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MEDICAID COMMUNICATION NO. 97-9 DATE: May 2, 1997

TO: County Welfare Agency Directors
ISS Area Supervisors

SUBJECT: Notification of Resource Assessment

As a result of the Cleary v. Waldman federal court case, the Division has agreed to
modify its notification procedure for all cases which involve a resource assessment
situation. As a result, the attached notice, "RIGHTS RELATING TO RESOURCE
ASSESSMENT", must be received by any individual requesting a resource assessment
whether or not the assessment is done at the time of application.

In order to comply with the court's ruling, CWAs must implement the notification form
immediately upon receipt of this communication. The attached notice contains
language which has been mutually agreed upon by the parties in the dispute and must
be adopted in its current form. We suggest that the notice be printed on your letterhead
for use by agency staff in advising individuals of the outcome of their resource
assessment.

Your anticipated cooperation in this matter is appreciated. Please direct any questions
regarding this matter to the field service staff assigned to your county.

Sincerely,

2~
Acting Director

KIS:S
Attachment

c: Len Fishman, Commissioner
Susan C. Reinhard, Ph.D., Deputy Commissioner
Department of Health and Senior Services

Karen Highsmith, Director
Division of Family Development

Michele Guhl, Acting Director
Division of Youth and Family Services
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IMPORTANT NOTICE
RIGHTS RELATING TO RESOURCE ASSESSMENT

When a member of a married couple is in a nursing facility and the other member n~mains in the community,
Federal Medicaid law requires that a portion of the couple's countable resources be protected for the spouse
remaining in the community. In New Jersey, the amount protected for the community spouse is the greater of
$15,804* or one-half of the couple's countable resources, not to exceed $79,020.* Federal law also
establishes a monthly minimum maintenance allowance to support the community spouse once the
institutionalized spouse becomes eligible for Medicaid. In New Jersey, the minimum monthly allowance for the
community spouse is $1,295* plus shelter expenses in excess of $388.50* monthly.

As a couple, your total countable resources have been determined to be $ . The amount of

resources that are protected for the community spouse is $. _

The community spouse monthly minimum maintenance allowance has been determined to be $, _

The community spouse's own monthly income is $. . The amount of income available from

the spouse in the nursing facility is $. monthly.

If applicable, the family member minimum maintenance monthly allowance has been determined to be

$. . The family member's own monthly income is $ . The amount of

income available from the parent in the nursing facility is $ monthly.

The law allows a higher level of resources be protected for the community spouse when the income of the
community spouse, together with the income available from the spouse in the nursing facility, is inadequate to
raise the community spouse's income to the spousal maintenance allowance. It alsc) allows an increase in the
monthly minimum maintenance allowance in exceptional circumstances of significant financial duress. If you
have already applied for Medicaid and believe you or your spouse fall within one of these two exceptions, or if
you disagree with the .:lbove-<:-a!cuiationsj··you may request.a -fair- nearing.··If·yoo-have·-ootalready applied for
Medicaid, you will need to do so before requesting a fair hearing.

In order to apply for Medicaid or to apply for a fair hearing, contact the county welfare agency of the county in
which the nursing facility is located. In order to request a fair hearing, you must write to: Division of Medical
Assistance and Health Services, Fair Hearing Unit, CN-712, Trenton, New Jersey 08625. If you need
assistance, please call (609) 588-2655. You must request a fair hearing within 20 days of the date of this
notice.

*These figures change annually.


