DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES ADDRESS REPLY TO:
QUAKERBRIDGE PLAZA—BUILDING 5 & 7 & 12 ON-712
QUAKERBRIDGE ROAD TRENTON, NEW JERSEY 08625

TRENTON, NEW JERSEY 08619

MEDICAID COMMUNICATION NO. 90-16 DATE: August 8, 1990
TO: County Welfare Agency Directors
SUBJECT: Resource Transfer Penalty

The Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988 contained provisions that modified the
period of ineligibility resulting from a resource transfer. That provision became effective
in New Jersey April 1, 1990. As a result, the Department of Human Services has
adopted, on an emergency basis, a revision to the regulations governing eligibility for
Medicaid coverage for long term care as they relate to the imposition of ineligibility
- penalties. Attached is the actual text of the adoption. These regulations are effective
immediately in accordance with the implementation instructions below.

This revision modifies the period of ineligibility for Medicaid coverage for long term care
from an absolute period of 24 months to a sliding-scale penalty with a maximum
ineligibility penalty of 30 months. The period of ineligibility will be the lesser of 30 months
or the whole number quotient resulting from dividing the uncompensated value of the
transferred resource by the statewide average lowest semi-private room rate for skilled
nursing facilities. That rate is currently $3,235 and it will be adjusted annually.

The ineligibility penalty period shall be applied only in whole months and shall begin on
the first of the month in which the resource transfer occurred. For example:

Mr. Jones transferred a resource on September 15, 1990. The
uncompensated value of that resource was $9,500. The calculation is as
follows:

$9,500 + $3,235 = 2.94
The numbers to the right of the decimal point are dropped and period of
ineligibility is two months. Since the penalty will begin September 1, Mr.

Jones will be entitled to Medicaid coverage for long term care services
beginning November 1, 1990 presuming all other eligibility criteria are met.
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Likewise, should the calculation result in a quotient less than one, because all numbers
to the right of the decimal point are dropped, there would be no period of ineligibility
resulting from the resource transfer. For example:

Ms. Smith transfers a resource on August 1, 1990. The uncompensated
value of the resource is $2,500. The calculation is as follows:

$2,500 + $3,235 = .77

After dropping the numbers to the right of the decimal point, there is no
period of ineligibility.

IMPLEMENTATION

Emergency rules are effective upon acceptance for filing by the Office of Administrative
Law. Since this rule was filed July 30, 1990, that date serves as the effective date of the
new resource transfer penalty periods. However, in order to assure that individuals are
not unfairly affected by the implementation of the new penalty period, we have provided
for special procedures relating to implementation.

In accordance with N.J.A.C. 10:71-4.7(k) of the attached, in computing the resource
penalty for any resource transferred prior to August 20, 1990 (the date this new regulation
will appear in the New Jersey Register), no penalty period shall be imposed that is greater
than 24 months. It is important to note that it is the date of the resource transfer that
controls this issue.

Likewise in accordance with the same section of the attached, for any resource transfer
that occurred on or after April 1, 1990 but before August 20, 1990, the period of
ineligibility will be the lesser of 24 months or the quotient resulting from dividing the
uncompensated value of the resource by the average lowest semi-private skilled nursing
facility rate.

For any resource transfer occurring on or after August 20, 1990, the period of ineligibility
shall be the lesser of 30 months or the quotient resulting from dividing the
uncompensated value by the average lowest semi-private skilled nursing facility rate.
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There will be no special consideration for any resource transfer occurring prior to April
1, 1990. The absolute 24 month period of ineligibility applies to any resource transferred
prior to that date as per regulations in effect at that time.

County welfare agencies shall review their case denials and terminations to determine
those cases denied or terminated because of resource transfers occurring April 1, 1990

or thereafter. The period of ineligibility shall be recomputed in accordance with these
instructions.

This communication should be brought to the attention of all staff involved in Medicaid

eligibility determinations for long term care. Questions may be referred to the field service
staff assigned to your county.

