DOH Home  >>  Indoor Environments Program
  

Environmental and Occupational Health Assessment Program Application Payments

Submit Payments

Lead Abatement Planner/Project Designer
Qualifications and Requirements


Nature of Work

Certified lead abatement Planner/Project Designers (PPD) designs specifications for lead abatement work in housing and public buildings.

Legal Authority

N.J.S.A. 26:2Q and N.J.A.C. 8:62

Qualifications

Age: 18 years or older

Education and Experience:  Applicants must attend a 56 hour training course approved by the Department of Health (DOH).  Please refer to the list of "Certified Training Providers" for more information on where these courses are given.

Examination

PPD applicants must pass a written examination administered under the approval of the DOH.

Application and Fees

Application: A written application [pdf 36k] must be submitted to the DOH on a form approved by the DOH.  All applications must include documentation which provides proof of qualifications, proof of passing the third party examination, a passport-sized color photo meeting the requirements indicated on the application and certified check or money order in the amount of application fee (below). 

Application Fee:  $200.

Length of Permit

The permit is valid for two years.

Renewing a Permit

An application for renewal of a permit shall be submitted during the 90 calendar day period prior to or after the permitís expiration date. The DOH shall renew a permit if the renewal applicant has:

  • Completed a written application [pdf 36k] to renew the permit within 90 days prior to or after the expiration of the previously issued PPD permit.

  • Provided evidence of refresher training [pdf 14k]

  • Paid any penalties lawfully imposed on the applicant

  • Provided a certified check or money order in the amount of the application fee (see above)

Note: The DOH will treat an application for renewal as a first time application if the applicant's previous PPD permit has been expired for more than 90 days

Reciprocity

Application for Reciprocal Lead Permit [pdf 45k] - Applicants who have been trained and permitted outside of New Jersey must provide proof of a currently valid certification with another state which has received US Environmental Protection Agency authorization to administer and enforce a state lead certification and training program under Title IV of the Toxic Substances Control Act.


Department of Health

P. O. Box 360, Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Our Locations
Privacy policy, terms of use and contact form links State Privacy Notice legal statement DOH Feedback Page New Jersey Home


OPRA- Open Public RecordAct
department: njdoh home | index by topic | programs/services
statewide:njhome | services A to Z  | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-

Last Modified: Friday, 13-Jul-12 12:11:21