More More

Commercial fees

All fees are effective July 1, 2006.

Code Vehicle Fee
Code 11 Commercial Trucks and Tractors See Code 11 Chart
Code 13 Taxi $81.50 *
Code 14 Limousine $81.50 *
Code 15 Small Vans and Trucks See Code 15 Chart
Code 16 Commercial Vehicle Aggregate See Code 16 Chart
Code 17 School Bus 17 or more $191.50
Code 18 School Bus 16 or less $91.50
Code 19 Four-year Commercial Trailer $85.50
Code 20 Bogey $32.00 *
Code 21 One year Commercial Trailer $32.00 *
Code 23 Special Trailer (for moving road building machinery of unusual size or weight) $209.50
Code 24 Commercial motorcycle See Code 24 Chart
Code 31 Farm Truck See Code 31 Chart
Code 32 Light/Medium Duty Tow Trucks See Code 32 Chart
Code 33 Heavy Duty Tow Trucks See Code 33 Chart
Code 39 Solid Waste (garbage truck) See Code 39 Chart
Code 41 Constructor See Code 41 Chart
Code 51 Farm Use (farm machinery or implements) $16.50
Code 52 Agricultural Tractor $16.50
Code 54 1–18 Passengers $81.50 *
19–30 Passengers $99.50 *
31 and over $102.50* (+ $3 for each additional passenger)
Code 55 Dealer (auto) $257.50 per set of five
Code 56 Contractor Equipment In-Transit $135.00 per set of five
Code 57 Dealer (motorcycle/moped) $77.00 per set of three
Code 58 Migrant Farm Worker $8.00
Code 59 In-Transit Empty (trucks, tractors, trailers & semi-trailers that are empty and being transported as per 39:3-20.1) $44.00 per plate
Code 60 Dealer (manufacturer, converter, transporter, etc.) $257.50 per set of five
Code 82 Boat (Limousine) See Codes 82-85 Chart
Code 83 Boat (dealer) See Codes 82-85 Chart
Code 84 Boat Manufacturer See Codes 82-85 Chart
Code 85 Boat Commercial See Codes 82-85 Chart
Code 99 Farm Labor Transport See Code 99 Chart

For your convenience, MVC accepts American Express® card, MasterCard® card, Visa® card, checks, money orders and cash.

*Half-Rate Codes: Half-rate fees are effective October 1 on the following vehicles:
  • Taxi – Limousine (Code 13 - Code 14)
  • Trailers (1 year only) (Codes 20, 21, 22)
  • Omnibus Bus (Code 54)
While the New Jersey regulations and rules cover areas required by New Jersey law, there may be additional requirements for operations and necessary equipment.

Consult the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to see if you or your vehicle needs additional requirements.