Driver Manual Revisions

***For Print Edition R0712 - ONLY ***[check bottom left of back cover]

Revised information is BOLD
Omitted information is shown with strikethrough

Page 5

24 Next-of Kin Registry (Sara’s Law)
24 Hearing-Impaired Designation
25 Commercial Driver License (CDL)

Page 7

  • Drivers under age 21, who possess an examination permit or probationary license, shall not operate a motor vehicle without displaying two visible, reflective GDL decals which are provided by the Motor Vehicle Commission on the license plates of the vehicle. (39:3-13 and 39:3-13.4f)

Page 8

New Jersey driver’s licenses are valid for four years.

Page 10

Boat License
All persons who wish to operate a power vessel must possess a Boating Safety Certificate and present it when applying for a boat license.

3 Motorist must return to agency in one year to have license upgraded. Fee is $18.00.

Page 21

GDL DRIVER EXEMPTIONS
(N.J.A.C. 13:21-8.18)

Page 22

EXAMINATION PERMITS FOR NEW JERSEY RESIDENTS
After an applicant fills out the form with his/her personal information and provides 6 Points of ID Verification and proof that the U.S. government authorizes his/her presence in this country, he/she can purchase a permit to take to the nearest Driver Testing Center. Basic automobile license applicants must supply a Social Security number or an exemption from the Social Security Administration.

Page 24

 

 

NON-DRIVER ID
An individual, 14 years of age or older,…

NEXT-OF-KIN REGISTRY (SARA’S LAW)
The Next-of-Kin Registry is a New Jersey statewide web based system that allows individuals at least 14 years of age to voluntarily submit and maintain emergency contact information through the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. This non-public information will only be used by law enforcement officers to locate designated emergency contacts in an event that a person is involved in a motor vehicle crash that renders him or her unable to communicate.,

Any individual who legally possesses a New Jersey-issued driver’s license, probationary license, learner’s permit, non-driver identification card or any other MVC-issued permit or license authorizing an individual to operate a motor vehicle or vessel (i.e., boat) may utilize the registry. Additionally, individuals as young as 14 years old may utilize the Next-of-Kin Registry to submit emergency contacts if they apply for a non-driver identification card.

Page 26

COMMERCIAL LICENSE ENDORSEMENTS

H Hazardous Materials Needed by operators of vehicles used to transport hazardous materials  Requires a knowledge test. Must be trained and retested every two years. See the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration for requirements

Page 31

OUT-OF-STATE AND OUT-OF-COUNTRY APPLICANTS
Applicants may transfer a valid out-of-state license to New Jersey.

Page 34

(Omitted sentences)
After several failures, the MVC may require an applicant to wait six months before retaking the road test.

REASONS FOR REJECTION
Vehicle not equipped with radial tires or snow tires or chains when road is snow covered.

Page 38

(Replaces first two paragraphs only - no other changes on this page)
Buckle Up - New Jersey’s Seat Belt Law
Under state law, the driver and all passengers of a passenger vehicle (ie. car, van, pickup truck and SUV) must wear a seatbelt. The failure of a driver, front-seat passenger and children under age 18 to wear a seatbelt is a primary offense. The driver is responsible for all passengers under age 18. Front-seat passengers 18 years of age and over are responsible for themselves. A police officer can stop a motorist solely for a violation of the seat belt law. Under a secondary law, all unbuckled back seat occupants 18 years of age and older, may be issued a summons if the vehicle is stopped for another reason. Motorists with GDL permits or probationary licenses must use seat belts. Additionally, they must require all passengers seated anywhere in the vehicle to use seat belts. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-76.2f, 39:3-13.2a, 39:3-13.4)

Page 44

SNOW AND ICE
If dislodged snow or ice causes injury or property damage, fines up to $1,500 may be assessed.

Page 46

The illustration on the previous page shows blind spots while driving.

IDLING YOUR VEHICLE
New Jersey law requires all motorists to restrict vehicle idling to three minutes or less (N.J.A.C. 7:27-15.8).

Idling for more than three minutes is unnecessary and harmful to your vehicle and your health. Vehicle and property owners face fines of $250 to $1,000 for each violation of this law (N.J.S.A. 39:3-70.2).

Page 72

A motorist should only proceed after the bus signals have been turned off, and even then, he/she must watch for children or persons who have developmental disabilities.

Page 73

If a school bus has stopped directly in front of a school to pick up or let off children or persons with developmental disabilities, a motorist may pass from either direction at a speed of no more than 10 mph.

Page 76

In a space on public or private property marked for vehicle parking for persons with a disability (unless legally authorized)

Page 98

REPORTING ACCIDENTS (N.J.S.A. 39:4-130, 39:4-129, 39:4-131)

Page 120

(Omitted sentence)
The class fee is $150 (N.J.A.C. 13:19-10.3c)

Drivers may schedule their training with a licensed Statewide Safety Organization or a NJ Licensed Driving School that is licensed to conduct the NJ Driver Improvement Program. Please visit the MVC website, www.njmvc.gov, for a list of licensed providers. A $75 administration fee, payable to the MVC, is required
(continued on Page 121)

Page 121

 

 

 

(continued from Page 120)
prior to scheduling a class with a private provider. Plus, an additional program fee, payable to the program provider, is required prior to attending the class.

PROBATIONARY DRIVER PROGRAM
...enroll in the Probationary Driver Program, which is administered by the MVC N.J.A.C. 13:19-10.3(d). The attendance fee is $150 for this program, which corrects improper or dangerous driving habits (N.J.A.C. 13:19-10.3f).  (Omitted)

(replaced with) which is administered by a licensed Statewide Safety Organization or NJ licensed Driving School that is licensed to conduct the Probationary Driver Program. (N.J.A.C. 13:19-10.3(d)).Please visit the MVC website, www.njmvc.gov, for a list of licensed providers. A $75 administration fee, payable to the MVC is required prior to scheduling a class with a private provider. Plus, an additional program fee, payable to the program provider, is required prior to attending the class.

Page 125


N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.24 Driving in an unsafe manner (points assessed for a third or subsequent violation(s) occurring within five years of the most recent previous offense)

Page 139

SNOWMOBILES, ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES (ATVs) and DIRT BIKES... snowmobiles, ATVs and dirt bikes...

(Omitted sentence)
Copies of the New Jersey Snowmobile or ATV brochures may be obtained online.

Page 148

2. The operator of a low-speed motorcycle (see page 153).

Page 152

HOW TO REGISTER A MOTORCYCLE
Qualified motorcyclists can obtain a Person with a Disability license plate that allows them to park in specially marked parking spaces.

Page 192

dis
Person with a Disability

Page 198 Page 205

( ) Indicates Inspection late evening (Omitted)
Central inspection facilities no longer have late evening hours.

Page 207

To register a complaint about a driving school’s performance:
NJ Motor Vehicle Commission
Business License Services Bureau
P.O. Box 170
Trenton, NJ 08666-0170

blsmvc@dot.state.nj.us











Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2007

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 160
Trenton, NJ 08666
(609) 292-6500 or toll free in NJ (888) 486-3339
TTY (609) 292-5120
Contact Us

Last Updated: December 16, 2013