Sincerely, ,
D s
Saul M. Kilstein
Director

SMK:RHh

Attachment

CC: Marion E. Reitz, Director
Division of Economic Assistance

Nicholas R. Scalera, Acting Director
Division of Youth and Family Services



Attachment to
Medicaid Communication No. 90-16

Full text of the proposal follows (additions indicated in underline
thus; deletions in brackets [thus]):

SUBCHAPTER 4. RESOURCES

10:71-4.7

(a)

Transfer of resources

The provisions of this section apply only to persons who

[(a)l(b)

are receiving an institutional level of services or who
are seeking that level of services. An individual shall
be ineligible for institutional level services through
the Medicaid program if he or she (or his or her spouse)
has disposed of resources at less than fair market value
at any time during or after the 30 month period
immediately before;

1. In the case of an individual who is already
eligible for Medicaid benefits, the date the
individual becomes an institutionalized individual,
or

|N

In the case of an individual not already eligible
for Medicaid benefits, the date that the individual
applies for Medicaid as an institutionalized
individual.

The following definitions apply in situations involving
the transfer of resources:

i. and 2. (No change.)

3. Institutionalized individual: An institutionalized
individual for the purposes of this section is a
person who is receiving care in a Medicaid
certified skilled nursing facility, intermediate
care facility (level A or B and ICFMR) and licensed
special hospital (Class B or C) or Title XIX
psychiatric hospital (if under the age of 21 or age
65 and over). Effective October 1, 1990, an
institutionalized individual shall include an
individual receiving care in a Medicaid certified
nursing facility (NF). For the purposes of this
section, an institutionalized individual shall
include a person seeking benefits under a home or
community care waiver program, not including the
Home Care Expansion Program. An institutionalized
individual shall not include a person who is
receiving care in an acute care general hospital.

4. Penalty period: The penalty period is the period of
ineligibility for Medicaid coverage for
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institutional level care established for an
individual as a result of the transfer of a
resource for less than fair market value. The
penalty period begins with the month of the
resource transfer and is the lesser of:

i. 30 months; or

iji. The number of months resulting from dividing
the uncompensated value of the transferred
resource by statewide monthly average lowest
semi-private room rate for Medicaid certified
nursing facilities as calculated annually.

The current average through December 31, 1990
is $3,376.

(General procedures: If an individual _or his or her
spouse [applying for Medicaid] described in (a) above
(including any person acting with power of attorney or as
a guardian for such individual) has sold, given away, or
otherwise transferred any [nonexcluded] resources
(including any interest in a resource or future rights to
a_resource) within the [24] 30 months preceding the date
of application or entry into institutional care, the
following steps shall be taken and fully documented in
the case record:

1-5. (No change.)

6. Advise the applicant that he or she may rebut the
presumption that a resource was transferred at less
than FMV in order to qualify for Medicaid coverage
for institutional care (see [(g)] (i) below).

[Excluded resources: Resources which are excluded in
accordance with N.J.A.C. 10:71-4.4 are not subject to the
transfer provisions. A transferred resource shall be
excluded if, at the time of transfer, the resource would
have been excluded if the individual were an applicant.
For example, if an individual transfers a home serving as
his or her place of residence and subsequently applies
for Medicaid, the CWA would not consider the UV of the
home as a resource.] The provisions of this section
apply whether or not the resource would have been
considered an excluded resource at the time of its
disposal or transfer. However, an individual shall not
be ineligible for an institutional level of care because
of the transfer of his or her equity interest in a home
which serves (or served immediately prior to entry into
institutional care) as the individual’s principal place
of residence and the title to the home was transferred
to:
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The institutionalized individual’s spouse;

A child of the institutionalized individual who is
under the age of 21 or a child of any age who is
blind or totally and permanently disabled:

i. In the event that the child does not have a
determination from the Social Security
Adninistration of blindness or disability, the
blindness or disability shall be evaluated by
the Disability Review Section of the Division
of Medical Assistance and Health Services in

accordance with the provisions of N.J.A.C.
10:71-3.13.

A brother or sister of the institutionalized
individual who already had an equity interest in
the home prior to the transfer and who was residing
in the home for a period of at 1least one vear
immediately before the individual becomes _an
institutionalized individual; or

A son or daughter of the institutionalized
individual (other than described in 2 above) who
was residing in the individual’s home for a period
of at least two yvears immediately before the date
the individual becomes an institutionalized
individual and who has provided care to such
individual which permitted the individual to reside
at _home rather than in an institution or facility.

i. The care provided by the individual’s son or
daughter must have exceeded normal personal
support activities (for example, routine
transportation and shopping) . The
individual’s physical or mental condition must
have been such as to require special attention
and care. The care provided by the son or
daughter must have been essential to the
health and safety of the individual and
consisted of activities such as, but not
limited to, supervision of medication,
monitoring of nutritional status, and insuring
the safety of the individual.

