110-B MEADOWLANDS PARKWAY, SUITE 204 

SECAUCUS, NJ  07094 
 

FROM I-95 N, TAKE THE RT-3 EXIT, EXIT 16W, TOWARD SECAUCUS/RT-

120/LINCOLN TUNNEL.  TURN RIGHT ONTO S SERVICE ROAD. MERGE 

ONTO RT-3 E.  TAKE THE MEADOWLAND PARKWAY EXIT.   

 

REPORTING TO THE EXAMINATION SITE 

 

On the day of the examination, you should arrive 30 minutes 

before your appointment.  This extra time is for sign-in, and 

identification.  If you arrive late, you may not be admitted to 

the examination site and you will forfeit your examination 

registration fee. 

 

REQUIRED IDENTIFICATION 

You must provide 2 forms of identification.  One must be a 

VALID form of government-issued identification (Driver's License, 

State ID, Passport) which bears your signature and has your 

photograph.  The second ID must have your signature and 

preprinted legal name.   

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR ALL CANDIDATES 
 

Due to many complaints from the buildings‟ tenants, PSI (and 

the properties which house the PSI test centers) cannot 

accommodate any individuals other than the person who is 

being tested.  

  

PSI understands that test candidates are often comforted by 

having guests accompany them to their exams.  It may also be 

necessary for a guest to drive the candidate to the test center. 

However, incidents from previous guests have prompted 

warnings from Property Management. For this reason, PSI has 

adopted the following policy concerning guests.  

 

“Person(s) accompanying a test candidate may not wait in 

the test center, inside the building or on the building's 

property. This applies to guests of any nature, including 

drivers, children, friends, family, colleagues or 

instructors.” 

 

There are facilities nearby such as shopping malls, stores or 

restaurants where guests may go while the candidate takes a 

test. Please take the time to visit those locations instead of 

waiting in or around the building.  

 

Also of note, many candidates have been arriving hours before 

their scheduled exam time. This is not necessary. Please plan 

to arrive no earlier than 30 minutes before the start-time of 

your exam. This will provide plenty of time for check-in.  

 

Thank you for your understanding and for your cooperation. 

 

SECURITY PROCEDURES 
 

The following security procedures will apply during the 

examination: 

 

 NO conversing or any other form of communication among 

candidates is permitted once you enter the examination 

area. 

 Please be advised that children, cell phones, calculators, 

pagers, cameras, programmable electronic devices and 

recording devices of any kind are NOT allowed to enter PSI 

testing sites. Additionally, NO personal items are to enter 
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the testing sites. PSI will not be responsible for any 

personal items, and suggests that you leave such items in 

another safe place, of your choosing.  

 No smoking, eating, or drinking will be allowed at the 

examination site. 

 Dictionaries, books, papers, or study and reference 

materials are NOT permitted in the examination room. 

 You may not exit the building during the examination. 

 Copying or communicating examination content is a 

violation of PSI security policy.  Either one may result in the 

disqualification of examination results and may lead to 

legal action. 

 

TAKING THE EXAMINATION BY 

COMPUTER 

 
Taking the PSI examination by computer is simple.  You do not 

need any computer experience or typing skills.  You will use 

fewer keys than you use on a touch-tone telephone.  All 

response keys are colored and have prominent characters.  An 

illustration of the special keyboard is shown here.  You may 

also use the mouse. 

 

IDENTIFICATION SCREEN 
 
You will be directed to a semiprivate testing station to take 

the examination.  When you are seated at the testing station, 

you will be prompted to confirm your name, identification 

number, and the examination for which you are registered. 

 

TUTORIAL 
 
Before you start your examination, an introductory tutorial to 

the computer and keyboard is provided on the computer 

screen.  The time you spend on this tutorial, up to 15 minutes, 

DOES NOT count as part of your examination time.  Sample 

questions are included following the tutorial so that you may 

practice using the keys, answering questions, and reviewing 

your answers. 

 

One question appears on the screen at a time.  During the 

examination, minutes remaining will be displayed at the top of 

the screen and updated as you record your answers. 

 

EXAMINATION QUESTION EXAMPLE 
 

During the examination, you should press 1, 2, 3, or 4 to select 

your answer or press “MARK” to mark it for later review.  You 

should then press “ENTER” to record your answer and move on 

to the next question.  A sample question display follows: 

 

IMPORTANT:  After you have entered your responses, you will 

later be able to return to any question(s) and change your 

response, provided the examination time has not run out.  

