Nature of Work
Workers are responsible for safely removing asbestos from building structures in NJ, which is conducted under strictly regulated environmental controls. To be qualified to do this work, workers must be employed by a NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development (DOLWD) licensed asbestos abatement contractor and possess a valid NJ asbestos worker permit.
N.J.S.A. 34:5A-32 et seq. and N.J.A.C. 8:60
Age: 18 years or older
Education and Experience:
Applicants must successfully complete a 28 hour training course certified by the NJDOH.
All workers must pass a written third party course examination administeredunder the approval of the NJDOH.
Application and Fees
A written application must be submitted to the DOLWD on a form provided by the DOLWD. All applications must include documentation which provides proof of qualifications, proof of passing the training course, proof of passing the third party state examination, two identical passport-sized color photos which meet the requirements indicated on the application, a certified check or money order for the application fee and any additional information as required by the DOLWD. You may contact the DOLWD at 609-633-2158.
Application Fee: $50.
Length of Permit and Re-certification
The permit is valid for one (1) year. An application for renewal
of a permit shall be submitted at least 30 days prior to its expiration
date. The DOLWD shall renew a permit if the renewal applicant
- Completed an application to renew their permit within one year of the
expiration of their previously issued permit for that discipline.
- Provided evidence of refresher training
- Paid all penalties lawfully imposed on the applicant
Note: The DOLWD will treat an application of renewal as a first time application if the permit has been expired for more than one year
All individuals seeking reciprocity for a New Jersey worker permit must first submit an "Application for Reciprocal Asbestos Accreditation" [pdf 16k] to the DOH to review their training and permit status from another USEPA authorized state. Once approved, the applicant must take the New Jersey state examination. Once the applicant has successfully passed the examination, they may apply to the DOLWD for an asbestos permit.
For information on how to contact the DOH or other organizations mentioned on this page, please refer to the Indoor Environments Contacts page.