Executive Order (EO) 42 established the position of Chief Technology Officer (CTO) and made provisions for the appointment of five Deputy Chief Technology Officers. Each Deputy CTO is charged with managing an Affinity Group and reports to the CTO.

The remainder of OIT is organized into two branches - Administration, which is headed by the Chief of Staff (COS), focuses on the delivery of services such as budgeting, financial, HR and other routine functions; and Operations, which focuses on the delivery of technical utility services, such as network, WAN, storage and mainframe and client server processing environments.

Office of the CTO - Dave Weinstein, Executive IT Management

Working collaboratively with agency IT Directors, the Executive IT Management is implementing practices that stress the development of enterprise applications that will serve the needs of multiple agencies. In addition, under the leadership of the Management Team, OIT is working with the agencies to consolidate services and simplify the State's technology infrastructure.


Affinity Groups and Deputy CTOs

  • Administrative Services - Mary Lou Mycoff
  • Business and Community - David Hiznay
  • Health and Social Services - Rehan Usmani
  • Public Safety - Jim Cleary
  • Workforce Enhancement Affinity Group - Roy Roldan

To manage the IT needs of the State's executive branch and in conformance with P.L. 2007, .C56, Affinity Groups were established to combine the efforts of several agencies. In doing so, the State is positioned to leverage IT purchasing power; maximize usage of existing resources and IT infrastructure through redeployment and consolidation; and place an emphasis on developing multiple-agency solutions and systems where appropriate rather than single-agency customized applications. Currently, there are five Affinity Groups:

Administrative Services - Mary Lou Mycoff
This Affinity Group supports administrative systems and applications used statewide; it combines the IT efforts of the Department of Treasury, Civil Service Commission, the Statehouse, Casino Control Commission and Department of State.

Business and Community - David Hiznay
By encompassing the IT needs of the Department of Transportation, Department of Environmental Protection, Department of Community Affairs, Department of Banking and Insurance, Commerce and the Office of Economic Growth, Agriculture, and Board of Public Utilities, this Affinity Group furthers the goals of economic growth throughout the State.

Public Safety - Jim Cleary
The Public Safety Affinity Group spans across Law & Public Safety - Office of the Attorney General, Motor Vehicle Commission, New Jersey State Police, Office of Homeland Security, Department of Corrections, Department of Military and Veterans Affairs, and the Parole Board. Here, a consistent approach to gathering, analyzing and monitoring data are fundamental to developing and implementing processes that ensure the safety of New Jersey's citizens, businesses, and visitors.

Health and Social Services - Rehan Usmani
This Affinity Group encompasses the Department of Human Services, Department of Children and Families, and the Department of Health.

Workforce Enhancement - Roy Roldan
This Affinity Group combines the efforts of the Department of Education and the Department of Labor & Workforce Development.

top of page