 

EXAMINATION REVIEW 

PSI, in cooperation with the NJDOH, will be consistently 

evaluating the examinations being administered to ensure that 

the examinations accurately measure competency in the 

required knowledge areas.  While taking the examination, 

examinees will have the opportunity to provide comments on 

any questions, by using the comments key on the keyboard. 

These comments will be analyzed by PSI examination 

development staff.  PSI does not respond to individuals 

regarding these comments, all substantive comments are 

reviewed.  This is the only review of examination materials 

available to candidates. 

 

 

WRITTEN SCORE REPORTING 

 

The following summary describes the score reporting process 

for the Written Examination: 

 

- On paper – an official score report will be printed at the 

examination site. 

- If you pass, you will immediately receive a successful 

notification. 

- If you do not pass, you will receive a diagnostic 

report indicating your strengths and weaknesses by 

examination type with the score report.   
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If you pass the Written Examination and have met all NJDOH 

requirements, you will receive a certificate and a „plastic 

coated‟ wallet identification card at the test site on the day of 

your examination. 

 

For Assisted Living Administrator, both the certificate and 

wallet identification card are valid for thirty six (36) months 

from the date you pass the Written Examination.  Please see 

the re-certification process section in this Candidate 

Information Bulletin. 

 

For Medication Aide, both the certificate and wallet 

identification card are valid for twenty-four (24) months from 

the date you pass the Written Examination.  Please see the re-

certification process section in this Candidate Information 

Bulletin. 

 

DUPLICATE SCORE REPORTS 
 
You may request a duplicate score report after your 

examination by emailing scorereport@psionline.com or by 

calling 800-733-9267. 

 

 

TIPS FOR PREPARING FOR YOUR 

CERTIFICATION EXAMINATION 

 
The following suggestions will help you prepare for your 

examination. 

 

 Only consider the actual information given in the 

question, do not read into the question by considering any 

possibilities or exceptions.   

 Planned preparation increases your likelihood of passing. 

 Start with a current copy of this Candidate Information 

Bulletin and use the examination content outline as the 

basis of your study. 

 Read study materials that cover all the topics in the 

content outline. 

 Take notes on what you study.  Putting information in 

writing helps you commit it to memory and it is also an 

excellent business practice.   

 Discuss new terms or concepts as frequently as you can 

with colleagues.  This will test your understanding and 

reinforce ideas. 

 Your studies will be most effective if you study 

frequently, for periods of about 45 to 60 minutes.  

Concentration tends to wander when you study for longer 

periods of time. 

 

 

DESCRIPTION OF EXAMINATIONS 

 

NEW JERSEY ASSISTED LIVING 

ADMINISTRATOR EXAMINATION  

 

# of Items Passing Score 
Time 

Allowed 

100 75% 120 Minutes 

 

CONTENT OUTLINE 
 

Use the outline as a guide for pre-examination review course 

material.  The outlines list the topics that are on the 

examination and the number of questions for each topic.  Do 

not schedule your examination until you are familiar with the 

topics in the outline. 

 

Topic 

# of 

Items 

Basic Concepts of Assisted Living 

10 
Philosophy and Background, Objectives and 

Principles, Comparison of AL to other programs, 

Home-like Environment, Choice, Independence, 

Privacy, Individuality, Dignity 

Age Related Changes and Aging in Place 

8 Aging Process and its Impact, Physical, 

Psychosocial Pecuniary 

Resident Assessment 

10 Purpose and Process, Guidelines for Conducting 

Assessments, Regulatory Requirements 

Scope of Services and Service Planning 

15 

Guidelines, Required Services, Discharge 

Residency Criteria, Resident Contracts, 

Enhanced Scope of Services (Wound Care, 

Behavioral Issues, Hospice Care), Regulatory 

Requirements 

Resident Services 

12 Resident Rights, Managed Risk Agreements, 

Working with Residents Families, Working with 

External Health and Social Service Providers 

Documentation 

7 Purpose and Methods, Developing Policy and 

Procedure Manuals, Regulatory Requirements 

Effective Management Skills and Staffing 

13 

Creating scheduling pattern to meet resident 

needs, hiring and scheduling staff, appropriate 

staffing patterns, personnel policies and 

procedures, regulatory requirements, 

Leadership, Financial 

Nursing Activities and Medication 

Administration 
10 

mailto:scorereport@psionline.com
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Appropriate Nurse Delegation, Concept of Self 

