More More

FAQ

Why do I have to recertify?

New Jersey State law now requires that persons with a disability parking privileges expire every 3 years. Upon expiration, a person must re-submit an application and all supporting documentation. This includes a new medical certification from a qualified medical practitioner that the qualifying disability continues to exist. The medical certification must be dated within 60 days of submitting your application.

I did not receive my renewal application for my placard. Can you mail me one?

The new law, effective August 1, 2013, requires that persons with a disability be recertified every 3 years in order obtain a new placard. Please review the application and recertification instructions.  Download Wheelchair Symbol Plate and Placard Application and Wheelchair Symbol Plate and Placard Checklist

I have the completed application with the medical script. Can I mail it in?

Yes, you can mail it to MVC, Special Plate Unit, P.O.Box 015, Trenton, NJ 08666-0015.  Processing your application will take approximately 4-6 weeks.

What do I do with the old placard?

The old style placard may be surrendered at any MVC Agency or mailed to the Special Plate Unit, P.O. Box 015, Trenton, NJ 08666-0015.

I have to apply for a New Jersey placard/plate and I do not have a New Jersey license. What documents do I need?

You will need the completed person with a disability application, medical script or letter, 6 Points of Identification and proof of residential address.
Download Wheelchair Symbol Plate and Placard Application and Wheelchair Symbol Plate and Placard Checklist

Who can certify the medical documentation?

Effective August 1, 2013 certifications can only be authorized by the following: a physician, podiatrist, chiropractic physician, physician assistant or nurse practitioner licensed to practice in this State or a bordering state or a physician stationed at a military or naval installation located in this State who is licensed to practice in any state.

Will submitting this application affect my CDL privileges?

If you hold a current CDL and apply for a Person with a Disability placard or wheelchair symbol license plates for yourself, your application will be reviewed by the MVC Medical Unit to determine if your condition may compromise your ability to safely operate a commercial vehicle.    

How does the new law affect my wheelchair symbol license plates?

The person with the disability is required to be recertified every 3 years. The MVC will provide the person with the disability an identification card that is valid for 3 years to correspond with their medical certification.

My spouse (or other person with a qualifying disability) is deceased or moved out of New Jersey. What should I do with the identification card, placard, and/or wheelchair symbol license plates?

The identification card, placard, and/or wheelchair symbol license plates and a letter indicating the circumstances should be mailed to the Motor Vehicle Commission, Special Plate Unit. License plates should be surrendered to a local Motor Vehicle Agency or mailed along with a letter of explanation to: Motor Vehicle Commission, Trenton Regional Service Center, and P.O. Box 125, Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0125

My placard is lost or damaged. How do I get a replacement placard?

You can go into any MVC Agency to acquire a replacement placard. If your placard is damaged, bring the damaged placard, and your original “Person with a Disability Identification Card” and the completed application. If your placard is lost, bring your original “Person with a Disability Identification Card,” a notarized statement attesting to the loss of the placard and the completed application. There is no fee for a replacement placard. Download the Wheelchair Symbol Plate and Placard Application
If you cannot get to a motor vehicle agency, you may replace your placard by mail using the same documents.

I lost my “Person with a Disability Identification Card.” How do I get a replacement identification card?

You can go into any MVC Agency to acquire a replacement identification card. If your identification card is lost, bring your placard, a notarized statement attesting to the loss of the identification card and the completed application. There is no fee for a replacement identification card.
Download the Wheelchair Symbol Plate and Placard Application.

If you cannot get to a motor vehicle agency, you may replace your placard by mail using the same documents.

I do not have either my placard or “Person with a Disability Identification Card.” How do I get replacements?

If your placard and identification card are both lost, visit your local MVC Agency with a driver license or other form of identification, a notarized statement attesting to the loss of the placard and identification card with the completed application. If the placard has expired, you must be recertified by a qualified medical practitioner.
Download Wheelchair Symbol Plate and Placard Application

I have more than one vehicle that I drive. Can I get two sets of plates or two placards?

No. Qualifying individuals can choose from one of three options:

  • One set of wheelchair symbol license plates
  • One person with a disability placard
  • One set of plates and one placard

This provision is based on the fact that the placard can be used in any vehicle in which you are the driver/passenger as long as you have your “Person with a Disability Identification Card” with you.

How do I apply for a “Wheelchair Symbol” parking sign for the front of my home?

The application and review process for “wheelchair symbol” parking signs does not fall under the jurisdiction of the Motor Vehicle Commission. You should inquire with your municipal clerk’s office or office of traffic and parking (often within the police department) to determine the application process. It varies from town-to-town, although most municipalities will only issue parking signs for vehicles with wheelchair symbol license plates, not for placards.

What is the quickest way to acquire a placard or plates?

Download and print the Wheelchair Symbol Plate and Placard Application from this site, visit your local MVC agency, or call (888) 486-3339 to request that a form be mailed to you. Complete the form according to the Wheelchair Symbol Plate and Placard Checklist and present it at any MVC Agency.

My spouse (or other qualified person with a disability) cannot complete the application and/or is unable travel to an Agency to file their application. Can someone else complete and deliver the application for them?

Yes, the application can be completed by another individual but the form must be signed by the applicant. (If the applicant cannot sign the form, a Power of Attorney must be included with the application package). A third party may bring the application to any local MVC Agency for same day processing as long as the individual has proper identification and a notarized statement from the person with a disability giving them permission to act on his/her behalf.

Can I apply for a temporary placard while waiting for my permanent placard to arrive?

No. New Jersey law does not provide for the issuance of temporary placards for anything other than temporary disabilities. If your circumstances do not allow for the normal processing time, you should pursue the “same day processing” option. See (What is the quickest way to acquire a placard or plates?) above.

After sending in my application, how long must I wait for my placard/plates to arrive?

Generally, MVC requires 4-6 weeks to issue plates and placards. Additional time should be allowed for mailing. The Wheelchair Symbol Plate and Placard Checklist is available with the Wheelchair Symbol Plate and Placard Application to help ensure that the form is completed accurately. Using the checklist will help avoid delays in processing.