More More

Registration records

Vehicle registration application records
Personal information in registration records is protected by New Jersey's Driver Privacy Protection Act. You may request certified information for vehicles registered in your own name. All other requests - attorney, employer, insurance company, court or other permitted use - are granted only to authorized users as defined in N.J.S.A. 39:2-3.3 et seq.

Request a copy of vehicle registration application
To request a certified copy of a vehicle registration application that was submitted at the time of registration or information relative to a vehicle registration:
    • Complete and sign a Vehicle Registration Application Request form (DO-11A)
    • Explain in detail the reason for your request
    • Select the permitted use for your request and mark the number on the form if you are requesting a record other than your own
    • Submit a photocopy of your driver license
    • Submit a $15 check or money order payable to NJMVC
    Mail to:
    NJ Motor Vehicle Commission
    Certified Information Unit
    225 East State Street
    P.O. Box 146
    Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0146

    Important note: Both pages 1 and 2 must be completed and submitted for your request to be considered. You may print the form on both sides of a single sheet or print and attach the two separate sheets. A separate request is required for each record search.

    The copy of the vehicle registration or information pertaining to the vehicle registration application record will be mailed to you in approximately 3 to 4 weeks of receipt of your completed form and payment.