Administration, Medication Services, Assistance 

and Administration of Medications, Medication 

Storage, Health Related Tasks, Regulatory 

Requirements, Infection Control and Universal 

Precautions 

Regulatory and Physical Plant Requirements 

15 
Maintaining Building, Grounds, and Equipment, 

Fire, Common Disaster, and Emergency 

Preparedness, Regulatory Requirements, OSHA 

requirements 

 

 

 

RECERTIFICATION FOR NEW JERSEY ASSISTED 

LIVING ADMINISTRATORS 
 

In order to be eligible to renew a current certification, in 

accordance with 8:36-3.2 Qualifications of the administrator 

of an assisted living residence or comprehensive personal care 

home, an assisted living administrator shall: 

 

1. Complete at least 30 hours of continuing education 

regarding assisted living concepts and related topics, as 

specified and approved by the Department of Health. 

Continuing education courses shall cover the topics 

described in the training program for assisted living 

administrators in N.J.A.C. 8:36-3.3(a)2, and be earned 

between the time the current certificate was issued and is 

due to expire; and 

2. Complete a criminal history record background check as 

required by N.J.A.C. 8:43I-1.  

j. If a certified assisted living administrator fails to 

fulfill the certification renewal requirements at the 

prescribed time, the certification shall be considered 

inactive.   

k. An individual may apply for recertification without re- 

examination within three years of the certification 

renewal date and upon submitting a request for 

restoration of said certification, in writing, to the 

Certification Program. 

l. An individual requesting restoration of his or her 

certification from inactive status within three years of 

inactivity shall be required to pay the then current 

certification fee and comply with the education 

requirements identified as follows. 
An applicant for certification as an assisted living 

administrator shall successfully complete an assisted 

living training course which covers the  concepts and 

rules of assisted living as outlined in this chapter, given 

by a trainer  qualified in accordance with N.J.A.C. 8:36-

3.3.   

m. The applicant shall be required to complete 10 hours 

of continuing education credit for each year in which 

the certification was inactive in addition to the 

required 30 hours of continuing education for the last 

completed triennial certification period in which the 

applicant's certification was active. 

n. An administrator whose certification is in an inactive 

status and who subsequently fails to meet the 

requirements identified at (j) through (m) above shall 

be required to apply in writing for restoration of 

certification under the requirements as determined 

by the Certification Program on an individual basis 

and as provided for in these rules.  

 

Note:  Lapsed and/or revoked certificates as an assisted living 

administrator is addressed in accordance with, 8:36 3.2 

Qualifications of the administrator of an assisted living  

residence or comprehensive personal care home and 3.5 

Actions against an assisted living administrator  (l-m). 

 

At the recertification location, your photo will be taken and 

your recertification documents will be reviewed for accuracy 

and completeness. If your recertification documents are 

complete, your certification will be updated on the Registry 

and you will receive a new certificate and wallet identification 

card.  

 

You will receive a renewal reminder approximately sixty (60) 

days in advance of your certification expiration date.  Do not 

wait until your certification expiration date to recertify.  

 

Choose a recertification location from the list provided on the 

Renewal Form. On the day of recertification you MUST bring to 

the test site the following: 

 $30 recertification fee (this is the only fee accepted at 

the test site) 

 Two (2) forms of identification.  One must be a VALID form 

of government-issued identification (Driver's License, State 

ID, Passport) which bears your signature and has your 

photograph.  The second ID must have your signature and 

preprinted legal name.   

 Your Renewal Form. 

 

At the recertification location, your photo will be taken and 

your recertification documents will be reviewed for accuracy 

and completeness. If your recertification documents are 

complete, your certification will be updated on the Registry 

and you will receive a new certificate and wallet identification 

card.  

 

Recertification will be offered on a walk-in basis at any of the 

8 NJ test sites on Mondays ONLY from 10am-4pm. We also 

offer recertification on Wednesdays from 10am – 4pm at the 

Hamilton Township, Cherry Hill, and in Paramus.  Please see a 

listing of the sites in this Candidate Information Bulletin. 

 



                      
                     WWW.PSIEXAMS.COM                                         8 

 

NEW JERSEY CERTIFIED MEDICATION AIDE 

EXAMINATION  

 

# of Items Passing Score 
Time 

Allowed 

60 78% 90 Minutes 

 

CONTENT OUTLINE 
 

Use the outline as a guide for pre-examination review course 

material.  The outlines list the topics that are on the 

examination and the number of questions for each topic.  Do 

not schedule your examination until you are familiar with the 

topics in the outline. 

