News Release

PO 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Christine Grant
For Release:
June 7, 2000
For Further Information Contact:
Dennis McGowan &
Rita Manno
NJ Home Page DHSS Home Page

Eight Distinguished Nurses to Receive
Governor's Nursing Merit Awards

TRENTON -- Commissioner Christine Grant will recognize the recipients of the 2000 Governor's Nursing Merit Awards on Thursday, June 8, 2000. Eight nursing professionals will be recognized for their commitment and service in the areas of patient care, administration, education and research.

The awards will be presented at the annual Governor's Nursing Merit Awards Dinner. The event will begin with a reception at 5:15 p.m., followed by dinner at 6:00 p.m. at the Princeton Marriott Hotel, Princeton Forrestal Village. Joining the Commissioner will be former Assemblywoman Barbara Wright, RN, Ph.D., Institute for Nursing President Jo Anne Penn, MA, RN, C, and Jane Adams, MSN, RN. Adams is chairwoman of the 23-member Nursing Advisory Committee that selected this year's honorees from among the 99 nominated nursing professionals throughout New Jersey.

"Nurses contribute to our health care system by administering all levels of patient care and by shaping policy," said Commissioner Grant. "I am pleased to recognize these eight award recipients and all nursing professionals in New Jersey."

The Nursing Advisory Committee has recognized exceptional nursing professionals in New Jersey each year since 1989. The Governor's 2000 Nursing Merit Awards recipients, with their hometowns noted in parentheses, are:

Professional Advanced Practice Nurse - Patricia Murphy, Ph.D., RN, CS, FAAN, (Livingston) University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey-University Hospital.

Nurse Administrator - Antoinette Fiore, RN, MS, CNAA, (Pompton Lakes) Vice President of Patient Care and Chief Nursing Officer at Hackensack University Medical Center.

Nurse Educator - Carolyn Keith Burr, Ed.D., RN, (Montclair) Associate Director of the National Pediatric and Family HIV Resource Center at UMDNJ-University Hospital.

Nurse Researcher - Jane Bliss-Holtz, DNSc, RN, C, (Princeton) Nurse Researcher at the Ann May Center for Nursing at Jersey Shore Medical Center.

Registered Professional Staff Nurse - Acute Care - Denise H. Viscuso, RN, BS, BA, CEN, (Mount Laurel) the Cooper Health System, Coordinator of the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner and Sexual Assault Response Team Advisory Board for Camden County.

Registered Professional Staff Nurse - Long Term Care/Community Health - Mary C. Sugrue, RN, BSN, CWOCN, (Waldwick) Valley Home Care, Inc.

Licensed Practical Nurse - Acute Care - Margaret Kirchhoff, LPN, (Montague) Saint Clares Health Services.

Licensed Practical Nurse - Long Term Care/Community Health - Joanne Harraka, LPN, (Hawthorne) Saint Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center.

# # #

NJ Home Page DHSS Home Page