News Release

PO 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Christine Grant
Acting Commissioner
For Release:
May 27, 1999
For Further Information Contact:
Tom Breslin
(609) 984-7160
NJ Home Page DHSS Home Page

Eight Distinguished Nurses to Receive
Governor's Nursing Merit Awards

Trenton -- Commissioner Christine Grant will recognize the recipients of the 1999 Governor's Nursing Merit Awards on Wednesday, June 2, 1999. Eight nursing professionals will be recognized for their commitment and service in patient care, administration, education and research.

The awards will be presented at the annual Governor's Nursing Merit Awards dinner. The event will begin with a reception at 5:15 p.m., followed by dinner at 6:00 p.m. at the Princeton Mariott Hotel, Princeton Forrestal Village. Joining the Commissioner will be Assemblywoman Barbara Wright, RN, PhD., Deputy Commissioner for Senior Services Susan Reinhard, RN, Ph.D., and Jane Adams, MSN, RN. Adams is chairwoman of the 23-member Nursing Advisory Committee which selected this year's honorees from among the 82 nominated nursing professionals throughout New Jersey.

"Nurses contribute to our health care system by administering all levels of patient care and by shaping policy," said Commissioner Grant. She added, "I am pleased to recognize these eight award recipients and all nursing professionals in New Jersey."

The Nursing Advisory Committee has recognized exceptional nursing professionals in New Jersey each year since 1989. The Governor's 1999 Nursing Merit Awards recipients, including their home residence in parentheses, are:

Professional Advanced Practice Nurse - Albert A. Rundio, Jr., Ph.D., NP, CNS, C, CNAA, (Egg Harbor) Clinical Associate Professor at the College of Nursing at Rutgers.

Nurse Administrator - Maris A. Lown, MS, RN, (Rumson) Director of Health Sciences at Brookdale Community College.

Nurse Educator - Nancy Smith Bowe, MS, RNC, CNS, (Rumson) Cardiology Clinical Nurse Specialist, Jersey Shore Medical Center.

Nurse Researcher - Wendy C. Budin, Ph.D., RN, CNS, (South Orange) Associate Professor at the College of Nursing at Seton Hall University.

Registered Professional Staff Nurse: Acute Care - Debra Dunn, RN, MBA, CNOR, (Paramus) Project Coordinator, Operating Room, Wayne General Hospital.

Registered Professional Staff Nurse: Long Term Care/Community Health - Rosemary Jakimowicz, RN, (Neptune) Case Manager, Visiting Nurses Association of Cental Jersey.

Licensed Practical Nurse: Acute Care - Elaine McKenzie, LPN, (Milltown), Brain Trauma Unit, JFK - Johnson Acute Rehab Institute.

Licensed Practical Nurse: Long Term Care/Community Health - Yvonne Campbell, LPN, (Englewood) - Rehabilitation Program, NJ Veterans Home at Paramus.

# # #

NJ Home Page DHSS Home Page