() The provisions of this section do not apply to the

following resource transfer situations:

1.

The resources were transferred to the community
spouse (or to another individual for the sole

benefit of the community spouse) prior to the entry

into institutional care so long as the resources
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were not subseguently transferred by the community
SpoOUSe;
T If fu WET other

individual for the sole benefit of +the
community Spouse prior to entry into

instituticonal care, in order that the transfer
not be consjidered to have been for the
purposes of qualifving for Medicaid, the funds
must have been transferred in the form of a
legally binding trust document specifyving that
Lthe trustee(s]) may use the funds solely for
the benefit of the community spouse. Should
the transferred fupnds not be =0 designated,
the transfer shall be presumed to be for the
purpose  of gualifying for Medicaid in
accordance with the provisions of this
section,

' The resources were transferred to the community
spouse subseguent to the application for Medicaild
in accordance with ¥.J.A.C. 10:71-4.8(a)3; or,

dgis The resources were transferred from the
institutionalized individual or the community
spouse to the institutic izged indiwi ‘=z child

who i=s blind or permanently and totally disabled.

i In_the ewent that the child deoes not have a
determination fro the ool s
Administration of bli == or dizsabili
blindness or disability will be evaluated by
the Disability Review Section of the n;gleon
of Medical Assistance and Health Services in
accordance with the provisions of N.J.A.C,

10:71=3.13.

{Ho change in text.)

Respurce transferred, resource limit not exceeded: When
the UV of a transferred resource, combined with all ather
countable resources does not exceed the applicable
resource limit, the appliecation shall be processed as

usual. [In addition, the following procedures shall be
adhered to.
1. It shall be explained to the applicant that he or

she has transferred a resource at less than FMV,
the amount of the UV, and that this amount will be
counted toward the resource maximum for 24 months
from the date of disposal. Thiz shall be
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accomplished via completion and mailing of Form PA-
13.

2. The client shall be informed that although eligible
at time of applicatien, if his eor her rescurces,
including the amount of the UV, should exceed the
resource maximum within the 24 month period, he or
she will lose Medicaid eligibility.

i. Example: At the time of application the UV
egquals 51,000, other resources egual
$200.00 for a total of $1,200, the
client is resource eligible. At the
time of redetermination, the UV
egquals 51,000, other resources egual
$1,100 for total of %2,100, the
client is ineligible because of
eXcess resources and the case must
be terminated.

3. A list shall be maintained of all such cases for
control purposes. This =should include the case
number, client’s name, Social Security number, date
of the resdource disposal, FMV of the resource,
amount of UV, and the date of termination if
applicable. ]

Resource transferred, resource limit exceeded: When the
uv of a transferred resource combined with other
countable resources, e¥ceeds the resource limit, [the
application for Medicaid] eligibility for institutional
level services shall be denied and the procedures below
followed[ . ]z

1. Notify the applicant via Form PA-13 that he or she
has transferred a resource at less than FMV, the
amount of the UV[, and that this amount will be
counted toward the resource maximum for 24 months
from the date of dispo=al] and the length of the
penalty pericd. Explain that the law states that
transfer of a resource at less than FMV is presumed
to be for the purpose of establishing Medicaid
eligibility for institutiopal services.

2. Advise the applicant that he or she may rebut the
presumption (see [(g)] (i) below).

3. Prepare a list of such cases for control purposes
[in accordance with (e} 3 above]. e ol list
shall include the case number, client’s name,
Social Security nupber, date of rescurce disposal,
FMV_af the rescurce, amount of UV, and the start
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and end dates of the period of ineliqgibility for
institutional level services.

(No change in text.)

Factors which may indicate that the transfer was for some
other purpose: The presence of one or more of the
following factors, while not conclusive, may indicate
that the resources were transferred exclusively for some
purpose other than establishing Medicaid eligibility.

1. (No change.)

2. Resources that would have been below the resource
limit during each of the preceding [24] 30 months
if the resource had been retained.

3 and 4. (No change.)

(No change in text.)

In the case of any resource transfer which occurred

between April 1, 1990 and the date of publication of this

rule in the New Jersey Register and which would otherwise

be subiject to the provisions of this section, the period

of ineligibility for institutional services shall be the

lesser of:

1. 24 months or

2. the number of months resulting from the application

of the calculation at N.J.A.C. 10:71-4.7(b)41ii.






