UNITED STATES CODE

18 U.S.C. 641 Whoever embezzles, steals, purlions, or knowingly converts to his use or the
use of another, or without authority, sells, conveys or disposes of any record voucher, money, or
thing of value of the United States or any department or agency thereof, or any property made or
being made under contract for the United States or any department or agency thereof; or

Whoever recieves, conceals, or retains the same with intent to convert it to his use or gain, knowing
it to have been embezzeled, stolen, purlioned or converted,

Shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more than ten years, or both; but if the value
of such property does not exceed the sum of $100, he shall be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned
not more than one year, or both.

The word “value’”” means face, par, or market value, or cost price, either wholesale or retail, whichever
is greater.

NEW JERSEY STATUTES

N.J.S 38A:11-3 Every officer and enlisted member to whom public property has been or
may hereafter be issued shall be financially and personally responsible to the state or to the United
States, as their interest may appear, for its good condition, safe-keeping and return when called upon
by the competent authority.

N.J.S. 38A:14-2 Any person who shall secrete, sell, dispose of, offer for sale, purchase,
retain after demand made by an officer or in any manner pledge or pawn any arms, equipment or
other military property issued by the United States or this State for the use of the militia, shall be
guilty of a misdemeanor.

N.J.S. 2A:85-7 Any person found guilty of a crime which by any statuate is declared to
be a misdemeanor, and for which no punishment is specifically provided, shall be punished by a
fine of not more than $1,000, or by imprisonment for not more than 3 years, or both.



(Date)

SUBJECT: Demand for Return of Government Property (NJARNGR 735-11)

(Name)

(Address)

1. Records at this unit indicate that you have in your posession, the following property of the
United States Government and/or the State of New Jersey:

(List all items of Government property showing item, quantity and
dollar value. Show total cost of all items at the end of property
listing)

2. Demand for return of all Government Property is hereby made upon you

and you are ordered to return all such property not later than

at to
(Date and Time) (Name & Address of Unit)

(Name & Grade of Person to Recieve Property).

3. You are reminded that failure to comply with this order and to return Government
property is a violation of Federal and State Laws, which may result in fine, imprisionment or
both. To insure your total familiarity with these laws, there are enclosed herewith a copy of the
United States Code (USC) and New Jersey Statutes (NJS) as they pertain to Government

Property.

(Signature of Unit Commander)

(Typed Name & Grade of Unit Commander)
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