 

Topic 

# of 

Items 

Five Rights 3 

Affects of Medication 6 

Authorized Duties 4 

Medication Administration 20 

Documentation 10 

Error Reporting 3 

Role/Responsibilities 4 

Terminology 5 

Regulations 5 

 

RECERTIFICATION FOR NEW JERSEY 

MEDICATION AIDES 
 

 

In order to be eligible for recertification, you must complete 

at least ten (10) hours of continuing education, seminars, or 

in-service training within your two (2) year certification 

period. Continuing education will include:  

 Five (5) hours in the fundamentals of medication 

administration and in the skills and knowledge 

necessary for medication administration, AND 

 Five (5) hours on topics about current drug use with 

respect to the elderly. 

This continuing education must be in addition to:  

 Twenty (20) hours of continuing education, every two 

(2) years in assisted-living concepts and related 

topics, including cognitive and physical impairment 

and dementia for personal care assistants. The facility 

in which you work will keep records of your 

continuing education hours for at least one renewal 

period (that is, for your two (2) year certification 

period). Medication Aides should request copies of 

their continuing education records from facilities in 

the event that employment changes. 

Medication aides MUST retain current certification as a 

nurse aide, personal care assistant, or homemaker/home 

health aide. 

 

You will receive a renewal reminder approximately sixty (60) 

days in advance of your certification expiration date.  Do not 

wait until your certification expiration date to recertify. 

Complete your Renewal Form immediately and make sure that 

the form is completed and signed by your health care facility 

employer, an Assisted Living Residence, Assisted Living 

Program, or Comprehensive Personal Care Home. 

 

Choose a recertification location from the list provided on the 

Renewal Form. On the day of recertification you MUST bring to 

the test site the following: 

 $30 recertification fee (this is the only fee accepted at 

the test site) 

 Two (2) forms of identification.  One must be a VALID form 

of government-issued identification (Driver's License, State 

ID, Passport) which bears your signature and has your 

photograph.  The second ID must have your signature and 

preprinted legal name.   

 Your Renewal Form (signed by your current or previous 

employer) 

 A current certification as a New Jersey nurse aide, 

personal care assistant, or homemaker/home health aide 

 

At the recertification location, your photo will be taken and 

your recertification documents will be reviewed for accuracy 

and completeness. If your recertification documents are 

complete, your certification will be updated on the Registry 

and you will receive a new certificate and wallet identification 

card.  

 

Recertification will be offered on a walk-in basis at any of the 

8 NJ test sites on Mondays ONLY from 10am-4pm. We also 

offer recertification on Wednesdays from 10am – 4pm at the 

Hamilton Township, Cherry Hill, and in Paramus.  Please see a 

listing of the sites in this Candidate Information Bulletin. 

 

LAPSED CERTIFICATE 
 

If your certification has lapsed for less than a one (1) year 

period, please explain in writing why your certification has 

lapsed, and include along with this information: your name; 

Social Security number; mailing address; phone number; and 

your nurse aide, personal care assistant, or homemaker/home 

health aide certification number. Please mail this information 

to: 

NJDOH 

Medication Aide Program 

PO Box 358 

Trenton, NJ 08625-0367 

 

REVOKED CERTIFICATE 

 

A certificate issued to a medication aide in accordance with 

state rules shall be suspended, denied, or revoked in the 

following cases: 

Substantiated findings of resident abuse, resident neglect, or 

misappropriation (theft) of resident property in any health 

care facility licensed in accordance with N.J.S.A. 26:2H.; 

 Conviction or guilty plea for a crime relating adversely to 

the ability to provide resident care, such as homicide, 
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assault, kidnapping, a sexual offense, robbery, and a 

crime against the family, children, or incompetents; 

 Sale, purchase, or alteration of a certificate; use of 

fraudulent means to secure a certificate, including filing 

false information on the application; or forgery, 

imposture, dishonesty, or cheating on an examination; 

 Documented and verified incompetence and/or negligence 

as delegated by a registered professional nurse in the 

performance of the duties that fall within the scope of 

practice of a certified medication aide; 

 Conviction for any offense that could impact on the ability 

of an individual to safely perform the duties of a 

medication aide; 

 Lapsed, suspended, or revoked nurse aide, homemaker/ 

home health aide, or personal care assistant certification; 

and/or 

 Having one‟s name removed from the Medication 

Aide/ALA Registry for a period of more than one (1) year. 

