Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

OCP Home Lemon Law Home New Car Used Car Motorized Wheelchair

5 Reasons to Pursue Relief Through
the Lemon Law Unit Instead of filing
a Private Lawsuit

  1. It's Much Quicker! - The Lemon Law process has special deadlines which must be met in order to ensure quicker handling of your case. Going to Superior Court could take considerably longer.
  2. An Attorney is Not Required - You may choose to have an attorney represent you but it is not required. Reasonable attorney's fees are part of the award if you win your case (new cars only).
  3. Cases are Scheduled at Your Convenience - Cases are scheduled at a date, time and place that is most convenient for you. The Office of Administrative Law gives us the available hearing dates and times from which to choose. Cases are scheduled at one of three locations in New Jersey: Newark, Trenton or Atlantic City.
  4. The Fee is Only $50 - There is a $50 filing fee which is refunded to you if you win your case (compared to the $200 filing fee in Superior Court). There is no fee for Used Car Lemon Law cases.
  5. Lemon Law Staff are Available to Answer Your Questions - While the Unit does not provide legal advice or representation, staff are available by phone or email to answer your questions quickly so you'll be better prepared on your Road to Relief!

 

Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: