Dri Dri

INSTRUCTIONS NEW JERSEY PRIVATE DETECTIVE LICENSE APPLICATION

- If requesting an application for a corporation license, all officers and/or directors of the corporation shall submit an application. The qualifier (person possessing five years police or investigative experience) for a corporation license must be an officer and/or director of the corporation. If the applicant is applying for licensing for an already licensed and existing NJ agency, please indicate the agency license number in the "case file number" block.
- 2. Pursuant to <u>NJAC</u> 13:55-1.8 NO ACTIVE LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER OR INVESTIGATOR of any Federal, State, County or Municipal Police Agency may hold a Private Detective license or serve as a Qualifying member, officer or director of any firm, association or corporation licensed under the Act.
- 3. A *non-refundable license fee* in the form of a money order, cashier's check, certified check, or business check written in the amount of \$250.00 for an Individual license or \$300.00 for any other type license, is required upon submission of the application. All checks made payable to the "STATE OF NEW JERSEY." No personal checks accepted.

NOTE: PAYMENT OF FEE DOES NOT GUARANTEE LICENSING. AN APPLICANT MUST SATISFY THE QUALIFICATIONS AS SET FORTH IN <u>NJSA</u> 45:19-12 OF THE PRIVATE DETECTIVE ACT OF 1939.

- **4.** Proof of fingerprinting receipt from the electronic fingerprinting vendor MorphoTrust will be submitted for each applicant. Fingerprinting instructions and MorphoTrust fingerprinting forms are available via the NJSP website, www.njsp.org.
- 5. If utilizing your home address as your business location and *do not* want your home address disseminated, then in addition to your home address, provide a business and/or Post Office Box address for Non State Police correspondence. * The licensing list is publicly available for purchase.
- 6. The required photograph (page 3) can be either black and white or colored. The photograph must include the head and shoulders (**NO FULL BODY**), a light background and no hat. It must have been taken within the last 30 days.
- 7. In lieu of completion of the employment section by the applicant's previous employer, a letter on employer's official stationary may be submitted, listing employment dates, employment title, actual date of separation, reason for employment termination, and if the applicant departed in good standing. The letter can be signed by the applicant's employer or other person responsible for employment verification.
- 8. The references (Page5) shall be five reputable citizens over the age of eighteen, not related to the applicant.

 ** The vouchers can reside within any municipality, county, or State within the United States.
- 9. Application must be fully completed and signed (page6) by the applicant. Completed application, inclusive of the "Authorization of Release of Information" page must be signed and notarized by a current Notary Public.
- 10. Submit corporation name or trade name form, if applicable.

For additional information contact the New Jersey State Police, Private Detective Unit, 609-633-9352.

Remit application to: New Jersey State Police

Private Detective Unit P.O. Box 7068

West Trenton, N.J. 08628