Commercial Learner Permits (CLP)
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) regulations 49 C.F.R. 383.155, and New Jersey regulations, N.J.A.C. 13:21-23.20, require all Commercial Driver Licenses (CDL) and Commercial Learner Permits (CLP) to meet the same tamper-proof requirements as non-Commercial Licenses. As of November 7, 2015, the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) no longer issues paper CLPs. The paper document has been replaced by a digital CLP in the same format as the current CDL. When issued a CLP is valid for 180 days and must be accompanied by a New Jersey driver license if operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV).
CLP applicants are required to submit a CDL Holder Self-Certification form and a valid (unexpired) medical examiner’s certificate, if required. If a federal medical variance has been issued, it must also be submitted to the MVC prior to the issuance of a CLP. The CDL Holder Self-Certification document is available on this website or at any MVC Agency. A sample copy of the medical examiner’s certificate is also available on this website.
Applicants must carefully review the commerce categories listed on the CDL Holder Self-Certification document and choose the category that best fits the type of commerce in which they plan to operate. Failure to submit a signed CDL Holder Self-Certification form will result in the denial of a CLP and you will not be legally permitted to practice driving a CMV. Note: All drivers under 21 years of age are only allowed to operate in intrastate commerce and must check either commerce category box 3 or 4 on the CDL Holder Self-Certification document. CLP applicants who intend to meet the excepted interstate (category 2) or excepted intrastate (category 4) requirements will only need to submit the CDL Holder Self-Certification document and are not required to submit a medical examiner’s certificate or variance unless they have a passenger (P) endorsement on their CLP. CLP applicants listed as non-excepted interstate (category 1) or non-excepted intrastate (category 3), must submit a valid (unexpired), fully completed, legible medical examiner certificate.
New Jersey regulations require all passenger (P) endorsement holders to submit a medical examiner’s certificate to the MVC regardless of the type of commerce in which they operate. All medical examiner’s certificates must be completed by a federally certified medical examiner. To locate a federally certified medical examiner near you, please visit the federal website. Failure to submit a valid, federally certified medical examiner certificate or variance will result in the denial of your CLP and you will not be legally permitted to practice driving a CMV. In addition, CLP holders will now incur the same enhanced penalties for all moving traffic violations as a CDL holder.
Please refer to the CDL manual for more CLP information, or contact the MVC CDL Unit at 609-292-7500, extension 5077 for assistance.