State Seal New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Translate disclaimer

New Optional Designation on Driver's Licenses and Non-Driver Identification Cards for Insulin-Dependent Diabetics


New Jersey statute (N.J.S.A.) 39:3-10.8a allows a person who is an insulin- dependent diabetic to voluntarily inform the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) of his/her diabetic status with the sole intent of having his/her MVC-issued driver's license or identification card (ID) and MVC record reflect that medical condition.

Any person who wishes to have the insulin-dependent diabetic designation indicated on his/her driver's license or non-driver identification card and entered into the MVC database must follow the appropriate instructions.


On the driver's license or identification card document there will be a "5" imprinted under "restriction." This will alert the law enforcement official or emergency medical personnel that there should also be a pink "designation/restriction" card on this person that will indicate the condition.

Persons who wish to have this designation indicated on their driver's license or non-driver ID and entered into the MVC database must bring all of the following documentation to any motor vehicle agencyThis cannot be done by mail.

  • A statement on your doctor's prescription pad indicating that you have insulin-dependent diabetes.
  • 6 Points of ID
  • A completed "Request for Insulin-Dependent Designation" form (Form MR-20). Note: You will get this when you are at the agency.
  • The applicable fee:
    • If it is not time to renew your driver's license or non-driver ID, the fee will be $11.00 for a duplicate license.  If it is time to renew your driver’s license or non-driver ID, the fee will be $24.
    • The renewal fee is applicable for your type of license.

We are required to capture a customer’s full face when taking a picture for a driver license or non-driver ID card; therefore we need to be able to see from the top of your forehead to the bottom of your chin.  If you have a medical or religious need to wear a head covering in your photo, please advise the MVC staff at the agency camera station.

Your duplicate or renewed driver's license or non-driver ID with the insulin-dependent diabetic designation and the pink "designation/restriction" card will be issued to you at the agency. You must carry both of these documents together.