 

NOTE: A medication aide will be required to retrain and 

retest in accordance with the rules in effect at the time of 

retraining and retesting if his or her name has been removed 

from the Registry for more than one (1) year. 

 

ABUSE FINDINGS 

 

Upon receipt of a substantiated allegation of resident neglect, 

resident abuse, and/or misappropriation (theft) of resident 

property, you will be mailed a Notice of Informal Conference. 

This letter will include a statement that there are 

substantiated findings of neglect, abuse and/or 

misappropriation of resident property and will include 

instructions for you to attend a scheduled conference, in 

person, at the offices of the NJ Department of Health and 

Senior Services, as well as the following information. 

 

You have a right to bring witnesses and any written evidence 

that you want to the informal conference. You may represent 

yourself, or you may have an attorney represent you at your 

own expense.  At the conclusion of the informal conference, a 

determination will be made as to whether to dismiss the case 

against you or to proceed to a full court hearing at the NJ 

Office of Administrative Law. The Department will notify you 

of that decision in writing within ten (10) days of the 

conference. 

 

If your case is not dismissed, you will receive a Notice of Right 

to Hearing. If you do not request a hearing within thirty (30) 

days of the date of the Notice of Right to Hearing letter, or if 

a hearing results in a specific finding of abuse, neglect and/or 

misappropriation of resident property, as applicable, that 

finding will be placed next to your name on the New Jersey 

Nurse Aide Registry.  The finding will remain on the New 

Jersey Nurse Aide Registry permanently, unless the finding was 

made in error or you are found not guilty in a court of law.  

You will not be permitted to work again as a nurse aide or as a 

personal care assistant in any licensed New Jersey health care 

facility. You will be notified in writing of this decision and you 

will be advised that you have a right to appeal the finding. 

This statement will be maintained on the New Jersey Nurse 

Aide Registry. 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS, NAME, AND/OR EMPLOYER 

 

If you have changed your address, name, and/or employer, 

you must inform the Nurse Aide Registry and the NJDHSS CBI 

Unit.  To notify the Registry of a change, use the form on the 

following page. 

 

If you have a change of name, you must mail proof of that 

change (e.g., marriage certificate, divorce decree, or other 

legal document), along with the form on the following page.  

No additional documentation is necessary to make an address 

change or employer change.   

 

To inform NJDHSS CBI Unit of an address, name, and/or 

employer change, please use the toll-free number, (866) 561-

5914, if you are calling from out of state. If you are calling 

from within New Jersey, please call (609) 292-4303. 
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NEW JERSEY NURSE AIDE/PERSONAL CARE ASSISTANT 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS, NAME AND/OR EMPLOYER FORM 

 

SEND TO: 

PSI HAMILTON SQUARE AREA 

IBIS PLAZA SOUTH 

3525 QUAKERBRIDGE ROAD, SUITE 1000 

HAMILTON TOWNSHIP, NJ  08619 

 

 

 

Use this form to inform the Registry of your change of address, name, and/or employer.  Please print or type all 

information on this form.  Be sure to provide all information, or your request cannot be filled. 

 

 ADDRESSS CHANGE – Complete Sections A & B 

 NAME CHANGE - Complete Sections A & B:  You must attach a copy of an official document (marriage certificate 

or other court order) verifying your name change. 

 EMPLOYER CHANGE - Complete Sections A, B & C:  You must complete Section C also. 

 

 

A.  PRINT YOUR NEW ADDRESS, NEW NAME, OR NEW EMPLOYER‟S INFORMATION BELOW. 

 

Name:__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address:_________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City:______________________________________________ State:_______________ Zip Code:_________________ 

Telephone:_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

Social Security#________________________________________ Certification #______________________________ 

 

B.  PRINT YOUR OLD ADDRESS, OLD NAME, OR OLD EMPLOYER‟S INFORMATION BELOW. 

 

Name:__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address:_________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City:______________________________________________ State:_______________ Zip Code:_________________ 

Telephone:_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

C.  IF YOU ARE NOTIFYING THE REGISTRY WITH NEW EMPLOYER INFORMATION, YOU MUST ALSO FILL IN THIS SECTION. 

 

Name:__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address:_________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City:______________________________________________ State:_______________ Zip Code:_________________ 

