More More

Lost, stolen or damaged documents

Before applying for a title: review common reasons for rejection

Get a duplicate title for a vehicle, not financed

  • Visit your local motor vehicle agency and complete an application for a duplicate title
  • Show current or expired registration or proof of insurance
  • Pay $60 fee (payable by American Express® card, MasterCard®, Visa® card, check, money order or cash)
  • If you are unable to visit your local agency, you may mail all of the above to the address on the application for duplicate title
  • Please refer to the list of "Common reasons for rejection" below before visiting an agency or mailing your request

Get a duplicate title for a vehicle, financed*
  • Visit your local motor vehicle agency and complete an application for a duplicate title
  • Show current or expired registration or proof of insurance
  • Present statement from the current/past lien holder that includes the following:
    • Owner’s name
    • Vehicle information (make, year and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN))
    • Statement from the lien holder stating that the original title is not in his/her possession and that the vehicle was paid in full
  • Pay $60 fee (payable by American Express® card, MasterCard®, Visa® card, check, money order or cash)
  • If you are unable to visit your local agency, you may mail all of the above to the address on the application for duplicate title
*Note: Duplicate titles issued with a lien will be mailed to the lien holder.


Get a duplicate title for a vehicle, no proof of ownership
  • Download a step-by-step guide to complete requirements
  • Mail documents and fee to:
    • New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
      Special Titles Section/Duplicate Titles
      PO Box 017
      Trenton, NJ 08666-0017
  • Contact MVC Special Titles at (609) 292-6500 ext. 5074 if you have any questions

Replace a damaged title

  • Visit your local motor vehicle agency
  • Write a request for a replacement title including the following:
    • Reason for the damage to the title
    • Name and address of the owner(s)
    • Year, make and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
    • Original title
  • Pay $60 replacement fee* (payable by American Express® card, MasterCard®, Visa® card, check, money order or cash)
  • If you are unable to visit your local agency, you may mail all of the above to the following address:

    Motor Vehicle Commission
    Database Correction Unit
    P.O. Box 141
    225 E. State Street
    Trenton, NJ 08666-0141
*Note: Fees for lost and damaged titles are regulated by law. A fine may be imposed if the individual who applies for a duplicate title knowingly has the original title.


If you are a Financial Institution and need a duplicate title*
    Visit your local motor vehicle agency with:
  • Completed, signed application for a duplicate title
  • Power of Attorney granting permission for employee to sign on behalf of the financial institution
  • $60 fee (payable by American Express® card, MasterCard®, Visa® card, check, money order or cash)
  • Copy of the financing contract
  • Photocopy of existing NJ title, if applicable
  • Self-addressed, stamped envelope
If unable to visit your local agency, you may mail all of the above to:

State of New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Commission
Special Services
P.O. Box 017
Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0017

*Note: If your company has changed names since the original title was processed and the name is not yet in the system, you cannot complete the request.


Common reasons for duplicate title application rejection
  • Duplicate application (ISM/SS-52) missing information/not completed
  • A lien release letter is needed because vehicle was financed and not marked as satisfied in MVC records
  • The $60 fee has not been received
  • All owners have not signed the duplicate application (ISM/SS-52) form (co-owners’ signature is missing)
  • Proof of ownership was not received. Acceptable proof is a current or expired registration and/or insurance card
  • Copy of driver license is required for all owners
  • Complete Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) is needed