Latest updates

Updated to Driver Manual Since Last Printing R07/13

Revised information is bold

Page 7

  • Drivers under age 21, who possess an examination permit or probationary license shall not operate a motor vehicle without displaying two visible, reflective GDL decals which are provided by the Motor Vehicle Commission on the license plates of the vehicle.
    (39:3-13, 39:3-13.2a and 39:3-13.4f)

Page 30

KNOWLEDGE TEST

The MVC offers the knowledge test in English and these foreign languages: Arabic, Chinese, French, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish.

Page 38

Buckle Up - New Jersey’s Seat Belt Law
Under state law, the driver and all passengers of a passenger vehicle (i.e., car, van, pickup truck and SUV) must wear a seatbelt. The failure of a driver, front-seat passenger and children under age 18 to wear a seatbelt is a primary offense. The driver is responsible for all passengers under age 18. Front-seat passengers 18 years of age and over are responsible for themselves. A police officer can stop a motorist solely for a violation of the seat belt law. Under a secondary law, all unbuckled back seat occupants 18 years of age and older, may be issued a summons if the vehicle is stopped for another reason. Motorists with GDL permits or probationary licenses must use seat belts. Additionally, they must require all passengers seated anywhere in the vehicle to use seat belts. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-76.2f, 39:3-13, 39:3-13.2a, 39:3-13.4)

Page 121

PROBATIONARY DRIVER PROGRAM
...enroll in the Probationary Driver Program, which is administered by a licensed Statewide Safety Organization or NJ licensed Driving School that is licensed to conduct the Probationary Driver Program. (N.J.A.C. 13:19-10.3(d). Please visit the MVC website, www.njmvc.gov, for a list of licensed providers. A $75 administration fee, payable to the MVC is required prior to scheduling a class with a private provider. Plus, an additional program fee, payable to the program provider, is required prior to attending the class.

Page 198

 

ATLANTIC COUNTY

Cardiff

6725 Black Horse Pike, Harbor Square
Egg Harbor Twp., NJ 08234

Page 203

PASSAIC COUNTY

Paterson has Suspension/Restoration Assistance
Wayne does not have Suspension/Restoration Assistance

 

Page 206

Customer service representatives are available Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Saturday 7:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.











Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2007

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 160
Trenton, NJ 08666
(609) 292-6500 or toll free in NJ (888) 486-3339
TTY (609) 292-5120
Contact Us

Last Updated: February 27, 2014