Telephone:_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

YOUR SIGNATURE:______________________________________________________  DATE:___________________________ 
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NEW JERSEY ASSISTED LIVING ADMINISTRATOR/ 

NEW JERSEY MEDICATION AIDE   

EXAMINATION ELIGIBILITY FORM 
 

To become eligible to test, you must provide a valid certificate of completion, along with this eligibility form.  You may mail or fax 

this to:  

PSI Regional Processing Office 

IBIS Plaza South 

3525 Quakerbridge Road, Suite 1000 

Hamilton Township, NJ 08619 

877-774-4243 * FAX 609-588-5461 
 

1.  Legal Name:                                

                                           Last Name                                                                 First Name                                      M.I. 

2.  Social Security:    -   -     (FOR IDENTIFICATION PURPOSES ONLY) 

 

3.  Mailing Address:                                

                                           Number, Street                                                                                                                Apt/Ste                                     

                          -      

                                           City                                                                                State       Zip Code   

4.  Telephone:    Home        -              Office        -      

 

6.  Email:  ______________________________________________________________________ 7.  CNA / HHA Certificate #: 

__________________________ 

         
8.  Examination: (Check one)  Assisted Living Administrator $53

 
 Medication Aide $53

 
        

 
                          (Check one)  FIRST TIME  RETAKE         

 
9.  Birth Date                 

                                                              MM              DD                 YY 

10.  Total Fee $____________.  You may pay by credit card, money order, company check or cashier‟s check. Cash and personal   

checks are not accepted.) 

If you are paying by credit card, check one:    VISA     MasterCard      American Express     Discover 

Card No: _____________________________________________________Exp. Date: ________________________________  

Card Verification No: __________________ 

The card verification number may be located on the back of the card  

(the last three digits on the signature strip) or on the front of the card  

(the four digits to the right and above the card account number). 

Billing Street Address: __________________________________________________ Billing Zip Code: __________________ 

Cardholder Name (Print):_______________________________________ Signature:__________________________________  

11.  I am faxing the Special Arrangement Request (at the end of this bulletin) and required documentation.  Yes  No  FIRST TIME 

 

12. Affidavit:  I certify that the information provided on this registration form (and/or telephonically to PSI) is correct.  I 

understand that any falsification of information may result in denial of certification.  I have read and understand the Candidate 

Information Bulletin. 

 

Signature:_____________________________________________________ Date:___________________________________________ 

 



                      

 

 

                    SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT REQUEST FORM  

 

 

All examination centers are equipped to provide access in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990.  

Applicants with disabilities may request special examination arrangements.   

 

Candidates who wish to request special arrangements because of a disability should fax this form and supporting documentation 

to PSI at (702) 932-2666.   

 

Requirements for special arrangement requests 

 

You are required to submit documentation from the medical authority or learning institution that rendered a diagnosis.  

Verification must be submitted to PSI on the letterhead stationery of the authority or specialist and include the following: 

 

 Description of the disability and limitations related to testing 

 Recommended accommodation/modification 

 Name, title and telephone number of the medical authority or specialist 

 Original signature of the medical authority or specialist 

 

 

Date: _________________________________________________ Social Security #: ______________________________ 

 

Legal Name: ________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

                     Last Name                                                                   First Name                                       

 

Address: __________________________________________________________________________________________ 

                     Street                                                                         City, State, Zip Code 

 

 

 

             

Telephone: (__________) __________ - _______________          (__________) __________ - _______________ 

                      Home                                                                         Work 

 
  

Email Address: ____________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Check any special arrangements you require (requests must concur with documentation submitted): 

  

   Reader (as accommodation for visual impairment 

       or learning disability) 

   Extended time 

       (Additional time requested:______________)     

  

   Large-print written examination    Other____________________________________ 

 

 

 

 

                                                   

 Complete and fax this form, along with supporting documentation, to (702) 932-2666.  

 After 4 business days, please call 800-733-9267 x6750 and leave a voice message.   

 PSI Special Accommodations will call you back to schedule the examination within 48 hours. 

 

DO NOT SCHEDULE YOUR EXAMINATION UNTIL THIS DOCUMENTATION HAS BEEN 

 RECEIVED AND PROCESSED BY PSI SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS. 

 

 
 



                      

 

 
PSI Services LLC 

3210 E Tropicana 

Las Vegas, NV  89121 
 

 

 

 


