
Pursuant to the Multiple Dwelling Reporting Rule (MDRR) 
(N.J.A.C. 13:10-1 et seq.), property owners and/or managers 
in the State of New Jersey must provide to the Division 
on Civil Rights (Division) certain information concerning 
multiple dwelling units on an annual basis, including 
but not limited to the racial and ethnic composition of 
leaseholders and other relevant data. The purpose of this 
reporting requirement is to enable the Division to study 
patterns of housing occupancy, to investigate practices 
of discrimination and to affirmatively administer the Law 
Against Discrimination (N.J.S.A. 10:5-1 et seq.). The Director 
of the Division is authorized to assess penalties against 
those property owners or managers who fail to comply 
with the MDRR in a timely fashion.

Who is required to report?
The owner or owners of every apartment complex with 25 
or more units must e-file an annual report available on the 
Division’s web site www.NJCivilRights.gov.

When is the report due?
Reports are due to the Division each year by January 31st 
covering the period of January 1st through December 31st 
of the prior year.

What are the late filing penalties  
for submitting the MDRR form  
after the deadline?	
If a report is filed more than 15 calendar days late (after 
February 15th), the property owner(s) is/are subject to a 
late filing penalty of $100.00. If the report is more than 30 
but less than 60 days late (after March 1st) the late filing 
penalty is $250.00. If the report is more than 60 but less 
than 90 days late (after March 31st) the penalty for late 
filing is $500.00. The filing of an MDRR report that is more 
than 90 days late is subject to a penalty designated by the 
Director of the Division on Civil Rights pursuant to N.J.S.A. 
10:5-14.1a, which can be up to $10,000 for a first offense, 
up to $25,000 for a second offense, and up to $50,000 for a 
third or subsequent offense. N.J.A.C. 13:10-2.7.

Do owners of condominium 
complexes have to submit a report?
If one person or entity owns 25 units or more within the 
complex, that person or entity is required to file a report 
on those units.

When identifying the race or national 
origin of a family occupying a unit in  
a multiple dwelling, which individual 
person in the family determines  
the category of the family?
The lease holder(s).

How do you classify a unit  
when there are leaseholders  
of different racial/ethnic groups?
Individuals belonging to a protected class under the LAD 
are always identified on the annual report. If multiple 
leaseholders on the same lease are of different protected 
classes, then the percentage should be noted for each 
class (e.g., Black .50 & Latino .50).

How is race/ethnicity defined?
Black or African-American: a person having origins in any 
of the original peoples of Africa. 

Hispanic or Latino: a person of Cuban, Mexican, Puerto 
Rican, South or Central American or other Spanish origin or 
culture, or a person having a Spanish surname.

Asian: a person having origins in any of the original 
peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, or the Indian 
subcontinent, including but not limited to Cambodia, 
China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippine 
Islands, Thailand, and Vietnam.

American Indian or Alaskan Native: a person having 
origins in any of the original peoples of North or South 
America.
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Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander: a person 
having origins in any of the original peoples of Hawaii, 
Guam, Samoa, or other Pacific Islands.

White or Caucasian: a person having origins in any of 
the original peoples of Europe, the Middle East, or North 
Africa.

Is it legal to ask for,  
record and track racial/ethnic 
information of leaseholders in  
an apartment complex?
Yes. The New Jersey Supreme Court has ruled that the 
Division on Civil Rights may obtain such information 
in order to fulfill its mission to eliminate unlawful 
discrimination in housing. See N.J. Builders, Owners and 
Managers Association v. Blair, 60 N.J. 330 (1972).

How should one maintain MDRR data?
It should be recorded on the MDRR Tenant/Applicant 
Inquiry form separate from rental applications and 
records.

How long do I have to maintain  
MDRR records?
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:10-2.5(b), such records shall be kept 
on file for a period of three years.

When a property is sold, or there is  
a change in the name and/or address 
of the owner, who is responsible for 
notifying the Division of the change?
The property owner on file with the Division must report 
any change in ownership, or any change in the owner’s 
name or address, by completing the MDRR Change of 
Status form available on the Division’s web site at: 
www.nj.gov/oag/dcr/downloads/mdrr_change_of_status.pdf.
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The Department of Law & Public Safety, through its 
Division on Civil Rights, is responsible for enforcing 
the law. To file a complaint, contact or visit the 
office nearest you:

South Shore Regional Office: 
1325 Boardwalk, Tennessee Ave. & Boardwalk 
Atlantic City, NJ 08401 
Phone: (609) 441-3100 • Fax: (609) 441-3578

Southern Regional Office: 
5 Executive Campus, Suite 107  
Cherry Hill, NJ 08034 
Phone: (856) 486-4080

Northern Regional Office: 
31 Clinton Street, Newark, NJ 07102 
Phone: (973) 648-2700 • Fax: (973) 648-4405

Central Regional Office: 
140 East Front Street / P.O. Box 090 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0090 
Phone: (609) 292-4605 • Fax: (609) 984-3812

Visit our web site at www.NJCivilRights.gov
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